tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

14/09/2013 : THE HUMAN LEAGUE - Hemiksem, Casa Blanca Festival (08/08/2013)

THE HUMAN LEAGUE

Hemiksem, Casa Blanca Festival (08/08/2013)

Concert


[80/100]   
14/09/2013, Peter HESELMANS

The Human League have been around since 1977, and they certainly had some influence on the synth-pop bands of the 80’s, especially the first 3 albums they made, reproduction (79), travelogue (80) and dare! (81) were really great.

I m Missed their concert in Brussels last November, so I was very glad to see them appear on the Casa Blanca festival line-up. To my surprise, this was a free festival, nice, but also again some disadvantages, such as lots of uninterested people talking and partying during the gig.

They opened directly with the electronic sound that made them so popular in the 80s, with Mirror Man. The voice of Phil Oakey is still very good and powerful, but after a few songs you can easily say that The Human League IS Phil Oakey. The girls, Susan Ann Sulley and Joanne Catherall can’t handle the backing vocals any more. Have a listen to the following video I made, and listen to the chorus (eg. min 1.55’’)

And with all respect for the past and age, but can someone please tell Joanne, that she can’t wear the same outfits as 25 years ago.

Later on in the set it became dark and we really got some nice visuals. And I especially enjoyed the moments and songs Phil was alone on stage and gave us some great versions of Seconds, and one of my favorite Human League tracks ever, Empire State Human.

I had a nice time at this ‘Phil Oakey’ concert, but there was too much nostalgia involved to be really great.
They ended with a great version of Being Boiled!

Playlist:

Mirror man
Heart like a wheel
Sound of the crowd
Louise
Night people
Love action
Empire state human
Seconds
The Lebanon
Human
Open your heart
Tell me when
Fascination
Don’t you want me

Encores:
Being boiled
Together in electric dreams

(Peter Heselmans)

Peter HESELMANS
14/09/2013


Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 34 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 29 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

27
09
SCHILLER
Strandkorb Openair Bochum Kemnader See
25
09
LEBANON HANOVER
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
SELOFAN
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
ISOLATED YOUTH
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
PORNO KARAOKE
Porta Nigra
25
09
NACHTMAHR
Porta Nigra
25
09
THE PSYCHIC FORCE
Porta Nigra

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
09
CRYSTAL SODA CREAM
Command Control
27
09
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
Mag 7
26
09
DULAC
Nocturne (Official Music Video)
25
09
3TEETH
Atrophy
24
09
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Hide
23
09
SIEBEN
Sell Your Future
22
09
THE KLINIK
Go Back