tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

28/05/2012 : TRANQUIL EYES - Walks

TRANQUIL EYES

Walks

MusicVinyl
MinimalSynth Wave

[76/100]   

Onderstroom Records
28/05/2012, Didier PIETERS

EN

OS15 1985 2012 180 500 MS-20 10 76

 

When you think about it, there aren’t that many truly great Dutch bands and artists … Certainly not if you compare with France, Germany and of course BELGIUM! (Clan Of) Xymox, Pieter Nooten, Flue, Das Ding, Mecano and Nine Circles. That is probably the complete list. And sure, also Osdorp Posse and e.g. Crivits, The Legendary Pink Dots, The Nits, Minny Pops, Claw Boys Claw and The Essence made some very nice stuff. A bit meager for a country that’s “a lot” bigger than Belgium. Maybe these bold statements are due to my lack of knowledge of the Dutch music scene? In that case, I apologize, dear northern neighbors! Anyway, it’s a fact that until a short while ago, I never heard of “Walks” and Tranquil Eyes. Maybe there are a lot more of these Dutch gems to be discovered?

 

Eighties electronics (with a leading role for the KORG MS-20), dominate the minimal landscape of the synth “Walks”. Add voices leaning towards that of Numan/Fox/Ure/… and an incidental bass, tambourine, guitar and sitar, and you have a pretty good idea of what’s going on. “Walks” might not be the best release ever on OnderStroom Records, but 10 well crafted, often danceable songs with a great eighties feel, certainly make this purchase worthwhile.

 

“Walks” was a cassette release originally (1985, Stichting Stopcontact). OnderStroom Records decided to offer the album a second life and I suppose the dynamic duo Lex Grauwen and Paul Oosterbaan, together Tranquil Eyes, are quite happy with this … “Walks” was pressed on 180 gr. quality vinyl and re-mastered by Ruud Braumuller. The album is limited to 500 copies and comes with a 15 page booklet with lyrics, credits, photographs and liner notes.

 

One more thing. In my introduction I forgot André Hazes! Fantastic guy and great artist: RESPECT!

 

More recent OnderStroom Records releases: http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/reviews/twilight-ritual-the-factory-scream/. 86/100!

Didier PIETERS
28/05/2012


NL

OS15 1985 2012 180 500 MS-20 10 76

 

Nederland heeft op muzikaal vlak niet zo veel te betekenen. Zeker niet in vergelijking met Frankrijk, Duitsland en uiteraard BELGIE. (Clan Of) Xymox, Pieter Nooten, Flue, Das Ding, Mecano en Nine Circles. Tot zover het lijstje met sublieme Nederlandse groepen en artiesten. En ook de Osdorp Posse en bijvoorbeeld Crivits, The Legendary Pink Dots, The Nits, Minny Pops, Claw Boys Claw en The Essence hebben wat mij betreft een aantal fantastische songs op hun teller. Nogal mager voor een land dat “ettelijke” keren groter is dan België. Misschien speelt mijn beperkte kennis me wel parten? In dat geval mijn excuses, waarde Noorderburen. Feit is dat met deze “Walks” van Tranquil Eyes terug een (bescheiden) pareltje opduikt waarvan ik het bestaan niet afwist. Dank u OnderStroom Records, zeggen we dan!

 

Eighties electronics (met de Korg MS-20 in de hoofdrol) domineren het minimale landschap van deze “synth”wandelingen. Voeg daarbij stemmen die neigen naar die van Numan/Fox/Ure/… en een incidentele bas, tamboerijn, gitaar of sitar en je hebt al een MEER dan vaag idee van de ingeslagen wegen … “Walks” is niet het ALLERBESTE uit de onderstroom, maar 10 leuke, mooi opgebouwde, vaak dansvloervriendelijke songs maken de aanschaf meer dan waard.

 

“Walks” was overigens oorspronkelijk een tape-release uit 1985 (Stichting Stopcontact), het eerste en enige wat verscheen van het dynamische duo Grauwen (Lex) en Oosterbaan (Paul), samen Tranquil Eyes. Spreekwoordelijk spek voor de bek van het Belgische OnderStroom Records, dat onlangs dus deze geremasterde vinyl-versie op de markt gooide, zoals gebruikelijk in beperkte oplage (500 exemplaren, boekje met foto’s en teksten incluis). Achter de knoppen: Ruud Braumuller. 

 

Vergeten in de inleiding: André Hazes! Fantastische gozer en groot artiest: RESPECT!

 

Ander werk op OnderStroom Records: http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/reviews/twilight-ritual-the-factory-scream/. 86/100, zeer de moeite!

Didier PIETERS
28/05/2012


Music reviews

05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling
23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed
05
09
38 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
29
08
42 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!
14
08
Electro-Industrial Band NEON INSECT Announces The Release Of New Moscow Underground

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'
15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!

PHOTOS

17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld
17
09
ASHTON NYTE SALAD DAZE BIELEFED WITH WAYNE HUSSEY
Movie Bielefeld
07
09
THE SPIRITUAL BAT
Le Garage Luik
25
08
BORGHESIA
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
GRAND BLANC
Donkey Rock Festival Selange

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem
16
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
Magic is Real
15
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser [Zardonic Remix]
14
09
TALK TALK
It´s My Life
13
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell
12
09
NINE INCH NAILS
Burning Bright (Field On Fire)
11
09
PJ HARVEY
The Orange Monkey