tempobet yeni adresi
like this digital review

07/06/2012 : ACCESS TO ARASAKA - Orbitus

ACCESS TO ARASAKA

Orbitus

MusicDigital
AmbientIDM (Intelligent Dance Music)

[95/100]   

Tympanik Audio
07/06/2012, Chris KONINGS

After doubting what to buy on the relatively new label Tympanik Audio, I stumbled upon this free download of Access To Arasaka. Rob Lioy took his artist name from the “Cyberpunk 2020″ off-shoot card game “Netrunner” and he is another idm/ambient adept like many of his colleagues on Tympanik Audio or for that matter Hymen Records. A renowned name, Hymen Records, but Tympanik has proved themselves as one of the brightest newborn stars in the contempory electronic music scene. No surprise there, when you know label founder Paul Nielsen was able to find talents like Dirk Geiger, Totakeke, Tapage, Autoclav1.1 and especially Rob's AtA project.

This album is based on the Takeshi Kovacs novels by Richard K. Morgan (as is AtA newest album Geosynchron) and it's cyberpunk detective fiction set in a dystopian world, just like 1984 or Brave New World... So you can expect hi-tech cinematographic sounds drifting you into orbit. Or down right bleak and nasty film noir atmospheres that make you feel like bladerunner Rick Deckard once you put on those headphones and close your eyes.

Every song clearly has a different emotional state, like the epic yet sensitive "Helios", the nervous "Kyokko", the threatening "Cynosure" or the mythical "Photons". Rob Lioy makes his music sound very richly layered and vibrant but at the same time allows for some imperfections that give it an even more natural character. Ok, there's some Autechre/Aphex Twin heritage that can't be denied but it's also very personal and emotional music. And I keep on discovering details that seem like they weren't there the previous listen. I really can't seem to stop listening, this alien yet familiar world has become a second home for me, I just love this album!

Unlike most other idm artists that always stay on much threaded trails, I doubt anyone else could have made this album, it sounds truly unique! And since it's for free, there really is no excuse possible so get out of here, download it and get out those good headphones, you will need them! Probably the best download ever, eat AtA's dust facebook, this is just so much more rewarding! Oh and when (not if) you value his work, donate a bit of cash and you'll get the download code for the 4 track "Aleph" EP... I'll tell you all about it later...

Access To Arasaka - Orbitus

Chris KONINGS
07/06/2012


 

Next reviews
MY SHADOW CONSPIRACY • A Cesspool Of Desires
LOST IN DESIRE • Reborn From The Ashes
OLDSCHOOL UNION • Älä ole, elä
2ND CIVILIZATION • Report From The Dark
DARKMEN • Living On Borrowed Time
TRANQUIL EYES • Walks
BLITZKID • Apparitional
CDATAKILL • Battleworn
AND ONE • S.T.O.P.
CAROLINE JAGO • MMXII

 

Other reviews from ACCESS TO ARASAKA
ACCESS TO ARASAKA • Geosynchron
ACCESS TO ARASAKA • Aleph EP

 

Same combination of genres: AMBIENT + IDM (INTELLIGENT DANCE MUSIC)
EX_TENSION • Le Seuil De Tolérance
LOW VERTICAL • We Are Giants
NEBULO • Cardiac
ACCESS TO ARASAKA • Geosynchron
ANKLEBITER • Raintree
KNOWN REBEL • Hollow
STRANGE2 & NEV.ERA • Diario Sonoro
ROBERT HOOD • Motor: Nighttime World 3
DIRK GEIGER • Elf Morgen
SUBHEIM • Approach

 

Same genre: AMBIENT
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX • Ellengæng
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
LUKE LUND • Hopium
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK • Far From The Apple Tree
PETER GUNDRY • V Ö L U R

 

Same genre: IDM (INTELLIGENT DANCE MUSIC)
LIEBKNECHT • ICE over Erfurt
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
DISPLACER • Curse of The Black Vinyl
PSY'AVIAH • Seven Sorrows, Seven Stars
DMX KREW • You Exist
NOVASTORM • Bad Taste
CRONOS TITAN • Valium
ARCHITECT/SONIC AREA/HOLOGRAM_ • We Are the Alchemists
TYSKE LUDDER • Evolution
FRANK RIGGIO • Psychexcess II – Futurism

Music reviews

19
01
THE PULSEBEATS
LOOKIN’ OUT
18
01
ANALFABETISM
Rotvälta
17
01
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Desctruction
23
12
SYGO CRIES
Talking about walls
22
12
DIRK DA DAVO
King Of Fools
21
12
RHYS FULBER
Brutal Nature

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
01
On this day, 40 years ago, the B52's released Mesopotamia
25
01
Exactly 44 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, 4 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
24
01
Today, exactly 31 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
23
01
46 years with David Bowie from Station To Station.
22
01
On this day, 12 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
01
25 YEARS OF AHRAYEPH
Everything I do, right or wrong, is being determined by my autism
17
12
SOPHIA LUCIA
Blurring Boundaries
11
12
JAH WOBBLE
'Bass was considered being among dying instruments for years. Dub pushed it to the front...'
05
12
MOVMENT
Finding Truth Through Dakness
26
11
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW
I’m not a conservative songwriter and I’m not interested in the status quo; I’m interested in progress.

PHOTOS

24
01
DUCTAPE
Dark Winter Liège Festival - Le Garage
07
11
GARY NUMAN
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
COVENANT
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
AND ALSO THE TREES
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
A SPLIT - SECOND
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
LEAETHER STRIP
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
01
156
Kokoro
26
01
WARDRUNA
Raido
25
01
FRONT 242
Controversy Between
24
01
ELVYA DULCIMER
Spring Dance
23
01
DIVE
Sidewalk Sinner - Snakedressed
22
01
IAN MCCULLOCH
Lover Lover Lover
21
01
DAVID BOWIE
Fashion