tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

07/06/2012 : A.S. SWANSKI - Electro Noir

A.S. SWANSKI

Electro Noir

MusicCD
Dark ElectroNew wave

[75/100]   
07/06/2012, Chris KONINGS

This dutchmen is a jack of all trades, he's a musician, journalist, author... Someone who looks at things from other angles most people would. Electro Noir is a good way to describe his music, it has a certain film noir feeling and I hear a lot of different influences like Clock DVA's Advantage, Fad Gadget or even the ethnic touch of Minimal Compact.

Most vocals are narrative, a legacy of him being a writer? The first few songs are easily digestible dark pop with enough bite to raise a few eyebrows. Check out the video of "Moscow Hearts", the visuals fit well with the cold, dark synthpop. "L'etranger" is an instrumental, "Freedom" is a critical view on the western world of today. The Blixa Bargeld vocals in "Kalte" do just the trick and "DSK" is a cynical song with sobbing girls on the background, a very touching and compelling song! It's about Dominique Strauss-Kahn, hence the sobbing...

"Burn The Dutch" lasts 8 minutes and there he descends to the darkest regions with maniacal whispers on Fad Gadget electro. The last two minutes are sounds of singing birds. Another weird one is "I Felt A Funeral In My Brain" where child like vocals and absurd melodies reminding me of The Residents. So it's an uncompromising record that's hard to chew through, slightly unbalanced but it's also very honest and sharp witted music. Something one should always respect so this is one to discover!

A.S. SWANSKI

Chris KONINGS
07/06/2012


Music reviews

09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.
09
08
REACTOR7X
And Chaos Bacame The New Order
01
08
ANNINA MELISSA
Exhibition of Death
31
07
CRIMEN
Silent Animals
26
07
VIOLENCE
Le Flux de la Nature
22
07
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS
Semiotics Department of Heteronyms

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
08
Today, it’s exactly 31 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
08
08
James Ray (The voice from The Sisterhood) returns with brand new album, band and musical style change!
02
08
This month, 35 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
30
07
'Anything' movie: UK digital release on August, 6th!
25
07
Spacelab revisited! ISS calls Kraftwerk from outer Space!
25
07
'Locating Silver Lake' screening at Breckenridge Film Festival in September!

Concert reviews

14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'
03
08
LIZARD SMILE
'I still see it as the expression of appreciation par excellence to buy a physical album. It still remains more ‘real’ … one way or another.'
29
07
SN-A
I Also Love Telling Stories Without Words
27
07
STIN SCATZOR
I never could have thought Stin Scatzor would ever release an album on DAFT Records!

PHOTOS

16
08
16
08
BAUHAUS
W-Fest Amougies
12
08
12
08
GARY NUMAN
Lokerse Feesten
01
08
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Amphi
01
08
PERSEPHONE
Amphi
01
08
MAD SIN
Amphi

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
08
SOLAR FAKE
Under Control
15
08
NEW ORDER
Restless
15
08
JO QUAIL
Gold (live)
15
08
SIXTH JUNE
Drowning
14
08
ASHRAM
Maria and the violin's string
13
08
DAVEY SUICIDE
Rise Above
12
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Sanri