tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : ZOMBY - Ultra

ZOMBY

Ultra

MusicCD


[70/100]   

Hyperdub
11/12/2016, Paul PLEDGER

Much like Burial and Rustie, chip-tune raver Zomby craves a certain level of anonymity whilst retaining trademark sounds and samples throughout his releases. After unexpectedly inking a deal with arty 4AD and issuing two albums - the ground-breaking Dedication and the overlong but occasionally sublime With Love - the masked master craftsman once again hooks up with Hyperdub, home to like-minded bass-weight specialists Kode 9, Laurel Halo and yes Burial, as well as providers of early Zomby 12" like Mu5h.

Ultra is a busy electronic album of finger-click beats, haunting Hammer-horror synth-hooks and urban darkness that draws on influences such as dubstep, jungle, eskibeat and trap without pandering to the limitations of any of the genres. It's very much a Zomby album yet doesn't resemble his earlier rave-busting exploits. Instead you're taken on a relentless space-flight through the imagery of Bladerunner, Fifth Element and Metropolis via a muddy field east of Romford and a stick-up club in Norwood.

For me, this album doesn't really kick off until four tracks in when E.S.P. bothers my bass-bins with its low-end rumble. Preceded by three somewhat meandering soundtracks to, what could be, a fight on a night-bus, Zomby's tendency to over-egg an idea detracts from what is eventually, a decent album. He does some full-on lazer-pointing with Glass, widescreen melancholia with Her and ambient tenderness on Thaw. Conversely though, there's only so much of "get me fucked up" I can tolerate on the Burial collab Sweetz. Closer Tenkyuu returns to a more conclusive and left-field environment, a sort of Tears in Rain for the comedown generation.

Overall, Ultra isn't the huge leap forward expected from such a clearly innovative creator but is still light years ahead of the electronic pack.

This review also appeared on Flipside Reviews

Paul PLEDGER
11/12/2016


Music reviews

03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires
18
06
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Seed of Evil

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!
03
06
Today, 42 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us
10
06
THE JUGGERNAUTS
It's striking, in 'mainstream' genres no-one is making a big deal about band's similarities and their possible influences... But oh dear if you dare make EBM!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline
28
06
HOCICO
I Abomination