tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

07/06/2012 : A.S. SWANSKI - Electro Noir

A.S. SWANSKI

Electro Noir

MusicCD
Dark ElectroNew wave

[75/100]   
07/06/2012, Chris KONINGS

This dutchmen is a jack of all trades, he's a musician, journalist, author... Someone who looks at things from other angles most people would. Electro Noir is a good way to describe his music, it has a certain film noir feeling and I hear a lot of different influences like Clock DVA's Advantage, Fad Gadget or even the ethnic touch of Minimal Compact.

Most vocals are narrative, a legacy of him being a writer? The first few songs are easily digestible dark pop with enough bite to raise a few eyebrows. Check out the video of "Moscow Hearts", the visuals fit well with the cold, dark synthpop. "L'etranger" is an instrumental, "Freedom" is a critical view on the western world of today. The Blixa Bargeld vocals in "Kalte" do just the trick and "DSK" is a cynical song with sobbing girls on the background, a very touching and compelling song! It's about Dominique Strauss-Kahn, hence the sobbing...

"Burn The Dutch" lasts 8 minutes and there he descends to the darkest regions with maniacal whispers on Fad Gadget electro. The last two minutes are sounds of singing birds. Another weird one is "I Felt A Funeral In My Brain" where child like vocals and absurd melodies reminding me of The Residents. So it's an uncompromising record that's hard to chew through, slightly unbalanced but it's also very honest and sharp witted music. Something one should always respect so this is one to discover!

A.S. SWANSKI

Chris KONINGS
07/06/2012


Music reviews

14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?
22
06
DIORAMA
ZSA
21
06
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
20
06
POESIE NOIRE
Déjà Vu
19
06
SLITHERUM
Godbox Suicide