tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

16/06/2012 : SONAR - Cut Us Up

SONAR

Cut Us Up

MusicCD
NoiseRhythmic Industrial

[85/100]   

Ant-Zen
16/06/2012, Chris KONINGS

Aaaah Sonar, the pinnacle of rhythmic industrial music from Belgium! Why the hell did they keep us waiting for SIX years? I mean, you can't expect people to live without running water, preferably running water while you're standing in it holding power chords... So finally we can hear some huge slabs of noise again!

More rhythmic than the previous output, "Cut Us Up" doesn't have those mangled, chopped up songs like "Shotgun Radio" anymore. No it's all more "Down Your Head", if you know what I mean... The droning rhythm on "Them And Us" reminds me of Brighter Death Now's "I Wish I Was A Little Girl". Esplendor is also not far away, check the metallic percussions in "Cut Us Up" and "Black Sunset".

Slightly more "song" structures and variation in sounds are achieved on "Melted Dream", by far the best song with drilling beats being added after about a minute. Wow what's that? Another huge difference in this cacophonous noise? "Never Too Late" is another dredging behemoth, followed by a tight and compelling ambient/drone track, finally slowing down your pulse.

It may have taken them six years to come up with enough inspiration, but thank you Dirk and Eric to keep the standard at such a high level! I'm sick of having to grind through 20-track albums with six pointless remixes, which last for 80 minutes, only to realize there are just two or three songs worth listening to. Yeah, it's a dirty job but someone's got to do it ;-)

A must buy for all you Antzzrrzzt, and other rhythm freaks out there!

Chris KONINGS
16/06/2012


Music reviews

19
01
THE PULSEBEATS
LOOKIN’ OUT
18
01
ANALFABETISM
Rotvälta
17
01
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Desctruction
23
12
SYGO CRIES
Talking about walls
22
12
DIRK DA DAVO
King Of Fools
21
12
RHYS FULBER
Brutal Nature

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
01
On this day, 40 years ago, the B52's released Mesopotamia
25
01
Exactly 44 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, 4 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
24
01
Today, exactly 31 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
23
01
46 years with David Bowie from Station To Station.
22
01
On this day, 12 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
01
25 YEARS OF AHRAYEPH
Everything I do, right or wrong, is being determined by my autism
17
12
SOPHIA LUCIA
Blurring Boundaries
11
12
JAH WOBBLE
'Bass was considered being among dying instruments for years. Dub pushed it to the front...'
05
12
MOVMENT
Finding Truth Through Dakness
26
11
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW
I’m not a conservative songwriter and I’m not interested in the status quo; I’m interested in progress.

PHOTOS

24
01
DUCTAPE
Dark Winter Liège Festival - Le Garage
07
11
GARY NUMAN
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
COVENANT
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
AND ALSO THE TREES
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
A SPLIT - SECOND
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
LEAETHER STRIP
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
01
156
Kokoro
26
01
WARDRUNA
Raido
25
01
FRONT 242
Controversy Between
24
01
ELVYA DULCIMER
Spring Dance
23
01
DIVE
Sidewalk Sinner - Snakedressed
22
01
IAN MCCULLOCH
Lover Lover Lover
21
01
DAVID BOWIE
Fashion