tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

18/03/2015 : LAMB - Backspace Unwind

LAMB

Backspace Unwind

MusicCD
Drum n bassDubstepElectro Pop

[86/100]   

Butler Records
18/03/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Nearly four years after their previous album (at least if you do count their live album), Lamb is back with new material. A band that always has been a bit weirder than the rest, nonetheless very popular. Just think of their hits Gabriel and Gorecki, with the outstanding voice of Lou Rhodes. The pair seems to be back in good form, and this after a quiet period between 2004 and 2011.

On their previous album (5) they had an electronica sound , but here they rather use organic sounds like piano and (synth) strings. There are also some influences of dubstep and drum 'n bass. Captivating sounds and rhythms, while Lou Rhodes sounds more mainstream than before, but still has that warm and intense voice.

There are no bad songs on this album. Outstanding are In Binary, Shines Like This, What Makes Us Human, Doves & Ravens and Only Our Skin. But yeah, I actually could enumerate them all. It will be hard to make a short end year’s list in December.

Wim GUILLEMYN
18/03/2015


NL

Bijna 4 jaar na hun vorige album (ten minste als je de live cd niet meerekent), is Lamb terug met nieuw materiaal. Een band die toch altijd al wel een beetje een vreemde eend in de bijt is geweest, desalniettemin erg populair. Denk maar aan hun hit Gabriel en Gorecki, met de doordringende stem van Lou Rhodes. Het duo lijkt opnieuw goed op dreef te zijn, en dit na een stille periode tussen 2004 en 2011.

Op hun vorige album (5 ) klonken ze vooral electronisch, maar op hun nieuwste gebruiken ze eerder organische geluiden zoals piano en (synth)strijkers. Voorts zijn er ook wat invloeden van dubstep en drum ’n bass te horen. Boeiende geluiden en ritmes, terwijl Lou Rhodes wat meer mainstream klinkt dan vroeger, maar de warme en intense stem blijft.

Hier staan geen slechte nummers op. Geslaagd zijn: In Binary, Shines Like This, What Makes Us Human, Doves & Ravens en Only Our Skin. Maar tja, eigenlijk zou ik ze ook gewoon allemaal kunnen opnoemen.

Opnieuw klasse. Het zal moeilijk worden om een kort eindejaarslijstje te maken dit jaar.

Wim GUILLEMYN
18/03/2015


Music reviews

09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.
09
08
REACTOR7X
And Chaos Bacame The New Order
01
08
ANNINA MELISSA
Exhibition of Death
31
07
CRIMEN
Silent Animals
26
07
VIOLENCE
Le Flux de la Nature
22
07
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS
Semiotics Department of Heteronyms

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
08
Today, it’s exactly 31 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
08
08
James Ray (The voice from The Sisterhood) returns with brand new album, band and musical style change!
02
08
This month, 35 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
30
07
'Anything' movie: UK digital release on August, 6th!
25
07
Spacelab revisited! ISS calls Kraftwerk from outer Space!
25
07
'Locating Silver Lake' screening at Breckenridge Film Festival in September!

Concert reviews

14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'
03
08
LIZARD SMILE
'I still see it as the expression of appreciation par excellence to buy a physical album. It still remains more ‘real’ … one way or another.'
29
07
SN-A
I Also Love Telling Stories Without Words
27
07
STIN SCATZOR
I never could have thought Stin Scatzor would ever release an album on DAFT Records!

PHOTOS

12
08
12
08
GARY NUMAN
Lokerse Feesten
01
08
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Amphi
01
08
PERSEPHONE
Amphi
01
08
MAD SIN
Amphi
01
08
SOLAR FAKE
Amphi
01
08
GRENDEL
Amphi

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
08
SOLAR FAKE
Under Control
15
08
NEW ORDER
Restless
15
08
JO QUAIL
Gold (live)
15
08
SIXTH JUNE
Drowning
14
08
ASHRAM
Maria and the violin's string
13
08
DAVEY SUICIDE
Rise Above
12
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Sanri