tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

14/09/2013 : NEON ELECTRONICS - 99 To 12

NEON ELECTRONICS

99 To 12

MusicCD
ElectroTechno

[80/100]   

Dancedelic D
14/09/2013, Chris KONINGS

We all know about The Neon Judgement, one of Belgium's EBM legends. But Dirk Da Davo also has his own project, where he is still making new music, something we can't really say about The Neon Judgement (apart from Smack). Two years ago I was happy to see the release of "Keylogger", a pretty good album etching further on his trademark electro/dance with still a few hints of EBM.

To ensure people won't forget him, he now releases a compilation of the past 14 years, covering all his albums and picking a selection of original songs and remixes. Where "Keylogger" was a bit unbalanced, with this compilation I can really get into its groove from beginning to end. Sure, it's mostly dance music so if you would add a big busted girl the result would be Vive La Fête, especially when you listen to the sexy vocals of "Maximum Joy" and "Buffalo Bill". I admit most songs are unknown to me but when I first heard "Buffalo Bill" I knew I missed out on something special! Greaaat floorkiller that one!

From Keylogger you get "Under The Worst Condition", Luc Van Acker's "The Fear In My Heart" and also Millimetric's great remix of "Over And Over". Another great remix is David Caretta's version of "Better Way", quite long with +7 minutes but a trip in which you can really lose yourself, with those menacing voices... "Do you know a better way?". The Hacker kept it a lot shorter and a lot more glitchy. Not convinced 'bout that one...

Your typical "feel good hit of the summer" feeling is reached with Helmut Kraft's NY rooftop mix of "Economix", adding a few catchy and poppy melodies and heavy beats, ideal for clubbing. The last song sounds bit dated, CJ Bolland's jungle style reminds me too much of early 90's Prodigy. Great legends, but we've been there ages ago...

A good album to pick up if you want to know if those old crocodiles are still alive, and it's very much worth it! Great stuff and a shame we don't see him live more often. I mean, who wants to hear 30 year old songs when you can go crazy on recent beats?

Chris KONINGS
14/09/2013


 

Next reviews
THE HUMAN LEAGUE • Hemiksem, Casa Blanca Festival (08/08/2013)
STYLE SINDROME • A MYSTERIOUS DESIGN
SIGNAL AOUT 42 • Inspiration
FLESH & FELL
GEMINI SYNDROME • LUX
LUDOVICO TECHNIQUE • We Came to Wreck Everything
DJ LORDBONE • The DJ-files
XMH • XMH live at Infest, Bradford University, UK, 25/08/2013
ORDO EQUITUM SOLIS • Killing Time Killing Love
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA

 

Other reviews from NEON ELECTRONICS
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
NEON ELECTRONICS • Mondriaan
NEON ELECTRONICS • Ne
NEON ELECTRONICS • Keylogger

 

Same combination of genres: ELECTRO + TECHNO
IMRE KISS • Midnight Wave
SCUBA • Claustrophobia
RADICAL G • Mankind
BORIS BLANK • Electrified
NID & SANCY • The Cut Up Jeans Technique
ACCESSORY • Resurrection
RADICAL G & THE HORRORIST • Here Comes The Storm (EP)
RADICAL G • Sinner EP
MOTOR • Hypermachine

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
M73 • Tainted
PLASTIKSTROM • Beton Gegen Angst
MASSIVE ATTACK • Massive Attack vs Mad Professor Part II | Mezzanine Remix Tapes
ELM • Death Of The North
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • Harbringer
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit
CHEMICAL BROTHERS • No Geography
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES • Theresa, Vol.3 Ep

 

Same genre: TECHNO
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
PLEASURE TIME • Years About Us
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
XOSAR • Xymeria
PRESENCE I OF I MIND • Pure
MIRLAND • Greyscale Controller (charity-EP)
FACTORY FLOOR • 25 25
GRANDCHAOS • Memories
CLOCK DVA • Neoteric MiniMax

Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
01
Canadian DJ/Multi-Genre Artist JHNN Reveals New Single And Video 'My Strange Addiction'
24
01
Today, exactly 29 ago years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 2 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
23
01
Dirk Da Davo (former The Neon Judgement) and Jean-Marie Aerts (former TC MATIC) announce first joint venture full album!
22
01
On this day, 10 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
“A Rose Shattered”, the debut EP by Brussels-based Syrenomelia!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

24
01
TREY GUNN (KING CRIMSON,TU ,SECURITY PROJECT,...)
'I’m trying to set up an experiential thing...'
20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.

PHOTOS

19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
ERYX LONDON
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
KEZDOWN
DARK WINTER FESTIVAL LIEGE
26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

24
01
DE DELVERS
Poolnacht
23
01
GOLDFRAPP
Systemagic
22
01
JOSIE PACE & SAMMI DOLL
Perfect Replacement (Official Music Video)
21
01
JAH WOBBLE
How Much Are They?
20
01
THROBBING GRISTLE
Six Six Sixties (Fan made video)
19
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Blackout
18
01
SDH (SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS)
No Miracles (Official Video)