tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : THE AGONIST - Five

THE AGONIST

Five

MusicCD
Extreme MetalMelodic RockMetalcore

[80/100]   

Napalm Records
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

This is the second album with the singer Vicky Psarakis and it can not be denied that her vocals of Vicky bring more variation to the music of The Agonist. Five incidentally comes just over a year after Eyes of Providence. But to further inform about the variations: the album still contains aggressive and harder songs, but it contains also tracks that highlight a different side. I' m thinking in particular of The Raven Eyes, a song that floats on an acoustic guitar and sparse piano sounds and in which Vicky shows to be able to cope with different nuances and styles. A strong track.

The same goes for The Moment, although it is a rather mediocre and predictable song. Anyone who might thinks that the album is a semi-soft boiled egg, is mistaken. Tracks such as The Chain, The Resurrection and The Villain are nasty metal songs. And some tracks sound more moderate. The album ends with the bonus track Take Me To Church by Hozier. A very compelling track with an Agonist touch. Nicely done and very daring.

Five is a firm album with enough variation and punch. Singer Vicky Psarakis takes the songs to a higher level. Wondering how all this sounds when played live.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Dit is het tweede album met zangeres Vicky Psarakis en men kan niet ontkennen dat haar vocals meer variatie in de muziek van The Agonist brengen. Five komt overigens slechts een dik jaar na Eyes of Providence uit. Maar om over die variatie door te gaan: het album bevat nog steeds de agressie en hardere songs die we van deze band gewoon zijn. Daarnaast staan er ook tracks op het album die een andere kant tonen. Ik denk dan in het bijzonder aan The Raven Eyes, een song dat drijft op een akoestische gitaar en wat spaarzame piano. Hier toont Vicky dat ze met haar stem heel wat nuances en stijlen aankan. Een sterke track.

Hetzelfde geldt voor The Moment dat eerder een middelmatige en voorspelbare song is. Wie denkt dat het album een halfzacht gekookt eitje is, vergist zich evenwel. Tracks zoals The Chain, The Resurrection en The Villain zijn gemene metalsongs. Daarnaast zijn er ook nog enkele tracks die iets gematigder klinken. Als afsluiter en bonus waagt deze band zich aan Take Me To Church van Hozier. Het is een erg meeslepende track die een degelijke Agonist-touch heeft gekregen. Mooi gedaan en vooral gedurfd.

The Agonist levert met Five een ferm album af met voldoende variatie en punch. Zangeres Vicky Psarakis tilt de songs naar een hoger niveau. Benieuwd hoe dit alles live klinkt.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


11/12/2016 : THE AGONIST - Five 11/12/2016 : THE AGONIST - Five

Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas
08
12
Today, 40 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
Celebration Of The Lizard | Today Is Jim Morrison’s 75th-Birthday
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
06
12
BodyBeats announces complete and 100% Swedish line-up for International EBM day!
06
12
'Write When You Get Work': L.A. opening with special Q&A on December 7, 2018!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
12
THE BLADES
Too Late To Stop Now! | The Return Of The Blades - An Interview With Paul Cleary
05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

10
12
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart
07
12
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
06
12
ZANIAS
Aletheia (Official Video)
05
12
LIGHT ASYLUM
Skull Fucked