tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : DMX KREW - You Exist

DMX KREW

You Exist

MusicCD
DanceElectronicsIDM (Intelligent Dance Music)Techno
Hypercolour Records
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

If you’re aware of quality dance music, then you certainly will be familiar with DMX Krew, the alter ego of Briton Ed Upton, that has been around since the mid-90s.

The name is somewhat similar to that of a hip-hop group, but it simply refers to the drum machine Ed works with (the Oberheim DMX). Although many of his first albums were releases were released on Rephlex Records (the label of Aphex Twin), his music remains very accessible, it even sounds extremely poppy and it is often compared to Luke Vibert.

His latest CD is released on Hypercolour, the label that is founded by Alex Jones and Jamie "Cedric Maison" Russell, a duo that made remixes for bands like Groove Armada.

And what about this album? Well, even if you have never been in a disco, you can fall hopelessly in love with this album. Of course the dance beats rule, but DMX Krew made his minimal techno pop in an ingenious way.

You hear IDM elements, but also the electronics of say Jean Michel Jarre. The nine tracks are driven by melodic synths and icy electronic drums. Because of the style, You Exist will be labelled as techno, but those of you who prefer just pounding beats, will be disappointed. However, if you’re looking for synthetic beauty in an irresistible dance pop style, then you can start finding your way among the stars. Cosmic beauty, and a top CD!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Wie van betere dansmuziek houdt, zal beslist vertrouwd zijn met DMX Krew. De Brit Ed Upton is er al sinds het midden van de jaren 90 mee bezig. De naam lijkt wat op die van een hiphopgroep, maar refereert gewoon naar de drumcomputer (de Oberheim DMX) waarmee Ed werkt. Ofschoon de meeste van zijn eerste releases op Rephlex Records (het label van Aphex Twin) zijn verschenen, blijft de muziek toch zeer toegankelijk, en zelfs uiterst poppy en ze wordt vaak vergeleken met die van Luke Vibert.

Zijn nieuwste cd is nu uitgebracht op Hypercolour, het label dat is opgericht door Alex Jones en Jamie "Cedric Maison" Russell, een duo dat heel wat naam maakte met remixes voor o.a. Groove Armada.

En hoe zit met het met deze cd? Wel, zelfs indien je nog nooit een voet in een discotheek hebt gezet, zou het best kunnen dat je hier hopeloos verliefd op wordt. Natuurlijk regeren de dansbeats, maar DMX Krew verpakt zijn minimale technopop op zo’n ingenieuze manier, dat je er werkelijk alle kanten mee uit kan.

Je hoort IDM-elementen, maar evenzeer de elektronica van bijv. Jean-Michel Jarre. De negen tracks worden gedreven door melodieuze synths en ijskoude elektronische drums. Wegens de stijl valt You Exist sowieso onder techno, maar wie louter beukende beats wil, zal maar weinig aan deze release hebben. Wie daarentegen synthetische schoonheid wil in onweerstaanbare danspopvorm, kan zich alvast een baan zoeken tussen de sterren. Kosmische schoonheid, en wat een topplaat!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
ISBELLS • Mechelen, Stadsschouwburg (17/03/16)
MYSTIGMA • Schattenboten
B BOYS • No Worry No Mind EP
DADE CITY DAYS • VHS
HEKATE • Black Easter 2016
MILA MAR • Black Easter 2016
LEBANON HANOVER • Black Easter 2016
SHE PAST AWAY • Black Easter 2016
ATTRITION • Black Easter 2016
IN THE NURSERY • Black Easter 2016

 

Same genre: DANCE
CELESTIAL NORTH • When The Gods Dance
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
THE HERESY GENE • La Luz Del Padre
THE INVISIBLE • Patience
DJ SHADOW • The Mountain Will Fall
MONOLITH • Domination
13TH MONKEY • Live at Forms of Hands 15
PRIMAL SCREAM • Chaosmosis
BLINKY BLINKY COMPUTERBAND • Fractured Sign
XYMOX • Phoenix

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
WULF7 • Dark Hate
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
FIRST • Restless
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix

 

Same genre: IDM (INTELLIGENT DANCE MUSIC)
LIEBKNECHT • ICE over Erfurt
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
DISPLACER • Curse of The Black Vinyl
PSY'AVIAH • Seven Sorrows, Seven Stars
NOVASTORM • Bad Taste
CRONOS TITAN • Valium
ARCHITECT/SONIC AREA/HOLOGRAM_ • We Are the Alchemists
TYSKE LUDDER • Evolution
FRANK RIGGIO • Psychexcess II – Futurism
SYNAPSCAPE • Rhythm Age

 

Same genre: TECHNO
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
PLEASURE TIME • Years About Us
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
XOSAR • Xymeria
PRESENCE I OF I MIND • Pure
MIRLAND • Greyscale Controller (charity-EP)
FACTORY FLOOR • 25 25
GRANDCHAOS • Memories
CLOCK DVA • Neoteric MiniMax

Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her 39
02
07
New album from Xenturion Prime on Progress Productions
01
07
Legendary Goth Club ‘The Church’ Featured In Documentary Film
01
07
41 years of Incontinent by Fad Gadget!
30
06
Luscious Apparatus Addresses Rage Control With New Single
29
06
Canadian Label Dem Modest Kids Unveils Into The Coldwave Compilation Highlighting Alberta - Based Alternative Artists

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

03
07
WARDRUNA NORDIC LIGHT
Amphitheater Gelsenkirchen
30
06
AROMA DI AMORE
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
THE STRANGLERS
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
STABBING WESTWARD
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
NOSFERATU
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
AESTHETIC PERFACTION
Sinner's Day Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

03
07
SPIRITUAL FRONT
Tenderness Through Violence
02
07
KATE BUSH
And Dream of Sheep
01
07
PJ HARVEY
The Orange Monkey
30
06
FIRST HATE
White Heron
29
06
THIS CAN HURT
High Tide
28
06
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)