tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : THE AGONIST - Five

THE AGONIST

Five

MusicCD
Extreme MetalMelodic RockMetalcore

[80/100]   

Napalm Records
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

This is the second album with the singer Vicky Psarakis and it can not be denied that her vocals of Vicky bring more variation to the music of The Agonist. Five incidentally comes just over a year after Eyes of Providence. But to further inform about the variations: the album still contains aggressive and harder songs, but it contains also tracks that highlight a different side. I' m thinking in particular of The Raven Eyes, a song that floats on an acoustic guitar and sparse piano sounds and in which Vicky shows to be able to cope with different nuances and styles. A strong track.

The same goes for The Moment, although it is a rather mediocre and predictable song. Anyone who might thinks that the album is a semi-soft boiled egg, is mistaken. Tracks such as The Chain, The Resurrection and The Villain are nasty metal songs. And some tracks sound more moderate. The album ends with the bonus track Take Me To Church by Hozier. A very compelling track with an Agonist touch. Nicely done and very daring.

Five is a firm album with enough variation and punch. Singer Vicky Psarakis takes the songs to a higher level. Wondering how all this sounds when played live.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Dit is het tweede album met zangeres Vicky Psarakis en men kan niet ontkennen dat haar vocals meer variatie in de muziek van The Agonist brengen. Five komt overigens slechts een dik jaar na Eyes of Providence uit. Maar om over die variatie door te gaan: het album bevat nog steeds de agressie en hardere songs die we van deze band gewoon zijn. Daarnaast staan er ook tracks op het album die een andere kant tonen. Ik denk dan in het bijzonder aan The Raven Eyes, een song dat drijft op een akoestische gitaar en wat spaarzame piano. Hier toont Vicky dat ze met haar stem heel wat nuances en stijlen aankan. Een sterke track.

Hetzelfde geldt voor The Moment dat eerder een middelmatige en voorspelbare song is. Wie denkt dat het album een halfzacht gekookt eitje is, vergist zich evenwel. Tracks zoals The Chain, The Resurrection en The Villain zijn gemene metalsongs. Daarnaast zijn er ook nog enkele tracks die iets gematigder klinken. Als afsluiter en bonus waagt deze band zich aan Take Me To Church van Hozier. Het is een erg meeslepende track die een degelijke Agonist-touch heeft gekregen. Mooi gedaan en vooral gedurfd.

The Agonist levert met Five een ferm album af met voldoende variatie en punch. Zangeres Vicky Psarakis tilt de songs naar een hoger niveau. Benieuwd hoe dit alles live klinkt.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


11/12/2016 : THE AGONIST - Five 11/12/2016 : THE AGONIST - Five

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
FEUERSCHWANZ
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
UNZUCHT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper