tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : LES PANTIES - Cold Science

LES PANTIES

Cold Science

MusicCD
Post Punk

[80/100]   

Les Disques Du Crépuscule
11/12/2016, Paul PLEDGER

Rooted firmly in their homeland's '80s post-punk landscape and comparable to (deep breath) Propaganda, The Cure, early Crepuscule electro-wavers Isolation Ward, Clan of Xymox and that woman and her Banshees, it's all too easy to dismiss Belgium's Les Panties as copyists or plagiarists. The truth is, there's also references to the likes of current critical squeezes like Savages (opening track Velvet is a sprawling tetchy epic), CHVRCHES (Diving is all smoky, sultry pop huskiness and brooding basslines) and Grimes (the bouncy Hazy Days wouldn't sound out of place on her first album, after a fashion). One cannot always dispute PR notes, you know.

So whether retro or contemporary, it seems Les Panties have the potential to reach a wider audience. It's about time - they've been issuing singles and EPs since 2011 to little or no avail. Cold Science rounds all of these hard-to-find releases up into one concise compilation with a string of rare black and white photographs, including the noir-ish front cover depicting singer Sophie Frison staring demurely down the lens.

There's another feasible reason why the songs seemingly hark back to the days of resonating synthetic snare-drums, atmospheric lyrics, long raincoats and dry ice - production credits include Mark Plati (Bowie, The Cure), Ian Caple (Shriekback, Kate Bush and Julian Cope) and Gilles Martin (Tuxedomoon, Wire), all of whom helped the band stylise their sound.

Perhaps the key song here alongside Diving and Hazy Days is L'Arrivée, presented here in two mixes. This is a fine slice of synthpop with soaring vocals similar to Siouxsie, pulsating hooks, New Order-esque washes of synth and the all-important big build-up. For me, the second mix is superior but either would suffice being blasted out of a festival sound-system in front of thousands of pissed revellers. Meanwhile back in the real world, Les Panties await their fate. On the strength of all but one of these likeable cuttings of new-wave (Porkshop is just odd), I'd wager they've an album waiting to burst out of them.

This review also appeared on Flipside Reviews

Paul PLEDGER
11/12/2016


Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

27
06
THE MISSION
Live am See Meschede Germany
23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
06
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete