tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

14/02/2013 : DER KLINKE - The Doll

DER KLINKE

The Doll

MusicCD
Cold WaveEBMElectroNew wave

[91/100]   

Echozone
14/02/2013, Didier BECU

When I got the newest EP (featuring 8 tracks) by Der Klinke in my mailbox, I really didn’t know what to do. Would I review it track per track, choosing the boring way? Or would I just spit my heart by telling why today I think they’re the best Belgian band? You know, just like there are no rules in music (if there are, destroy them!) there are no rules in musicjournalism. This is my ode to a band I cherish, this is my opinion about some guys (and girl) who moved my heart.

Let’s start with the start. Der Klinke. I admit it, the name will always sound a bit strange in my (and your) ears. They’re named after a pub that formed their youth (and probably their life) and in a way it’s a silly choice. But then again, I guess Simon LeBon had to defend the choice for naming his band Duran Duran as well. I still think that their name suggest a joke (and in fact it was), but after two excellent albums it’s serious.

Sadly enough, the band is still stuck in obscure hearts. They have devoted fans and despite raving reviews in other countries, the Belgian press still ignores them. How arrogant it might sound, I know that along with Dark Entries, we’re the sole Belgian mag who support ‘em. But mind you, it says more about the state of musicjournalism as it says about Der Klinke.

Chesko, Heidi, Sam, Chris and Marco are living in the past. No doubt about that, but then again so does all other musicians. If they don’t rip off The Beatles then you can be sure they’ll digging Led Zeppelin (or in the worst case Bob Dylan). You don’t have to be a genius to find out that this band have their roots in the eighties. They’re the type of musiclovers who dance to cold wave, new wave and other dark sounds of the eighties. They love it, absorb it and create it to something their own.

Nah, Chesko’s not a good singer. In fact he never will be, but that’s not a problem. After all the greatest performer in music is Mark E. Smith and he can’t sing a single note. The reason is simple, just like the legend from The Fall,Chesko doesn’t use his voice, it’s his beating heart that speaks. You’ll hear a guy who’s grabbing you by the throat who wants to be heard. It is his poetry, it's his message to the world.

When I hear Marco’s guitar, then I hear notes that has been done before, but here again I notice sounds from a melancholic guy who is in love with a Weltschmerz-geist (or whatever you call those moods). Same can be said about those keyboards and drums, it are instruments but Der Klinke use it to reach your heart.

Anyway, enough with the introduction, now about the music. The Doll is probably the song that will be known as THE Der Klinke-song. I mean, it’s their Fashion Party, it’s their Our Darkness or their A Forest. You find it in three versions. Not those bloody mixes no one plays, but just a new, original and an instrumental version. It’s a poppy track, the synths are very similar to Snowy Red and yes…there’s even a New Beat-touch. It’s made for the dancefloor and now its goal is reaching that dancefloor. So yes, this is a call to all DJ’s.

Cold Dance made me mad. This was really like dancing with tears in your eyes. The title already suggest that this is not the happiest song you’ll ever find, it’s probably the best tune The Neon Judgement never wrote.

The strange beast on this EP is Eternal. A lovesymphony for schizophrenic minds, it’s Chopin in a post-punkversion.

Where It Ends sounds like a desperate cry for help. I do hear bits of The Fall even if I think it was never their goal to sound like Manchester’s finest.

Conclusion? It moved me, it’s a proof that music still has a beating heart. To know them is to love them. It’s not the first time I wrote it (hopefully it’s not the last time) but Der Klinke are geniuses in their own way. This is perfect. This is simply what music should be like…

Didier BECU
14/02/2013


 

Next reviews
CHRISTIAN FORTE • Deep In The Valley
VECTOR LOVERS • iPhonica
ELASTIK • Instrumental
JOHN FOXX AND THE MATHS • Evidence
LARS-ERIK LIE • The Thrill Of A Kill
DAMIAN SKINNER • Rape & Revenge
SLAVE REPUBLIC • Quest for love
SECTION 25 • Dark Light
VARIOUS ARTISTS • The End of Civilization
NICOLAS PROVOST • The Invader

 

Other reviews from DER KLINKE
DER KLINKE • Decade
DER KLINKE • Eernegem, B52 (07/05/2016)
DER KLINKE • The Gathering Of Hopes
DER KLINKE • THE BIM-FILES: Der Klinke
DER KLINKE • The Second Sun
DER KLINKE • Square Moon

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
SYGO CRIES • In Outside Places
BALVANERA • Courses of Action
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
SYGO CRIES • End Of A Century
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS • Anxious
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
MANNEQUIN • From a distance
RINGFINGER • Pressure
DAGEIST • Sexy

 

Same genre: EBM
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7 • EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
WULF7 • I don't want (Anymore)
TRAGIC IMPULSE • Distant Worlds
STAATSEINDE • Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
SAMHAIN • Experiment
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Desctruction
RHYS FULBER • Brutal Nature
ORANGE SECTOR • Alles wird Gold
HERRNIA • Takkewereld

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
ADULT. • Becoming Undone
J:DEAD • Tearing me apart
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II
JIHAD • Retrospekt
MILDREDA • I was never really there
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
POTOCHKINE • Sortilèges
BLUTENGEL • Fountain of Destiny
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
300 000VK • Peter Paradox

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
A SLICE OF LIFE • Tabula Rasa
THIS VALE OF TEARS • This Vale Of Tears
DIRK DA DAVO • The Unreal
DIRK DA DAVO • King Of Fools
DE DELVERS • Hart in neonlicht
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III

Music reviews

25
11
DEZ MONA
LOOSE ENDS
02
11
STAATSEINDE
Fehlerlinie
05
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Tabula Rasa
28
09
THIS VALE OF TEARS
This Vale Of Tears
24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
11
Today it's exactly 42 years since Siouxsie and the Banshees, released their Christmas single 'Israel'!
27
11
41 years of Don't You Want Me by The Human League
27
11
Non-Stop Erotic Cabaret | Untainted With Time - Released 41 years ago!
26
11
40 years of Melting with Siouxsie and the Banshees!
26
11
31 years ‘Fear (of the Unknown)’... by Siouxsie and the Banshees!
25
11
Nocturnal Rapture | Nocturne Is 39 Years Old Today

Concert reviews

02
11
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7
EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
10
PSY'AVIAH
Wanting to have everything under control is problematic, as is wanting to have nothing under control.
29
09
KEVORKIAN DEATH CYCLE
An interview with Kevorkian Death Cycle
28
09
SHE 1 - HIM 2
Interview with electronic duo, She 1 - Him 2
14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace

PHOTOS

25
11
QNTAL
Christuskirche Bochum
24
11
THE CURE
Sportpaleis Antwerpen
18
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Porta Nigra Autumn Passage
18
11
HEILUNG
Ruhrcongress Bochum
18
11
EIVOR
Ruhrcongress Bochum
18
11
LILI REFRAIN
Ruhrcongress Bochum
15
11
VERSENGOLD
Ruhrcongress Bochum

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
11
WHISPERING SONS
The most beautiful Rock Rally-moment ever....
26
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!!
Sense
25
11
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Armored Core
24
11
DARK POEM
Too Dark To See
23
11
REVOLTING COCKS (THE)
(Let's Get) Physical
22
11
DOUBLE ECHO
Ancient Youth
21
11
NABTA
Drop The Mask