tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

07/05/2012 :  - Seawave 2

Seawave 2

Concert


[96/100]   
07/05/2012, Jeremy Thomas

Seawave II, Bredene, 27th April 2011

 

Perverted by Language

I'm sure y'all will appreciate that you can't have an objective view of a performance from the stage. But what I can say is what a great venue it is, and I'm reliably informed that the room sound was excellent. The audience were reserved (quiet), but attentive (didn't run away). I don't think the fencing was necessary at the front of the stage.

As a band, you want food, beer, easy parking, good sound, good organisation, and an audience. And that's just what we got.

Oh - and we got to see all the bands on after us, and that was just tops.

 

Northern Sadness

1st gig. Ever. At least for Northern Sadness, as I'm sure none of the 5 musicians on stage can be classed as "beginners", but it does seem to be a major event for core duo Philippe and Koen. Philippe on bass looks like he's won the lottery, and Koen on vocals looks like he gave away the winning ticket.

It was only when they paused to - err - "enlighten" the sound engineer that I realised that the 1st song must have been a monster raving ****-up. It sounded like a decent opener from where I was, but after the brief interlude we got to hear what we were supposed to be hearing with the proper backing.

And it was good.

And there was a whole set of it, all consistently well written, well performed, and appreciated by the audience. And I'm sure they'll get better - Philippe will work the energy from that grin into the emotion of the bass, and Koen will get over the nerves and hesitancy, and will deliver the vocals with the confidence and assurance of Siouxie Sioux.

 

Thieves of Silence

Duty calls (taxi), so I missed most of the set, however the Thieves of Silence, are all about bass. The rest is just embellishment. And to see them without that bass up-front smacking you over the head like your mother's enraged slipper after the first time you turn up drunk at 7am on a school day needing a full cooked breakfast, well it didn't work for me.

It was just one of those gigs that went tits up (clashes with exam schedule?). Not bad, but not a patch on the last time I saw them. Knowing how the lads pick themselves back up, I'd expect their up & coming support slots (And Also The Trees, 17 May, Magazin 4, Brussels and She Wants Revenge, 21 June, Zappa, Antwerp) to just a little bit more engaging.

 

Der Klinke

Front 242, Depeche Mode, and Sisters of Mercy all rolled into a single package and sounding consistent, with an excellent repertoire of songs. But more than any other band on tonight, Der Klinke, and Chesko in particular, connect to the audience. And that's not just because they're local - there's more to it. There's something in the songs that has been lived through, that touches people, that is real, that works emotionally.

And the bass! I think Sam would have made a better job of standing in for Hooky than the guy who's currently got the job. He can sing better than Hooky too, though the Ian Anderson/Peter Gabriel sound did clash a little bit with Chesko's more guttural delivery.

 

Breath of Life

Isabelle is an enchanting and delightful person who's voice I have been wanting to hear in action for quite some time. And the experience (for this is something that has to be experienced, lived - not heard or listened to), is every bit as magical as I expected it to be. Her style is all her own, but with elements that evoke Liz Frazer, Kate Bush or Siouxie Sioux at time.

They have been a band now since before any of the Thieves of Silence were born, but (1st time I've seen them) they evidently haven't stopped to rest on their past achievements - at least 4 of the songs are introduced as "new", giving us a preview of the new album with a more matured feel, and like (really) good whisky, tasting all the better for it.

I can't help but wonder if this particular brand of Gothic Rock, with its driving basslines, sublime guitars, soaring female vocals and beautiful violin lead lines wasn't somehow an influence on The Eden House.

 

Overall?

You should have been there. And I'm damned sure I'll be at the next edition of Seawave. See you there.

Jeremy Thomas
07/05/2012


Music reviews

30
05
THIS ETERNAL DECAY
Silence
29
05
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS
Anxious
03
05
BOYTRONIC
The Robot Treatment
02
05
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Heut Nacht
01
05
BLUTENGEL + HOCICO
Obscured
30
04
STRIKKLAND
Predatorial Right

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
05
Electro/Synthwave Act GIANT MONSTERS ON THE HORIZON Unleash New Studio Album - Live From Night City
26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
46 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
34 years of 'Let Your Body Learn!'
22
05
39 years Spellbound!
21
05
Electro / EBM pioneers PORTION CONTROL strike hard with new album 'Head Buried'!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
05
MARK E MOON
We Know We’re Not Re-Inventing The Wheel!
23
05
JOSH KLINGHOFFER (PLURALONE,RHCP)
“I suddenly found the piano the most exciting instrument to write on.”
19
05
THE HERESY GENE
'The More We Do It, The More Important It Feels.'
01
05
AUTUMN TEARS
An Interview With Autumn Tears
30
04
EMPUSAE
One thing is for sure... I'll never stop making music!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

31
05
THE JUGGERNAUTS
PURGE
30
05
MERCIFUL NUNS
Live at Amphi, Cologne 23-07-2017
29
05
UNZUCHT
Ein Wort Fliegt Wie Ein Stein
28
05
GOLDEN BOY FEAT. MISS KITTIN
Rittin Kitten (Extended)
27
05
HIDDEN ORCHESTRA
Still
26
05
EX-RZ
I can't live in a living room
25
05
POISON POINT
Imaginary Veil