tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : ZOMBY - Ultra

ZOMBY

Ultra

MusicCD


[70/100]   

Hyperdub
11/12/2016, Paul PLEDGER

Much like Burial and Rustie, chip-tune raver Zomby craves a certain level of anonymity whilst retaining trademark sounds and samples throughout his releases. After unexpectedly inking a deal with arty 4AD and issuing two albums - the ground-breaking Dedication and the overlong but occasionally sublime With Love - the masked master craftsman once again hooks up with Hyperdub, home to like-minded bass-weight specialists Kode 9, Laurel Halo and yes Burial, as well as providers of early Zomby 12" like Mu5h.

Ultra is a busy electronic album of finger-click beats, haunting Hammer-horror synth-hooks and urban darkness that draws on influences such as dubstep, jungle, eskibeat and trap without pandering to the limitations of any of the genres. It's very much a Zomby album yet doesn't resemble his earlier rave-busting exploits. Instead you're taken on a relentless space-flight through the imagery of Bladerunner, Fifth Element and Metropolis via a muddy field east of Romford and a stick-up club in Norwood.

For me, this album doesn't really kick off until four tracks in when E.S.P. bothers my bass-bins with its low-end rumble. Preceded by three somewhat meandering soundtracks to, what could be, a fight on a night-bus, Zomby's tendency to over-egg an idea detracts from what is eventually, a decent album. He does some full-on lazer-pointing with Glass, widescreen melancholia with Her and ambient tenderness on Thaw. Conversely though, there's only so much of "get me fucked up" I can tolerate on the Burial collab Sweetz. Closer Tenkyuu returns to a more conclusive and left-field environment, a sort of Tears in Rain for the comedown generation.

Overall, Ultra isn't the huge leap forward expected from such a clearly innovative creator but is still light years ahead of the electronic pack.

This review also appeared on Flipside Reviews

Paul PLEDGER
11/12/2016


Music reviews

05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling
23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed
05
09
38 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
29
08
42 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!
14
08
Electro-Industrial Band NEON INSECT Announces The Release Of New Moscow Underground

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'
15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!

PHOTOS

07
09
THE SPIRITUAL BAT
Le Garage Luik
25
08
BORGHESIA
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
GRAND BLANC
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
WE ARE WAVES
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
10
08
MOTOR!K
De Smoutpot Zwijndrecht

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

16
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
Magic is Real
15
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser [Zardonic Remix]
14
09
TALK TALK
It´s My Life
13
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell
12
09
NINE INCH NAILS
Burning Bright (Field On Fire)
11
09
PJ HARVEY
The Orange Monkey
10
09
AUSTRA
Utopia