tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

14/09/2013 : NEON ELECTRONICS - 99 To 12

NEON ELECTRONICS

99 To 12

MusicCD
ElectroTechno

[80/100]   

Dancedelic D
14/09/2013, Chris KONINGS

We all know about The Neon Judgement, one of Belgium's EBM legends. But Dirk Da Davo also has his own project, where he is still making new music, something we can't really say about The Neon Judgement (apart from Smack). Two years ago I was happy to see the release of "Keylogger", a pretty good album etching further on his trademark electro/dance with still a few hints of EBM.

To ensure people won't forget him, he now releases a compilation of the past 14 years, covering all his albums and picking a selection of original songs and remixes. Where "Keylogger" was a bit unbalanced, with this compilation I can really get into its groove from beginning to end. Sure, it's mostly dance music so if you would add a big busted girl the result would be Vive La Fête, especially when you listen to the sexy vocals of "Maximum Joy" and "Buffalo Bill". I admit most songs are unknown to me but when I first heard "Buffalo Bill" I knew I missed out on something special! Greaaat floorkiller that one!

From Keylogger you get "Under The Worst Condition", Luc Van Acker's "The Fear In My Heart" and also Millimetric's great remix of "Over And Over". Another great remix is David Caretta's version of "Better Way", quite long with +7 minutes but a trip in which you can really lose yourself, with those menacing voices... "Do you know a better way?". The Hacker kept it a lot shorter and a lot more glitchy. Not convinced 'bout that one...

Your typical "feel good hit of the summer" feeling is reached with Helmut Kraft's NY rooftop mix of "Economix", adding a few catchy and poppy melodies and heavy beats, ideal for clubbing. The last song sounds bit dated, CJ Bolland's jungle style reminds me too much of early 90's Prodigy. Great legends, but we've been there ages ago...

A good album to pick up if you want to know if those old crocodiles are still alive, and it's very much worth it! Great stuff and a shame we don't see him live more often. I mean, who wants to hear 30 year old songs when you can go crazy on recent beats?

Chris KONINGS
14/09/2013


 

Next reviews
THE HUMAN LEAGUE • Hemiksem, Casa Blanca Festival (08/08/2013)
STYLE SINDROME • A MYSTERIOUS DESIGN
SIGNAL AOUT 42 • Inspiration
FLESH & FELL
GEMINI SYNDROME • LUX
LUDOVICO TECHNIQUE • We Came to Wreck Everything
DJ LORDBONE • The DJ-files
XMH • XMH live at Infest, Bradford University, UK, 25/08/2013
ORDO EQUITUM SOLIS • Killing Time Killing Love
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA

 

Other reviews from NEON ELECTRONICS
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
NEON ELECTRONICS • Mondriaan
NEON ELECTRONICS • Ne
NEON ELECTRONICS • Keylogger

 

Same combination of genres: ELECTRO + TECHNO
IMRE KISS • Midnight Wave
SCUBA • Claustrophobia
RADICAL G • Mankind
BORIS BLANK • Electrified
NID & SANCY • The Cut Up Jeans Technique
ACCESSORY • Resurrection
RADICAL G & THE HORRORIST • Here Comes The Storm (EP)
RADICAL G • Sinner EP
MOTOR • Hypermachine

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES • Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
MASSIVE EGO • Church For The Malfunctioned
UMMAGMA • Caravan -Backed With Ty i Ya
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
DIVE • Live Maschinenfest 2017
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

 

Same genre: TECHNO
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
PLEASURE TIME • Years About Us
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
XOSAR • Xymeria
PRESENCE I OF I MIND • Pure
MIRLAND • Greyscale Controller (charity-EP)
FACTORY FLOOR • 25 25
GRANDCHAOS • Memories
CLOCK DVA • Neoteric MiniMax

Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
06
EVI VINE
Porcelain
17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself
13
06
FACTICE FACTORY
L'Aurore
12
06
SOWULU
Ginnungagap