tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

29/04/2012 : DER KLINKE - The Second Sun

DER KLINKE

The Second Sun

MusicCD
DarkwaveNew wave

[91/100]   

Echozone
29/04/2012, Didier BECU

Two years ago I met a man named Chesko. At a concert by The Neon Judgement he gave me his debut Square Moon and he tried to convince me that this was something special. I know it sounds quite arrogant, but inbox is full of stuff from fresh bands who think they’re the next big thing. Which is normal: I mean as soon as composers think they’re composing shitty music then there’s something wrong.

Anyway, the debut from Der Klinke gripped on me and it became one of the most played records of that year. The only problem was describing their sound as these youngsters (well, kind of) were a bit like Depeche Mode, Poesie Noire or even Calva Y Nada, but Der Klinke was more like the sound from people who were in love with dark sounds of the 80’s and I think they made the mistake of giving their heroes a bit too much respect.

Two years later I have their second cd in my hands and it’s a beast. It definitely sounds like a band who have found themselves. Not that they made it that easy for themselves as The Second Sun sounds like an album that is inspired by melancholic, depressive moods. Apart from the brilliant track “In Flames” (I never thought of them being able to compose something like this!), the album is like experimental darkwave that’s been influenced by both industrial and darkwave-sounds. There are even some instrumentals included that have an Eno-esque feel and “Universal Energy” (what a song that is!) must be the best instrumental track that’s never been written by Clan Of Xymox.

They has assistance (and additional vocals) from both Martin Bowes from Attrition and the über-Bollock Brother Jack McDonald.

Deep down in my heart I know they will face a very difficult crusade to convince the world (and not in the least their own country, Belgium) that they made an album that can be put next to some real classics.

Der Klinke are not the best band in Belgium (as that’ll always be Parade Ground and Absolute Body Control) but they made the best Belgian album since “Love Is Colder Than Death” by Poesie Noire, who could have thought this? Certainly not those who only have heard Square Moon. Go to your recorddealer and ask him to put on In Flames. Dance a bit and then dive in the dark mind of Der Klinke.

(Editorial note - They're even better live)

Didier BECU
29/04/2012


 

Next reviews
PAS • Pure Energy Output Sessions
THE TELESCOPES • Taste
GRINDERMAN • Grinderman 2 RMX
SPEKTRALIZED • My Needs / Multi EP Special Edition
TWILIGHT RITUAL • The Factory Scream
DISKONNEKTED • Hotel Existence
EMERALD PARK • Absolute Zero
CHELSEA WOLFE • Concert at Magasin4 in Brussels on 13th April 2012 with UNISON and CERCUEIL
CHRYSALIDE • Don't Be Scared, It's About Life
SABES • Diesel Charm

 

Other reviews from DER KLINKE
DER KLINKE • Decade
DER KLINKE • Eernegem, B52 (07/05/2016)
DER KLINKE • The Gathering Of Hopes
DER KLINKE • THE BIM-FILES: Der Klinke
DER KLINKE • The Doll
DER KLINKE • Square Moon

 

Same combination of genres: DARKWAVE + NEW WAVE
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
DAGEIST • Sexy
DER KLINKE • Decade
HIDDEN PLACE • Nero Schwarz (Collezione)

 

Same genre: DARKWAVE
POTOCHKINE • Sortilèges
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Love Was Lies
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER • Lost Feelings
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS • Anxious
MANNEQUIN • From a distance
THE HERESY GENE • La Luz Del Padre
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA) • Structures and Downfall
PLASTIKSTROM • Beton Gegen Angst
JE T'AIME • Je T'aime

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors

Music reviews

22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More
21
04
POTOCHKINE
Sortilèges
20
04
BLUTENGEL
Fountain of Destiny
19
04
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
Witches' Lullaby
18
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Love Was Lies
16
04
AD:KEY
I can't feel you

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
04
Today, 35 years ago, Siouxsie and the Banshees released Tinderbox!
16
04
36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed No Time To Cry on German TV!
16
04
On this day, 36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed ‘No Time to Cry’ on German TV
15
04
On this day, 20 years ago, FAD GADGET performed his first legendary come-back show!
14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene (° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
04
DAVID BOWIE
Blackstar
22
04
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
Mountains Crave
21
04
SECRETS OF THE MOON
Man Behind The Sun
20
04
VIOLENT VICKIE
Cicle Square
19
04
VUKOVAR
When Rome Falls (Official Video)
19
04
SECRET ZOO
Enslaved
18
04
TROUBLE FAIT'
Beads of Emerald