tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

07/05/2012 :  - Seawave 2

Seawave 2

Concert


[96/100]   
07/05/2012, Jeremy Thomas

Seawave II, Bredene, 27th April 2011

 

Perverted by Language

I'm sure y'all will appreciate that you can't have an objective view of a performance from the stage. But what I can say is what a great venue it is, and I'm reliably informed that the room sound was excellent. The audience were reserved (quiet), but attentive (didn't run away). I don't think the fencing was necessary at the front of the stage.

As a band, you want food, beer, easy parking, good sound, good organisation, and an audience. And that's just what we got.

Oh - and we got to see all the bands on after us, and that was just tops.

 

Northern Sadness

1st gig. Ever. At least for Northern Sadness, as I'm sure none of the 5 musicians on stage can be classed as "beginners", but it does seem to be a major event for core duo Philippe and Koen. Philippe on bass looks like he's won the lottery, and Koen on vocals looks like he gave away the winning ticket.

It was only when they paused to - err - "enlighten" the sound engineer that I realised that the 1st song must have been a monster raving ****-up. It sounded like a decent opener from where I was, but after the brief interlude we got to hear what we were supposed to be hearing with the proper backing.

And it was good.

And there was a whole set of it, all consistently well written, well performed, and appreciated by the audience. And I'm sure they'll get better - Philippe will work the energy from that grin into the emotion of the bass, and Koen will get over the nerves and hesitancy, and will deliver the vocals with the confidence and assurance of Siouxie Sioux.

 

Thieves of Silence

Duty calls (taxi), so I missed most of the set, however the Thieves of Silence, are all about bass. The rest is just embellishment. And to see them without that bass up-front smacking you over the head like your mother's enraged slipper after the first time you turn up drunk at 7am on a school day needing a full cooked breakfast, well it didn't work for me.

It was just one of those gigs that went tits up (clashes with exam schedule?). Not bad, but not a patch on the last time I saw them. Knowing how the lads pick themselves back up, I'd expect their up & coming support slots (And Also The Trees, 17 May, Magazin 4, Brussels and She Wants Revenge, 21 June, Zappa, Antwerp) to just a little bit more engaging.

 

Der Klinke

Front 242, Depeche Mode, and Sisters of Mercy all rolled into a single package and sounding consistent, with an excellent repertoire of songs. But more than any other band on tonight, Der Klinke, and Chesko in particular, connect to the audience. And that's not just because they're local - there's more to it. There's something in the songs that has been lived through, that touches people, that is real, that works emotionally.

And the bass! I think Sam would have made a better job of standing in for Hooky than the guy who's currently got the job. He can sing better than Hooky too, though the Ian Anderson/Peter Gabriel sound did clash a little bit with Chesko's more guttural delivery.

 

Breath of Life

Isabelle is an enchanting and delightful person who's voice I have been wanting to hear in action for quite some time. And the experience (for this is something that has to be experienced, lived - not heard or listened to), is every bit as magical as I expected it to be. Her style is all her own, but with elements that evoke Liz Frazer, Kate Bush or Siouxie Sioux at time.

They have been a band now since before any of the Thieves of Silence were born, but (1st time I've seen them) they evidently haven't stopped to rest on their past achievements - at least 4 of the songs are introduced as "new", giving us a preview of the new album with a more matured feel, and like (really) good whisky, tasting all the better for it.

I can't help but wonder if this particular brand of Gothic Rock, with its driving basslines, sublime guitars, soaring female vocals and beautiful violin lead lines wasn't somehow an influence on The Eden House.

 

Overall?

You should have been there. And I'm damned sure I'll be at the next edition of Seawave. See you there.

Jeremy Thomas
07/05/2012


Music reviews

03
12
THE HERESY GENE
La Luz Del Padre
28
11
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA)
Structures and Downfall
27
11
PLASTIKSTROM
Beton Gegen Angst
23
11
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES
AESTUARIUM
19
11
PSY'AVIAH
Soul Searching
17
11
DAGEIST
Sexy

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
12
Today, 41 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
76 Years Ago JIM MORRISON WAS BORN!
07
12
27 years ago NINE INCH NAILS released the FIXED (EP)
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
05
12
43 Years Ago Oxygene Was Released!
04
12
This month it’s 35 years ago Canadian industrial act Skinny Puppy released their very first EP Remission.

Concert reviews

25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
11
TREVOR DUNN (MR.BUNGLE,FANTOMAS, TRIO-CONVULSANT...)
'The hard thing to do is to keep it simple.'
24
11
DEAD HIGH WIRE
‘Dead High Wire Did Not Like To Be Categorized In One Box’
02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA (SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'

PHOTOS

06
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
04
12
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
DASSWAT
C.C. Palethe Pelt
03
12
DIVE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
THE DEVIL AND THE UNIVERSE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
CLAN OF XYMOX
Gleiss 22 Münster Germany
03
12
PALAIS IDEAL
Gleiss 22 Münster Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

08
12
REVOLTING COCKS (THE)
Beer, Steers and Queers
07
12
VAST
Touched
07
12
MOTOR!K
Static
06
12
MASSIVE EGO
Let Go
05
12
JOHN ROX & OXYDION FT. ELENA ALICE FOSSI
Social Lovers
04
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Crime Passionel
03
12
SIXTH JUNE
Night Before