tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

29/04/2012 : DER KLINKE - The Second Sun

DER KLINKE

The Second Sun

MusicCD
DarkwaveNew wave

[91/100]   

Echozone
29/04/2012, Didier BECU

Two years ago I met a man named Chesko. At a concert by The Neon Judgement he gave me his debut Square Moon and he tried to convince me that this was something special. I know it sounds quite arrogant, but inbox is full of stuff from fresh bands who think they’re the next big thing. Which is normal: I mean as soon as composers think they’re composing shitty music then there’s something wrong.

Anyway, the debut from Der Klinke gripped on me and it became one of the most played records of that year. The only problem was describing their sound as these youngsters (well, kind of) were a bit like Depeche Mode, Poesie Noire or even Calva Y Nada, but Der Klinke was more like the sound from people who were in love with dark sounds of the 80’s and I think they made the mistake of giving their heroes a bit too much respect.

Two years later I have their second cd in my hands and it’s a beast. It definitely sounds like a band who have found themselves. Not that they made it that easy for themselves as The Second Sun sounds like an album that is inspired by melancholic, depressive moods. Apart from the brilliant track “In Flames” (I never thought of them being able to compose something like this!), the album is like experimental darkwave that’s been influenced by both industrial and darkwave-sounds. There are even some instrumentals included that have an Eno-esque feel and “Universal Energy” (what a song that is!) must be the best instrumental track that’s never been written by Clan Of Xymox.

They has assistance (and additional vocals) from both Martin Bowes from Attrition and the über-Bollock Brother Jack McDonald.

Deep down in my heart I know they will face a very difficult crusade to convince the world (and not in the least their own country, Belgium) that they made an album that can be put next to some real classics.

Der Klinke are not the best band in Belgium (as that’ll always be Parade Ground and Absolute Body Control) but they made the best Belgian album since “Love Is Colder Than Death” by Poesie Noire, who could have thought this? Certainly not those who only have heard Square Moon. Go to your recorddealer and ask him to put on In Flames. Dance a bit and then dive in the dark mind of Der Klinke.

(Editorial note - They're even better live)

Didier BECU
29/04/2012


Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
01
Exactly 42 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Canadian DJ/Multi-Genre Artist JHNN Reveals New Single And Video 'My Strange Addiction'
24
01
Today, exactly 29 ago years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 2 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
23
01
Dirk Da Davo (former The Neon Judgement) and Jean-Marie Aerts (former TC MATIC) announce first joint venture full album!
22
01
On this day, 10 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

24
01
TREY GUNN (KING CRIMSON,TU ,SECURITY PROJECT,...)
'I’m trying to set up an experiential thing...'
20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.

PHOTOS

25
01
ASHBURY HEIGHTS
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
25
01
MASSIVE EGO
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
ERYX LONDON
Dark Winter Festival Liège

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

26
01
MASSENHYSTERIE
Weiber regieren die Welt
25
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Armored Core
24
01
DE DELVERS
Poolnacht
23
01
GOLDFRAPP
Systemagic
22
01
JOSIE PACE & SAMMI DOLL
Perfect Replacement (Official Music Video)
21
01
JAH WOBBLE
How Much Are They?
20
01
THROBBING GRISTLE
Six Six Sixties (Fan made video)