tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : DMX KREW - You Exist

DMX KREW

You Exist

MusicCD
DanceElectronicsIDM (Intelligent Dance Music)Techno
Hypercolour Records
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

If you’re aware of quality dance music, then you certainly will be familiar with DMX Krew, the alter ego of Briton Ed Upton, that has been around since the mid-90s.

The name is somewhat similar to that of a hip-hop group, but it simply refers to the drum machine Ed works with (the Oberheim DMX). Although many of his first albums were releases were released on Rephlex Records (the label of Aphex Twin), his music remains very accessible, it even sounds extremely poppy and it is often compared to Luke Vibert.

His latest CD is released on Hypercolour, the label that is founded by Alex Jones and Jamie "Cedric Maison" Russell, a duo that made remixes for bands like Groove Armada.

And what about this album? Well, even if you have never been in a disco, you can fall hopelessly in love with this album. Of course the dance beats rule, but DMX Krew made his minimal techno pop in an ingenious way.

You hear IDM elements, but also the electronics of say Jean Michel Jarre. The nine tracks are driven by melodic synths and icy electronic drums. Because of the style, You Exist will be labelled as techno, but those of you who prefer just pounding beats, will be disappointed. However, if you’re looking for synthetic beauty in an irresistible dance pop style, then you can start finding your way among the stars. Cosmic beauty, and a top CD!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Wie van betere dansmuziek houdt, zal beslist vertrouwd zijn met DMX Krew. De Brit Ed Upton is er al sinds het midden van de jaren 90 mee bezig. De naam lijkt wat op die van een hiphopgroep, maar refereert gewoon naar de drumcomputer (de Oberheim DMX) waarmee Ed werkt. Ofschoon de meeste van zijn eerste releases op Rephlex Records (het label van Aphex Twin) zijn verschenen, blijft de muziek toch zeer toegankelijk, en zelfs uiterst poppy en ze wordt vaak vergeleken met die van Luke Vibert.

Zijn nieuwste cd is nu uitgebracht op Hypercolour, het label dat is opgericht door Alex Jones en Jamie "Cedric Maison" Russell, een duo dat heel wat naam maakte met remixes voor o.a. Groove Armada.

En hoe zit met het met deze cd? Wel, zelfs indien je nog nooit een voet in een discotheek hebt gezet, zou het best kunnen dat je hier hopeloos verliefd op wordt. Natuurlijk regeren de dansbeats, maar DMX Krew verpakt zijn minimale technopop op zo’n ingenieuze manier, dat je er werkelijk alle kanten mee uit kan.

Je hoort IDM-elementen, maar evenzeer de elektronica van bijv. Jean-Michel Jarre. De negen tracks worden gedreven door melodieuze synths en ijskoude elektronische drums. Wegens de stijl valt You Exist sowieso onder techno, maar wie louter beukende beats wil, zal maar weinig aan deze release hebben. Wie daarentegen synthetische schoonheid wil in onweerstaanbare danspopvorm, kan zich alvast een baan zoeken tussen de sterren. Kosmische schoonheid, en wat een topplaat!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
ISBELLS • Mechelen, Stadsschouwburg (17/03/16)
MYSTIGMA • Schattenboten
B BOYS • No Worry No Mind EP
DADE CITY DAYS • VHS
HEKATE • Black Easter 2016
MILA MAR • Black Easter 2016
LEBANON HANOVER • Black Easter 2016
SHE PAST AWAY • Black Easter 2016
ATTRITION • Black Easter 2016
IN THE NURSERY • Black Easter 2016

 

Same genre: DANCE
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
THE HERESY GENE • La Luz Del Padre
THE INVISIBLE • Patience
DJ SHADOW • The Mountain Will Fall
MONOLITH • Domination
13TH MONKEY • Live at Forms of Hands 15
PRIMAL SCREAM • Chaosmosis
BLINKY BLINKY COMPUTERBAND • Fractured Sign
XYMOX • Phoenix
PRIMAL SCREAM • Where The Light Gets In

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
WULF7 • Dark Hate
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
FIRST • Restless
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix

 

Same genre: IDM (INTELLIGENT DANCE MUSIC)
LIEBKNECHT • ICE over Erfurt
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
DISPLACER • Curse of The Black Vinyl
PSY'AVIAH • Seven Sorrows, Seven Stars
NOVASTORM • Bad Taste
CRONOS TITAN • Valium
ARCHITECT/SONIC AREA/HOLOGRAM_ • We Are the Alchemists
TYSKE LUDDER • Evolution
FRANK RIGGIO • Psychexcess II – Futurism
SYNAPSCAPE • Rhythm Age

 

Same genre: TECHNO
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
PLEASURE TIME • Years About Us
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
XOSAR • Xymeria
PRESENCE I OF I MIND • Pure
MIRLAND • Greyscale Controller (charity-EP)
FACTORY FLOOR • 25 25
GRANDCHAOS • Memories
CLOCK DVA • Neoteric MiniMax

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album
01
09
The Utimate Dreamers reveals new kinky synthwave/ebm video
28
08
44 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
28
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Sinner's Day Special Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
09
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Black August
16
09
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
15
09
DILK
Deprecated (Official Video)
15
09
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
14
09
AH CAMA-SOTZ
Hotel Odessa
13
09
DIVINE SHADE
Something Bad (In The Dust | Part 1)
12
09
SPANKRAGHT
N16