tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd / vinyl / digital review

19/03/2019 : DER KLINKE - Decade

DER KLINKE

Decade

MusicCD / Vinyl / Digital
Cold WaveDarkwaveNew wave

[91/100]   

Wool-E Discs
19/03/2019, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

For over 10 years already they've managed to entertain gothic-rock-loving Belgium, and far beyond, with their blissful music: Der Klinke. To celebrate these 10 years of existence, the band made a translucent vinyl record limited to 100 copies, called Decade. Produced by their good friend John Wolf (Mildreda, Your Life On Hold) and released on Wool-E-Discs.

This release contains 9 songs. The A-side opens with ‘Curtains’, a great and compelling goth rock song with the necessary modesty and dose of melancholy. ‘Still Alone’ is a slightly faster goth rock song with a firm cold-wave touch. Like a silhouette that tries to escape from its darkness into a mist. Great to hear how Marco Varotta lets his guitar howl along the song, crossed by a bass line that could carry a song by its own. Thank you Sam Claeys!... Chesko's voice helps the darkness to cover this song making it sound even more chilly. In ‘Moving’ it is blissful to hear how a monotonous bass drum, backed with some other carefully placed instruments, turns into a shoegaze sounding and almost completely instrumental but great song.

John Wolf then takes care of ‘Clear Mind’ turning it in a nice one. Meanwhile we know John Wolf dusted-off his love for guitars which recently can be heard with his new band Your Life On Hold, and this sound is also clearly audible on this track. His typical guitar sound is very prominent. Following is a remix by Serge Feys of the song ‘The Facts Of Life’ (taken from the album The Gathering Of Hopes). Also in the remix versions this dance-floor-filler doesn’t give in any potential power. On this version the beat sounds slightly firmer while the synths get a more prominent and driving rhythm. It remains one of my favorite Der Klinke songs... Although.. Meanwhile they have composed more tracks that can please me well.

It’s also a pleasure to get the original first version of one of their other hits ‘The Doll’ as sort of a gift on the B-side. Recognizable, of course, but the sound is still very different from the other songs which, as I have witnessed myself, have put many darkish dance floors in motion. Then get an exotic sounding rhythm that starts ‘Clear Mind’ (original version). A rather minimalistic song that has a very eighties sound. Mildreda then takes on ‘We Are Here’ from a remix treatment. Again, a major role is given to the beats and electronics, but this without dishonoring the character of the original version, on the contrary. A dark-wave with electro touch version of yet again another great song. During the writing of this review I have listened to all previous Der Klinke albums again and I have to conclude Der Klinke has written some damn good songs in those past 10 years. To close-off this release we get ‘Bridges’, their 2018 single, here put in a new ‘Decade’ tight and strong jacket.

By now Der Klinke have established themselves firmly as a band who, in addition to their great studio albums and their decent amounts of hits, also proved to be a great live band. ‘Decade’ is a beautiful piece of work which, according to my suspicion, is only the starting signal for another 10 years, and hopefully more great music, and they deserve it!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
19/03/2019


NL

10 jaar al entertainen ze gothic-rock-minnend België en daarbuiten met hun zalige muziek. Der Klinke. Naar aanleiding van een decennium bestaan maakte de band een tot 100 kopieën beperkte doorschijnende vinylplaat genaamd Decade. Geproduced door vriend des huizes John Wolf (Mildreda, Your Life On Hold) en uitgebracht op Wool-E-Discs.

De schijf bevat 9 songs. De A-side doet zijn intrede met Curtains. Een geweldig meeslepende gothrock song. Met de nodige ingetogenheid en een dosis melancholie. Still Alone is een iets snellere gothrock song met een coldwave-tint. Een stevige. Een silhouet die in een nevel ronddwalend aan de duisternis pleegt te ontsnappen. Geweldig hoe Marco Varotta zijn gitaar laat meehuilen, doorkruist door een baslijn die op zich een song kan dragen. Dankjewel Sam Claeys… Chesko’s stem zorgt er mee voor dat de donkerte nog wat killer over deze song daalt. Moving… een zalige monotone basdrum, met een zuinig instrumentarium als sidekick en elementen die een shoegaze-sound toevoegen. Een op een paar woorden na instrumentale song, die heel goed overind blijft.

John Wolf neemt vervolgens Clear Mind onder handen. Leuke song. We weten dat John Wolf zijn oerliefde voor de gitaar terug onder het stof vandaag haalde met zijn band Your Life On Hold en dat is hier goed hoorbaar. De typerende gitaarsound is heel prominent aanwezig.En dan een remix door Serge Feys van The Facts Of Life (album The Gathering Of Hopes). Deze dancefloorkiller staat ook in deze remix. De beat iets steviger dan in het origineel, de synths pertinent op de voorgrond en een stampend ritme. Het blijft één van mijn favoriete songs… hoewel.. ze hebben er intussen veel die bij mij blijven hangen.

Wat een plezier om op de B-side de originele eerste versie van de hit The Doll cadeau te krijgen. Herkenbaar natuurlijk, maar toch is de sound anders dan de songs die, naar ik mocht vaststellen, al vele donkere dansvloeren in beweging zetten. We krijgen dan een exotisch klinkende ritmesessie die Clear Mind (de originele versie) in gang zet. Eerder een minimalistische song die heel eighties klinkt. En Mildreda tekent dan voor een remix van We Are Here. Een hoofdrol voor de beats en meer electronica, zonder echter de eigenheid van het origineel oneer aan te doen, wel integendeel. Een darkwave-, met neiging tot dark electro-versie van (alweer) een geweldig nummer. Bij het schrijven ben ik in alle albums nog eens gaan rondsnuisteren en moet ik vaststellen dat Der Klinke in die 10 jaar verdomd veel goede songs heeft uitgebracht. Als uitsmijter krijgen we Bridges, de single uit 2018, in een Decade-jasje. En dat is uitermate stevig.

Der Klinke is intussen een vaste waarde. Een band die, naast de schitterende studioalbums, meer dan een handvol hits schreef én bovendien een geweldige liveband is. Deze Decade is een mooi werkstuk en geeft naar mijn vermoeden het startsein voor nog eens 10 jaar, en hopelijk méér. Het is hen van harte gegund!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
19/03/2019


 

Next reviews
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
DEZ MONA • Book Of Many
DAVID J • Thoughts And Prayers
FRED ABONG • Pulsing Ep
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
ANGEL METRO • DARK DAYS BRIGHT LIGHTS
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma

 

Other reviews from DER KLINKE
DER KLINKE • Eernegem, B52 (07/05/2016)
DER KLINKE • The Gathering Of Hopes
DER KLINKE • THE BIM-FILES: Der Klinke
DER KLINKE • The Doll
DER KLINKE • The Second Sun
DER KLINKE • Square Moon

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
WHISPERING SONS • Image
AFTER ABSENCE • Demotape 1
ASTRASONIC • Passengers
ANATOMIA HUMANA DESMONTABLE • Pasajera Pausa EP
FACTICE FACTORY • Lines & Parallels
MALA HERBA • Demo
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
A.D. MANA • A.D. Mana
LYNCELIA • Forsaken Innocence

 

Same genre: DARKWAVE
ART DIKTATOR • Isola
ANGEL METRO • DARK DAYS BRIGHT LIGHTS
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collection Of Shadows
FERAL BODY • Chain Ritual
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
ANDERS MANGA • Perfectly Stranger
WE ARE TEMPORARY • Embers
STORY OFF • Facing Forward
TANGO MANGALORE • Dear Shore

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE NAMES • German Nights
SPREADING POINT • MOMENTUM - PART II

Music reviews

20
04
LUCKY AND LOVE
Transitions
12
04
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO
Menetekel
04
04
GROOVENOM
Wir müssen reden
03
04
THE RECEIPTS
The Receipts
02
04
FONTAINES D.C
Dogrel
01
04
FRAGRANCE
Now That I'm Real

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
04
Today, 33 years ago Siouxsie and the Banshees released Tinderbox!
15
04
New Peek-a-Boo Magazine #33 out now!
14
04
Blindness Vocalist Beth Rettig Announces Debut EP ''The Desert'' From New Project Where We Sleep
13
04
Watch a new trailer for an upcoming documentary on Canadian synthpunk innovator, Nash The Slash!
12
04
Coil Release 150 minutes Of Music Entitled ''SWANYARD''
11
04
Tomorrow! Double concert Neon Electronics + Simi Nah - Win a free album!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
04
GNOSTIC GORILLA
WAKE UP! We are really in deep shit if we don’t snap out of this siege mentality and we need to stop killing the earth!
12
04
ERNEST MOON
“Our interest in the literary arts is equal to that of music.”
11
04
51 PEG
Breaking A 14-Year Absence: An Interview With 51 Peg
10
04
JO QUAIL
'I guess I’m a bit difficult to categorize!'
08
04
LAIBACH
'In reality, nobody really wants to solve a Korean problem.'

PHOTOS

18
04
DATE AT MIDNIGHT
Dark Skies over Witten V Werkstatt Witten Germany
18
04
AUGER
Dark Skies over Witten V Wekstatt Witten Germany
06
04
PERSEPHONE
@ A Mourning hall concert Gelsenkirchen
24
03
RED ZEBRA
De Lux Herenthout
24
03
DE BRASSERS
De Lux Herenthout
10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

21
04
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Gone (Feat. Yvette Winkler)
20
04
DAVID BOWIE
Fashion
19
04
GNOSTIC GORRILA
St. Basil's Asylum
18
04
UNDERTHESKIN
Borderline
18
04
EINSTÜRZENDE NEUBAUTEN
Yü-Gung (Fütter Mein Ego) - (Live Rockpalast 1990)
17
04
NACHTFALTER
Maschinenklang
16
04
ANNI HOGAN
Angels Of Romance (featuring Gavin Friday