tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd / vinyl / digital review

19/03/2019 : DER KLINKE - Decade

DER KLINKE

Decade

MusicCD / Vinyl / Digital
Cold WaveDarkwaveNew wave

[91/100]   

Wool-E Discs
19/03/2019, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

For over 10 years already they've managed to entertain gothic-rock-loving Belgium, and far beyond, with their blissful music: Der Klinke. To celebrate these 10 years of existence, the band made a translucent vinyl record limited to 100 copies, called Decade. Produced by their good friend John Wolf (Mildreda, Your Life On Hold) and released on Wool-E-Discs.

This release contains 9 songs. The A-side opens with ‘Curtains’, a great and compelling goth rock song with the necessary modesty and dose of melancholy. ‘Still Alone’ is a slightly faster goth rock song with a firm cold-wave touch. Like a silhouette that tries to escape from its darkness into a mist. Great to hear how Marco Varotta lets his guitar howl along the song, crossed by a bass line that could carry a song by its own. Thank you Sam Claeys!... Chesko's voice helps the darkness to cover this song making it sound even more chilly. In ‘Moving’ it is blissful to hear how a monotonous bass drum, backed with some other carefully placed instruments, turns into a shoegaze sounding and almost completely instrumental but great song.

John Wolf then takes care of ‘Clear Mind’ turning it in a nice one. Meanwhile we know John Wolf dusted-off his love for guitars which recently can be heard with his new band Your Life On Hold, and this sound is also clearly audible on this track. His typical guitar sound is very prominent. Following is a remix by Serge Feys of the song ‘The Facts Of Life’ (taken from the album The Gathering Of Hopes). Also in the remix versions this dance-floor-filler doesn’t give in any potential power. On this version the beat sounds slightly firmer while the synths get a more prominent and driving rhythm. It remains one of my favorite Der Klinke songs... Although.. Meanwhile they have composed more tracks that can please me well.

It’s also a pleasure to get the original first version of one of their other hits ‘The Doll’ as sort of a gift on the B-side. Recognizable, of course, but the sound is still very different from the other songs which, as I have witnessed myself, have put many darkish dance floors in motion. Then get an exotic sounding rhythm that starts ‘Clear Mind’ (original version). A rather minimalistic song that has a very eighties sound. Mildreda then takes on ‘We Are Here’ from a remix treatment. Again, a major role is given to the beats and electronics, but this without dishonoring the character of the original version, on the contrary. A dark-wave with electro touch version of yet again another great song. During the writing of this review I have listened to all previous Der Klinke albums again and I have to conclude Der Klinke has written some damn good songs in those past 10 years. To close-off this release we get ‘Bridges’, their 2018 single, here put in a new ‘Decade’ tight and strong jacket.

By now Der Klinke have established themselves firmly as a band who, in addition to their great studio albums and their decent amounts of hits, also proved to be a great live band. ‘Decade’ is a beautiful piece of work which, according to my suspicion, is only the starting signal for another 10 years, and hopefully more great music, and they deserve it!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
19/03/2019


NL

10 jaar al entertainen ze gothic-rock-minnend België en daarbuiten met hun zalige muziek. Der Klinke. Naar aanleiding van een decennium bestaan maakte de band een tot 100 kopieën beperkte doorschijnende vinylplaat genaamd Decade. Geproduced door vriend des huizes John Wolf (Mildreda, Your Life On Hold) en uitgebracht op Wool-E-Discs.

De schijf bevat 9 songs. De A-side doet zijn intrede met Curtains. Een geweldig meeslepende gothrock song. Met de nodige ingetogenheid en een dosis melancholie. Still Alone is een iets snellere gothrock song met een coldwave-tint. Een stevige. Een silhouet die in een nevel ronddwalend aan de duisternis pleegt te ontsnappen. Geweldig hoe Marco Varotta zijn gitaar laat meehuilen, doorkruist door een baslijn die op zich een song kan dragen. Dankjewel Sam Claeys… Chesko’s stem zorgt er mee voor dat de donkerte nog wat killer over deze song daalt. Moving… een zalige monotone basdrum, met een zuinig instrumentarium als sidekick en elementen die een shoegaze-sound toevoegen. Een op een paar woorden na instrumentale song, die heel goed overind blijft.

John Wolf neemt vervolgens Clear Mind onder handen. Leuke song. We weten dat John Wolf zijn oerliefde voor de gitaar terug onder het stof vandaag haalde met zijn band Your Life On Hold en dat is hier goed hoorbaar. De typerende gitaarsound is heel prominent aanwezig.En dan een remix door Serge Feys van The Facts Of Life (album The Gathering Of Hopes). Deze dancefloorkiller staat ook in deze remix. De beat iets steviger dan in het origineel, de synths pertinent op de voorgrond en een stampend ritme. Het blijft één van mijn favoriete songs… hoewel.. ze hebben er intussen veel die bij mij blijven hangen.

Wat een plezier om op de B-side de originele eerste versie van de hit The Doll cadeau te krijgen. Herkenbaar natuurlijk, maar toch is de sound anders dan de songs die, naar ik mocht vaststellen, al vele donkere dansvloeren in beweging zetten. We krijgen dan een exotisch klinkende ritmesessie die Clear Mind (de originele versie) in gang zet. Eerder een minimalistische song die heel eighties klinkt. En Mildreda tekent dan voor een remix van We Are Here. Een hoofdrol voor de beats en meer electronica, zonder echter de eigenheid van het origineel oneer aan te doen, wel integendeel. Een darkwave-, met neiging tot dark electro-versie van (alweer) een geweldig nummer. Bij het schrijven ben ik in alle albums nog eens gaan rondsnuisteren en moet ik vaststellen dat Der Klinke in die 10 jaar verdomd veel goede songs heeft uitgebracht. Als uitsmijter krijgen we Bridges, de single uit 2018, in een Decade-jasje. En dat is uitermate stevig.

Der Klinke is intussen een vaste waarde. Een band die, naast de schitterende studioalbums, meer dan een handvol hits schreef én bovendien een geweldige liveband is. Deze Decade is een mooi werkstuk en geeft naar mijn vermoeden het startsein voor nog eens 10 jaar, en hopelijk méér. Het is hen van harte gegund!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
19/03/2019


 

Next reviews
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
DEZ MONA • Book Of Many
DAVID J • Thoughts And Prayers
FRED ABONG • Pulsing Ep
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
ANGEL METRO • DARK DAYS BRIGHT LIGHTS
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma

 

Other reviews from DER KLINKE
DER KLINKE • Eernegem, B52 (07/05/2016)
DER KLINKE • The Gathering Of Hopes
DER KLINKE • THE BIM-FILES: Der Klinke
DER KLINKE • The Doll
DER KLINKE • The Second Sun
DER KLINKE • Square Moon

 

Same combination of genres: COLD WAVE + DARKWAVE + NEW WAVE
DAGEIST • Sexy

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
RINGFINGER • Pressure
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
MANDIVULA • Nonsens
JESUS LIVES IN VEGAS • Jesus Lives In Vegas
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
WHISPERING SONS • Image
AFTER ABSENCE • Demotape 1

 

Same genre: DARKWAVE
THE HERESY GENE • La Luz Del Padre
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA) • Structures and Downfall
PLASTIKSTROM • Beton Gegen Angst
JE T'AIME • Je T'aime
ART DIKTATOR • Isola
ANGEL METRO • DARK DAYS BRIGHT LIGHTS
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collection Of Shadows
FERAL BODY • Chain Ritual
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse

Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
01
Peek-a-Boo Magazine # 36 - Out Now!
19
01
On this day, 29 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!
18
01
On this day, 40 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!
17
01
Today, 35 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
25 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - 2 Year Anniversary

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.
14
01
IC434
find it amazing to live in a highly developed society and at the same time having to realize what a mentally mess it really is.
13
01
SYRENOMELIA
The drunk rural constable at the local pub.

PHOTOS

19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
ERYX LONDON
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
KEZDOWN
DARK WINTER FESTIVAL LIEGE
26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

20
01
THROBBING GRISTLE
Six Six Sixties (Fan made video)
19
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Blackout
18
01
SDH (SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS)
No Miracles (Official Video)
17
01
CAPITAL X
Majesty
17
01
GARBAGE
No Horses
16
01
SEVERED HEADS
All Saints Day
15
01
EURYTHMICS
Sweet Dreams