tempobet yeni adresi
like this digital review

07/06/2012 : ACCESS TO ARASAKA - Orbitus

ACCESS TO ARASAKA

Orbitus

MusicDigital
AmbientIDM (Intelligent Dance Music)

[95/100]   

Tympanik Audio
07/06/2012, Chris KONINGS

After doubting what to buy on the relatively new label Tympanik Audio, I stumbled upon this free download of Access To Arasaka. Rob Lioy took his artist name from the “Cyberpunk 2020″ off-shoot card game “Netrunner” and he is another idm/ambient adept like many of his colleagues on Tympanik Audio or for that matter Hymen Records. A renowned name, Hymen Records, but Tympanik has proved themselves as one of the brightest newborn stars in the contempory electronic music scene. No surprise there, when you know label founder Paul Nielsen was able to find talents like Dirk Geiger, Totakeke, Tapage, Autoclav1.1 and especially Rob's AtA project.

This album is based on the Takeshi Kovacs novels by Richard K. Morgan (as is AtA newest album Geosynchron) and it's cyberpunk detective fiction set in a dystopian world, just like 1984 or Brave New World... So you can expect hi-tech cinematographic sounds drifting you into orbit. Or down right bleak and nasty film noir atmospheres that make you feel like bladerunner Rick Deckard once you put on those headphones and close your eyes.

Every song clearly has a different emotional state, like the epic yet sensitive "Helios", the nervous "Kyokko", the threatening "Cynosure" or the mythical "Photons". Rob Lioy makes his music sound very richly layered and vibrant but at the same time allows for some imperfections that give it an even more natural character. Ok, there's some Autechre/Aphex Twin heritage that can't be denied but it's also very personal and emotional music. And I keep on discovering details that seem like they weren't there the previous listen. I really can't seem to stop listening, this alien yet familiar world has become a second home for me, I just love this album!

Unlike most other idm artists that always stay on much threaded trails, I doubt anyone else could have made this album, it sounds truly unique! And since it's for free, there really is no excuse possible so get out of here, download it and get out those good headphones, you will need them! Probably the best download ever, eat AtA's dust facebook, this is just so much more rewarding! Oh and when (not if) you value his work, donate a bit of cash and you'll get the download code for the 4 track "Aleph" EP... I'll tell you all about it later...

Access To Arasaka - Orbitus

Chris KONINGS
07/06/2012


 

Next reviews
MY SHADOW CONSPIRACY • A Cesspool Of Desires
LOST IN DESIRE • Reborn From The Ashes
OLDSCHOOL UNION • Älä ole, elä
2ND CIVILIZATION • Report From The Dark
DARKMEN • Living On Borrowed Time
TRANQUIL EYES • Walks
BLITZKID • Apparitional
CDATAKILL • Battleworn
AND ONE • S.T.O.P.
CAROLINE JAGO • MMXII

 

Other reviews from ACCESS TO ARASAKA
ACCESS TO ARASAKA • Geosynchron
ACCESS TO ARASAKA • Aleph EP

 

Same combination of genres: AMBIENT + IDM (INTELLIGENT DANCE MUSIC)
EX_TENSION • Le Seuil De Tolérance
LOW VERTICAL • We Are Giants
NEBULO • Cardiac
ACCESS TO ARASAKA • Geosynchron
ANKLEBITER • Raintree
KNOWN REBEL • Hollow
STRANGE2 & NEV.ERA • Diario Sonoro
ROBERT HOOD • Motor: Nighttime World 3
DIRK GEIGER • Elf Morgen
SUBHEIM • Approach

 

Same genre: AMBIENT
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK • Far From The Apple Tree
PETER GUNDRY • V Ö L U R
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
UMMAGMA • Compass (Leonard Skully Records)
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori

 

Same genre: IDM (INTELLIGENT DANCE MUSIC)
LIEBKNECHT • ICE over Erfurt
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
DISPLACER • Curse of The Black Vinyl
PSY'AVIAH • Seven Sorrows, Seven Stars
DMX KREW • You Exist
NOVASTORM • Bad Taste
CRONOS TITAN • Valium
ARCHITECT/SONIC AREA/HOLOGRAM_ • We Are the Alchemists
TYSKE LUDDER • Evolution
FRANK RIGGIO • Psychexcess II – Futurism

Music reviews

03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires
18
06
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Seed of Evil

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline