tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

11/12/2016 : THE AGONIST - Alcatraz Club Show: The Agonist, Kortrijk, De Kreun (02/10/2016)

THE AGONIST

Alcatraz Club Show: The Agonist, Kortrijk, De Kreun (02/10/2016)

Concert
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The Agonist came to De Kreun in Kortrijk last Sunday evening in order to present the new album (Five). Since we are very impressed by Five (see the review) we were wondering how it all would sound live.

First we heard Fields of Troy. The band did it well, as always with full dedication. The highlight of the set was Cold Eyes. Then it was time for the metalcore band Off The Cross that also made a solid impression with live songs like Black Hero and The Final Adjustment.

Then it was time for the main act. The band started with a few older songs before playing new material. It was striking that from the new and older work were mainly heard the most energetic and aggressive songs. The performance was one piece of energy.

The songs that show the more nuanced side of singer Vicky, such as The Moment and Raven Eyes, were not addressed. A pity, because Vicky may be small in stature, she has a solid voice. Instead we heard songs like The Villain, Follow The Crossed Line Thank You Pain, The Ocean... Vicky's clean vocals sounded soft in the mix, consequently, the nuances and emotional voice came less to the for. But this was a prime venue for those who love extreme metal... energetic and witty.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

The Agonist kwam zondagavond naar De Kreun in Kortrijk om er zijn nieuwe album (Five) voor te stellen. Aangezien we onder de indruk zijn van Five (zie ook de review) waren we benieuwd hoe dit alles live zou klinken.

Als opener hoorden we Fields of Troy. War de band deed was goed en zoals steeds met volle overgave. Hoogtepunt in de set was Cold Eyes. Daarna was het de beurt aan de mij onbekende metalcoreband, Off The Cross. Die maakte eveneens een zeer degelijke live indruk met o.a. songs als Black Hero en The Final Adjustment.

Daarna was het de beurt aan de hoofdact. Die opende met enkele oudere tracks vooraleer de nieuwe songs aan bod kwamen. Opvallend was eht feit dat uit het nieuwe en oudere werk vooral de meest energieke en agressieve tracks werden gespeeld. Het optreden was één brok energie.

De songs die de wat genuanceerdere kant van zangeres Vicky tonen, zoals The Moment en Raven Eyes, kwamen jammer genoeg niet aan bod. Wel The Villain, Follow The Crossed Line, Thank You Pain, The Ocean… Vicky is misschien klein van gestalte, maar ze heeft wel een enorm stemgeluid. Jammer dat haar cleane zang wat te stil in de mix weerklonk waardoor de nuanceringen en de emotievolle vocals minder goed uit de verf kwamen. Maar dit was een puik optreden voor wie van extreme metal houdt… energiek en snedig.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
07
Darkwave Band STYKFAKTOR Reveals New Single, 'Distance' - An Emotional Struggle With Social Distancing
07
07
FRONT 242's Daniel B. celebrate his 66th birthday with the release of 6+6
04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

08
07
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO & DAVID SYLVIAN
Life, Life
07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine
06
07
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)
05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis