tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

14/09/2013 : NEON ELECTRONICS - 99 To 12

NEON ELECTRONICS

99 To 12

MusicCD
ElectroTechno

[80/100]   

Dancedelic D
14/09/2013, Chris KONINGS

We all know about The Neon Judgement, one of Belgium's EBM legends. But Dirk Da Davo also has his own project, where he is still making new music, something we can't really say about The Neon Judgement (apart from Smack). Two years ago I was happy to see the release of "Keylogger", a pretty good album etching further on his trademark electro/dance with still a few hints of EBM.

To ensure people won't forget him, he now releases a compilation of the past 14 years, covering all his albums and picking a selection of original songs and remixes. Where "Keylogger" was a bit unbalanced, with this compilation I can really get into its groove from beginning to end. Sure, it's mostly dance music so if you would add a big busted girl the result would be Vive La Fête, especially when you listen to the sexy vocals of "Maximum Joy" and "Buffalo Bill". I admit most songs are unknown to me but when I first heard "Buffalo Bill" I knew I missed out on something special! Greaaat floorkiller that one!

From Keylogger you get "Under The Worst Condition", Luc Van Acker's "The Fear In My Heart" and also Millimetric's great remix of "Over And Over". Another great remix is David Caretta's version of "Better Way", quite long with +7 minutes but a trip in which you can really lose yourself, with those menacing voices... "Do you know a better way?". The Hacker kept it a lot shorter and a lot more glitchy. Not convinced 'bout that one...

Your typical "feel good hit of the summer" feeling is reached with Helmut Kraft's NY rooftop mix of "Economix", adding a few catchy and poppy melodies and heavy beats, ideal for clubbing. The last song sounds bit dated, CJ Bolland's jungle style reminds me too much of early 90's Prodigy. Great legends, but we've been there ages ago...

A good album to pick up if you want to know if those old crocodiles are still alive, and it's very much worth it! Great stuff and a shame we don't see him live more often. I mean, who wants to hear 30 year old songs when you can go crazy on recent beats?

Chris KONINGS
14/09/2013


 

Next reviews
THE HUMAN LEAGUE • Hemiksem, Casa Blanca Festival (08/08/2013)
STYLE SINDROME • A MYSTERIOUS DESIGN
SIGNAL AOUT 42 • Inspiration
FLESH & FELL
GEMINI SYNDROME • LUX
LUDOVICO TECHNIQUE • We Came to Wreck Everything
DJ LORDBONE • The DJ-files
XMH • XMH live at Infest, Bradford University, UK, 25/08/2013
ORDO EQUITUM SOLIS • Killing Time Killing Love
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA

 

Other reviews from NEON ELECTRONICS
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
NEON ELECTRONICS • Mondriaan
NEON ELECTRONICS • Ne
NEON ELECTRONICS • Keylogger

 

Same combination of genres: ELECTRO + TECHNO
IMRE KISS • Midnight Wave
SCUBA • Claustrophobia
RADICAL G • Mankind
BORIS BLANK • Electrified
NID & SANCY • The Cut Up Jeans Technique
ACCESSORY • Resurrection
RADICAL G & THE HORRORIST • Here Comes The Storm (EP)
RADICAL G • Sinner EP
MOTOR • Hypermachine

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
MASSIVE ATTACK • Massive Attack vs Mad Professor Part II | Mezzanine Remix Tapes
ELM • Death Of The North
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • Harbringer
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit
CHEMICAL BROTHERS • No Geography
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES • Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
MASSIVE EGO • Church For The Malfunctioned
UMMAGMA • Caravan -Backed With Ty i Ya

 

Same genre: TECHNO
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
PLEASURE TIME • Years About Us
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
XOSAR • Xymeria
PRESENCE I OF I MIND • Pure
MIRLAND • Greyscale Controller (charity-EP)
FACTORY FLOOR • 25 25
GRANDCHAOS • Memories
CLOCK DVA • Neoteric MiniMax

Music reviews

19
10
THE BLACK WATCH
Magic Johnson
19
10
FUTURE PILOT AKA
Orkestra Digitalis
18
10
NEW MODEL ARMY
From Here
18
10
RIDE
This Is Not a Safe Place
17
10
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA
Mesmeranto
17
10
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK
Far From The Apple Tree

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
10
29 years ago Nine Inch Nails released 'Sin'
09
10
The Arch releases new album 'XII'
08
10
Eclectic Artist Addie Brik Releases New Single
07
10
YOVA - Debut Single 'Moondog' (featuring members of PJ Harvey / Grumbling Fur / Cameron Craig)
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'
12
10
NEON INSECT
A Conversation With Neon Insect
11
10
ENZO KREFT
Many tracks from 'Control' are about the relationship between humans and technology and the dangerous consequences of this in the near future.
10
10
AMY STUDT
'It’ll be alright in the end and if it isn’t alright, it isn’t yet the end.'
09
10
STALINGRAD VALKYRIE
The old world will be collapsing pretty soon!

PHOTOS

06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
04
10
SLAVE SEPERATION VS KNK
Fetish Café Antwerpen
04
10
LEAETHER STRIP
Fetish Café Antwerpen
22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

22
10
THE VELVET UNDERGROUND & NICO
21
10
STORY OFF
Life On Other Planets
20
10
ORSON HENTSCHEL
Noise of the Light
19
10
ORBITAL
One Perfect Sunrise
18
10
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
17
10
AZAR SWAN
Over
16
10
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)