tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

28/05/2012 : TRANQUIL EYES - Walks

TRANQUIL EYES

Walks

MusicVinyl
MinimalSynth Wave

[76/100]   

Onderstroom Records
28/05/2012, Didier PIETERS

EN

OS15 1985 2012 180 500 MS-20 10 76

 

When you think about it, there aren’t that many truly great Dutch bands and artists … Certainly not if you compare with France, Germany and of course BELGIUM! (Clan Of) Xymox, Pieter Nooten, Flue, Das Ding, Mecano and Nine Circles. That is probably the complete list. And sure, also Osdorp Posse and e.g. Crivits, The Legendary Pink Dots, The Nits, Minny Pops, Claw Boys Claw and The Essence made some very nice stuff. A bit meager for a country that’s “a lot” bigger than Belgium. Maybe these bold statements are due to my lack of knowledge of the Dutch music scene? In that case, I apologize, dear northern neighbors! Anyway, it’s a fact that until a short while ago, I never heard of “Walks” and Tranquil Eyes. Maybe there are a lot more of these Dutch gems to be discovered?

 

Eighties electronics (with a leading role for the KORG MS-20), dominate the minimal landscape of the synth “Walks”. Add voices leaning towards that of Numan/Fox/Ure/… and an incidental bass, tambourine, guitar and sitar, and you have a pretty good idea of what’s going on. “Walks” might not be the best release ever on OnderStroom Records, but 10 well crafted, often danceable songs with a great eighties feel, certainly make this purchase worthwhile.

 

“Walks” was a cassette release originally (1985, Stichting Stopcontact). OnderStroom Records decided to offer the album a second life and I suppose the dynamic duo Lex Grauwen and Paul Oosterbaan, together Tranquil Eyes, are quite happy with this … “Walks” was pressed on 180 gr. quality vinyl and re-mastered by Ruud Braumuller. The album is limited to 500 copies and comes with a 15 page booklet with lyrics, credits, photographs and liner notes.

 

One more thing. In my introduction I forgot André Hazes! Fantastic guy and great artist: RESPECT!

 

More recent OnderStroom Records releases: http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/reviews/twilight-ritual-the-factory-scream/. 86/100!

Didier PIETERS
28/05/2012


NL

OS15 1985 2012 180 500 MS-20 10 76

 

Nederland heeft op muzikaal vlak niet zo veel te betekenen. Zeker niet in vergelijking met Frankrijk, Duitsland en uiteraard BELGIE. (Clan Of) Xymox, Pieter Nooten, Flue, Das Ding, Mecano en Nine Circles. Tot zover het lijstje met sublieme Nederlandse groepen en artiesten. En ook de Osdorp Posse en bijvoorbeeld Crivits, The Legendary Pink Dots, The Nits, Minny Pops, Claw Boys Claw en The Essence hebben wat mij betreft een aantal fantastische songs op hun teller. Nogal mager voor een land dat “ettelijke” keren groter is dan België. Misschien speelt mijn beperkte kennis me wel parten? In dat geval mijn excuses, waarde Noorderburen. Feit is dat met deze “Walks” van Tranquil Eyes terug een (bescheiden) pareltje opduikt waarvan ik het bestaan niet afwist. Dank u OnderStroom Records, zeggen we dan!

 

Eighties electronics (met de Korg MS-20 in de hoofdrol) domineren het minimale landschap van deze “synth”wandelingen. Voeg daarbij stemmen die neigen naar die van Numan/Fox/Ure/… en een incidentele bas, tamboerijn, gitaar of sitar en je hebt al een MEER dan vaag idee van de ingeslagen wegen … “Walks” is niet het ALLERBESTE uit de onderstroom, maar 10 leuke, mooi opgebouwde, vaak dansvloervriendelijke songs maken de aanschaf meer dan waard.

 

“Walks” was overigens oorspronkelijk een tape-release uit 1985 (Stichting Stopcontact), het eerste en enige wat verscheen van het dynamische duo Grauwen (Lex) en Oosterbaan (Paul), samen Tranquil Eyes. Spreekwoordelijk spek voor de bek van het Belgische OnderStroom Records, dat onlangs dus deze geremasterde vinyl-versie op de markt gooide, zoals gebruikelijk in beperkte oplage (500 exemplaren, boekje met foto’s en teksten incluis). Achter de knoppen: Ruud Braumuller. 

 

Vergeten in de inleiding: André Hazes! Fantastische gozer en groot artiest: RESPECT!

 

Ander werk op OnderStroom Records: http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/reviews/twilight-ritual-the-factory-scream/. 86/100, zeer de moeite!

Didier PIETERS
28/05/2012


Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

11
07
0 years of Computer Love by Kraftwerk
10
07
This month it’s 28 years ago Ministry released N.W.O. (New World Order)!
09
07
Dutch electro pioneers, Minny Pops announce the release of a brand new double A-Side single!
08
07
Darkwave Artist DISSONANCE Announces New Maxi-Single 'Precipice;' A Lament Of Personal Struggle
07
07
Darkwave Band STYKFAKTOR Reveals New Single, 'Distance' - An Emotional Struggle With Social Distancing
07
07
FRONT 242's Daniel B. celebrate his 66th birthday with the release of 6+6

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
07
DON GORDON (NUMB)
'In many ways the first Numb album was one of the ‘easiest’ to produce...'
06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

11
07
SIRENIA
Once My Light
10
07
VIOLENT VICKIE
Dark Disorder
09
07
XUP
CUT YOU OPEN
09
07
FAR
Epicaricacy
08
07
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO & DAVID SYLVIAN
Life, Life
07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine