tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd / vinyl / digital review

19/03/2019 : DER KLINKE - Decade

DER KLINKE

Decade

MusicCD / Vinyl / Digital
Cold WaveDarkwaveNew wave

[91/100]   

Wool-E Discs
19/03/2019, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

For over 10 years already they've managed to entertain gothic-rock-loving Belgium, and far beyond, with their blissful music: Der Klinke. To celebrate these 10 years of existence, the band made a translucent vinyl record limited to 100 copies, called Decade. Produced by their good friend John Wolf (Mildreda, Your Life On Hold) and released on Wool-E-Discs.

This release contains 9 songs. The A-side opens with ‘Curtains’, a great and compelling goth rock song with the necessary modesty and dose of melancholy. ‘Still Alone’ is a slightly faster goth rock song with a firm cold-wave touch. Like a silhouette that tries to escape from its darkness into a mist. Great to hear how Marco Varotta lets his guitar howl along the song, crossed by a bass line that could carry a song by its own. Thank you Sam Claeys!... Chesko's voice helps the darkness to cover this song making it sound even more chilly. In ‘Moving’ it is blissful to hear how a monotonous bass drum, backed with some other carefully placed instruments, turns into a shoegaze sounding and almost completely instrumental but great song.

John Wolf then takes care of ‘Clear Mind’ turning it in a nice one. Meanwhile we know John Wolf dusted-off his love for guitars which recently can be heard with his new band Your Life On Hold, and this sound is also clearly audible on this track. His typical guitar sound is very prominent. Following is a remix by Serge Feys of the song ‘The Facts Of Life’ (taken from the album The Gathering Of Hopes). Also in the remix versions this dance-floor-filler doesn’t give in any potential power. On this version the beat sounds slightly firmer while the synths get a more prominent and driving rhythm. It remains one of my favorite Der Klinke songs... Although.. Meanwhile they have composed more tracks that can please me well.

It’s also a pleasure to get the original first version of one of their other hits ‘The Doll’ as sort of a gift on the B-side. Recognizable, of course, but the sound is still very different from the other songs which, as I have witnessed myself, have put many darkish dance floors in motion. Then get an exotic sounding rhythm that starts ‘Clear Mind’ (original version). A rather minimalistic song that has a very eighties sound. Mildreda then takes on ‘We Are Here’ from a remix treatment. Again, a major role is given to the beats and electronics, but this without dishonoring the character of the original version, on the contrary. A dark-wave with electro touch version of yet again another great song. During the writing of this review I have listened to all previous Der Klinke albums again and I have to conclude Der Klinke has written some damn good songs in those past 10 years. To close-off this release we get ‘Bridges’, their 2018 single, here put in a new ‘Decade’ tight and strong jacket.

By now Der Klinke have established themselves firmly as a band who, in addition to their great studio albums and their decent amounts of hits, also proved to be a great live band. ‘Decade’ is a beautiful piece of work which, according to my suspicion, is only the starting signal for another 10 years, and hopefully more great music, and they deserve it!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
19/03/2019


NL

10 jaar al entertainen ze gothic-rock-minnend België en daarbuiten met hun zalige muziek. Der Klinke. Naar aanleiding van een decennium bestaan maakte de band een tot 100 kopieën beperkte doorschijnende vinylplaat genaamd Decade. Geproduced door vriend des huizes John Wolf (Mildreda, Your Life On Hold) en uitgebracht op Wool-E-Discs.

De schijf bevat 9 songs. De A-side doet zijn intrede met Curtains. Een geweldig meeslepende gothrock song. Met de nodige ingetogenheid en een dosis melancholie. Still Alone is een iets snellere gothrock song met een coldwave-tint. Een stevige. Een silhouet die in een nevel ronddwalend aan de duisternis pleegt te ontsnappen. Geweldig hoe Marco Varotta zijn gitaar laat meehuilen, doorkruist door een baslijn die op zich een song kan dragen. Dankjewel Sam Claeys… Chesko’s stem zorgt er mee voor dat de donkerte nog wat killer over deze song daalt. Moving… een zalige monotone basdrum, met een zuinig instrumentarium als sidekick en elementen die een shoegaze-sound toevoegen. Een op een paar woorden na instrumentale song, die heel goed overind blijft.

John Wolf neemt vervolgens Clear Mind onder handen. Leuke song. We weten dat John Wolf zijn oerliefde voor de gitaar terug onder het stof vandaag haalde met zijn band Your Life On Hold en dat is hier goed hoorbaar. De typerende gitaarsound is heel prominent aanwezig.En dan een remix door Serge Feys van The Facts Of Life (album The Gathering Of Hopes). Deze dancefloorkiller staat ook in deze remix. De beat iets steviger dan in het origineel, de synths pertinent op de voorgrond en een stampend ritme. Het blijft één van mijn favoriete songs… hoewel.. ze hebben er intussen veel die bij mij blijven hangen.

Wat een plezier om op de B-side de originele eerste versie van de hit The Doll cadeau te krijgen. Herkenbaar natuurlijk, maar toch is de sound anders dan de songs die, naar ik mocht vaststellen, al vele donkere dansvloeren in beweging zetten. We krijgen dan een exotisch klinkende ritmesessie die Clear Mind (de originele versie) in gang zet. Eerder een minimalistische song die heel eighties klinkt. En Mildreda tekent dan voor een remix van We Are Here. Een hoofdrol voor de beats en meer electronica, zonder echter de eigenheid van het origineel oneer aan te doen, wel integendeel. Een darkwave-, met neiging tot dark electro-versie van (alweer) een geweldig nummer. Bij het schrijven ben ik in alle albums nog eens gaan rondsnuisteren en moet ik vaststellen dat Der Klinke in die 10 jaar verdomd veel goede songs heeft uitgebracht. Als uitsmijter krijgen we Bridges, de single uit 2018, in een Decade-jasje. En dat is uitermate stevig.

Der Klinke is intussen een vaste waarde. Een band die, naast de schitterende studioalbums, meer dan een handvol hits schreef én bovendien een geweldige liveband is. Deze Decade is een mooi werkstuk en geeft naar mijn vermoeden het startsein voor nog eens 10 jaar, en hopelijk méér. Het is hen van harte gegund!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
19/03/2019


 

Next reviews
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
DEZ MONA • Book Of Many
DAVID J • Thoughts And Prayers
FRED ABONG • Pulsing Ep
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
ANGEL METRO • DARK DAYS BRIGHT LIGHTS
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma

 

Other reviews from DER KLINKE
DER KLINKE • Eernegem, B52 (07/05/2016)
DER KLINKE • The Gathering Of Hopes
DER KLINKE • THE BIM-FILES: Der Klinke
DER KLINKE • The Doll
DER KLINKE • The Second Sun
DER KLINKE • Square Moon

 

Same combination of genres: COLD WAVE + DARKWAVE + NEW WAVE
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
DAGEIST • Sexy

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS • Anxious
MANNEQUIN • From a distance
RINGFINGER • Pressure
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
MANDIVULA • Nonsens
JESUS LIVES IN VEGAS • Jesus Lives In Vegas
SELOFAN • Vitrioli

 

Same genre: DARKWAVE
THE HERESY GENE • La Luz Del Padre
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA) • Structures and Downfall
PLASTIKSTROM • Beton Gegen Angst
JE T'AIME • Je T'aime
ART DIKTATOR • Isola
ANGEL METRO • DARK DAYS BRIGHT LIGHTS
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collection Of Shadows
AFTER ABSENCE • Demotape 1
FERAL BODY • Chain Ritual

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night

Music reviews

03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires
18
06
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Seed of Evil

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!
03
06
Today, 42 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us
10
06
THE JUGGERNAUTS
It's striking, in 'mainstream' genres no-one is making a big deal about band's similarities and their possible influences... But oh dear if you dare make EBM!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline
28
06
HOCICO
I Abomination