tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

15/02/2013 : BJORK - Bastards

BJORK

Bastards

MusicCD
Dark AmbientDark ElectroIndiePopUnclassifiable

[71/100]   
15/02/2013, Didier BECU

I have a very special relationship with this Icelandic queen. Not that I ever met her (sadly enough not!), but she was the girl who told me in the most sweetest way that deus does not exist. It was a shock, but at least she and her sugarcubes made the pain bearable with Life's Too Good which is by far the most sexy album ever.

God, you have no idea on what I did on this album. Crying, dancing or even pretending to be Einar (just as it is always a nice thought to be near Bjork I guess). And then it happened, the talented woman was bursting out of that tiny indieband and went solo. Debut is one of the best (sorry) debuts, but there was a letdown as well. She released all those bloody EP's which were nothing but remixes. I always blamed Goldie for that.... Anyway, even when she broke up with the man with the golden teeth, things got worser. The voice was still there, she even was a godlike actress but Bjork forgot to put the pop in her music as her albums were far too experimental. Not only for me, but for almost everybody.

But you know, you don't give up that easy on old loves, not? I mean, you'll never forget your first time and neither did I, certainly not when I literally banged my head to a song like Hit. But dear oh dear, Bastards is once again an experimental heap of noises and beeps.

The songs on here are remixes from songs that were featured on Biophilia , which is in all honesty a very boring album. Those remixes appeared in a series of 12"inches and are now gathered on a cd. So you get remixes by songs like Crystalline, Virus and Mutual Core. Remixes are done by artists like Death Grips, Matthew Herbert, Omar Souleyman (by far the best), 16-Bit or These New Puritans.

They all have one thing in common: they'll send you asleep. No, Bjork will never make a bad album, she might even read some telephone numbers but she's no longer that delicious demon. Shame.

 

Didier BECU
15/02/2013


 

Next reviews
DER KLINKE • The Doll
CHRISTIAN FORTE • Deep In The Valley
VECTOR LOVERS • iPhonica
ELASTIK • Instrumental
JOHN FOXX AND THE MATHS • Evidence
LARS-ERIK LIE • The Thrill Of A Kill
DAMIAN SKINNER • Rape & Revenge
SLAVE REPUBLIC • Quest for love
SECTION 25 • Dark Light
VARIOUS ARTISTS • The End of Civilization

 

Same genre: DARK AMBIENT
CAVERNA DELLE ROSE • Elysian Chants
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • Witches' Lullaby
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
LUKE LUND • Hopium
EMPUSAE • Iter In Tenebris
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA) • Structures and Downfall
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
MISERIA ULTIMA • Witch Heart Apparition
TRAGIC IMPULSE • Distant Worlds
SAMHAIN • Experiment
DIRK DA DAVO • The Unreal
HOCICO • HyperViolent
MATT HART • Decimate
COMBICHRIST • Compliance
MILDREDA • I was never really there
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
300 000VK • Peter Paradox

 

Same genre: INDIE
SJOBLOM • Tape
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding

 

Same genre: POP
DEMI LOVATO • HOLY FVCK
LAPECHE • Blood In The Water
DEZ MONA & B.O.X • LUCY
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
PARRALOX • Subculture
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
NINE MILLION WITCHES • The Rapture
AGNES OBEL • Citizen Of Glass
NOSOUND • Scintilla
GRACE JONES • Warm Leatherette

 

Same genre: UNCLASSIFIABLE
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
FANTASTIQUE.NIGHT XLVII • MOLLY NILSSON, MARY OCHER, MENAGE A TROIS, RODOLPHE COSTER
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Ni D'Eve Ni D'Adam
MONSTER YOUTH • Lost Dream, Cool Fire
TUXEDOMOON • CLASSICS: At Twilight
THE THE • CLASSICS : Soul Mining
XTC • CLASSICS: Skylarking (Corrected)
THE FALL • Creative Distortion
BROWN REINIGER BODSON • Clear Tears, Troubled Waters
APHEX TWIN • Syro

Music reviews

05
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Tabula Rasa
28
09
THIS VALE OF TEARS
This Vale Of Tears
24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members' side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
09
KEVORKIAN DEATH CYCLE
An interview with Kevorkian Death Cycle
28
09
SHE 1 - HIM 2
Interview with electronic duo, She 1 - Him 2
14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music

PHOTOS

01
10
SHE WANTS REVENGE
Into the Dark - Zonhoven
01
10
KORINTHIANS
Into the Dark - Zonhoven
01
10
THE STRANGLERS
Depot Leuven
01
10
SOVJET WAR
Depot Leuven
01
10
PETER HOOK AND THE LIGHT
La Madeleine Brussel
01
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Djingel Djangel
01
10
CLAN OF XYMOX
Kulttempel Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

06
10
CHRISTIAN DEATH
deathwish
05
10
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
04
10
DER BLUTHARSCH AND THE INFINITE CHURCH OF THE LEADING HAND
O Lord
03
10
OAKTREE
La Fin
02
10
SHADOW TAMER
Shadow Tamer
01
10
INNERWOUD
Grashelm
30
09
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Titanes