tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

28/05/2012 : TRANQUIL EYES - Walks

TRANQUIL EYES

Walks

MusicVinyl
MinimalSynth Wave

[76/100]   

Onderstroom Records
28/05/2012, Didier PIETERS

EN

OS15 1985 2012 180 500 MS-20 10 76

 

When you think about it, there aren’t that many truly great Dutch bands and artists … Certainly not if you compare with France, Germany and of course BELGIUM! (Clan Of) Xymox, Pieter Nooten, Flue, Das Ding, Mecano and Nine Circles. That is probably the complete list. And sure, also Osdorp Posse and e.g. Crivits, The Legendary Pink Dots, The Nits, Minny Pops, Claw Boys Claw and The Essence made some very nice stuff. A bit meager for a country that’s “a lot” bigger than Belgium. Maybe these bold statements are due to my lack of knowledge of the Dutch music scene? In that case, I apologize, dear northern neighbors! Anyway, it’s a fact that until a short while ago, I never heard of “Walks” and Tranquil Eyes. Maybe there are a lot more of these Dutch gems to be discovered?

 

Eighties electronics (with a leading role for the KORG MS-20), dominate the minimal landscape of the synth “Walks”. Add voices leaning towards that of Numan/Fox/Ure/… and an incidental bass, tambourine, guitar and sitar, and you have a pretty good idea of what’s going on. “Walks” might not be the best release ever on OnderStroom Records, but 10 well crafted, often danceable songs with a great eighties feel, certainly make this purchase worthwhile.

 

“Walks” was a cassette release originally (1985, Stichting Stopcontact). OnderStroom Records decided to offer the album a second life and I suppose the dynamic duo Lex Grauwen and Paul Oosterbaan, together Tranquil Eyes, are quite happy with this … “Walks” was pressed on 180 gr. quality vinyl and re-mastered by Ruud Braumuller. The album is limited to 500 copies and comes with a 15 page booklet with lyrics, credits, photographs and liner notes.

 

One more thing. In my introduction I forgot André Hazes! Fantastic guy and great artist: RESPECT!

 

More recent OnderStroom Records releases: http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/reviews/twilight-ritual-the-factory-scream/. 86/100!

Didier PIETERS
28/05/2012


NL

OS15 1985 2012 180 500 MS-20 10 76

 

Nederland heeft op muzikaal vlak niet zo veel te betekenen. Zeker niet in vergelijking met Frankrijk, Duitsland en uiteraard BELGIE. (Clan Of) Xymox, Pieter Nooten, Flue, Das Ding, Mecano en Nine Circles. Tot zover het lijstje met sublieme Nederlandse groepen en artiesten. En ook de Osdorp Posse en bijvoorbeeld Crivits, The Legendary Pink Dots, The Nits, Minny Pops, Claw Boys Claw en The Essence hebben wat mij betreft een aantal fantastische songs op hun teller. Nogal mager voor een land dat “ettelijke” keren groter is dan België. Misschien speelt mijn beperkte kennis me wel parten? In dat geval mijn excuses, waarde Noorderburen. Feit is dat met deze “Walks” van Tranquil Eyes terug een (bescheiden) pareltje opduikt waarvan ik het bestaan niet afwist. Dank u OnderStroom Records, zeggen we dan!

 

Eighties electronics (met de Korg MS-20 in de hoofdrol) domineren het minimale landschap van deze “synth”wandelingen. Voeg daarbij stemmen die neigen naar die van Numan/Fox/Ure/… en een incidentele bas, tamboerijn, gitaar of sitar en je hebt al een MEER dan vaag idee van de ingeslagen wegen … “Walks” is niet het ALLERBESTE uit de onderstroom, maar 10 leuke, mooi opgebouwde, vaak dansvloervriendelijke songs maken de aanschaf meer dan waard.

 

“Walks” was overigens oorspronkelijk een tape-release uit 1985 (Stichting Stopcontact), het eerste en enige wat verscheen van het dynamische duo Grauwen (Lex) en Oosterbaan (Paul), samen Tranquil Eyes. Spreekwoordelijk spek voor de bek van het Belgische OnderStroom Records, dat onlangs dus deze geremasterde vinyl-versie op de markt gooide, zoals gebruikelijk in beperkte oplage (500 exemplaren, boekje met foto’s en teksten incluis). Achter de knoppen: Ruud Braumuller. 

 

Vergeten in de inleiding: André Hazes! Fantastische gozer en groot artiest: RESPECT!

 

Ander werk op OnderStroom Records: http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/reviews/twilight-ritual-the-factory-scream/. 86/100, zeer de moeite!

Didier PIETERS
28/05/2012


 

Next reviews
BLITZKID • Apparitional
CDATAKILL • Battleworn
AND ONE • S.T.O.P.
CAROLINE JAGO • MMXII
PINKISH BLACK • Pinkish Black
FRANK RIGGIO • Psychexcess I - Presentism
COLLECTION D'ARNELL-ANDRÉA • Concert at Magasin4 in Brussels on 12th May 2012 with A Challenge of Honour and Skeptical Minds
DEATHCAMP PROJECT • Painthings
TOM SIX • The Human Centipede
• Seawave 2

 

Other reviews from TRANQUIL EYES
TRANQUIL EYES • Fact & Fiction

 

Same combination of genres: MINIMAL + SYNTH WAVE
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • A New Dawn
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
MORE EPHEMEROL • Obituary Templates
L'AVENIR • Requiem And Live
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit
RADERKRAFT • Smart Control
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
VIOLENCE • Le Flux de la Nature

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • Dangerous Isolation Site
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
SYNTET • Hjärtats slag
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
STAATSEINDE • Darüber Reden Wir Nicht
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)

 

Same genre: SYNTH WAVE
MAGNETIC RUST • Multicolor
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II
NUOVO TESTAMENTO • New Earth
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER • Lost Feelings
CAUSENATION • Promises of hope and fear
VIOLENT VICKIE • Blame
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • Melancholic Maniac
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
RINGFINGER • Pressure
ENZO KREFT • Control

Music reviews

23
12
SYGO CRIES
Talking about walls
22
12
DIRK DA DAVO
King Of Fools
21
12
RHYS FULBER
Brutal Nature
19
12
ORANGE SECTOR
Alles wird Gold
18
12
MOVMENT
Transformation
17
12
G.U.S.T.
Gust of wind

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

17
01
Today, 37 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
27 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - 4 Year Anniversary
14
01
Today, 43 years ago, the Sex Pistols played their historic 'last' show! Watch it here!!
14
01
On this night, 43 years ago, Joy Division played at King Kong, Antwerp (B)!
13
01
New single by DARK

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
01
25 YEARS OF AHRAYEPH
Everything I do, right or wrong, is being determined by my autism
17
12
SOPHIA LUCIA
Blurring Boundaries
11
12
JAH WOBBLE
'Bass was considered being among dying instruments for years. Dub pushed it to the front...'
05
12
MOVMENT
Finding Truth Through Dakness
26
11
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW
I’m not a conservative songwriter and I’m not interested in the status quo; I’m interested in progress.

PHOTOS

07
11
GARY NUMAN
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
COVENANT
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
AND ALSO THE TREES
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
A SPLIT - SECOND
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
LEAETHER STRIP
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
KORINTHIANS
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
01
MATT HART
Decimate
16
01
THE YOUNG GODS
Figure sans nom
15
01
FATAL CASUALTIES
No Heaven
14
01
DI*OVE
Please Stop!
13
01
ELVYA DULCIMER
Socopelli
12
01
AEX
Selected Memories
11
01
DAVID BOWIE
DJ