tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : ZOMBY - Ultra

ZOMBY

Ultra

MusicCD


[70/100]   

Hyperdub
11/12/2016, Paul PLEDGER

Much like Burial and Rustie, chip-tune raver Zomby craves a certain level of anonymity whilst retaining trademark sounds and samples throughout his releases. After unexpectedly inking a deal with arty 4AD and issuing two albums - the ground-breaking Dedication and the overlong but occasionally sublime With Love - the masked master craftsman once again hooks up with Hyperdub, home to like-minded bass-weight specialists Kode 9, Laurel Halo and yes Burial, as well as providers of early Zomby 12" like Mu5h.

Ultra is a busy electronic album of finger-click beats, haunting Hammer-horror synth-hooks and urban darkness that draws on influences such as dubstep, jungle, eskibeat and trap without pandering to the limitations of any of the genres. It's very much a Zomby album yet doesn't resemble his earlier rave-busting exploits. Instead you're taken on a relentless space-flight through the imagery of Bladerunner, Fifth Element and Metropolis via a muddy field east of Romford and a stick-up club in Norwood.

For me, this album doesn't really kick off until four tracks in when E.S.P. bothers my bass-bins with its low-end rumble. Preceded by three somewhat meandering soundtracks to, what could be, a fight on a night-bus, Zomby's tendency to over-egg an idea detracts from what is eventually, a decent album. He does some full-on lazer-pointing with Glass, widescreen melancholia with Her and ambient tenderness on Thaw. Conversely though, there's only so much of "get me fucked up" I can tolerate on the Burial collab Sweetz. Closer Tenkyuu returns to a more conclusive and left-field environment, a sort of Tears in Rain for the comedown generation.

Overall, Ultra isn't the huge leap forward expected from such a clearly innovative creator but is still light years ahead of the electronic pack.

This review also appeared on Flipside Reviews

Paul PLEDGER
11/12/2016


Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
06
The Number H Explores Loss & Regret With New EP, 'The Conditioning'
16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

27
06
THE MISSION
Live am See Meschede Germany
23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
06
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete