tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

29/04/2012 : DER KLINKE - The Second Sun

DER KLINKE

The Second Sun

MusicCD
DarkwaveNew wave

[91/100]   

Echozone
29/04/2012, Didier BECU

Two years ago I met a man named Chesko. At a concert by The Neon Judgement he gave me his debut Square Moon and he tried to convince me that this was something special. I know it sounds quite arrogant, but inbox is full of stuff from fresh bands who think they’re the next big thing. Which is normal: I mean as soon as composers think they’re composing shitty music then there’s something wrong.

Anyway, the debut from Der Klinke gripped on me and it became one of the most played records of that year. The only problem was describing their sound as these youngsters (well, kind of) were a bit like Depeche Mode, Poesie Noire or even Calva Y Nada, but Der Klinke was more like the sound from people who were in love with dark sounds of the 80’s and I think they made the mistake of giving their heroes a bit too much respect.

Two years later I have their second cd in my hands and it’s a beast. It definitely sounds like a band who have found themselves. Not that they made it that easy for themselves as The Second Sun sounds like an album that is inspired by melancholic, depressive moods. Apart from the brilliant track “In Flames” (I never thought of them being able to compose something like this!), the album is like experimental darkwave that’s been influenced by both industrial and darkwave-sounds. There are even some instrumentals included that have an Eno-esque feel and “Universal Energy” (what a song that is!) must be the best instrumental track that’s never been written by Clan Of Xymox.

They has assistance (and additional vocals) from both Martin Bowes from Attrition and the über-Bollock Brother Jack McDonald.

Deep down in my heart I know they will face a very difficult crusade to convince the world (and not in the least their own country, Belgium) that they made an album that can be put next to some real classics.

Der Klinke are not the best band in Belgium (as that’ll always be Parade Ground and Absolute Body Control) but they made the best Belgian album since “Love Is Colder Than Death” by Poesie Noire, who could have thought this? Certainly not those who only have heard Square Moon. Go to your recorddealer and ask him to put on In Flames. Dance a bit and then dive in the dark mind of Der Klinke.

(Editorial note - They're even better live)

Didier BECU
29/04/2012


 

Next reviews
PAS • Pure Energy Output Sessions
THE TELESCOPES • Taste
GRINDERMAN • Grinderman 2 RMX
SPEKTRALIZED • My Needs / Multi EP Special Edition
TWILIGHT RITUAL • The Factory Scream
DISKONNEKTED • Hotel Existence
EMERALD PARK • Absolute Zero
CHELSEA WOLFE • Concert at Magasin4 in Brussels on 13th April 2012 with UNISON and CERCUEIL
CHRYSALIDE • Don't Be Scared, It's About Life
SABES • Diesel Charm

 

Other reviews from DER KLINKE
DER KLINKE • Decade
DER KLINKE • Eernegem, B52 (07/05/2016)
DER KLINKE • The Gathering Of Hopes
DER KLINKE • THE BIM-FILES: Der Klinke
DER KLINKE • The Doll
DER KLINKE • Square Moon

 

Same combination of genres: DARKWAVE + NEW WAVE
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
DAGEIST • Sexy
DER KLINKE • Decade
HIDDEN PLACE • Nero Schwarz (Collezione)

 

Same genre: DARKWAVE
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER • Lost Feelings
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS • Anxious
MANNEQUIN • From a distance
THE HERESY GENE • La Luz Del Padre
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA) • Structures and Downfall
PLASTIKSTROM • Beton Gegen Angst
JE T'AIME • Je T'aime
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:
MANDIVULA • Nonsens
ART DIKTATOR • Isola

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors

Music reviews

18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain
15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE
10
01
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Lost Feelings
09
01
CAUSENATION
Promises of hope and fear

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
01
On this day, 30 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!
18
01
On this day, 41 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!
17
01
Today, 36 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
26 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!
15
01
Brand new Front Line Assembly album 'Mechanical Soul' out today!
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - 3 Year Anniversary

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

20
01
NEW ORDER
True Faith
19
01
CORDE OBLIQUE
Suono su tela
18
01
KAI SCHUMACHER
The Hug (Rework by Illuminine)
17
01
ELSJE HELEWAUT & RUDOLF HECKE
Let's Not Give A Damn
16
01
PSY'AVIAH
Not What I Expected
15
01
LEATHER STRIP
Strap me down
14
01
ANATOMIA HUMANA DESMONTABLE
Enfermedad