tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

29/04/2012 : DER KLINKE - The Second Sun

DER KLINKE

The Second Sun

MusicCD
DarkwaveNew wave

[91/100]   

Echozone
29/04/2012, Didier BECU

Two years ago I met a man named Chesko. At a concert by The Neon Judgement he gave me his debut Square Moon and he tried to convince me that this was something special. I know it sounds quite arrogant, but inbox is full of stuff from fresh bands who think they’re the next big thing. Which is normal: I mean as soon as composers think they’re composing shitty music then there’s something wrong.

Anyway, the debut from Der Klinke gripped on me and it became one of the most played records of that year. The only problem was describing their sound as these youngsters (well, kind of) were a bit like Depeche Mode, Poesie Noire or even Calva Y Nada, but Der Klinke was more like the sound from people who were in love with dark sounds of the 80’s and I think they made the mistake of giving their heroes a bit too much respect.

Two years later I have their second cd in my hands and it’s a beast. It definitely sounds like a band who have found themselves. Not that they made it that easy for themselves as The Second Sun sounds like an album that is inspired by melancholic, depressive moods. Apart from the brilliant track “In Flames” (I never thought of them being able to compose something like this!), the album is like experimental darkwave that’s been influenced by both industrial and darkwave-sounds. There are even some instrumentals included that have an Eno-esque feel and “Universal Energy” (what a song that is!) must be the best instrumental track that’s never been written by Clan Of Xymox.

They has assistance (and additional vocals) from both Martin Bowes from Attrition and the über-Bollock Brother Jack McDonald.

Deep down in my heart I know they will face a very difficult crusade to convince the world (and not in the least their own country, Belgium) that they made an album that can be put next to some real classics.

Der Klinke are not the best band in Belgium (as that’ll always be Parade Ground and Absolute Body Control) but they made the best Belgian album since “Love Is Colder Than Death” by Poesie Noire, who could have thought this? Certainly not those who only have heard Square Moon. Go to your recorddealer and ask him to put on In Flames. Dance a bit and then dive in the dark mind of Der Klinke.

(Editorial note - They're even better live)

Didier BECU
29/04/2012


Music reviews

03
12
THE HERESY GENE
La Luz Del Padre
28
11
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA)
Structures and Downfall
27
11
PLASTIKSTROM
Beton Gegen Angst
23
11
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES
AESTUARIUM
19
11
PSY'AVIAH
Soul Searching
17
11
DAGEIST
Sexy

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
05
12
43 Years Ago Oxygene Was Released!
04
12
This month it’s 35 years ago Canadian industrial act Skinny Puppy released their very first EP Remission.
02
12
Jah Wobble & The Invaders Of The Heart announced 2020 UK Tour!
30
11
This month it’s been 32 years since Electro / EBM heads Nitzer Ebb released the single Murderous!
28
11
Out Of Line presents: Persistence Illusions Tour featuring Ashbury Heights & Massive Ego

Concert reviews

25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
11
TREVOR DUNN (MR.BUNGLE,FANTOMAS, TRIO-CONVULSANT...)
'The hard thing to do is to keep it simple.'
24
11
DEAD HIGH WIRE
‘Dead High Wire Did Not Like To Be Categorized In One Box’
02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA (SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'

PHOTOS

06
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
04
12
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
DASSWAT
C.C. Palethe Pelt
03
12
DIVE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
THE DEVIL AND THE UNIVERSE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
CLAN OF XYMOX
Gleiss 22 Münster Germany
03
12
PALAIS IDEAL
Gleiss 22 Münster Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

06
12
MASSIVE EGO
Let Go
05
12
JOHN ROX & OXYDION FT. ELENA ALICE FOSSI
Social Lovers
04
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Crime Passionel
03
12
SIXTH JUNE
Night Before
02
12
LEBANON HANOVER
Gallowdance
01
12
DEPECHE MODE
Where's the Revolution
30
11
ARBEID ADELT!
Apparaat