tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

27/06/2012 : ULTRAVOX - Brilliant

ULTRAVOX

Brilliant

MusicCD
New waveSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[85/100]   

EMI
27/06/2012, Philippe BLACKMARQUIS

I really love the revival period we are going through! After the critically acclaimed return of John Foxx last year (see interview), we are now witnessing the come-back of Ultravox.

In the history of Ultravox, I have always been a big fan of the "John Foxx period" (76-79), mostly because they were the first to combine Punk with Krautrock, Glam and Art rock to create a new kind of music, which would later be called "new-wave" ("synth-pop"). Unfortunately, success didn't come for them and Ultravox had to break up. When Midge Ure revived the band a few months later, Ultravox found the right (commercial) recipe, thanks to catchy songs like "Vienna" and "Sleepwalk". Subsequently, Ultravox became one of the spearheads of the "New Romantic" movement and released very successful albums : "Rage In Eden" (with the single "The Voice"), "Lament" (with "Dancing With Tears In My Eyes") and "U-Vox". The sound of the band evolved from a minimal, more cold-wave sound in '80 (inspired by the "John Foxx period") to a more emphatic, symphonic power-pop in the following years.

After their break-up in '88, there was a new avatar in '93 (with Currie as only original member) and Ultravox reformed in 2008, originally only for a "Reunion Tour", which led them to the "Lokerse Feesten" in 2009. Seeing the success and the demand of the public, they decided to record a new album and to revive their career.

"Brilliant" is therefore the band's first album since "U-Vox" in... 1986! On this album, you will find the '79-'86 lineup with Midge Ure (vocals, guitars), Billy Currie (synths, violin), Warren Cann (drums) and Chris Cross (bass). The album features 12 new songs that perfectly fit in the typical Ultravox style of this period. You find exactly the same ingredients: huge sound, piano riffs played in octaves, high-pitched vocals, sophisticated harmonies and majestic choruses. The only difference is that Ure's voice has evolved a bit and sounds more mature.

The first three songs of the album, "Live", "Flow" and "Brilliant", the first single, form a very strong start with their skyscraping anthemry, pulsing synth lines, and gorgeous textures. With "Change", "Remembering" and "One", the tempo slows down and the band shows its ability to create touching romantic ballads with Kraftwerkian touches, while "Fall" presents a more sophisticated, progressive structure. "Lie", on the contrary, is another potential radio hit with its beefy symphonic tones, reminiscent of John Wetton's Asia. The album draws to a close with another typical hit, "Satellite" and a soft and poignant ballad, "Contact", featuring Currie's famous violin.

A great album! Even those who don't like the bombastic and commercial aspects of this Ultravox lineup will have to admit that the songs are pretty well crafted and very efficient. It's good to see them back together and I am looking forward to listening to these new songs live at the Trix, Antwerp on October 11th!

Philippe BLACKMARQUIS
27/06/2012


 

Next reviews
ANATHEMA • Weather Systems
SHE WANTS REVENGE • Live at the Zappa in Antwerp on June 21st with THIEVES OF SILENCE
A.A.A.K. • Totalitarian Tip-Toe
EMPUSAE • Symbiosis
NEWCLEAR WAVES • Newclear Waves
OYAARSS • Bads
VITA NOCTIS • Against The Rule
MENTALLO & THE FIXER • Associated Projects: Benestrophe, Mainesthai, Polyhedron ‎– A Collection Of Rare, Unreleased & Remastered
SONAR • Cut Us Up
A.S. SWANSKI • Electro Noir

 

Other reviews from ULTRAVOX
ULTRAVOX • The Island Years
ULTRAVOX • Vienna
ULTRAVOX • Review of the concert at TRIX in Antwerp on 11th October 2012

 

Same combination of genres: NEW WAVE + SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
SIMPLE MINDS • New Gold Dream '81 '82 '83 '84
JOHN FOXX • Burning Car
ULTRAVOX • Vienna
KISSING THE PINK • Naked
VARIOUS ARTISTS • The Underground Wave 7”s
BILL AND MURRAY • A New Kind Of High
SCARLET SOHO • In Cold Blood
HUMAN LEAGUE • Classics: Dare

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
DAGEIST • Sexy
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
ERASURE • THE NEON
HER OWN WORLD • A Different Kind Of Reality
AUGER • Insurgence
UNITCODE:MACHINE • Paper empires
COLD IN MAY • Koma:Redux
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
LADYTRON • Ladytron
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
VOGON POETRY • Life, The Universe and Everything

Music reviews

02
12
DIVE
Where do we go from here
01
12
THE MARS MODEL
Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
26
11
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
The Dread Files
25
11
FIRST
Restless
18
11
AD:KEY
Resonanz
17
11
SWANS
Children Of GodFeel Good Now

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

02
12
This month it’s 36 years ago Canadian industrial act Skinny Puppy released their very first EP Remission.
01
12
50 years of Ruckzuck with Kraftwerk!
28
11
Today it's exactly 40 years since Siouxsie and the Banshees, released their Christmas single 'Israel'!
27
11
39 years of Don't You Want Me by The Human League
27
11
Non-Stop Erotic Cabaret | Untainted With Time - Released 39 years ago!
26
11
38 years of Melting with Siouxsie and the Banshees!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break
21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

02
12
GROUND NERO
Plethora
01
12
EXIT STRATEGY
Dead Zone
30
11
DIVE
Black Star (Official Music Video)
30
11
POPTONE
Slice Of Life
29
11
CUELEBRE
Fodder for the raven
28
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I M B E C I L E, My Idiot Lover
27
11
LYAPIS TRUBETSKOY
Lights