tempobet yeni adresi
like this digital review

07/06/2012 : ACCESS TO ARASAKA - Orbitus

ACCESS TO ARASAKA

Orbitus

MusicDigital
AmbientIDM (Intelligent Dance Music)

[95/100]   

Tympanik Audio
07/06/2012, Chris KONINGS

After doubting what to buy on the relatively new label Tympanik Audio, I stumbled upon this free download of Access To Arasaka. Rob Lioy took his artist name from the “Cyberpunk 2020″ off-shoot card game “Netrunner” and he is another idm/ambient adept like many of his colleagues on Tympanik Audio or for that matter Hymen Records. A renowned name, Hymen Records, but Tympanik has proved themselves as one of the brightest newborn stars in the contempory electronic music scene. No surprise there, when you know label founder Paul Nielsen was able to find talents like Dirk Geiger, Totakeke, Tapage, Autoclav1.1 and especially Rob's AtA project.

This album is based on the Takeshi Kovacs novels by Richard K. Morgan (as is AtA newest album Geosynchron) and it's cyberpunk detective fiction set in a dystopian world, just like 1984 or Brave New World... So you can expect hi-tech cinematographic sounds drifting you into orbit. Or down right bleak and nasty film noir atmospheres that make you feel like bladerunner Rick Deckard once you put on those headphones and close your eyes.

Every song clearly has a different emotional state, like the epic yet sensitive "Helios", the nervous "Kyokko", the threatening "Cynosure" or the mythical "Photons". Rob Lioy makes his music sound very richly layered and vibrant but at the same time allows for some imperfections that give it an even more natural character. Ok, there's some Autechre/Aphex Twin heritage that can't be denied but it's also very personal and emotional music. And I keep on discovering details that seem like they weren't there the previous listen. I really can't seem to stop listening, this alien yet familiar world has become a second home for me, I just love this album!

Unlike most other idm artists that always stay on much threaded trails, I doubt anyone else could have made this album, it sounds truly unique! And since it's for free, there really is no excuse possible so get out of here, download it and get out those good headphones, you will need them! Probably the best download ever, eat AtA's dust facebook, this is just so much more rewarding! Oh and when (not if) you value his work, donate a bit of cash and you'll get the download code for the 4 track "Aleph" EP... I'll tell you all about it later...

Access To Arasaka - Orbitus

Chris KONINGS
07/06/2012


 

Next reviews
MY SHADOW CONSPIRACY • A Cesspool Of Desires
LOST IN DESIRE • Reborn From The Ashes
OLDSCHOOL UNION • Älä ole, elä
2ND CIVILIZATION • Report From The Dark
DARKMEN • Living On Borrowed Time
TRANQUIL EYES • Walks
BLITZKID • Apparitional
CDATAKILL • Battleworn
AND ONE • S.T.O.P.
CAROLINE JAGO • MMXII

 

Other reviews from ACCESS TO ARASAKA
ACCESS TO ARASAKA • Geosynchron
ACCESS TO ARASAKA • Aleph EP

 

Same combination of genres: AMBIENT + IDM (INTELLIGENT DANCE MUSIC)
EX_TENSION • Le Seuil De Tolérance
LOW VERTICAL • We Are Giants
NEBULO • Cardiac
ACCESS TO ARASAKA • Geosynchron
ANKLEBITER • Raintree
KNOWN REBEL • Hollow
STRANGE2 & NEV.ERA • Diario Sonoro
ROBERT HOOD • Motor: Nighttime World 3
DIRK GEIGER • Elf Morgen
SUBHEIM • Approach

 

Same genre: AMBIENT
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
LUKE LUND • Hopium
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK • Far From The Apple Tree
PETER GUNDRY • V Ö L U R
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
UMMAGMA • Compass (Leonard Skully Records)

 

Same genre: IDM (INTELLIGENT DANCE MUSIC)
LIEBKNECHT • ICE over Erfurt
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
DISPLACER • Curse of The Black Vinyl
PSY'AVIAH • Seven Sorrows, Seven Stars
DMX KREW • You Exist
NOVASTORM • Bad Taste
CRONOS TITAN • Valium
ARCHITECT/SONIC AREA/HOLOGRAM_ • We Are the Alchemists
TYSKE LUDDER • Evolution
FRANK RIGGIO • Psychexcess II – Futurism

Music reviews

05
12
SUNDAECRUSH
A Real Sensation
04
12
MERZBOW
Screaming Dove
03
12
CABARET VOLTAIRE
Shadow Of Fear
02
12
DIVE
Where do we go from here
01
12
THE MARS MODEL
Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
26
11
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
The Dread Files

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

05
12
44 Years Ago Oxygene Was Released!
03
12
This month, 33 years ago Front Line Assembly released The Initial Command.
02
12
This month it’s 36 years ago Canadian industrial act Skinny Puppy released their very first EP Remission.
01
12
Russian Dark Community in search of new blood
01
12
50 years of Ruckzuck with Kraftwerk!
28
11
Today it's exactly 40 years since Siouxsie and the Banshees, released their Christmas single 'Israel'!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break
21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
12
ANNA CALVI
Ghost Rider
04
12
VIOLENCE
Illusions Vives
03
12
ORKESTRA OBSOLETE
Blue Monday
02
12
GROUND NERO
Plethora
01
12
EXIT STRATEGY
Dead Zone
30
11
DIVE
Black Star (Official Music Video)
30
11
POPTONE
Slice Of Life