tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

18/09/2013 : ARCHITECT - Mine

ARCHITECT

Mine

MusicCD
ElectroExperimentalIDM (Intelligent Dance Music)

[90/100]   

Hymen Records
18/09/2013, Chris KONINGS

Architect. The name itself triggers intrigue. Shapers of the world around us, some architects can truly fascinate and enchant people with their sense of form, color and proportion. Daniel Myer does the same, shaping sounds into a marvelous universe. I must admit I missed out and this is my baptism of fire. I do know Freeze Frame Reality and Solutions by Haujobb. Love both albums but never really gotten into any of his later work...

So from the first notes I was really blown away by the rich aural sci-fi constructions he makes. I'm equally baffled by the crispness and distinctiveness of every sound, everything just sounds perfect. You know, just as perfect as when you would dream about a "perfect" soundtrack, only to wake up and fail to remember all the details yet knowing your mind managed to touch perfection.

But here you can listen to perfection over and over again! Maybe it's because I was missing out this album is such a shock for me. So I guess most reader that know his music already are getting pretty envious now hehe... It's like watching Blade Runner for the first time, God how I would love to experience that again...

There's a whole bunch of styles and moods in this album, "Immaterial" and "The Mountain Top" are ballads with compelling female lyrics. "The Sun" also has female vocals but is much more up-tempo. "Closer" and "Hummingbird" have male vocals and are a link between idm and synthpop but in a very special way, with more depth than most synthpop artists. Other songs are instrumental, experimental idm or even club oriented, very layered and crystal clear aural trips like I have only ever heard from Access To Arasaka, another favorite of mine. "Neverending" is the most impressive song here and in the YouTube clip you don't even get the masterfully crafted lyrics, another highlight on this album. The way he deconstructs lyrics in multiple ways is out of this world, like the architecture of Zaha Hadid... I really detest albums where lyrics are distorted in the same way over and over again, turn those knobs dammit! So that's a real breath of fresh air, as is the entire album!

But anyway, if Zaha Hadid is the best architect of the last 20 years, I guess Daniel Myer could be the same when it comes to audio creation... Yup, Maschinenfest is going to be a costly affair when I'm going to make amends to this "Architect". Verrrryyy recommended indeed!

Chris KONINGS
18/09/2013


 

Next reviews
MIKA GOEDRIJK • Naked
JOSEPH RUBEN • PENTHOUSE NORTH
LUMINANCE • The Light Is Ours (EP)
NEON ELECTRONICS • 99 To 12
THE HUMAN LEAGUE • Hemiksem, Casa Blanca Festival (08/08/2013)
STYLE SINDROME • A MYSTERIOUS DESIGN
SIGNAL AOUT 42 • Inspiration
FLESH & FELL
GEMINI SYNDROME • LUX
LUDOVICO TECHNIQUE • We Came to Wreck Everything

 

Other reviews from ARCHITECT
ARCHITECT • Neon

 

Same combination of genres: ELECTRO + EXPERIMENTAL + IDM (INTELLIGENT DANCE MUSIC)
SYNAPSCAPE • Rhythm Age

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
MASSIVE ATTACK • Massive Attack vs Mad Professor Part II | Mezzanine Remix Tapes
ELM • Death Of The North
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • Harbringer
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit
CHEMICAL BROTHERS • No Geography
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES • Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
MASSIVE EGO • Church For The Malfunctioned
UMMAGMA • Caravan -Backed With Ty i Ya

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
DAVID BOWIE • Low, Heroes, Lodger
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone

 

Same genre: IDM (INTELLIGENT DANCE MUSIC)
LIEBKNECHT • ICE over Erfurt
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
DISPLACER • Curse of The Black Vinyl
PSY'AVIAH • Seven Sorrows, Seven Stars
DMX KREW • You Exist
NOVASTORM • Bad Taste
CRONOS TITAN • Valium
ARCHITECT/SONIC AREA/HOLOGRAM_ • We Are the Alchemists
TYSKE LUDDER • Evolution
FRANK RIGGIO • Psychexcess II – Futurism

Music reviews

17
11
DAGEIST
Sexy
16
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
Let's Play (Two girls and a goat)
12
11
TWIN TRIBES
Ceremony
31
10
BLAC KOLOR
Nephi
24
10
ROGER C.REALE & RUE MORGUE
The Collection
23
10
KIM GORDON
No Home Record

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
11
Disorientations! New band, new single, new video!
14
11
Today, 30 years The Mind Is A Terrible Thing To Taste by Ministry!
13
11
Today, 41 years ago, Siouxsie & The Banshees released their debut album Scream!
13
11
Today, 38 years ago, New Order released its debut album Movement!
12
11
Exclusive Belgian NITZER EBB clubshow at De Casino - St-Niklaas - B
11
11
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX released GRENADE 2019 REMASTER

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA(SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'
25
10
PAUL Q.KOLDERIE
'There has to be a song that I feel needs to be recorded…'
14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'

PHOTOS

17
11
FAUN
Christuskirche Bochum
14
11
DEINE LAKAIEN HELIUM VOLA VELJANOV
Christuskirche Bochum
14
11
MORGAN KING
B52 music club
13
11
STORY OFF
B52 music club
13
11
N TALES
B52 music club
11
11
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
AMBASSADOR 21
Magasin 4 Bruxelles

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
11
OAKTREE
La Fin
17
11
ALISON MOYET
Other
16
11
ROSARUBEA
A Blue Bird in a Scarlet Spring
15
11
DER KLINKE
My Frozen Heart
14
11
KELUAR
Volition
13
11
HEILUNG
Krigsgaldr
12
11
STOCKHAUSSEN
Mi siniestro