tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

15/02/2013 : BJORK - Bastards

BJORK

Bastards

MusicCD
Dark AmbientDark ElectroIndiePopUnclassifiable

[71/100]   
15/02/2013, Didier BECU

I have a very special relationship with this Icelandic queen. Not that I ever met her (sadly enough not!), but she was the girl who told me in the most sweetest way that deus does not exist. It was a shock, but at least she and her sugarcubes made the pain bearable with Life's Too Good which is by far the most sexy album ever.

God, you have no idea on what I did on this album. Crying, dancing or even pretending to be Einar (just as it is always a nice thought to be near Bjork I guess). And then it happened, the talented woman was bursting out of that tiny indieband and went solo. Debut is one of the best (sorry) debuts, but there was a letdown as well. She released all those bloody EP's which were nothing but remixes. I always blamed Goldie for that.... Anyway, even when she broke up with the man with the golden teeth, things got worser. The voice was still there, she even was a godlike actress but Bjork forgot to put the pop in her music as her albums were far too experimental. Not only for me, but for almost everybody.

But you know, you don't give up that easy on old loves, not? I mean, you'll never forget your first time and neither did I, certainly not when I literally banged my head to a song like Hit. But dear oh dear, Bastards is once again an experimental heap of noises and beeps.

The songs on here are remixes from songs that were featured on Biophilia , which is in all honesty a very boring album. Those remixes appeared in a series of 12"inches and are now gathered on a cd. So you get remixes by songs like Crystalline, Virus and Mutual Core. Remixes are done by artists like Death Grips, Matthew Herbert, Omar Souleyman (by far the best), 16-Bit or These New Puritans.

They all have one thing in common: they'll send you asleep. No, Bjork will never make a bad album, she might even read some telephone numbers but she's no longer that delicious demon. Shame.

 

Didier BECU
15/02/2013


 

Next reviews
DER KLINKE • The Doll
CHRISTIAN FORTE • Deep In The Valley
VECTOR LOVERS • iPhonica
ELASTIK • Instrumental
JOHN FOXX AND THE MATHS • Evidence
LARS-ERIK LIE • The Thrill Of A Kill
DAMIAN SKINNER • Rape & Revenge
SLAVE REPUBLIC • Quest for love
SECTION 25 • Dark Light
VARIOUS ARTISTS • The End of Civilization

 

Same genre: DARK AMBIENT
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
LUKE LUND • Hopium
EMPUSAE • Iter In Tenebris
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA) • Structures and Downfall
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
ANNINA MELISSA • Exhibition of Death
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
PLACEBO EFFECT • Shattered Souls
CAUSENATION • Promises of hope and fear
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electrostorm vol. 9
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • The Dread Files
ASSEMBLAGE 23 • Mourn
DREADFOOL • Atoms for peace
TECHNOLORGY • Carnivore
HER OWN WORLD • A Different Kind Of Reality
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence

 

Same genre: INDIE
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus

 

Same genre: POP
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
PARRALOX • Subculture
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
NINE MILLION WITCHES • The Rapture
AGNES OBEL • Citizen Of Glass
NOSOUND • Scintilla
GRACE JONES • Warm Leatherette
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)
A LINN THING • Mechelen, Maanrock (27/08/2016)
LALALOVER • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)

 

Same genre: UNCLASSIFIABLE
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
FANTASTIQUE.NIGHT XLVII • MOLLY NILSSON, MARY OCHER, MENAGE A TROIS, RODOLPHE COSTER
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Ni D'Eve Ni D'Adam
MONSTER YOUTH • Lost Dream, Cool Fire
TUXEDOMOON • CLASSICS: At Twilight
THE THE • CLASSICS : Soul Mining
XTC • CLASSICS: Skylarking (Corrected)
THE FALL • Creative Distortion
BROWN REINIGER BODSON • Clear Tears, Troubled Waters
APHEX TWIN • Syro

Music reviews

16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain
15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE
10
01
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Lost Feelings
09
01
CAUSENATION
Promises of hope and fear
09
01
HA:PEOPLE.3.55
El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
08
01
RUE OBERKAMPF
Negativraum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

17
01
Today, 36 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
26 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!
15
01
Brand new Front Line Assembly album 'Mechanical Soul' out today!
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - 3 Year Anniversary
14
01
On this night, 42 years ago, Joy Division played at King Kong, Antwerp (B)!
14
01
Today, 42 years ago, the Sex Pistols played their historic 'last' show! Watch it here!!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
01
ELSJE HELEWAUT & RUDOLF HECKE
Let's Not Give A Damn
16
01
PSY'AVIAH
Not What I Expected
15
01
LEATHER STRIP
Strap me down
14
01
ANATOMIA HUMANA DESMONTABLE
Enfermedad
13
01
MOLLY NILSSON
1995
12
01
COIL
Tattooed Man
11
01
SURGICAL METH MACHINE
I'm Invisible