tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : DMX KREW - You Exist

DMX KREW

You Exist

MusicCD
DanceElectronicsIDM (Intelligent Dance Music)Techno
Hypercolour Records
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

If you’re aware of quality dance music, then you certainly will be familiar with DMX Krew, the alter ego of Briton Ed Upton, that has been around since the mid-90s.

The name is somewhat similar to that of a hip-hop group, but it simply refers to the drum machine Ed works with (the Oberheim DMX). Although many of his first albums were releases were released on Rephlex Records (the label of Aphex Twin), his music remains very accessible, it even sounds extremely poppy and it is often compared to Luke Vibert.

His latest CD is released on Hypercolour, the label that is founded by Alex Jones and Jamie "Cedric Maison" Russell, a duo that made remixes for bands like Groove Armada.

And what about this album? Well, even if you have never been in a disco, you can fall hopelessly in love with this album. Of course the dance beats rule, but DMX Krew made his minimal techno pop in an ingenious way.

You hear IDM elements, but also the electronics of say Jean Michel Jarre. The nine tracks are driven by melodic synths and icy electronic drums. Because of the style, You Exist will be labelled as techno, but those of you who prefer just pounding beats, will be disappointed. However, if you’re looking for synthetic beauty in an irresistible dance pop style, then you can start finding your way among the stars. Cosmic beauty, and a top CD!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Wie van betere dansmuziek houdt, zal beslist vertrouwd zijn met DMX Krew. De Brit Ed Upton is er al sinds het midden van de jaren 90 mee bezig. De naam lijkt wat op die van een hiphopgroep, maar refereert gewoon naar de drumcomputer (de Oberheim DMX) waarmee Ed werkt. Ofschoon de meeste van zijn eerste releases op Rephlex Records (het label van Aphex Twin) zijn verschenen, blijft de muziek toch zeer toegankelijk, en zelfs uiterst poppy en ze wordt vaak vergeleken met die van Luke Vibert.

Zijn nieuwste cd is nu uitgebracht op Hypercolour, het label dat is opgericht door Alex Jones en Jamie "Cedric Maison" Russell, een duo dat heel wat naam maakte met remixes voor o.a. Groove Armada.

En hoe zit met het met deze cd? Wel, zelfs indien je nog nooit een voet in een discotheek hebt gezet, zou het best kunnen dat je hier hopeloos verliefd op wordt. Natuurlijk regeren de dansbeats, maar DMX Krew verpakt zijn minimale technopop op zo’n ingenieuze manier, dat je er werkelijk alle kanten mee uit kan.

Je hoort IDM-elementen, maar evenzeer de elektronica van bijv. Jean-Michel Jarre. De negen tracks worden gedreven door melodieuze synths en ijskoude elektronische drums. Wegens de stijl valt You Exist sowieso onder techno, maar wie louter beukende beats wil, zal maar weinig aan deze release hebben. Wie daarentegen synthetische schoonheid wil in onweerstaanbare danspopvorm, kan zich alvast een baan zoeken tussen de sterren. Kosmische schoonheid, en wat een topplaat!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
ISBELLS • Mechelen, Stadsschouwburg (17/03/16)
MYSTIGMA • Schattenboten
B BOYS • No Worry No Mind EP
DADE CITY DAYS • VHS
HEKATE • Black Easter 2016
MILA MAR • Black Easter 2016
LEBANON HANOVER • Black Easter 2016
SHE PAST AWAY • Black Easter 2016
ATTRITION • Black Easter 2016
IN THE NURSERY • Black Easter 2016

 

Same genre: DANCE
THE INVISIBLE • Patience
DJ SHADOW • The Mountain Will Fall
MONOLITH • Domination
13TH MONKEY • Live at Forms of Hands 15
PRIMAL SCREAM • Chaosmosis
BLINKY BLINKY COMPUTERBAND • Fractured Sign
XYMOX • Phoenix
PRIMAL SCREAM • Where The Light Gets In
UNDERWORLD • Second Toughest In The Infants-Redux
BLINKY BLINKY COMPUTERBAND • Strange Electro Pop

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
HATCHLING • Alpha
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
FERAL BODY • Chain Ritual

 

Same genre: IDM (INTELLIGENT DANCE MUSIC)
LIEBKNECHT • ICE over Erfurt
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
DISPLACER • Curse of The Black Vinyl
PSY'AVIAH • Seven Sorrows, Seven Stars
NOVASTORM • Bad Taste
CRONOS TITAN • Valium
ARCHITECT/SONIC AREA/HOLOGRAM_ • We Are the Alchemists
TYSKE LUDDER • Evolution
FRANK RIGGIO • Psychexcess II – Futurism
SYNAPSCAPE • Rhythm Age

 

Same genre: TECHNO
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
PLEASURE TIME • Years About Us
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
XOSAR • Xymeria
PRESENCE I OF I MIND • Pure
MIRLAND • Greyscale Controller (charity-EP)
FACTORY FLOOR • 25 25
GRANDCHAOS • Memories
CLOCK DVA • Neoteric MiniMax
AUTOGEN • Antigen

Music reviews

20
09
JE T'AIME
Je T'aime
05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'
20
09
Warish streaming forthcoming full length debut ahead of release
19
09
Such Beautiful Flowers premières first video from upcoming Wool-E Tapes release.
06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
09
JOHN HASSALL(THE LIBERTINES,THE APRIL RAINERS)
'I’m trying to write for everybody!'
21
09
BRIAN JAMES(THE DAMNED,THE LORDS OF THE NEW CHURCH)
'If it’s something that comes from your heart – you can do whatever you want do to!'
19
09
CHMCL STR8JCKT
An Interview With Chmcl Str8jckt
11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'

PHOTOS

22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
DARK SIDE EONS
Liege New Wave Festival
21
09
SISTERS OF MERCY
The Roundhouse London
21
09
AMENRA
The Roundhouse London
18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

24
09
VIVE LA FETE
YOU CAN SLEEP IN MY BED
23
09
COIL
Bang Bang
22
09
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
21
09
AESTHETIC PERFECTION
Love Like Lies
20
09
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi