tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

28/05/2012 : TRANQUIL EYES - Walks

TRANQUIL EYES

Walks

MusicVinyl
MinimalSynth Wave

[76/100]   

Onderstroom Records
28/05/2012, Didier PIETERS

EN

OS15 1985 2012 180 500 MS-20 10 76

 

When you think about it, there aren’t that many truly great Dutch bands and artists … Certainly not if you compare with France, Germany and of course BELGIUM! (Clan Of) Xymox, Pieter Nooten, Flue, Das Ding, Mecano and Nine Circles. That is probably the complete list. And sure, also Osdorp Posse and e.g. Crivits, The Legendary Pink Dots, The Nits, Minny Pops, Claw Boys Claw and The Essence made some very nice stuff. A bit meager for a country that’s “a lot” bigger than Belgium. Maybe these bold statements are due to my lack of knowledge of the Dutch music scene? In that case, I apologize, dear northern neighbors! Anyway, it’s a fact that until a short while ago, I never heard of “Walks” and Tranquil Eyes. Maybe there are a lot more of these Dutch gems to be discovered?

 

Eighties electronics (with a leading role for the KORG MS-20), dominate the minimal landscape of the synth “Walks”. Add voices leaning towards that of Numan/Fox/Ure/… and an incidental bass, tambourine, guitar and sitar, and you have a pretty good idea of what’s going on. “Walks” might not be the best release ever on OnderStroom Records, but 10 well crafted, often danceable songs with a great eighties feel, certainly make this purchase worthwhile.

 

“Walks” was a cassette release originally (1985, Stichting Stopcontact). OnderStroom Records decided to offer the album a second life and I suppose the dynamic duo Lex Grauwen and Paul Oosterbaan, together Tranquil Eyes, are quite happy with this … “Walks” was pressed on 180 gr. quality vinyl and re-mastered by Ruud Braumuller. The album is limited to 500 copies and comes with a 15 page booklet with lyrics, credits, photographs and liner notes.

 

One more thing. In my introduction I forgot André Hazes! Fantastic guy and great artist: RESPECT!

 

More recent OnderStroom Records releases: http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/reviews/twilight-ritual-the-factory-scream/. 86/100!

Didier PIETERS
28/05/2012


NL

OS15 1985 2012 180 500 MS-20 10 76

 

Nederland heeft op muzikaal vlak niet zo veel te betekenen. Zeker niet in vergelijking met Frankrijk, Duitsland en uiteraard BELGIE. (Clan Of) Xymox, Pieter Nooten, Flue, Das Ding, Mecano en Nine Circles. Tot zover het lijstje met sublieme Nederlandse groepen en artiesten. En ook de Osdorp Posse en bijvoorbeeld Crivits, The Legendary Pink Dots, The Nits, Minny Pops, Claw Boys Claw en The Essence hebben wat mij betreft een aantal fantastische songs op hun teller. Nogal mager voor een land dat “ettelijke” keren groter is dan België. Misschien speelt mijn beperkte kennis me wel parten? In dat geval mijn excuses, waarde Noorderburen. Feit is dat met deze “Walks” van Tranquil Eyes terug een (bescheiden) pareltje opduikt waarvan ik het bestaan niet afwist. Dank u OnderStroom Records, zeggen we dan!

 

Eighties electronics (met de Korg MS-20 in de hoofdrol) domineren het minimale landschap van deze “synth”wandelingen. Voeg daarbij stemmen die neigen naar die van Numan/Fox/Ure/… en een incidentele bas, tamboerijn, gitaar of sitar en je hebt al een MEER dan vaag idee van de ingeslagen wegen … “Walks” is niet het ALLERBESTE uit de onderstroom, maar 10 leuke, mooi opgebouwde, vaak dansvloervriendelijke songs maken de aanschaf meer dan waard.

 

“Walks” was overigens oorspronkelijk een tape-release uit 1985 (Stichting Stopcontact), het eerste en enige wat verscheen van het dynamische duo Grauwen (Lex) en Oosterbaan (Paul), samen Tranquil Eyes. Spreekwoordelijk spek voor de bek van het Belgische OnderStroom Records, dat onlangs dus deze geremasterde vinyl-versie op de markt gooide, zoals gebruikelijk in beperkte oplage (500 exemplaren, boekje met foto’s en teksten incluis). Achter de knoppen: Ruud Braumuller. 

 

Vergeten in de inleiding: André Hazes! Fantastische gozer en groot artiest: RESPECT!

 

Ander werk op OnderStroom Records: http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/reviews/twilight-ritual-the-factory-scream/. 86/100, zeer de moeite!

Didier PIETERS
28/05/2012


Music reviews

11
07
CONTAINER 90
Friendship and love
10
07
ENZO KREFT
Control
09
07
HOCICO
Artificial Extinction
04
07
MECHANIMAL
White Flag Single
14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
07
Today it’s 31 years since Siouxsie & The Banshees released their single Peek-a-Boo.
18
07
Today, exactly 39 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.
17
07
Electronic/Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah Announces The Release of Their Single 'Black Sheep'
16
07
Electronic Act THE BRUTE: Announces New LONESOME HERO/AND I WANT YOU Split Single & Video
15
07
New Peek-a-Boo Magazine #34 out now!
15
07
PINK TURNS ANNOUNCES REISSUES OF FIRST ALBUMS + TOUR 2019

Concert reviews

14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
07
MARK DEUTROM (CLOWN ALLEY/THE MELVINS)
' I felt like I needed to make a solo-record at that time!'
15
07
STEVE DIGGLE (BUZZCOCKS)
'We were writing from the heart and soul!'
08
07
TODD TRAINER (SHELLAC)
'My attitude has always been to be original and unique!'
06
07
BOB BERT (PUSSY GALORE, LYDIA LUNCH RETROVIRUS, EX-SONIC YOUTH,...)
'One man’s noise is another man’s symphony!'
02
07
TEST DEPARTMENT
THE 80s WERE AN AMAZING TIME FOR MUSICAL DEVELOPMENT

PHOTOS

19
07
SILENT RUNNERS
Blue Shell Köln
17
07
JOY/DISASTER
Blue Shell Köln
17
07
JOY/DISASTER
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
IAMTHESHADOW
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
IAMTHESHADOW
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
CRYING VESSEL
Blue Shell Köln
10
07
CEPHALGY
Parkhaus Duisburg

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

19
07
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
18
07
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
17
07
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
16
07
RABIA SORDA
Deaf
15
07
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
14
07
CUBANATE
Kolossus
13
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Anabasis