tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : THE AGONIST - Five

THE AGONIST

Five

MusicCD
Extreme MetalMelodic RockMetalcore

[80/100]   

Napalm Records
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

This is the second album with the singer Vicky Psarakis and it can not be denied that her vocals of Vicky bring more variation to the music of The Agonist. Five incidentally comes just over a year after Eyes of Providence. But to further inform about the variations: the album still contains aggressive and harder songs, but it contains also tracks that highlight a different side. I' m thinking in particular of The Raven Eyes, a song that floats on an acoustic guitar and sparse piano sounds and in which Vicky shows to be able to cope with different nuances and styles. A strong track.

The same goes for The Moment, although it is a rather mediocre and predictable song. Anyone who might thinks that the album is a semi-soft boiled egg, is mistaken. Tracks such as The Chain, The Resurrection and The Villain are nasty metal songs. And some tracks sound more moderate. The album ends with the bonus track Take Me To Church by Hozier. A very compelling track with an Agonist touch. Nicely done and very daring.

Five is a firm album with enough variation and punch. Singer Vicky Psarakis takes the songs to a higher level. Wondering how all this sounds when played live.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Dit is het tweede album met zangeres Vicky Psarakis en men kan niet ontkennen dat haar vocals meer variatie in de muziek van The Agonist brengen. Five komt overigens slechts een dik jaar na Eyes of Providence uit. Maar om over die variatie door te gaan: het album bevat nog steeds de agressie en hardere songs die we van deze band gewoon zijn. Daarnaast staan er ook tracks op het album die een andere kant tonen. Ik denk dan in het bijzonder aan The Raven Eyes, een song dat drijft op een akoestische gitaar en wat spaarzame piano. Hier toont Vicky dat ze met haar stem heel wat nuances en stijlen aankan. Een sterke track.

Hetzelfde geldt voor The Moment dat eerder een middelmatige en voorspelbare song is. Wie denkt dat het album een halfzacht gekookt eitje is, vergist zich evenwel. Tracks zoals The Chain, The Resurrection en The Villain zijn gemene metalsongs. Daarnaast zijn er ook nog enkele tracks die iets gematigder klinken. Als afsluiter en bonus waagt deze band zich aan Take Me To Church van Hozier. Het is een erg meeslepende track die een degelijke Agonist-touch heeft gekregen. Mooi gedaan en vooral gedurfd.

The Agonist levert met Five een ferm album af met voldoende variatie en punch. Zangeres Vicky Psarakis tilt de songs naar een hoger niveau. Benieuwd hoe dit alles live klinkt.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


11/12/2016 : THE AGONIST - Five 11/12/2016 : THE AGONIST - Five

Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'
28
04
KILL SHELTER
There Is An Inherent Darkness And Sadness In The Music I Create
27
04
VANGUARD
We Had The Concept Of Doing Something That Ties Man And Machine Together

PHOTOS

20
05
THE ARCH
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
16
05
ABDOMEN
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
BOJACKS
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
THE OTHER
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
CLAN OF XYMOX
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
12
05
PRAGA KHAN
YAP Leopoldsburg
05
05
DER KLINKE
MysteriA Fantasy-Fair Aarschot

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis
19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl
18
05
GROUND NERO
Dark Descent
17
05
JAN SWERTS
Meer Is Er Niet
16
05
IAN MCCULLOCH
Lover Lover Lover
15
05
DELEYAMAN
Secret Treasures
14
05
IN DEATH IT ENDS
the most holy death