tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : THE AGONIST - Five

THE AGONIST

Five

MusicCD
Extreme MetalMelodic RockMetalcore

[80/100]   

Napalm Records
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

This is the second album with the singer Vicky Psarakis and it can not be denied that her vocals of Vicky bring more variation to the music of The Agonist. Five incidentally comes just over a year after Eyes of Providence. But to further inform about the variations: the album still contains aggressive and harder songs, but it contains also tracks that highlight a different side. I' m thinking in particular of The Raven Eyes, a song that floats on an acoustic guitar and sparse piano sounds and in which Vicky shows to be able to cope with different nuances and styles. A strong track.

The same goes for The Moment, although it is a rather mediocre and predictable song. Anyone who might thinks that the album is a semi-soft boiled egg, is mistaken. Tracks such as The Chain, The Resurrection and The Villain are nasty metal songs. And some tracks sound more moderate. The album ends with the bonus track Take Me To Church by Hozier. A very compelling track with an Agonist touch. Nicely done and very daring.

Five is a firm album with enough variation and punch. Singer Vicky Psarakis takes the songs to a higher level. Wondering how all this sounds when played live.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Dit is het tweede album met zangeres Vicky Psarakis en men kan niet ontkennen dat haar vocals meer variatie in de muziek van The Agonist brengen. Five komt overigens slechts een dik jaar na Eyes of Providence uit. Maar om over die variatie door te gaan: het album bevat nog steeds de agressie en hardere songs die we van deze band gewoon zijn. Daarnaast staan er ook tracks op het album die een andere kant tonen. Ik denk dan in het bijzonder aan The Raven Eyes, een song dat drijft op een akoestische gitaar en wat spaarzame piano. Hier toont Vicky dat ze met haar stem heel wat nuances en stijlen aankan. Een sterke track.

Hetzelfde geldt voor The Moment dat eerder een middelmatige en voorspelbare song is. Wie denkt dat het album een halfzacht gekookt eitje is, vergist zich evenwel. Tracks zoals The Chain, The Resurrection en The Villain zijn gemene metalsongs. Daarnaast zijn er ook nog enkele tracks die iets gematigder klinken. Als afsluiter en bonus waagt deze band zich aan Take Me To Church van Hozier. Het is een erg meeslepende track die een degelijke Agonist-touch heeft gekregen. Mooi gedaan en vooral gedurfd.

The Agonist levert met Five een ferm album af met voldoende variatie en punch. Zangeres Vicky Psarakis tilt de songs naar een hoger niveau. Benieuwd hoe dit alles live klinkt.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


11/12/2016 : THE AGONIST - Five 11/12/2016 : THE AGONIST - Five

Music reviews

19
03
DER KLINKE
Decade
18
03
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O
Split Single
14
03
DEZ MONA
Book Of Many
13
03
DAVID J
Thoughts And Prayers
11
03
FRED ABONG
Pulsing Ep
08
03
DRAGON WELDING
Dragon Welding

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
03
Just One Fix | Seventeen Years Since Ministry Unleashed Sphinctour
18
03
Today, 39 years ago, Joy Division released 'Licht und Blindheit'.
17
03
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | The Radiators From Space
17
03
A Darker Shade Of Green | The Virgin Prunes On Saint Patrick’s Day
16
03
Today, 35 years ago, Siousxie And The Banshees released the single Swimming Horses!
15
03
New album and video by UK Goth rockers Children On Stun! Win - Win - Win

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
03
STEVE IGNORANT (CRASS)
'I think what drives me is the endless injustice that goes through life.'
11
03
SYNAPSCAPE
A Fascinating Challenge About Bringing New Life Into Old Tracks
10
03
BIG JOHN DUNCAN
'I don't like to copy things, I like to try and be original and always happy!'
09
03
MISSING IN STARS
'This music is for everyone, even my closest metal friends support it...'
08
03
DEAN GARCIA - SPC ECO + CURVE
“..I love recording, it's one of the only things that is completely absorbing for me..”

PHOTOS

10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
DEAD HIGH WIRE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
HATCHLING
De Klinker Aarschot
06
03
LAIBACH
Botanique Brussel
27
02
IAMX
La Madeleine Brussel
24
02
WULFBAND
De Casino St Niklaas

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
03
HANTE
Living In A French Movie
18
03
HAUSCHKA
Craco
17
03
DIVE
Sidewalk Sinner - Snakedressed
16
03
CHRONIC TWILIGHT
Mark of Cain (official lyric video)
15
03
THE YOUNG GODS
Figure sans nom
14
03
PSY'AVIA
Dream Fever
13
03
KRANKLAND
Oh My Love