tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

11/12/2016 : THE AGONIST - Alcatraz Club Show: The Agonist, Kortrijk, De Kreun (02/10/2016)

THE AGONIST

Alcatraz Club Show: The Agonist, Kortrijk, De Kreun (02/10/2016)

Concert
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The Agonist came to De Kreun in Kortrijk last Sunday evening in order to present the new album (Five). Since we are very impressed by Five (see the review) we were wondering how it all would sound live.

First we heard Fields of Troy. The band did it well, as always with full dedication. The highlight of the set was Cold Eyes. Then it was time for the metalcore band Off The Cross that also made a solid impression with live songs like Black Hero and The Final Adjustment.

Then it was time for the main act. The band started with a few older songs before playing new material. It was striking that from the new and older work were mainly heard the most energetic and aggressive songs. The performance was one piece of energy.

The songs that show the more nuanced side of singer Vicky, such as The Moment and Raven Eyes, were not addressed. A pity, because Vicky may be small in stature, she has a solid voice. Instead we heard songs like The Villain, Follow The Crossed Line Thank You Pain, The Ocean... Vicky's clean vocals sounded soft in the mix, consequently, the nuances and emotional voice came less to the for. But this was a prime venue for those who love extreme metal... energetic and witty.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

The Agonist kwam zondagavond naar De Kreun in Kortrijk om er zijn nieuwe album (Five) voor te stellen. Aangezien we onder de indruk zijn van Five (zie ook de review) waren we benieuwd hoe dit alles live zou klinken.

Als opener hoorden we Fields of Troy. War de band deed was goed en zoals steeds met volle overgave. Hoogtepunt in de set was Cold Eyes. Daarna was het de beurt aan de mij onbekende metalcoreband, Off The Cross. Die maakte eveneens een zeer degelijke live indruk met o.a. songs als Black Hero en The Final Adjustment.

Daarna was het de beurt aan de hoofdact. Die opende met enkele oudere tracks vooraleer de nieuwe songs aan bod kwamen. Opvallend was eht feit dat uit het nieuwe en oudere werk vooral de meest energieke en agressieve tracks werden gespeeld. Het optreden was één brok energie.

De songs die de wat genuanceerdere kant van zangeres Vicky tonen, zoals The Moment en Raven Eyes, kwamen jammer genoeg niet aan bod. Wel The Villain, Follow The Crossed Line, Thank You Pain, The Ocean… Vicky is misschien klein van gestalte, maar ze heeft wel een enorm stemgeluid. Jammer dat haar cleane zang wat te stil in de mix weerklonk waardoor de nuanceringen en de emotievolle vocals minder goed uit de verf kwamen. Maar dit was een puik optreden voor wie van extreme metal houdt… energiek en snedig.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself
13
06
FACTICE FACTORY
L'Aurore
12
06
SOWULU
Ginnungagap
11
06
SHE PAST AWAY
Katarsis