tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

14/09/2013 : THE HUMAN LEAGUE - Hemiksem, Casa Blanca Festival (08/08/2013)

THE HUMAN LEAGUE

Hemiksem, Casa Blanca Festival (08/08/2013)

Concert


[80/100]   
14/09/2013, Peter HESELMANS

The Human League have been around since 1977, and they certainly had some influence on the synth-pop bands of the 80’s, especially the first 3 albums they made, reproduction (79), travelogue (80) and dare! (81) were really great.

I m Missed their concert in Brussels last November, so I was very glad to see them appear on the Casa Blanca festival line-up. To my surprise, this was a free festival, nice, but also again some disadvantages, such as lots of uninterested people talking and partying during the gig.

They opened directly with the electronic sound that made them so popular in the 80s, with Mirror Man. The voice of Phil Oakey is still very good and powerful, but after a few songs you can easily say that The Human League IS Phil Oakey. The girls, Susan Ann Sulley and Joanne Catherall can’t handle the backing vocals any more. Have a listen to the following video I made, and listen to the chorus (eg. min 1.55’’)

And with all respect for the past and age, but can someone please tell Joanne, that she can’t wear the same outfits as 25 years ago.

Later on in the set it became dark and we really got some nice visuals. And I especially enjoyed the moments and songs Phil was alone on stage and gave us some great versions of Seconds, and one of my favorite Human League tracks ever, Empire State Human.

I had a nice time at this ‘Phil Oakey’ concert, but there was too much nostalgia involved to be really great.
They ended with a great version of Being Boiled!

Playlist:

Mirror man
Heart like a wheel
Sound of the crowd
Louise
Night people
Love action
Empire state human
Seconds
The Lebanon
Human
Open your heart
Tell me when
Fascination
Don’t you want me

Encores:
Being boiled
Together in electric dreams

(Peter Heselmans)

Peter HESELMANS
14/09/2013


Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'
28
04
KILL SHELTER
There Is An Inherent Darkness And Sadness In The Music I Create
27
04
VANGUARD
We Had The Concept Of Doing Something That Ties Man And Machine Together

PHOTOS

21
05
IN2THESOUND
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
21
05
THEN COMES SILENCE
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
20
05
THE ARCH
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
16
05
ABDOMEN
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
BOJACKS
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
THE OTHER
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
CLAN OF XYMOX
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis
19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl
18
05
GROUND NERO
Dark Descent
17
05
JAN SWERTS
Meer Is Er Niet
16
05
IAN MCCULLOCH
Lover Lover Lover
15
05
DELEYAMAN
Secret Treasures