tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

07/05/2012 :  - Seawave 2

Seawave 2

Concert


[96/100]   
07/05/2012, Jeremy Thomas

Seawave II, Bredene, 27th April 2011

 

Perverted by Language

I'm sure y'all will appreciate that you can't have an objective view of a performance from the stage. But what I can say is what a great venue it is, and I'm reliably informed that the room sound was excellent. The audience were reserved (quiet), but attentive (didn't run away). I don't think the fencing was necessary at the front of the stage.

As a band, you want food, beer, easy parking, good sound, good organisation, and an audience. And that's just what we got.

Oh - and we got to see all the bands on after us, and that was just tops.

 

Northern Sadness

1st gig. Ever. At least for Northern Sadness, as I'm sure none of the 5 musicians on stage can be classed as "beginners", but it does seem to be a major event for core duo Philippe and Koen. Philippe on bass looks like he's won the lottery, and Koen on vocals looks like he gave away the winning ticket.

It was only when they paused to - err - "enlighten" the sound engineer that I realised that the 1st song must have been a monster raving ****-up. It sounded like a decent opener from where I was, but after the brief interlude we got to hear what we were supposed to be hearing with the proper backing.

And it was good.

And there was a whole set of it, all consistently well written, well performed, and appreciated by the audience. And I'm sure they'll get better - Philippe will work the energy from that grin into the emotion of the bass, and Koen will get over the nerves and hesitancy, and will deliver the vocals with the confidence and assurance of Siouxie Sioux.

 

Thieves of Silence

Duty calls (taxi), so I missed most of the set, however the Thieves of Silence, are all about bass. The rest is just embellishment. And to see them without that bass up-front smacking you over the head like your mother's enraged slipper after the first time you turn up drunk at 7am on a school day needing a full cooked breakfast, well it didn't work for me.

It was just one of those gigs that went tits up (clashes with exam schedule?). Not bad, but not a patch on the last time I saw them. Knowing how the lads pick themselves back up, I'd expect their up & coming support slots (And Also The Trees, 17 May, Magazin 4, Brussels and She Wants Revenge, 21 June, Zappa, Antwerp) to just a little bit more engaging.

 

Der Klinke

Front 242, Depeche Mode, and Sisters of Mercy all rolled into a single package and sounding consistent, with an excellent repertoire of songs. But more than any other band on tonight, Der Klinke, and Chesko in particular, connect to the audience. And that's not just because they're local - there's more to it. There's something in the songs that has been lived through, that touches people, that is real, that works emotionally.

And the bass! I think Sam would have made a better job of standing in for Hooky than the guy who's currently got the job. He can sing better than Hooky too, though the Ian Anderson/Peter Gabriel sound did clash a little bit with Chesko's more guttural delivery.

 

Breath of Life

Isabelle is an enchanting and delightful person who's voice I have been wanting to hear in action for quite some time. And the experience (for this is something that has to be experienced, lived - not heard or listened to), is every bit as magical as I expected it to be. Her style is all her own, but with elements that evoke Liz Frazer, Kate Bush or Siouxie Sioux at time.

They have been a band now since before any of the Thieves of Silence were born, but (1st time I've seen them) they evidently haven't stopped to rest on their past achievements - at least 4 of the songs are introduced as "new", giving us a preview of the new album with a more matured feel, and like (really) good whisky, tasting all the better for it.

I can't help but wonder if this particular brand of Gothic Rock, with its driving basslines, sublime guitars, soaring female vocals and beautiful violin lead lines wasn't somehow an influence on The Eden House.

 

Overall?

You should have been there. And I'm damned sure I'll be at the next edition of Seawave. See you there.

Jeremy Thomas
07/05/2012


Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
01
On this day, 10 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
“A Rose Shattered”, the debut EP by Brussels-based Syrenomelia!
21
01
Today, exactly 27 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
20
01
THE LEGENDARY PINK DOTS 40th ANNIVERSARY EUROPEAN TOUR
20
01
Peek-a-Boo Magazine # 36 - Out Now!
19
01
On this day, 29 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.
14
01
IC 434
find it amazing to live in a highly developed society and at the same time having to realize what a mentally mess it really is.

PHOTOS

19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
ERYX LONDON
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
KEZDOWN
DARK WINTER FESTIVAL LIEGE
26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

23
01
GOLDFRAPP
Systemagic
22
01
JOSIE PACE & SAMMI DOLL
Perfect Replacement (Official Music Video)
21
01
JAH WOBBLE
How Much Are They?
20
01
THROBBING GRISTLE
Six Six Sixties (Fan made video)
19
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Blackout
18
01
SDH (SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS)
No Miracles (Official Video)
17
01
CAPITAL X
Majesty