tempobet yeni adresi

11/12/2016 : ULTRAVOX - The Island Years

ULTRAVOX

The Island Years

MusicCD
New wavePost Punk

[90/100]   

Caroline International
11/12/2016, Paul PLEDGER

Before pointy sideburns Slikmeister Midge Ure steered the typically difficult Ultravox template towards chart success and sold-out arena shows, the preceding John Foxx-led version knocked out three studio albums and enough residue material to fill an entire catalogue.

And so here it is in the form of The Island Years, just about every version of every song written before Vienna and Band Aid beckoned - and it's quite a compendium. Previously issued by Island some ten years ago with extra tracks, each album now appears remastered but on its tod, with a further disc of bonus studio, live and session tracks to bolster the package and raise the rent. But it's worth it.

From 1976 to 1979, Ultravox raged and roared on the fringes of pop success, delivering a trio of diverse synth-rock albums that encompassed elements of Bowie, Roxy, Japan, Wire, Bolan and Devoto. Way ahead of their time, Gary Numan, Duran Duran and Suede have all doffed a cap in their general direction in recent years, be it musically or lyrically.

The Island Years comes in a clam-shell box with a sizeable booklet and four discs, starting with 1976's snotty sputtering self-titled debut. Rather than being a typical punk long-player, 'Ultravox' was a blustering spiky rock 'n' roll mash-up of glam attitude and romantic gloss-pop. Somewhat unfashionable like Magazine's debut Real Life or Wire's Pink Flag, John Foxx's charges dared to present their oblique anthems shrouded in moody strings, psychedelic riffs and mysterious urbane lyrics. In 1977, it sounded like little else. Slip Away, Wide Boys and Dangerous Rhythm are perhaps the most accessible, the expressive The Wild, The Beautiful and The Damned and I Want To Be A Machine the most Ballardian and My Sex the most exquisite.

Ha!Ha!Ha! quickly followed but didn't quite deliver the promise of the debut although it still contains a welter of testy post-punk histrionics and recognisable Ultravox trademarks. The Man Who Dies Everyday, Hiroshima Mon Amour and RockWrok feature regularly in write-ups and accolades but it's The Frozen Ones and Fear in the Western World that truly astound with their prophetic visceral rage, while the eerie Distant Smile lulls you into a false sense of serenity before launching itself into a propulsive anthem.

Systems of Romance is quite rightly often cited as Foxx-era Ultravox's most consistent and accessible album. Armed with Slow Motion and Quiet Men, it cannot fail to be a part of the music-press' inevitable '80s round-ups. Pin-sharp songs right the way through from I Can't Stay Long to the gloriously cinematic Maximum Acceleration, Systems of Romance continued its stamp on Foxx's own solo career with its imagery, use of electronics and even down to its font - The Garden a natural progression. And if you remain emotionally intact after Just For a Moment, you're tougher than tough.

The Rare Retro disc is decidedly must-have. Young Savage, single mixes of Rockwrok, Slow Motion and Quiet Men, electric live versions of The Man Who Dies Every Day and Modern Love, rare TV and radio takes of My Sex and Hiroshima Mon Amour and a swath of Peel Sessions make this a compulsory requirement.

This review also appeared on Flipside Reviews

Paul PLEDGER
11/12/2016


 

Next reviews
CRISPY AMBULANCE • Random Textures / Compulsion
GRACE JONES • Warm Leatherette
THE INVISIBLE • Patience
THE TEMPEST • 5 Against The House
LONE • Levitate
THEE OH SEES • A Weird Exists
PRESENCE I OF I MIND • Pure
SONS OF A WANTED MAN • Black Days, Black Dust
SEVERED HEADS • Stretcher redux
LINGOUF • Quatuor Solitaire

 

Other reviews from ULTRAVOX
ULTRAVOX • Vienna
ULTRAVOX • Review of the concert at TRIX in Antwerp on 11th October 2012
ULTRAVOX • Brilliant

 

Same combination of genres: NEW WAVE + POST PUNK
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish
XTC • Skylarking
NEW MODEL ARMY • Winter
THE ASSOCIATES • Sulk
THE ASSOCIATES • Fourth Drawer Down.
THE ASSOCIATES • The Affectionate Punch
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Transmission Wave-West
WAN'S • Lost Inside
HONEYMOON COWBOYS • Still
EAGULLS • Ullages

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
THE NAMES • German Nights
SPREADING POINT • MOMENTUM - PART II
KILLING JOKE • Live at Muziek-o-Droom - Hasselt - Belgium 05.12.2016
KILLING JOKE • London, Brixton O2 Academy (04/11/2016)
NEW MODEL ARMY • Live at the Muziekgieterij, Maastricht, NL - 30.09.2016 - Photo Hub Dautzenberg
PAUL HAIG • Metamorphosis
PETE SHELLEY • Cinema Music and Wallpaper Sounds:
THE SECOND WAVE • Various Artists
HIDDEN PLACE • Nero Schwarz (Collezione)
SIMPLE MINDS • New Gold Dream '81 '82 '83 '84

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
A.D. MANA • A.D. Mana
SUPERNOVA 1006 • Unique World
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Oceans
DISCO INFERNO • In Debt 91/92
DRAB MAJESTY • The Demonstration
RAZORLINE • Razorline
WAREHOUSE • Super Low
MEDIUM MEDIUM • The Glitterhouse
LES PANTIES • Cold Science
CRISPY AMBULANCE • Random Textures / Compulsion

Music reviews

16
10
AMORPHOUS
Shapeshifting
12
10
HELIOPHILE
Permeate
10
10
TEARFUL MOON
Evocation
08
10
SPECIAL LOVE
Unloveable
07
10
ASTARI NITE
Dreams Of Majesty
06
10
SUBTERFUGE
Blind To Reason

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

17
10
Amnesty International Belgium invites hundreds of artists
10
10
New Simi-Nah video 'Chacun Pour Soi' on YouTube!
02
10
New Wave cult & club classic band Crash Course In Science is back with a new (bomb) album!
01
10
New IMPLANT EP / Video - The Phone Call - Out now!
30
09
First two names for the International EBM Day (De Casino, St-Niklaas, B) announced!
29
09
VIII. E-TROPOLIS FESTIVAL 2018 -NEWSLETTER- OF MASTERS, SERVANTS AND BIG MOMENTS!

Concert reviews

27
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017
27
08
THE JESUS AND MARY CHAIN
Live at Brussels Summer Fest - 13.08.2017
28
06
ARCANA OBSCURA, SKALUNA, JOHNNY DEATHSHADOW, EISFABRIK, PSYCLON NINE, DORSETSHIRE
maandag 5 juni
26
06
THE AGNES CIRCLE, QUAL, RROYCE, TOO DEAD TO DIE, TECHNIQUE, AUTODAFEH
Zaterdag 3 juni
26
06
NEUSTROHM, UNTERSCHICHT, HAUJOBB, FABRIK C, STOPPENBERG, CENTHRON
Non Tox - vrijdag 2 juni
26
06
ZWEITE JUGEND, HIGH-FUNCTIONING FLESH, SCHWEFELGELB, A SPLIT SECOND
WGT EBM warm-up - Felsenkeller

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
10
BLANCMANGE
'We were making experimental music for a while, really just for ourselves, not thinking anyone would want to listen.'
13
10
KOL BELOV
I make strange animations, that look like music videos and strange music videos, that look like animation.
11
10
THE HORRORIST
'Sometimes I cringe when I hear some of my songs about sex or pain but at the same time it’s my diary.'
09
10
A SPLIT-SECOND
Marc Ickx talks about A Split-Second
03
10
PARADE GROUND
'We play with our figure as acrobats. We see the audience as instruments and love to play with them.'

PHOTOS

14
10
ATTRITION
Charles Bradlaugh, Northampton, UK
14
10
VUDUVOX
Charles Bradlaugh, Northampton, UK
14
10
CURXES
229 The Venue, London, UK
08
10
BLANCMANGE
229 The Venue, London, UK
27
09
THE SISTERS OF MERCY
Rockhal Luxemburg
25
09
LLUMEN
Electrowerkz, London, UK
25
09
ASH CODE
Electrowerkz, London, UK

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

11
12
The World of Hante
11
12
ORGANIC
Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
11
12
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
TCHELESKOV IVANOVITCH (SIGNAL AOUT 42, GRANDCHAOS)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
PEER LEBRECHT (GOLDEN APES)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life

VIDEO CLIPS

17
10
AND ALSO THE TREES
Your Guess
16
10
!DISTAIN
Conversation Overkill
15
10
TEHI TEARDO & BLIXA BARGELD
The Beast
15
10
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)
15
10
CLAN OF XYMOX
A Day
14
10
RED ZEBRA
The Art Of Conversation
12
10
JOZEF VAN WISSEM
Ruins