tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

28/05/2012 : TRANQUIL EYES - Walks

TRANQUIL EYES

Walks

MusicVinyl
MinimalSynth Wave

[76/100]   

Onderstroom Records
28/05/2012, Didier PIETERS

EN

OS15 1985 2012 180 500 MS-20 10 76

 

When you think about it, there aren’t that many truly great Dutch bands and artists … Certainly not if you compare with France, Germany and of course BELGIUM! (Clan Of) Xymox, Pieter Nooten, Flue, Das Ding, Mecano and Nine Circles. That is probably the complete list. And sure, also Osdorp Posse and e.g. Crivits, The Legendary Pink Dots, The Nits, Minny Pops, Claw Boys Claw and The Essence made some very nice stuff. A bit meager for a country that’s “a lot” bigger than Belgium. Maybe these bold statements are due to my lack of knowledge of the Dutch music scene? In that case, I apologize, dear northern neighbors! Anyway, it’s a fact that until a short while ago, I never heard of “Walks” and Tranquil Eyes. Maybe there are a lot more of these Dutch gems to be discovered?

 

Eighties electronics (with a leading role for the KORG MS-20), dominate the minimal landscape of the synth “Walks”. Add voices leaning towards that of Numan/Fox/Ure/… and an incidental bass, tambourine, guitar and sitar, and you have a pretty good idea of what’s going on. “Walks” might not be the best release ever on OnderStroom Records, but 10 well crafted, often danceable songs with a great eighties feel, certainly make this purchase worthwhile.

 

“Walks” was a cassette release originally (1985, Stichting Stopcontact). OnderStroom Records decided to offer the album a second life and I suppose the dynamic duo Lex Grauwen and Paul Oosterbaan, together Tranquil Eyes, are quite happy with this … “Walks” was pressed on 180 gr. quality vinyl and re-mastered by Ruud Braumuller. The album is limited to 500 copies and comes with a 15 page booklet with lyrics, credits, photographs and liner notes.

 

One more thing. In my introduction I forgot André Hazes! Fantastic guy and great artist: RESPECT!

 

More recent OnderStroom Records releases: http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/reviews/twilight-ritual-the-factory-scream/. 86/100!

Didier PIETERS
28/05/2012


NL

OS15 1985 2012 180 500 MS-20 10 76

 

Nederland heeft op muzikaal vlak niet zo veel te betekenen. Zeker niet in vergelijking met Frankrijk, Duitsland en uiteraard BELGIE. (Clan Of) Xymox, Pieter Nooten, Flue, Das Ding, Mecano en Nine Circles. Tot zover het lijstje met sublieme Nederlandse groepen en artiesten. En ook de Osdorp Posse en bijvoorbeeld Crivits, The Legendary Pink Dots, The Nits, Minny Pops, Claw Boys Claw en The Essence hebben wat mij betreft een aantal fantastische songs op hun teller. Nogal mager voor een land dat “ettelijke” keren groter is dan België. Misschien speelt mijn beperkte kennis me wel parten? In dat geval mijn excuses, waarde Noorderburen. Feit is dat met deze “Walks” van Tranquil Eyes terug een (bescheiden) pareltje opduikt waarvan ik het bestaan niet afwist. Dank u OnderStroom Records, zeggen we dan!

 

Eighties electronics (met de Korg MS-20 in de hoofdrol) domineren het minimale landschap van deze “synth”wandelingen. Voeg daarbij stemmen die neigen naar die van Numan/Fox/Ure/… en een incidentele bas, tamboerijn, gitaar of sitar en je hebt al een MEER dan vaag idee van de ingeslagen wegen … “Walks” is niet het ALLERBESTE uit de onderstroom, maar 10 leuke, mooi opgebouwde, vaak dansvloervriendelijke songs maken de aanschaf meer dan waard.

 

“Walks” was overigens oorspronkelijk een tape-release uit 1985 (Stichting Stopcontact), het eerste en enige wat verscheen van het dynamische duo Grauwen (Lex) en Oosterbaan (Paul), samen Tranquil Eyes. Spreekwoordelijk spek voor de bek van het Belgische OnderStroom Records, dat onlangs dus deze geremasterde vinyl-versie op de markt gooide, zoals gebruikelijk in beperkte oplage (500 exemplaren, boekje met foto’s en teksten incluis). Achter de knoppen: Ruud Braumuller. 

 

Vergeten in de inleiding: André Hazes! Fantastische gozer en groot artiest: RESPECT!

 

Ander werk op OnderStroom Records: http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/reviews/twilight-ritual-the-factory-scream/. 86/100, zeer de moeite!

Didier PIETERS
28/05/2012


Music reviews

18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain
15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE
10
01
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Lost Feelings
09
01
CAUSENATION
Promises of hope and fear

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
On this day, 30 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!
18
01
On this day, 41 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!
17
01
Today, 36 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
26 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!
15
01
Brand new Front Line Assembly album 'Mechanical Soul' out today!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
01
ROB ZOMBIE
The Triumph of King Freak (A Crypt of Preservation and Superstition)
20
01
NEW ORDER
True Faith
19
01
CORDE OBLIQUE
Suono su tela
18
01
KAI SCHUMACHER
The Hug (Rework by Illuminine)
17
01
ELSJE HELEWAUT & RUDOLF HECKE
Let's Not Give A Damn
16
01
PSY'AVIAH
Not What I Expected
15
01
LEATHER STRIP
Strap me down