tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

14/02/2013 : DER KLINKE - The Doll

DER KLINKE

The Doll

MusicCD
Cold WaveEBMElectroNew wave

[91/100]   

Echozone
14/02/2013, Didier BECU

When I got the newest EP (featuring 8 tracks) by Der Klinke in my mailbox, I really didn’t know what to do. Would I review it track per track, choosing the boring way? Or would I just spit my heart by telling why today I think they’re the best Belgian band? You know, just like there are no rules in music (if there are, destroy them!) there are no rules in musicjournalism. This is my ode to a band I cherish, this is my opinion about some guys (and girl) who moved my heart.

Let’s start with the start. Der Klinke. I admit it, the name will always sound a bit strange in my (and your) ears. They’re named after a pub that formed their youth (and probably their life) and in a way it’s a silly choice. But then again, I guess Simon LeBon had to defend the choice for naming his band Duran Duran as well. I still think that their name suggest a joke (and in fact it was), but after two excellent albums it’s serious.

Sadly enough, the band is still stuck in obscure hearts. They have devoted fans and despite raving reviews in other countries, the Belgian press still ignores them. How arrogant it might sound, I know that along with Dark Entries, we’re the sole Belgian mag who support ‘em. But mind you, it says more about the state of musicjournalism as it says about Der Klinke.

Chesko, Heidi, Sam, Chris and Marco are living in the past. No doubt about that, but then again so does all other musicians. If they don’t rip off The Beatles then you can be sure they’ll digging Led Zeppelin (or in the worst case Bob Dylan). You don’t have to be a genius to find out that this band have their roots in the eighties. They’re the type of musiclovers who dance to cold wave, new wave and other dark sounds of the eighties. They love it, absorb it and create it to something their own.

Nah, Chesko’s not a good singer. In fact he never will be, but that’s not a problem. After all the greatest performer in music is Mark E. Smith and he can’t sing a single note. The reason is simple, just like the legend from The Fall,Chesko doesn’t use his voice, it’s his beating heart that speaks. You’ll hear a guy who’s grabbing you by the throat who wants to be heard. It is his poetry, it's his message to the world.

When I hear Marco’s guitar, then I hear notes that has been done before, but here again I notice sounds from a melancholic guy who is in love with a Weltschmerz-geist (or whatever you call those moods). Same can be said about those keyboards and drums, it are instruments but Der Klinke use it to reach your heart.

Anyway, enough with the introduction, now about the music. The Doll is probably the song that will be known as THE Der Klinke-song. I mean, it’s their Fashion Party, it’s their Our Darkness or their A Forest. You find it in three versions. Not those bloody mixes no one plays, but just a new, original and an instrumental version. It’s a poppy track, the synths are very similar to Snowy Red and yes…there’s even a New Beat-touch. It’s made for the dancefloor and now its goal is reaching that dancefloor. So yes, this is a call to all DJ’s.

Cold Dance made me mad. This was really like dancing with tears in your eyes. The title already suggest that this is not the happiest song you’ll ever find, it’s probably the best tune The Neon Judgement never wrote.

The strange beast on this EP is Eternal. A lovesymphony for schizophrenic minds, it’s Chopin in a post-punkversion.

Where It Ends sounds like a desperate cry for help. I do hear bits of The Fall even if I think it was never their goal to sound like Manchester’s finest.

Conclusion? It moved me, it’s a proof that music still has a beating heart. To know them is to love them. It’s not the first time I wrote it (hopefully it’s not the last time) but Der Klinke are geniuses in their own way. This is perfect. This is simply what music should be like…

Didier BECU
14/02/2013


 

Next reviews
CHRISTIAN FORTE • Deep In The Valley
VECTOR LOVERS • iPhonica
ELASTIK • Instrumental
JOHN FOXX AND THE MATHS • Evidence
LARS-ERIK LIE • The Thrill Of A Kill
DAMIAN SKINNER • Rape & Revenge
SLAVE REPUBLIC • Quest for love
SECTION 25 • Dark Light
VARIOUS ARTISTS • The End of Civilization
NICOLAS PROVOST • The Invader

 

Other reviews from DER KLINKE
DER KLINKE • Decade
DER KLINKE • Eernegem, B52 (07/05/2016)
DER KLINKE • The Gathering Of Hopes
DER KLINKE • THE BIM-FILES: Der Klinke
DER KLINKE • The Second Sun
DER KLINKE • Square Moon

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
BALVANERA • Courses of Action
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
SYGO CRIES • End Of A Century
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS • Anxious
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
MANNEQUIN • From a distance
RINGFINGER • Pressure
DAGEIST • Sexy
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow

 

Same genre: EBM
WULF7 • I don't want (Anymore)
TRAGIC IMPULSE • Distant Worlds
STAATSEINDE • Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
SAMHAIN • Experiment
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Desctruction
RHYS FULBER • Brutal Nature
ORANGE SECTOR • Alles wird Gold
HERRNIA • Takkewereld
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
ADULT. • Becoming Undone
J:DEAD • Tearing me apart
JIHAD • Retrospekt
MILDREDA • I was never really there
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
POTOCHKINE • Sortilèges
BLUTENGEL • Fountain of Destiny
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
DIRK DA DAVO • The Unreal
DIRK DA DAVO • King Of Fools
DE DELVERS • Hart in neonlicht
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!
05
08
Industrial artist, Nuda addresses past trauma & mental illness with 'Trigger'

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

08
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg
05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)