tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

18/03/2015 : LAMB - Backspace Unwind

LAMB

Backspace Unwind

MusicCD
Drum n bassDubstepElectro Pop

[86/100]   

Butler Records
18/03/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Nearly four years after their previous album (at least if you do count their live album), Lamb is back with new material. A band that always has been a bit weirder than the rest, nonetheless very popular. Just think of their hits Gabriel and Gorecki, with the outstanding voice of Lou Rhodes. The pair seems to be back in good form, and this after a quiet period between 2004 and 2011.

On their previous album (5) they had an electronica sound , but here they rather use organic sounds like piano and (synth) strings. There are also some influences of dubstep and drum 'n bass. Captivating sounds and rhythms, while Lou Rhodes sounds more mainstream than before, but still has that warm and intense voice.

There are no bad songs on this album. Outstanding are In Binary, Shines Like This, What Makes Us Human, Doves & Ravens and Only Our Skin. But yeah, I actually could enumerate them all. It will be hard to make a short end year’s list in December.

Wim GUILLEMYN
18/03/2015


NL

Bijna 4 jaar na hun vorige album (ten minste als je de live cd niet meerekent), is Lamb terug met nieuw materiaal. Een band die toch altijd al wel een beetje een vreemde eend in de bijt is geweest, desalniettemin erg populair. Denk maar aan hun hit Gabriel en Gorecki, met de doordringende stem van Lou Rhodes. Het duo lijkt opnieuw goed op dreef te zijn, en dit na een stille periode tussen 2004 en 2011.

Op hun vorige album (5 ) klonken ze vooral electronisch, maar op hun nieuwste gebruiken ze eerder organische geluiden zoals piano en (synth)strijkers. Voorts zijn er ook wat invloeden van dubstep en drum ’n bass te horen. Boeiende geluiden en ritmes, terwijl Lou Rhodes wat meer mainstream klinkt dan vroeger, maar de warme en intense stem blijft.

Hier staan geen slechte nummers op. Geslaagd zijn: In Binary, Shines Like This, What Makes Us Human, Doves & Ravens en Only Our Skin. Maar tja, eigenlijk zou ik ze ook gewoon allemaal kunnen opnoemen.

Opnieuw klasse. Het zal moeilijk worden om een kort eindejaarslijstje te maken dit jaar.

Wim GUILLEMYN
18/03/2015


 

Next reviews
• DOMINION SEASON 1
EBERHARD WEBER • Encore
HECQ • Mare Nostrum
CARMEN COBOS • Imperfect Harmony
DAVID DOBKIN • The Judge
SAM MILLER • No Good Deed
TEXAS • Texas 25: The Truth & Soul Sessions
THE BEACH • Thieves
DOSAGE • Adonis
DISTEL • Puur

 

Other reviews from LAMB
LAMB • 5
LAMB • Backspace Unwind

 

Same combination of genres: DRUM N BASS + DUBSTEP + ELECTRO POP
LABORATORY 5 • Elements of War

 

Same genre: DRUM N BASS
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
FRANQ • Common Ground
LAMB • Backspace Unwind
LABORATORY 5 • Awake in the dark
MOBTHROW • Unfolded
MONOLOG • 2 Dots Left
TACTICAL MODULE • Into exile
HYDRUS • Nodes
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DWA REMIX WORKS by Studio-X
AH CAMA-SOTZ • Obsession Diabolique

 

Same genre: DUBSTEP
MIRA, UN LOBO! • Heart Beats Slow
ZA! • Loloismo
ETHAN FAWKES • ALL YOUR LIES
LABORATORY 5 • Rise ov The Machines EP
ESSENCE OF MIND • Hate EP
CIBERPUNK ARGENTINA • Tecno Melodías Biomecánicas
RUBY MY DEAR • Form
MARCHING DYNAMICS • Shutter And Cross Yourself
OYAARSS • Smaida Greizi Nākamība
TECHDIFF • P.Conv.

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
BOYTRONIC • The Robot Treatment
6TH CROWD • Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
UMMAGMA • Compass (Leonard Skully Records)
MASSIVE EGO • Church For The Malfunctioned
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
UMMAGMA • Caravan -Backed With Ty i Ya
LADYTRON • Ladytron
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
BROKEN EGO • Getting Higher
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks

Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
07
Darkwave Artist DISSONANCE Announces New Maxi-Single 'Precipice;' A Lament Of Personal Struggle
07
07
Darkwave Band STYKFAKTOR Reveals New Single, 'Distance' - An Emotional Struggle With Social Distancing
07
07
FRONT 242's Daniel B. celebrate his 66th birthday with the release of 6+6
04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

08
07
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO & DAVID SYLVIAN
Life, Life
07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine
06
07
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)
05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis