tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

18/03/2015 : LAMB - Backspace Unwind

LAMB

Backspace Unwind

MusicCD
Drum n bassDubstepElectro Pop

[86/100]   

Butler Records
18/03/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Nearly four years after their previous album (at least if you do count their live album), Lamb is back with new material. A band that always has been a bit weirder than the rest, nonetheless very popular. Just think of their hits Gabriel and Gorecki, with the outstanding voice of Lou Rhodes. The pair seems to be back in good form, and this after a quiet period between 2004 and 2011.

On their previous album (5) they had an electronica sound , but here they rather use organic sounds like piano and (synth) strings. There are also some influences of dubstep and drum 'n bass. Captivating sounds and rhythms, while Lou Rhodes sounds more mainstream than before, but still has that warm and intense voice.

There are no bad songs on this album. Outstanding are In Binary, Shines Like This, What Makes Us Human, Doves & Ravens and Only Our Skin. But yeah, I actually could enumerate them all. It will be hard to make a short end year’s list in December.

Wim GUILLEMYN
18/03/2015


NL

Bijna 4 jaar na hun vorige album (ten minste als je de live cd niet meerekent), is Lamb terug met nieuw materiaal. Een band die toch altijd al wel een beetje een vreemde eend in de bijt is geweest, desalniettemin erg populair. Denk maar aan hun hit Gabriel en Gorecki, met de doordringende stem van Lou Rhodes. Het duo lijkt opnieuw goed op dreef te zijn, en dit na een stille periode tussen 2004 en 2011.

Op hun vorige album (5 ) klonken ze vooral electronisch, maar op hun nieuwste gebruiken ze eerder organische geluiden zoals piano en (synth)strijkers. Voorts zijn er ook wat invloeden van dubstep en drum ’n bass te horen. Boeiende geluiden en ritmes, terwijl Lou Rhodes wat meer mainstream klinkt dan vroeger, maar de warme en intense stem blijft.

Hier staan geen slechte nummers op. Geslaagd zijn: In Binary, Shines Like This, What Makes Us Human, Doves & Ravens en Only Our Skin. Maar tja, eigenlijk zou ik ze ook gewoon allemaal kunnen opnoemen.

Opnieuw klasse. Het zal moeilijk worden om een kort eindejaarslijstje te maken dit jaar.

Wim GUILLEMYN
18/03/2015


Music reviews

17
02
NEON ELECTRONICS
Mondriaan
15
02
QUAL
Cyber Care
14
02
0KONTROL
3RDEYE2NDHAND
12
02
LIEBKNECHT
ICE over Erfurt
11
02
THE SPECIALS
Encore
02
02
PRINCIPE VALIENTE
Choirs of Blessed Youth

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
02
Damned, Damned, Damned - At 42, 42, 42!
18
02
Today, exactly 16 years ago, American Industrial Metal band Ministry released Animositisomina!
17
02
Mechanical Man | Remembering Bob Casale - The Devo Legend
15
02
This month it’s been 23 years since Ministry released their cover version of Bob Dylan’s ‘Lay Lady Lay’!
15
02
This February, it's 32 years since Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
One year ago Peek-a-Boo and Black Easter founder Ward De Prins passed away...

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
02
THE ARCH
Living healthy can be pretty stressful
16
02
EVI VINE
'..I am a human being taking one step forward-two steps back like everyone else'
15
02
MORTAJA
It Always Has Been My Dream And I'm Enjoying It A Lot
13
02
MONICA RICHARDS
I always felt out of step with the Modern world, ever since I was a child, I do even more so now.
09
02
SIMON SCOTT (SLOWDIVE)
'We've always wanted to have a say in our production.'

PHOTOS

17
02
KAELAN MIKLA
Magasin 4
17
02
SOME EMBER
Magasin 4
17
02
TURQUOISE
Magasin 4
10
02
LORDS OF ACID
YAP Leopoldsburg
20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
02
WARHAUS
The Good Lie
17
02
HYBRYDS
I hear you calling
16
02
WULFBAND
Gewalt!
15
02
UNDERVIEWER
Nobody But You (Redux)
14
02
CLAN OF XYMOX
Obsession
13
02
CROONA
Bleed For Me (Official Video Mix)
12
02
COMBICHRIST
My Life My Rules