tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

21/05/2012 : FRANK RIGGIO - Psychexcess I - Presentism

FRANK RIGGIO

Psychexcess I - Presentism

MusicCD
ExperimentalIDM (Intelligent Dance Music)Neoclassical

[70/100]   

Hymen Records
21/05/2012, Chris KONINGS

Another weird one from Hymen Records... In a previous career Frank was mixing acid with turntables under the monikers Knarf or FRA and later he formed Sagaloops, a label that got some recognision in the rave movement. He also made a load of EP's but in 2005 he took a fresh start and started working under his own name.

Just like Lingouf he uses a lot of classical instruments like violins and piano, but don't expect breakbeat from the lunatic asylum here. This work is a lot more down to earth and at the same time very trippy, an ode to Aphex Twin, Coil, Biosphere and other such artists. Great depth of production also!

The first few songs are a symbiosis between classical violins and idm. It's not until "Flowing Magma" that there is a pop oriented (in the broadest view) around, like a dark and pulsating Portishead or Massive Attack song. There's heaps more to be discovered, like quirky downtempo (Big Tunnel Recordist) and even spacy analogue ambient like Biosphere (Infinie Galaxie II). Or you can experience it all at once, "Fractal D" sounds like they uploaded the entire musical history in the Deep Blue supercomputer that compiled it into one slab of sound/silence.

One problem though, he's still finding his way through this new approach so it all reeks of incohesiveness. The last song "Vislarm" epitomises that feeling, it sounds like three tracks rolled into one. Three very good tracks that is, but you wouldn't eat a wrap with tunafish, chocolat and an omelet on top now would you?

Still it's good to skid through once in a while, choosing those tracks depending on your mood. And there are some excellent ones on this disc!

Hymen Records

Chris KONINGS
21/05/2012


 

Next reviews
COLLECTION D'ARNELL-ANDRÉA • Concert at Magasin4 in Brussels on 12th May 2012 with A Challenge of Honour and Skeptical Minds
DEATHCAMP PROJECT • Painthings
TOM SIX • The Human Centipede
• Seawave 2
COMA DIVINE • Dead End Circle
AROMA DI AMORE • Samizdat
CONTEMPORARY NOISE SEXTET • Ghostwriter's Joke
DER KLINKE • The Second Sun
PAS • Pure Energy Output Sessions
THE TELESCOPES • Taste

 

Other reviews from FRANK RIGGIO
FRANK RIGGIO • Psychexcess II – Futurism

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
JESU • When I Was Small
ALSO • Live in Celovec
LUKE LUND • Hopium
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma

 

Same genre: IDM (INTELLIGENT DANCE MUSIC)
LIEBKNECHT • ICE over Erfurt
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
DISPLACER • Curse of The Black Vinyl
PSY'AVIAH • Seven Sorrows, Seven Stars
DMX KREW • You Exist
NOVASTORM • Bad Taste
CRONOS TITAN • Valium
ARCHITECT/SONIC AREA/HOLOGRAM_ • We Are the Alchemists
TYSKE LUDDER • Evolution
FRANK RIGGIO • Psychexcess II – Futurism

 

Same genre: NEOCLASSICAL
CAVERNA DELLE ROSE • Elysian Chants
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA) • Structures and Downfall
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT • Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
ALICE IN NEVERLAND • L'ile aux Trésors
STERNLUMEN • Sternlumen
ATARAXIA • Deep Blue Firmanent

Music reviews

14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?
22
06
DIORAMA
ZSA
21
06
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
20
06
POESIE NOIRE
Déjà Vu