tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

11/12/2016 : THE AGONIST - Alcatraz Club Show: The Agonist, Kortrijk, De Kreun (02/10/2016)

THE AGONIST

Alcatraz Club Show: The Agonist, Kortrijk, De Kreun (02/10/2016)

Concert
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The Agonist came to De Kreun in Kortrijk last Sunday evening in order to present the new album (Five). Since we are very impressed by Five (see the review) we were wondering how it all would sound live.

First we heard Fields of Troy. The band did it well, as always with full dedication. The highlight of the set was Cold Eyes. Then it was time for the metalcore band Off The Cross that also made a solid impression with live songs like Black Hero and The Final Adjustment.

Then it was time for the main act. The band started with a few older songs before playing new material. It was striking that from the new and older work were mainly heard the most energetic and aggressive songs. The performance was one piece of energy.

The songs that show the more nuanced side of singer Vicky, such as The Moment and Raven Eyes, were not addressed. A pity, because Vicky may be small in stature, she has a solid voice. Instead we heard songs like The Villain, Follow The Crossed Line Thank You Pain, The Ocean... Vicky's clean vocals sounded soft in the mix, consequently, the nuances and emotional voice came less to the for. But this was a prime venue for those who love extreme metal... energetic and witty.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

The Agonist kwam zondagavond naar De Kreun in Kortrijk om er zijn nieuwe album (Five) voor te stellen. Aangezien we onder de indruk zijn van Five (zie ook de review) waren we benieuwd hoe dit alles live zou klinken.

Als opener hoorden we Fields of Troy. War de band deed was goed en zoals steeds met volle overgave. Hoogtepunt in de set was Cold Eyes. Daarna was het de beurt aan de mij onbekende metalcoreband, Off The Cross. Die maakte eveneens een zeer degelijke live indruk met o.a. songs als Black Hero en The Final Adjustment.

Daarna was het de beurt aan de hoofdact. Die opende met enkele oudere tracks vooraleer de nieuwe songs aan bod kwamen. Opvallend was eht feit dat uit het nieuwe en oudere werk vooral de meest energieke en agressieve tracks werden gespeeld. Het optreden was één brok energie.

De songs die de wat genuanceerdere kant van zangeres Vicky tonen, zoals The Moment en Raven Eyes, kwamen jammer genoeg niet aan bod. Wel The Villain, Follow The Crossed Line, Thank You Pain, The Ocean… Vicky is misschien klein van gestalte, maar ze heeft wel een enorm stemgeluid. Jammer dat haar cleane zang wat te stil in de mix weerklonk waardoor de nuanceringen en de emotievolle vocals minder goed uit de verf kwamen. Maar dit was een puik optreden voor wie van extreme metal houdt… energiek en snedig.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


Music reviews

01
09
A SLICE OF LIFE
Restless
31
08
DICEPEOPLE
One From Many
30
08
VARIOUS
ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
28
08
LEAETHER STRIP
World Molæster
27
08
EUROPEAN GHOST
Collections Of Shadows
09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

23
09
The electronic einzelgänger TRUE ZEBRA releases 123
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 26 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Today: Russian dark-electro over Brussels!
16
09
Diane Grace releases first of three videos, 'Wedding', taken from their new EP 'Pan!c'!
15
09
Dead High Wire release their debut single ‘Pray For Us’!
14
09
HOLYGRAM as support for VNV NATION - NOIR TOUR

Concert reviews

14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
09
STRONG PRODUCT, 0KONTROL
What RUSSIAN EBM and ATOMWAVE are all about
04
09
SOPHYA
Luckily The Human Being Is Bored Easily And Vinyl Saved The Day
01
09
DEAD ASTROPILOTS
There Is Also Something Related To Decay That We Love With Vinyl Records
11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'

PHOTOS

20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
ASH CODE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
DAGEIST
W-Fest Amougies
22
08
KIM WILDE
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
09
KRANKLAND
Summer Avalanche
22
09
UNZUCHT
Neuntöter
21
09
CASPIAN
Rioseco
20
09
LOVELESSLUT
AntiYouth
19
09
ERIC13
Devil's Highway
18
09
THE NAMES
Nightshift
17
09
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi