tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

11/12/2016 : THE AGONIST - Alcatraz Club Show: The Agonist, Kortrijk, De Kreun (02/10/2016)

THE AGONIST

Alcatraz Club Show: The Agonist, Kortrijk, De Kreun (02/10/2016)

Concert
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The Agonist came to De Kreun in Kortrijk last Sunday evening in order to present the new album (Five). Since we are very impressed by Five (see the review) we were wondering how it all would sound live.

First we heard Fields of Troy. The band did it well, as always with full dedication. The highlight of the set was Cold Eyes. Then it was time for the metalcore band Off The Cross that also made a solid impression with live songs like Black Hero and The Final Adjustment.

Then it was time for the main act. The band started with a few older songs before playing new material. It was striking that from the new and older work were mainly heard the most energetic and aggressive songs. The performance was one piece of energy.

The songs that show the more nuanced side of singer Vicky, such as The Moment and Raven Eyes, were not addressed. A pity, because Vicky may be small in stature, she has a solid voice. Instead we heard songs like The Villain, Follow The Crossed Line Thank You Pain, The Ocean... Vicky's clean vocals sounded soft in the mix, consequently, the nuances and emotional voice came less to the for. But this was a prime venue for those who love extreme metal... energetic and witty.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

The Agonist kwam zondagavond naar De Kreun in Kortrijk om er zijn nieuwe album (Five) voor te stellen. Aangezien we onder de indruk zijn van Five (zie ook de review) waren we benieuwd hoe dit alles live zou klinken.

Als opener hoorden we Fields of Troy. War de band deed was goed en zoals steeds met volle overgave. Hoogtepunt in de set was Cold Eyes. Daarna was het de beurt aan de mij onbekende metalcoreband, Off The Cross. Die maakte eveneens een zeer degelijke live indruk met o.a. songs als Black Hero en The Final Adjustment.

Daarna was het de beurt aan de hoofdact. Die opende met enkele oudere tracks vooraleer de nieuwe songs aan bod kwamen. Opvallend was eht feit dat uit het nieuwe en oudere werk vooral de meest energieke en agressieve tracks werden gespeeld. Het optreden was één brok energie.

De songs die de wat genuanceerdere kant van zangeres Vicky tonen, zoals The Moment en Raven Eyes, kwamen jammer genoeg niet aan bod. Wel The Villain, Follow The Crossed Line, Thank You Pain, The Ocean… Vicky is misschien klein van gestalte, maar ze heeft wel een enorm stemgeluid. Jammer dat haar cleane zang wat te stil in de mix weerklonk waardoor de nuanceringen en de emotievolle vocals minder goed uit de verf kwamen. Maar dit was een puik optreden voor wie van extreme metal houdt… energiek en snedig.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


Music reviews

18
06
ASTRASONIC
Passengers
15
06
NEGANT
No !
13
06
VOGON POETRY
Life, The Universe and Everything
24
05
HA:PEOPLE 355
One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
15
05
FERAL BODY
Chain Ritual
14
05
ORNAMENTI D'ORO
Mater Tenebrarum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
06
Ryan Murphy’s new show POSE is a trip back to the 1980s - glamorous and electrifying!
17
06
'The Boys In The Band' - A modern and inspiring story with long-standing roots!
10
06
Shakespeare meets Hollywood: 'A Midsummer Night's Dream' reloaded!
02
06
International premiere of 'Locating Silver Lake' at Edinburgh Film Fest this month!
28
05
Peter Murphy & David J celebrate 40 years of Bauhaus at W-Fest!
28
05
British alternative rock outfit, Shriekback, will release new album ‘Why Anything? Why This?’ on 25th May!

Concert reviews

24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO
04
06
LEAETHER STRIP
‘MY BIGGEST HERO IS ALAN WILDER’
31
05
PARADOX OBSCUR
EVERY NEW ALBUM IS GETTING CLOSER TO THE FUTURE…
29
05
FIRST AID 4 SOULS
Composing Songs Begins By Reading A Lot Of Books
25
05
ERIC BILITCH
'I WOULD NEVER WANT TO MAKE A MOVIE FOR EVERYONE!'

PHOTOS

10
06
VV303
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
STRUGGLER
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
10
06
O VEUX
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
APPARAAT
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
ENZO KREFT
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
ROSA PARKS
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
06
THE SOUND
Winning
18
06
DIE ANTWOORD
I FINK U FREEKY
17
06
JUNO REACTOR
Let's Turn On
16
06
GOLDFRAPP
Ocean Feat. Dave Gahan
15
06
THE KVB
Never Enough
14
06
ADULT.
Nite Life
13
06
HA;PEOPLE 3 55
Infierno