tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

16/11/2015 : FRANK RIGGIO - Psychexcess II – Futurism

FRANK RIGGIO

Psychexcess II – Futurism

MusicCD
ExperimentalIDM (Intelligent Dance Music)

[70/100]   

Hymen Records
16/11/2015, William LIÉNARD

EN

Futurism is the second part of Frank Riggio’s trilogy Psychexcess. This long-term project (Presentism, 2012, Futurism, 2015, …) is about birth, life and death, and is inspired by the concepts of time and psyche. In Futurism, the musician deals with the stages of a lifetime, ranging from youth (Echap) to old age (Deathobsess), leaning on personal and imaginary experiences and his interpretation of the dynamics of life, by which an aural adventure is created as a mirror for life experiences. The result is a three-part cycle (a, b, c) of very varied soundscapes, in which drones and synths create an atmospheric and introspective soundscape. Sometimes it sounds chaotic and a bit dangerous, other times rather dreamy and peaceful. Aqka Torr for example, is a melodic track with great sounding synths, sucking drones and a lot of noise for the atmospheric buildup.

The Epicness Stupidity... gets gently meandering voices, enabling a dreamlike atmosphere, while the dark drones in TTTT suggest a troubled and chaotic atmosphere, and in Elesdee (Diffuse) - note the phonetic spelling!- a mood of intoxication is evoked. Initially, Elesdee continues at the same pace and then sounds more emphatic and oppressive, with an almost euphoric continuation in the Arabic sounding and hallucinogenic Flying Psyche II. In Venusian Philosopher (Future Vision II) we hear tabla-like percussion. It is an esoteric and atmospheric track with introspective characteristics, which connects almost perfectly with Looking for Occultism I.

In Sickexcess, the quiet choral passage stands out in the multitude of electro sounds, while the drones in Infinie Galaxie III create a wide and impressive orchestral canvas as if the universe unfolds before your eyes. Deathobsess is the end of the journey, a gently gurgling atmospheric track as a final climax.

Tracklist:
a1. Echap
a2. Futurism
a3. Meaning of Meaning
a4. Aqka Torr
b1. The Epicness Stupidity...
b2. Tttt
b3. Elesdee (Diffuse)
b4. Elesdee
b5. Flying Psyche II
c1. Skahizgon
c2. M90 to M108
c3. Ridzo (From Dust to Dust)
c4. Venusian Philosopher (Future Vision II)
c5. Looking for Occultism I
d1. Sckexcess
d2. Lo
d3. Infinie Galaxie III
d4. Back from Presentism
d5. Deathobsess

https://mailorder.ant-zen.com/product/id/2656

William LIÉNARD
16/11/2015


NL

Futurism is het tweede deel van Frank Riggio’s Psychexcess-trilogie. Dit langetermijnproject (Presentism, 2012, Futurism, 2015, …) gaat over geboorte, leven en dood en is geïnspireerd door de concepten tijd en psyche. Futurism gaat over een mensenleven, van de jeugd (Echap) tot de oude dag (Deathobsess), waarvoor de muzikant gebruik maakt van persoonlijke en ingebeelde ervaringen en zijn interpretatie van de dynamiek van het leven, waardoor een auditief avontuur ontstaat als een spiegel voor levenservaringen. Het resultaat is een driedelige cyclus (a,b,c) van zeer gevarieerde soundscapes waarin drones en synths op zeer diverse manier aan bod komen en een atmosferische en introspectieve sfeer creëren. Soms klinkt het chaotisch en een beetje gevaarlijk, andere keren eerder dromerig en vredig. We lichten er Aqka Torr uit, een melodische track met goed klinkende synths, zuigende drones en flink wat noise voor de atmosferische opbouw.

The Epicness Stupidity… krijgt zachtjes meanderend stemgeluid waardoor een dromerige sfeer gecreëerd wordt, terwijl de donkere drones in Tttt eerder een onrustige en chaotische sfeer suggereren en in Elesdee (Diffuse) – let op de fonetische schrijfwijze! – veel meer de stemming van een roes wordt oproepen. Elesdee gaat aanvankelijk op hetzelfde tempo door en klinkt nadien nadrukkelijker en beklemmender en krijgt een bijna euforisch vervolg in het Arabisch aandoende en geestverruimende Flying Psyche II. In Venusian Philosopher (Future Vision II) horen we tabla-achtige percussie en het is vooral een esoterische en atmosferische track met introspectieve karakteristieken, waarbij Looking for Occultism I perfect aansluit.

In Sickexcess valt de rustige koorpassage op tussen de veelheid van elektrogeluiden, terwijl de drones in Infinie Galaxie III een breed en indrukwekkend orkestraal canvas creëren alsof de kosmos zich voor je ogen ontvouwt. Deathobsess ten slotte is het einde van de reis, een zacht ruisende atmosferische track als de finale climax.

William LIÉNARD
16/11/2015


 

Next reviews
KOMAH • Flashing Nightmare
KIRLIAN CAMERA • The Best Of- Radio Music A
SIMI NAH • Bootleg
A VIOLET PINE • Turtles
KINEX KINEX • Polytheistic Christmas
IMRE KISS • Midnight Wave
THE KINKS • Sunny Afternoon-The Best Of
CHEMICAL SWEET KID • The Speed Of Time
OBSZÖN GESCHOPF • The Vault Of Nightmares
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Seminar1sts, The Agnost1k Era

 

Other reviews from FRANK RIGGIO
FRANK RIGGIO • Psychexcess I - Presentism

 

Same combination of genres: EXPERIMENTAL + IDM (INTELLIGENT DANCE MUSIC)
SYNAPSCAPE • Rhythm Age
FLINT GLASS & COLLAPSAR • Deus Irea
OYAARSS • Smaida Greizi Nākamība
ARCHITECT • Mine
ATOM TM • HD
LINGOUF • Terre De Pierres
FRANK RIGGIO • Psychexcess I - Presentism
SOMATIC RESPONSES • Concrete Glider
MARKUS SCHULZ PRESENTS DAKOTA • Thoughts Become Things II
SLEW52 • Catalog

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
JESU • When I Was Small
ALSO • Live in Celovec
LUKE LUND • Hopium
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma

 

Same genre: IDM (INTELLIGENT DANCE MUSIC)
LIEBKNECHT • ICE over Erfurt
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
DISPLACER • Curse of The Black Vinyl
PSY'AVIAH • Seven Sorrows, Seven Stars
DMX KREW • You Exist
NOVASTORM • Bad Taste
CRONOS TITAN • Valium
ARCHITECT/SONIC AREA/HOLOGRAM_ • We Are the Alchemists
TYSKE LUDDER • Evolution
HEADDREAMER • Human Frequencies

Music reviews

14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?
22
06
DIORAMA
ZSA
21
06
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
20
06
POESIE NOIRE
Déjà Vu
19
06
SLITHERUM
Godbox Suicide