tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

16/06/2012 : OYAARSS - Bads

OYAARSS

Bads

MusicCD
DubstepIndustrialNoise

[90/100]   

Ad Noiseam
16/06/2012, Chris KONINGS

A newcomer on Ad Noiseam, Arvīds Laivinieks lives in the UK but his roots lay in Latvia. Like most people he threw his debut album (Smaida Greizi Nākamība or Future Smiling Wryly) for free on the net and it must've been impressive, or else you would'nt be reading about it here now would you?

Right from the start, Septembris whips you directly in shape with achingly slow, destroyed beats. The intens ride through a broken landscape is shown in the schizophrenic Un Saule Ausis Dienvidos, combining idm and raw industrial dub. His oppressive narrative vocals make the next song sound original and of colossal power. But he can also be sublte, Nenosaukta Tukša Elpa has sampled female soprano vocals, strangely fitting like a cold glacial wind travelling across a barren wasteland.

Malduguns is a long instrumental with scraping "Sunn0)))" guitars, Seja Tumši Vaibsti starts with nocturnal insect sounds and transforms in an epic cauldron of doomy, echoing voices and agonizingly slow industrial dubstep. The Latin sounding voice could well be God himself destroying the world, as pictured in John Martin's "The Great Day of His Wrath". Dimba might be a overdramatic with organs, glitchy noise and guitars but in view of the entire album it's a great track! The insane vocals might topple it towards kitsch but the vomit of noise afterwards makes up for that small imperfection...

And what else could come after complete destruction? A new beginning! Crispy idm is etched with distorted dub on Rigas Ielas Bluzs, it's a dog eat dog world when species are trying to survive! The ninth track (15 Pilieni Patiesibas) can't live up to the overall high quality, the mechanical beat seems unimaginative. Final track Ziemeli ends a terrifying album of epic proportion in style.

Let's hope Arvīds continues to frighten us with his soundtracks for wiped out civilizations... But I'm sure his creative mind can just as well come up with a compelling soundtrack for life in a chicken coop. Amazing artwork also! Get this album!

Chris KONINGS
16/06/2012


 

Next reviews
VITA NOCTIS • Against The Rule
MENTALLO & THE FIXER • Associated Projects: Benestrophe, Mainesthai, Polyhedron ‎– A Collection Of Rare, Unreleased & Remastered
SONAR • Cut Us Up
A.S. SWANSKI • Electro Noir
ACCESS TO ARASAKA • Orbitus
MY SHADOW CONSPIRACY • A Cesspool Of Desires
LOST IN DESIRE • Reborn From The Ashes
OLDSCHOOL UNION • Älä ole, elä
2ND CIVILIZATION • Report From The Dark
DARKMEN • Living On Borrowed Time

 

Other reviews from OYAARSS
OYAARSS • Smaida Greizi Nākamība

 

Same genre: DUBSTEP
MIRA, UN LOBO! • Heart Beats Slow
ZA! • Loloismo
LAMB • Backspace Unwind
ETHAN FAWKES • ALL YOUR LIES
LABORATORY 5 • Awake in the dark
LABORATORY 5 • Rise ov The Machines EP
ESSENCE OF MIND • Hate EP
LABORATORY 5 • Elements of War
CIBERPUNK ARGENTINA • Tecno Melodías Biomecánicas
RUBY MY DEAR • Form

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
DIVE • Where do we go from here
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux
JESU • When I Was Small
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP1
ALSO • Live in Celovec
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM • Phoenix
PORTION CONTROL • Head Buried
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Seed of Evil
THIRD REALM • The Art of Despair
BLAC KOLOR • Nephi

 

Same genre: NOISE
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
DIVE • Underneath
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
LILIUM SOVA • Lost Between Mounts and Dales/Set Adrift in the Flood of People
MOON WORSHIP • Book of Pops
PUFF • Living In The Partyzone
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
MATMOS • Hasselt, Kunstencentrum België (11/06/2016)

Music reviews

04
12
MERZBOW
Screaming Dove
03
12
CABARET VOLTAIRE
Shadow Of Fear
02
12
DIVE
Where do we go from here
01
12
THE MARS MODEL
Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
26
11
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
The Dread Files
25
11
FIRST
Restless

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
12
This month, 33 years ago Front Line Assembly released The Initial Command.
02
12
This month it’s 36 years ago Canadian industrial act Skinny Puppy released their very first EP Remission.
01
12
Russian Dark Community in search of new blood
01
12
50 years of Ruckzuck with Kraftwerk!
28
11
Today it's exactly 40 years since Siouxsie and the Banshees, released their Christmas single 'Israel'!
27
11
39 years of Don't You Want Me by The Human League

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break
21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

04
12
VIOLENCE
Illusions Vives
03
12
ORKESTRA OBSOLETE
Blue Monday
02
12
GROUND NERO
Plethora
01
12
EXIT STRATEGY
Dead Zone
30
11
DIVE
Black Star (Official Music Video)
30
11
POPTONE
Slice Of Life
29
11
CUELEBRE
Fodder for the raven