tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

07/06/2012 : A.S. SWANSKI - Electro Noir

A.S. SWANSKI

Electro Noir

MusicCD
Dark ElectroNew wave

[75/100]   
07/06/2012, Chris KONINGS

This dutchmen is a jack of all trades, he's a musician, journalist, author... Someone who looks at things from other angles most people would. Electro Noir is a good way to describe his music, it has a certain film noir feeling and I hear a lot of different influences like Clock DVA's Advantage, Fad Gadget or even the ethnic touch of Minimal Compact.

Most vocals are narrative, a legacy of him being a writer? The first few songs are easily digestible dark pop with enough bite to raise a few eyebrows. Check out the video of "Moscow Hearts", the visuals fit well with the cold, dark synthpop. "L'etranger" is an instrumental, "Freedom" is a critical view on the western world of today. The Blixa Bargeld vocals in "Kalte" do just the trick and "DSK" is a cynical song with sobbing girls on the background, a very touching and compelling song! It's about Dominique Strauss-Kahn, hence the sobbing...

"Burn The Dutch" lasts 8 minutes and there he descends to the darkest regions with maniacal whispers on Fad Gadget electro. The last two minutes are sounds of singing birds. Another weird one is "I Felt A Funeral In My Brain" where child like vocals and absurd melodies reminding me of The Residents. So it's an uncompromising record that's hard to chew through, slightly unbalanced but it's also very honest and sharp witted music. Something one should always respect so this is one to discover!

A.S. SWANSKI

Chris KONINGS
07/06/2012


Music reviews

22
10
VEDA RAYS
For The Rest To Rest
20
10
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS
Scalped
19
10
CHRIS WATSON
Locations Processed
18
10
COLE VARGAS
Cole Vargas
16
10
DAVID BOWIE
Low, Heroes, Lodger
15
10
ALVAR
I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
10
CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Headlining USA East Coast Tour Dates
19
10
Ancient Greek folk ensemble DAEMONIA NYMPHE have announced the re-release of acclaimed album Psychostasia!
18
10
Dive re-releases his fourth studio album 'Snakedressed' on double vinyl
18
10
'Write When You Get Work' screening at Philadelphia Film Festival this weekend - watch the trailer here!
17
10
Belgian post-punk outfit Whispering Sons has announced their long-awaited debut album 'Image'!
16
10
KOLLAPS ANNOUNCES EUROPEAN TOUR 2018

Concert reviews

24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

22
10
DAVID J
Interview with David J
20
10
TRASH DEITY
Trash Dialog: An Interview With Groovie Mann & John Norton of Trash Deity
19
10
SONOLOGYST
A ‘Vertical’ Approach To Music
18
10
MERZBOW
Interview with Masami Akita (Merzbow)
17
10
ALVAR
The trend of 2018 has been 303´s - we sold ours!

PHOTOS

16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik
09
10
NEON ELECTRONICS
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
09
10
APPARAAT
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
10
ADULT.
Heartbreak (Live @ MOOGFEST SOUND LAB)
21
10
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
20
10
RROYCE
The Principle Of Grace
19
10
DEATH KOOLAID
Kids
18
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
17
10
VNV NATION
When is the Future?
17
10
WARDRUNA
Raido