tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

18/03/2015 : LAMB - Backspace Unwind

LAMB

Backspace Unwind

MusicCD
Drum n bassDubstepElectro Pop

[86/100]   

Butler Records
18/03/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Nearly four years after their previous album (at least if you do count their live album), Lamb is back with new material. A band that always has been a bit weirder than the rest, nonetheless very popular. Just think of their hits Gabriel and Gorecki, with the outstanding voice of Lou Rhodes. The pair seems to be back in good form, and this after a quiet period between 2004 and 2011.

On their previous album (5) they had an electronica sound , but here they rather use organic sounds like piano and (synth) strings. There are also some influences of dubstep and drum 'n bass. Captivating sounds and rhythms, while Lou Rhodes sounds more mainstream than before, but still has that warm and intense voice.

There are no bad songs on this album. Outstanding are In Binary, Shines Like This, What Makes Us Human, Doves & Ravens and Only Our Skin. But yeah, I actually could enumerate them all. It will be hard to make a short end year’s list in December.

Wim GUILLEMYN
18/03/2015


NL

Bijna 4 jaar na hun vorige album (ten minste als je de live cd niet meerekent), is Lamb terug met nieuw materiaal. Een band die toch altijd al wel een beetje een vreemde eend in de bijt is geweest, desalniettemin erg populair. Denk maar aan hun hit Gabriel en Gorecki, met de doordringende stem van Lou Rhodes. Het duo lijkt opnieuw goed op dreef te zijn, en dit na een stille periode tussen 2004 en 2011.

Op hun vorige album (5 ) klonken ze vooral electronisch, maar op hun nieuwste gebruiken ze eerder organische geluiden zoals piano en (synth)strijkers. Voorts zijn er ook wat invloeden van dubstep en drum ’n bass te horen. Boeiende geluiden en ritmes, terwijl Lou Rhodes wat meer mainstream klinkt dan vroeger, maar de warme en intense stem blijft.

Hier staan geen slechte nummers op. Geslaagd zijn: In Binary, Shines Like This, What Makes Us Human, Doves & Ravens en Only Our Skin. Maar tja, eigenlijk zou ik ze ook gewoon allemaal kunnen opnoemen.

Opnieuw klasse. Het zal moeilijk worden om een kort eindejaarslijstje te maken dit jaar.

Wim GUILLEMYN
18/03/2015


Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 34 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 29 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

25
09
LEBANON HANOVER
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
SELOFAN
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
ISOLATED YOUTH
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
PORNO KARAOKE
Porta Nigra
25
09
NACHTMAHR
Porta Nigra
25
09
THE PSYCHIC FORCE
Porta Nigra
25
09
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH
Porta Nigra

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
09
3TEETH
Atrophy
24
09
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Hide
23
09
SIEBEN
Sell Your Future
22
09
THE KLINIK
Go Back
21
09
ADAM AND THE ANTS
Stand And Deliver
20
09
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna
19
09
RASTABAN
Hore Dolom