tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

27/06/2012 : ULTRAVOX - Brilliant

ULTRAVOX

Brilliant

MusicCD
New waveSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[85/100]   

EMI
27/06/2012, Philippe BLACKMARQUIS

I really love the revival period we are going through! After the critically acclaimed return of John Foxx last year (see interview), we are now witnessing the come-back of Ultravox.

In the history of Ultravox, I have always been a big fan of the "John Foxx period" (76-79), mostly because they were the first to combine Punk with Krautrock, Glam and Art rock to create a new kind of music, which would later be called "new-wave" ("synth-pop"). Unfortunately, success didn't come for them and Ultravox had to break up. When Midge Ure revived the band a few months later, Ultravox found the right (commercial) recipe, thanks to catchy songs like "Vienna" and "Sleepwalk". Subsequently, Ultravox became one of the spearheads of the "New Romantic" movement and released very successful albums : "Rage In Eden" (with the single "The Voice"), "Lament" (with "Dancing With Tears In My Eyes") and "U-Vox". The sound of the band evolved from a minimal, more cold-wave sound in '80 (inspired by the "John Foxx period") to a more emphatic, symphonic power-pop in the following years.

After their break-up in '88, there was a new avatar in '93 (with Currie as only original member) and Ultravox reformed in 2008, originally only for a "Reunion Tour", which led them to the "Lokerse Feesten" in 2009. Seeing the success and the demand of the public, they decided to record a new album and to revive their career.

"Brilliant" is therefore the band's first album since "U-Vox" in... 1986! On this album, you will find the '79-'86 lineup with Midge Ure (vocals, guitars), Billy Currie (synths, violin), Warren Cann (drums) and Chris Cross (bass). The album features 12 new songs that perfectly fit in the typical Ultravox style of this period. You find exactly the same ingredients: huge sound, piano riffs played in octaves, high-pitched vocals, sophisticated harmonies and majestic choruses. The only difference is that Ure's voice has evolved a bit and sounds more mature.

The first three songs of the album, "Live", "Flow" and "Brilliant", the first single, form a very strong start with their skyscraping anthemry, pulsing synth lines, and gorgeous textures. With "Change", "Remembering" and "One", the tempo slows down and the band shows its ability to create touching romantic ballads with Kraftwerkian touches, while "Fall" presents a more sophisticated, progressive structure. "Lie", on the contrary, is another potential radio hit with its beefy symphonic tones, reminiscent of John Wetton's Asia. The album draws to a close with another typical hit, "Satellite" and a soft and poignant ballad, "Contact", featuring Currie's famous violin.

A great album! Even those who don't like the bombastic and commercial aspects of this Ultravox lineup will have to admit that the songs are pretty well crafted and very efficient. It's good to see them back together and I am looking forward to listening to these new songs live at the Trix, Antwerp on October 11th!

Philippe BLACKMARQUIS
27/06/2012


 

Next reviews
ANATHEMA • Weather Systems
SHE WANTS REVENGE • Live at the Zappa in Antwerp on June 21st with THIEVES OF SILENCE
A.A.A.K. • Totalitarian Tip-Toe
EMPUSAE • Symbiosis
NEWCLEAR WAVES • Newclear Waves
OYAARSS • Bads
VITA NOCTIS • Against The Rule
MENTALLO & THE FIXER • Associated Projects: Benestrophe, Mainesthai, Polyhedron ‎– A Collection Of Rare, Unreleased & Remastered
SONAR • Cut Us Up
A.S. SWANSKI • Electro Noir

 

Other reviews from ULTRAVOX
ULTRAVOX • The Island Years
ULTRAVOX • Vienna
ULTRAVOX • Review of the concert at TRIX in Antwerp on 11th October 2012

 

Same combination of genres: NEW WAVE + SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
SIMPLE MINDS • New Gold Dream '81 '82 '83 '84
JOHN FOXX • Burning Car
ULTRAVOX • Vienna
KISSING THE PINK • Naked
VARIOUS ARTISTS • The Underground Wave 7”s
BILL AND MURRAY • A New Kind Of High
SCARLET SOHO • In Cold Blood
HUMAN LEAGUE • Classics: Dare

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
DAGEIST • Sexy
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
DD SANCHEZ • StRaNgE
ERASURE • THE NEON
HER OWN WORLD • A Different Kind Of Reality
AUGER • Insurgence
UNITCODE:MACHINE • Paper empires
COLD IN MAY • Koma:Redux
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
LADYTRON • Ladytron

Music reviews

14
04
THE BURYING KIND
The Burying Kind ( EP )
05
04
VARIOUS ARTISTS
Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
23
03
300 000VK
Peter Paradox
10
03
PYRROLINE
Struggling
23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene(° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...
04
04
15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 19 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
SYNAPTIC DEFECT sends teaser into the world

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

14
04
MESH
It scares me
13
04
MONOTONE EXPRESSION
Out Of Tune With Life
12
04
LAID BACK
White Horse
11
04
VOK
Waterfall
10
04
SVEN VATH VS. ANTHONY ROTHER
Komm
09
04
THIS CAN HURT
IF YOU GO
08
04
THE SISTERS OF MERCY
Lucretia, My Reflection