tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

11/12/2016 : THE AGONIST - Alcatraz Club Show: The Agonist, Kortrijk, De Kreun (02/10/2016)

THE AGONIST

Alcatraz Club Show: The Agonist, Kortrijk, De Kreun (02/10/2016)

Concert
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The Agonist came to De Kreun in Kortrijk last Sunday evening in order to present the new album (Five). Since we are very impressed by Five (see the review) we were wondering how it all would sound live.

First we heard Fields of Troy. The band did it well, as always with full dedication. The highlight of the set was Cold Eyes. Then it was time for the metalcore band Off The Cross that also made a solid impression with live songs like Black Hero and The Final Adjustment.

Then it was time for the main act. The band started with a few older songs before playing new material. It was striking that from the new and older work were mainly heard the most energetic and aggressive songs. The performance was one piece of energy.

The songs that show the more nuanced side of singer Vicky, such as The Moment and Raven Eyes, were not addressed. A pity, because Vicky may be small in stature, she has a solid voice. Instead we heard songs like The Villain, Follow The Crossed Line Thank You Pain, The Ocean... Vicky's clean vocals sounded soft in the mix, consequently, the nuances and emotional voice came less to the for. But this was a prime venue for those who love extreme metal... energetic and witty.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

The Agonist kwam zondagavond naar De Kreun in Kortrijk om er zijn nieuwe album (Five) voor te stellen. Aangezien we onder de indruk zijn van Five (zie ook de review) waren we benieuwd hoe dit alles live zou klinken.

Als opener hoorden we Fields of Troy. War de band deed was goed en zoals steeds met volle overgave. Hoogtepunt in de set was Cold Eyes. Daarna was het de beurt aan de mij onbekende metalcoreband, Off The Cross. Die maakte eveneens een zeer degelijke live indruk met o.a. songs als Black Hero en The Final Adjustment.

Daarna was het de beurt aan de hoofdact. Die opende met enkele oudere tracks vooraleer de nieuwe songs aan bod kwamen. Opvallend was eht feit dat uit het nieuwe en oudere werk vooral de meest energieke en agressieve tracks werden gespeeld. Het optreden was één brok energie.

De songs die de wat genuanceerdere kant van zangeres Vicky tonen, zoals The Moment en Raven Eyes, kwamen jammer genoeg niet aan bod. Wel The Villain, Follow The Crossed Line, Thank You Pain, The Ocean… Vicky is misschien klein van gestalte, maar ze heeft wel een enorm stemgeluid. Jammer dat haar cleane zang wat te stil in de mix weerklonk waardoor de nuanceringen en de emotievolle vocals minder goed uit de verf kwamen. Maar dit was een puik optreden voor wie van extreme metal houdt… energiek en snedig.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
12
On this day, 39 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!
09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas
08
12
Today, 40 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
Celebration Of The Lizard | Today Is Jim Morrison’s 75th-Birthday
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
06
12
BodyBeats announces complete and 100% Swedish line-up for International EBM day!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
12
THE BLADES
Too Late To Stop Now! | The Return Of The Blades - An Interview With Paul Cleary
05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

11
12
FUNKER VOGT
Feel the Pain
10
12
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart
07
12
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
06
12
ZANIAS
Aletheia (Official Video)