tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

14/09/2013 : NEON ELECTRONICS - 99 To 12

NEON ELECTRONICS

99 To 12

MusicCD
ElectroTechno

[80/100]   

Dancedelic D
14/09/2013, Chris KONINGS

We all know about The Neon Judgement, one of Belgium's EBM legends. But Dirk Da Davo also has his own project, where he is still making new music, something we can't really say about The Neon Judgement (apart from Smack). Two years ago I was happy to see the release of "Keylogger", a pretty good album etching further on his trademark electro/dance with still a few hints of EBM.

To ensure people won't forget him, he now releases a compilation of the past 14 years, covering all his albums and picking a selection of original songs and remixes. Where "Keylogger" was a bit unbalanced, with this compilation I can really get into its groove from beginning to end. Sure, it's mostly dance music so if you would add a big busted girl the result would be Vive La Fête, especially when you listen to the sexy vocals of "Maximum Joy" and "Buffalo Bill". I admit most songs are unknown to me but when I first heard "Buffalo Bill" I knew I missed out on something special! Greaaat floorkiller that one!

From Keylogger you get "Under The Worst Condition", Luc Van Acker's "The Fear In My Heart" and also Millimetric's great remix of "Over And Over". Another great remix is David Caretta's version of "Better Way", quite long with +7 minutes but a trip in which you can really lose yourself, with those menacing voices... "Do you know a better way?". The Hacker kept it a lot shorter and a lot more glitchy. Not convinced 'bout that one...

Your typical "feel good hit of the summer" feeling is reached with Helmut Kraft's NY rooftop mix of "Economix", adding a few catchy and poppy melodies and heavy beats, ideal for clubbing. The last song sounds bit dated, CJ Bolland's jungle style reminds me too much of early 90's Prodigy. Great legends, but we've been there ages ago...

A good album to pick up if you want to know if those old crocodiles are still alive, and it's very much worth it! Great stuff and a shame we don't see him live more often. I mean, who wants to hear 30 year old songs when you can go crazy on recent beats?

Chris KONINGS
14/09/2013


 

Next reviews
THE HUMAN LEAGUE • Hemiksem, Casa Blanca Festival (08/08/2013)
STYLE SINDROME • A MYSTERIOUS DESIGN
SIGNAL AOUT 42 • Inspiration
FLESH & FELL
GEMINI SYNDROME • LUX
LUDOVICO TECHNIQUE • We Came to Wreck Everything
DJ LORDBONE • The DJ-files
XMH • XMH live at Infest, Bradford University, UK, 25/08/2013
ORDO EQUITUM SOLIS • Killing Time Killing Love
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA

 

Other reviews from NEON ELECTRONICS
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
NEON ELECTRONICS • Mondriaan
NEON ELECTRONICS • Ne
NEON ELECTRONICS • Keylogger

 

Same combination of genres: ELECTRO + TECHNO
IMRE KISS • Midnight Wave
SCUBA • Claustrophobia
RADICAL G • Mankind
BORIS BLANK • Electrified
NID & SANCY • The Cut Up Jeans Technique
ACCESSORY • Resurrection
RADICAL G & THE HORRORIST • Here Comes The Storm (EP)
RADICAL G • Sinner EP
MOTOR • Hypermachine

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • Harbringer
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit
CHEMICAL BROTHERS • No Geography
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES • Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
MASSIVE EGO • Church For The Malfunctioned
UMMAGMA • Caravan -Backed With Ty i Ya
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix

 

Same genre: TECHNO
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
PLEASURE TIME • Years About Us
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
XOSAR • Xymeria
PRESENCE I OF I MIND • Pure
MIRLAND • Greyscale Controller (charity-EP)
FACTORY FLOOR • 25 25
GRANDCHAOS • Memories
CLOCK DVA • Neoteric MiniMax

Music reviews

23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer
22
08
NAIROD YARG
Nairod Yarg
17
08
STATIQBLOOM
Asphyxia
16
08
STAATSEINDE
Dreiheit
15
08
L'AVENIR
Requiem And Live
14
08
PETER GUNDRY
V Ö L U R

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!
14
08
Electro-Industrial artist SPANKTHENUN reveals their MIND CONTROL EP & Leaether Strip Remix Visualizer
13
08
Zeroes, the new single of M73
12
08
Post-Punk Act VAZUM Releases Video For Their Cover of BAUHAUS' 'She's In Parties'
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 32 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
JO QUAIL LAUNCHES NEW RECORD LABEL ADDERSTONE RECORDS

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!
12
08
SINTHETIK MESSIAH
An Interview With Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah
10
08
THE BRUTE:
An Interview With Synthpop Act THE BRUTE:
09
08
VAZUM
An Interview With Dark Rock Act VAZUM

PHOTOS

14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
GRAND BLANC
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
WE ARE WAVES
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
10
08
MOTOR!K
De Smoutpot Zwijndrecht
09
08
ALLEZ ALLEZ
Fonne Feesten Lokeren
09
08
RED ZEBRA
Fonne Feesten Lokeren

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

24
08
SLEEPING PULSE
War
23
08
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
22
08
NEW ORDER
Blue Monday
21
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Never Arriving
20
08
FORCED TO MODE
NEVER LET ME DOWN AGAIN
19
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Schyzophrenic Freddy
18
08
DAVE BALL
In Strict Tempo