tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

29/04/2012 : DER KLINKE - The Second Sun

DER KLINKE

The Second Sun

MusicCD
DarkwaveNew wave

[91/100]   

Echozone
29/04/2012, Didier BECU

Two years ago I met a man named Chesko. At a concert by The Neon Judgement he gave me his debut Square Moon and he tried to convince me that this was something special. I know it sounds quite arrogant, but inbox is full of stuff from fresh bands who think they’re the next big thing. Which is normal: I mean as soon as composers think they’re composing shitty music then there’s something wrong.

Anyway, the debut from Der Klinke gripped on me and it became one of the most played records of that year. The only problem was describing their sound as these youngsters (well, kind of) were a bit like Depeche Mode, Poesie Noire or even Calva Y Nada, but Der Klinke was more like the sound from people who were in love with dark sounds of the 80’s and I think they made the mistake of giving their heroes a bit too much respect.

Two years later I have their second cd in my hands and it’s a beast. It definitely sounds like a band who have found themselves. Not that they made it that easy for themselves as The Second Sun sounds like an album that is inspired by melancholic, depressive moods. Apart from the brilliant track “In Flames” (I never thought of them being able to compose something like this!), the album is like experimental darkwave that’s been influenced by both industrial and darkwave-sounds. There are even some instrumentals included that have an Eno-esque feel and “Universal Energy” (what a song that is!) must be the best instrumental track that’s never been written by Clan Of Xymox.

They has assistance (and additional vocals) from both Martin Bowes from Attrition and the über-Bollock Brother Jack McDonald.

Deep down in my heart I know they will face a very difficult crusade to convince the world (and not in the least their own country, Belgium) that they made an album that can be put next to some real classics.

Der Klinke are not the best band in Belgium (as that’ll always be Parade Ground and Absolute Body Control) but they made the best Belgian album since “Love Is Colder Than Death” by Poesie Noire, who could have thought this? Certainly not those who only have heard Square Moon. Go to your recorddealer and ask him to put on In Flames. Dance a bit and then dive in the dark mind of Der Klinke.

(Editorial note - They're even better live)

Didier BECU
29/04/2012


Music reviews

19
10
THE BLACK WATCH
Magic Johnson
19
10
FUTURE PILOT AKA
Orkestra Digitalis
18
10
NEW MODEL ARMY
From Here
18
10
RIDE
This Is Not a Safe Place
17
10
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA
Mesmeranto
17
10
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK
Far From The Apple Tree

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
10
29 years ago Nine Inch Nails released 'Sin'
09
10
The Arch releases new album 'XII'
08
10
Eclectic Artist Addie Brik Releases New Single
07
10
YOVA - Debut Single 'Moondog' (featuring members of PJ Harvey / Grumbling Fur / Cameron Craig)
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'
12
10
NEON INSECT
A Conversation With Neon Insect
11
10
ENZO KREFT
Many tracks from 'Control' are about the relationship between humans and technology and the dangerous consequences of this in the near future.
10
10
AMY STUDT
'It’ll be alright in the end and if it isn’t alright, it isn’t yet the end.'
09
10
STALINGRAD VALKYRIE
The old world will be collapsing pretty soon!

PHOTOS

06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
04
10
SLAVE SEPERATION VS KNK
Fetish Café Antwerpen
04
10
LEAETHER STRIP
Fetish Café Antwerpen
22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

22
10
THE VELVET UNDERGROUND & NICO
21
10
STORY OFF
Life On Other Planets
20
10
ORSON HENTSCHEL
Noise of the Light
19
10
ORBITAL
One Perfect Sunrise
18
10
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
17
10
AZAR SWAN
Over
16
10
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)