tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

14/09/2013 : THE HUMAN LEAGUE - Hemiksem, Casa Blanca Festival (08/08/2013)

THE HUMAN LEAGUE

Hemiksem, Casa Blanca Festival (08/08/2013)

Concert


[80/100]   
14/09/2013, Peter HESELMANS

The Human League have been around since 1977, and they certainly had some influence on the synth-pop bands of the 80’s, especially the first 3 albums they made, reproduction (79), travelogue (80) and dare! (81) were really great.

I m Missed their concert in Brussels last November, so I was very glad to see them appear on the Casa Blanca festival line-up. To my surprise, this was a free festival, nice, but also again some disadvantages, such as lots of uninterested people talking and partying during the gig.

They opened directly with the electronic sound that made them so popular in the 80s, with Mirror Man. The voice of Phil Oakey is still very good and powerful, but after a few songs you can easily say that The Human League IS Phil Oakey. The girls, Susan Ann Sulley and Joanne Catherall can’t handle the backing vocals any more. Have a listen to the following video I made, and listen to the chorus (eg. min 1.55’’)

And with all respect for the past and age, but can someone please tell Joanne, that she can’t wear the same outfits as 25 years ago.

Later on in the set it became dark and we really got some nice visuals. And I especially enjoyed the moments and songs Phil was alone on stage and gave us some great versions of Seconds, and one of my favorite Human League tracks ever, Empire State Human.

I had a nice time at this ‘Phil Oakey’ concert, but there was too much nostalgia involved to be really great.
They ended with a great version of Being Boiled!

Playlist:

Mirror man
Heart like a wheel
Sound of the crowd
Louise
Night people
Love action
Empire state human
Seconds
The Lebanon
Human
Open your heart
Tell me when
Fascination
Don’t you want me

Encores:
Being boiled
Together in electric dreams

(Peter Heselmans)

Peter HESELMANS
14/09/2013


Music reviews

18
03
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O
Split Single
14
03
DEZ MONA
Book Of Many
13
03
DAVID J
Thoughts And Prayers
11
03
FRED ABONG
Pulsing Ep
08
03
DRAGON WELDING
Dragon Welding
05
03
I AM A ROCKETSHIP
Mind Grafitti

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
03
Today, 39 years ago, Joy Division released 'Licht und Blindheit'.
17
03
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | The Radiators From Space
17
03
A Darker Shade Of Green | The Virgin Prunes On Saint Patrick’s Day
16
03
Today, 35 years ago, Siousxie And The Banshees released the single Swimming Horses!
15
03
New album and video by UK Goth rockers Children On Stun! Win - Win - Win
15
03
'Locating Silver Lake': Digital movie release on March 22 - DVD coming soon!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
03
STEVE IGNORANT (CRASS)
'I think what drives me is the endless injustice that goes through life.'
11
03
SYNAPSCAPE
A Fascinating Challenge About Bringing New Life Into Old Tracks
10
03
BIG JOHN DUNCAN
'I don't like to copy things, I like to try and be original and always happy!'
09
03
MISSING IN STARS
'This music is for everyone, even my closest metal friends support it...'
08
03
DEAN GARCIA - SPC ECO + CURVE
“..I love recording, it's one of the only things that is completely absorbing for me..”

PHOTOS

10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
DEAD HIGH WIRE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
HATCHLING
De Klinker Aarschot
06
03
LAIBACH
Botanique Brussel
27
02
IAMX
La Madeleine Brussel
24
02
WULFBAND
De Casino St Niklaas

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
03
HAUSCHKA
Craco
17
03
DIVE
Sidewalk Sinner - Snakedressed
16
03
CHRONIC TWILIGHT
Mark of Cain (official lyric video)
15
03
THE YOUNG GODS
Figure sans nom
14
03
PSY'AVIA
Dream Fever
13
03
KRANKLAND
Oh My Love
12
03
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Eye on you (Fan made video)