tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : DMX KREW - You Exist

DMX KREW

You Exist

MusicCD
DanceElectronicsIDM (Intelligent Dance Music)Techno
Hypercolour Records
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

If you’re aware of quality dance music, then you certainly will be familiar with DMX Krew, the alter ego of Briton Ed Upton, that has been around since the mid-90s.

The name is somewhat similar to that of a hip-hop group, but it simply refers to the drum machine Ed works with (the Oberheim DMX). Although many of his first albums were releases were released on Rephlex Records (the label of Aphex Twin), his music remains very accessible, it even sounds extremely poppy and it is often compared to Luke Vibert.

His latest CD is released on Hypercolour, the label that is founded by Alex Jones and Jamie "Cedric Maison" Russell, a duo that made remixes for bands like Groove Armada.

And what about this album? Well, even if you have never been in a disco, you can fall hopelessly in love with this album. Of course the dance beats rule, but DMX Krew made his minimal techno pop in an ingenious way.

You hear IDM elements, but also the electronics of say Jean Michel Jarre. The nine tracks are driven by melodic synths and icy electronic drums. Because of the style, You Exist will be labelled as techno, but those of you who prefer just pounding beats, will be disappointed. However, if you’re looking for synthetic beauty in an irresistible dance pop style, then you can start finding your way among the stars. Cosmic beauty, and a top CD!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Wie van betere dansmuziek houdt, zal beslist vertrouwd zijn met DMX Krew. De Brit Ed Upton is er al sinds het midden van de jaren 90 mee bezig. De naam lijkt wat op die van een hiphopgroep, maar refereert gewoon naar de drumcomputer (de Oberheim DMX) waarmee Ed werkt. Ofschoon de meeste van zijn eerste releases op Rephlex Records (het label van Aphex Twin) zijn verschenen, blijft de muziek toch zeer toegankelijk, en zelfs uiterst poppy en ze wordt vaak vergeleken met die van Luke Vibert.

Zijn nieuwste cd is nu uitgebracht op Hypercolour, het label dat is opgericht door Alex Jones en Jamie "Cedric Maison" Russell, een duo dat heel wat naam maakte met remixes voor o.a. Groove Armada.

En hoe zit met het met deze cd? Wel, zelfs indien je nog nooit een voet in een discotheek hebt gezet, zou het best kunnen dat je hier hopeloos verliefd op wordt. Natuurlijk regeren de dansbeats, maar DMX Krew verpakt zijn minimale technopop op zo’n ingenieuze manier, dat je er werkelijk alle kanten mee uit kan.

Je hoort IDM-elementen, maar evenzeer de elektronica van bijv. Jean-Michel Jarre. De negen tracks worden gedreven door melodieuze synths en ijskoude elektronische drums. Wegens de stijl valt You Exist sowieso onder techno, maar wie louter beukende beats wil, zal maar weinig aan deze release hebben. Wie daarentegen synthetische schoonheid wil in onweerstaanbare danspopvorm, kan zich alvast een baan zoeken tussen de sterren. Kosmische schoonheid, en wat een topplaat!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
ISBELLS • Mechelen, Stadsschouwburg (17/03/16)
MYSTIGMA • Schattenboten
B BOYS • No Worry No Mind EP
DADE CITY DAYS • VHS
HEKATE • Black Easter 2016
MILA MAR • Black Easter 2016
LEBANON HANOVER • Black Easter 2016
SHE PAST AWAY • Black Easter 2016
ATTRITION • Black Easter 2016
IN THE NURSERY • Black Easter 2016

 

Same genre: DANCE
THE INVISIBLE • Patience
DJ SHADOW • The Mountain Will Fall
MONOLITH • Domination
13TH MONKEY • Live at Forms of Hands 15
PRIMAL SCREAM • Chaosmosis
BLINKY BLINKY COMPUTERBAND • Fractured Sign
XYMOX • Phoenix
PRIMAL SCREAM • Where The Light Gets In
UNDERWORLD • Second Toughest In The Infants-Redux
BLINKY BLINKY COMPUTERBAND • Strange Electro Pop

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
HATCHLING • Alpha
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
FERAL BODY • Chain Ritual
ORNAMENTI D'ORO • Mater Tenebrarum
VIKTOR KALIMA • Club Muscle
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat

 

Same genre: IDM (INTELLIGENT DANCE MUSIC)
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
DISPLACER • Curse of The Black Vinyl
PSY'AVIAH • Seven Sorrows, Seven Stars
NOVASTORM • Bad Taste
CRONOS TITAN • Valium
ARCHITECT/SONIC AREA/HOLOGRAM_ • We Are the Alchemists
TYSKE LUDDER • Evolution
FRANK RIGGIO • Psychexcess II – Futurism
SYNAPSCAPE • Rhythm Age
HEADDREAMER • Human Frequencies

 

Same genre: TECHNO
PLEASURE TIME • Years About Us
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
XOSAR • Xymeria
PRESENCE I OF I MIND • Pure
MIRLAND • Greyscale Controller (charity-EP)
FACTORY FLOOR • 25 25
GRANDCHAOS • Memories
CLOCK DVA • Neoteric MiniMax
AUTOGEN • Antigen
AXIOME • L’avenir est un cerf teint

Music reviews

17
02
NEON ELECTRONICS
Mondriaan
15
02
QUAL
Cyber Care
14
02
0KONTROL
3RDEYE2NDHAND
12
02
LIEBKNECHT
ICE over Erfurt
11
02
THE SPECIALS
Encore
02
02
PRINCIPE VALIENTE
Choirs of Blessed Youth

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
02
Damned, Damned, Damned - At 42, 42, 42!
18
02
Today, exactly 16 years ago, American Industrial Metal band Ministry released Animositisomina!
17
02
Mechanical Man | Remembering Bob Casale - The Devo Legend
15
02
This month it’s been 23 years since Ministry released their cover version of Bob Dylan’s ‘Lay Lady Lay’!
15
02
This February, it's 32 years since Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
One year ago Peek-a-Boo and Black Easter founder Ward De Prins passed away...

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
02
ADRIANO CANZIAN
Almost Everything That Is Produced Today Makes Me Sick
16
02
THE ARCH
Living healthy can be pretty stressful
16
02
EVI VINE
'..I am a human being taking one step forward-two steps back like everyone else'
15
02
MORTAJA
It Always Has Been My Dream And I'm Enjoying It A Lot
13
02
MONICA RICHARDS
I always felt out of step with the Modern world, ever since I was a child, I do even more so now.

PHOTOS

17
02
KAELAN MIKLA
Magasin 4
17
02
SOME EMBER
Magasin 4
17
02
TURQUOISE
Magasin 4
10
02
LORDS OF ACID
YAP Leopoldsburg
20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

20
02
MIREXXX
Nine angles
19
02
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
18
02
WARHAUS
The Good Lie
17
02
HYBRYDS
I hear you calling
16
02
WULFBAND
Gewalt!
15
02
UNDERVIEWER
Nobody But You (Redux)
14
02
CLAN OF XYMOX
Obsession