tempobet yeni adresi
like this 7 inch review

13/03/2019 : DAVID J - Thoughts And Prayers

DAVID J

Thoughts And Prayers

Music7 inch
AcousticPost Punk

[95/100]   

Schoolkids Records
13/03/2019, Kevin BURKE

David J Haskins is one of those rare breeds, an artist who is still crucial in music forty years after his first adventure with Bauhaus and the gothic-ballet that is 'Bela Lugosi's Dead'. Then onto further alternative-rock success with Love And Rockets, though always keeping that anti-commercial edge within his own solo projects. Last year we witnessed the rebirth of his famed 1985 acoustic-release ‘Crocodile Tears and the Velvet Cosh’. Following on with a hive of activity and the news of a Bauhaus fortieth-anniversary tour with fellow goth-warrior Pete Murphy.

With his next release however, David J is breathing fire, setting his eclectic sights on the United States and devouring their twisted attitudes towards gun-control through his music.
On April-the-13th (RSD ‘19), via Schoolkids Records, David J And Comrades release ‘Thoughts And Prayers’. A statement of an ironic intent, of disgust and one where hope seems extinguished in this modern society by good, but pointless deeds. Sending thoughts and prayers simply a myth and not the solution, the protest at the cop out and not the action needed.
“In the wake of another killing....”

This is a track which lodges in your brain with an ease, a message and a call to drop arms. A hypnotic guitar pattern as the words roll off the tongue of David J with a sublime venom. It is disturbing, but in the same breath, a brilliant retelling of the heart of a nation’s denial.
With a fuzzed out guitar solo that rips the fillings from your teeth, this is David J at his very best, most sincere in this modern protest stance.
Backed with a cover of the Emily Jane White’s soul-possessive- 'Hole in the Middle'. Again meshed with the protest ideology as the main track, it is the perfect flip-side companion.
‘Thoughts And Prayers’ is a limited run of five-hundred seven-inch singles, something tells me this modern day protest will erupt the conversations which have been long avoided.


SOUNDCLOUD

Kevin BURKE
13/03/2019


Music reviews

20
09
JE T'AIME
Je T'aime
05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'
20
09
Warish streaming forthcoming full length debut ahead of release
19
09
Such Beautiful Flowers premières first video from upcoming Wool-E Tapes release.
06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
09
BRIAN JAMES(THE DAMNED,THE LORDS OF THE NEW CHURCH)
'If it’s something that comes from your heart – you can do whatever you want do to!'
19
09
CHMCL STR8JCKT
An Interview With Chmcl Str8jckt
11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'

PHOTOS

22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
DARK SIDE EONS
Liege New Wave Festival
21
09
SISTERS OF MERCY
The Roundhouse London
21
09
AMENRA
The Roundhouse London
18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

23
09
COIL
Bang Bang
22
09
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
21
09
AESTHETIC PERFECTION
Love Like Lies
20
09
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem