tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

14/02/2013 : DER KLINKE - The Doll

DER KLINKE

The Doll

MusicCD
Cold WaveEBMElectroNew wave

[91/100]   

Echozone
14/02/2013, Didier BECU

When I got the newest EP (featuring 8 tracks) by Der Klinke in my mailbox, I really didn’t know what to do. Would I review it track per track, choosing the boring way? Or would I just spit my heart by telling why today I think they’re the best Belgian band? You know, just like there are no rules in music (if there are, destroy them!) there are no rules in musicjournalism. This is my ode to a band I cherish, this is my opinion about some guys (and girl) who moved my heart.

Let’s start with the start. Der Klinke. I admit it, the name will always sound a bit strange in my (and your) ears. They’re named after a pub that formed their youth (and probably their life) and in a way it’s a silly choice. But then again, I guess Simon LeBon had to defend the choice for naming his band Duran Duran as well. I still think that their name suggest a joke (and in fact it was), but after two excellent albums it’s serious.

Sadly enough, the band is still stuck in obscure hearts. They have devoted fans and despite raving reviews in other countries, the Belgian press still ignores them. How arrogant it might sound, I know that along with Dark Entries, we’re the sole Belgian mag who support ‘em. But mind you, it says more about the state of musicjournalism as it says about Der Klinke.

Chesko, Heidi, Sam, Chris and Marco are living in the past. No doubt about that, but then again so does all other musicians. If they don’t rip off The Beatles then you can be sure they’ll digging Led Zeppelin (or in the worst case Bob Dylan). You don’t have to be a genius to find out that this band have their roots in the eighties. They’re the type of musiclovers who dance to cold wave, new wave and other dark sounds of the eighties. They love it, absorb it and create it to something their own.

Nah, Chesko’s not a good singer. In fact he never will be, but that’s not a problem. After all the greatest performer in music is Mark E. Smith and he can’t sing a single note. The reason is simple, just like the legend from The Fall,Chesko doesn’t use his voice, it’s his beating heart that speaks. You’ll hear a guy who’s grabbing you by the throat who wants to be heard. It is his poetry, it's his message to the world.

When I hear Marco’s guitar, then I hear notes that has been done before, but here again I notice sounds from a melancholic guy who is in love with a Weltschmerz-geist (or whatever you call those moods). Same can be said about those keyboards and drums, it are instruments but Der Klinke use it to reach your heart.

Anyway, enough with the introduction, now about the music. The Doll is probably the song that will be known as THE Der Klinke-song. I mean, it’s their Fashion Party, it’s their Our Darkness or their A Forest. You find it in three versions. Not those bloody mixes no one plays, but just a new, original and an instrumental version. It’s a poppy track, the synths are very similar to Snowy Red and yes…there’s even a New Beat-touch. It’s made for the dancefloor and now its goal is reaching that dancefloor. So yes, this is a call to all DJ’s.

Cold Dance made me mad. This was really like dancing with tears in your eyes. The title already suggest that this is not the happiest song you’ll ever find, it’s probably the best tune The Neon Judgement never wrote.

The strange beast on this EP is Eternal. A lovesymphony for schizophrenic minds, it’s Chopin in a post-punkversion.

Where It Ends sounds like a desperate cry for help. I do hear bits of The Fall even if I think it was never their goal to sound like Manchester’s finest.

Conclusion? It moved me, it’s a proof that music still has a beating heart. To know them is to love them. It’s not the first time I wrote it (hopefully it’s not the last time) but Der Klinke are geniuses in their own way. This is perfect. This is simply what music should be like…

Didier BECU
14/02/2013


 

Next reviews
CHRISTIAN FORTE • Deep In The Valley
VECTOR LOVERS • iPhonica
ELASTIK • Instrumental
JOHN FOXX AND THE MATHS • Evidence
LARS-ERIK LIE • The Thrill Of A Kill
DAMIAN SKINNER • Rape & Revenge
SLAVE REPUBLIC • Quest for love
SECTION 25 • Dark Light
VARIOUS ARTISTS • The End of Civilization
NICOLAS PROVOST • The Invader

 

Other reviews from DER KLINKE
DER KLINKE • Decade
DER KLINKE • Eernegem, B52 (07/05/2016)
DER KLINKE • The Gathering Of Hopes
DER KLINKE • THE BIM-FILES: Der Klinke
DER KLINKE • The Second Sun
DER KLINKE • Square Moon

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
RINGFINGER • Pressure
DAGEIST • Sexy
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
MANDIVULA • Nonsens
JESUS LIVES IN VEGAS • Jesus Lives In Vegas
DER KLINKE • Decade
SELOFAN • Vitrioli

 

Same genre: EBM
M73 • Tainted
PLASTIKSTROM • Beton Gegen Angst
ELM • Death Of The North
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • Harbringer
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES • Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
MASSIVE EGO • Church For The Malfunctioned
SIGNAL AOUT 42 • Insurrection
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
ZWEITE JUGEND • Elektronische Körpermusik

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
MASSIVE ATTACK • Massive Attack vs Mad Professor Part II | Mezzanine Remix Tapes
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit
CHEMICAL BROTHERS • No Geography
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
UMMAGMA • Caravan -Backed With Ty i Ya
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
DIVE • Live Maschinenfest 2017

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]

Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
01
Canadian DJ/Multi-Genre Artist JHNN Reveals New Single And Video 'My Strange Addiction'
24
01
Today, exactly 29 ago years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 2 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
23
01
Dirk Da Davo (former The Neon Judgement) and Jean-Marie Aerts (former TC MATIC) announce first joint venture full album!
22
01
On this day, 10 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
“A Rose Shattered”, the debut EP by Brussels-based Syrenomelia!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

24
01
TREY GUNN (KING CRIMSON,TU ,SECURITY PROJECT,...)
'I’m trying to set up an experiential thing...'
20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.

PHOTOS

19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
ERYX LONDON
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
KEZDOWN
DARK WINTER FESTIVAL LIEGE
26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

24
01
DE DELVERS
Poolnacht
23
01
GOLDFRAPP
Systemagic
22
01
JOSIE PACE & SAMMI DOLL
Perfect Replacement (Official Music Video)
21
01
JAH WOBBLE
How Much Are They?
20
01
THROBBING GRISTLE
Six Six Sixties (Fan made video)
19
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Blackout
18
01
SDH (SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS)
No Miracles (Official Video)