tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

26/03/2014 : MOBTHROW - Unfolded

MOBTHROW

Unfolded

MusicCD
Drum n bassElectroTrance/RaveTrip Hop

[90/100]   

Ad Noiseam
26/03/2014, Chris KONINGS

Mobthrow, or Angelos Liaros, took his time with this new album. Three years after his debut album, he now swings in a completely different direction. Making pure dubstep and drum n bass, he caught the ear with his firstborn.

Now it's as if this is a whole new artist, you can still hear some sporadic drum n bass but dubstep is far far away... Trance, downtempo and even 80's synth soundtrack are what you get here. A surprising combination and risky business for his old fans. Nice to see he steps over the sharp edge of the knife and takes his chances!

I really like this album, the eerie intro "Inner Voice" flows dynamically into the drum n dub midnight train of "Black Fluid". Feeling drowsy after a long days work? "Low Pressure Area" is sort of the same, a bit more subdued. Close your eyes and take a nap in the oxygen rich "Mystical Forest", with distant female vocals and tribal rhythms that could well come from master of the genre Empusae. A perfect follow up is the Hybryds-like short interlude "Our Minds As One".

Then two lesser songs, "Nu Nepal" sounds like an awkward mix between Nepalese throath singing and not so inspired tribal industrial. And "Triple Acid" reminds me of early Prodigy, jungle acid that did not age very well... But then you get a very good threesome, "The Wayfarer", "Midnight Dub Radio" and "The City My Church" create spacious soundtrack in which you can easily dream away. The last even has a 80's TV feeling, like Hunter Complex did with his nod towards Miami Vice or Knight Rider.

The next one features Subheim so you can expect even more spacious soundscapes with storytelling grandure. What else can you expect from a song called "Above The Rim Of The Earth". With "Cruise Me" it's back to David Hasselhoff, with lytics this time. Another good and surprising song! Very ominous with even a hint of David Bowie in the voice. And then he tells us something about his life in Greece, the noise of the protesters humble you in "Athens Bleeding". Maybe the occurances in Greece made him jump into these new styles?

Great album, could have been a contestant for album of the year (already) but for those few weaker songs...

Chris KONINGS
26/03/2014


 

Next reviews
JACQUES TATI • Les vacances de M.Hulot
MINNY POPS • Sparks In a Dark Room
DONALD CAMMELL • White Of The Eye
BRAIN SEKTOR • Control
FUTURE • Stay Behind EP
TSZ MING WONG • Badges Of Fury
THE PUSSYBATS • Pussypussybangbang
NERVOSA • Victim of Yourself
TERUO ISHII • Blind Woman's Curse
LABORATORY 5 • Elements of War

 

Same genre: DRUM N BASS
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
FRANQ • Common Ground
LAMB • Backspace Unwind
LAMB • Backspace Unwind
LABORATORY 5 • Awake in the dark
LABORATORY 5 • Elements of War
MONOLOG • 2 Dots Left
TACTICAL MODULE • Into exile
HYDRUS • Nodes
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DWA REMIX WORKS by Studio-X

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
STAATSEINDE • Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
ADULT. • Becoming Undone
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Desctruction
RHYS FULBER • Brutal Nature
J:DEAD • Tearing me apart
HERRNIA • Takkewereld
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II
JIHAD • Retrospekt
MILDREDA • I was never really there

 

Same genre: TRANCE/RAVE
THE HERESY GENE • La Luz Del Padre
CRISIS ACTOR • Superstar
GLENN LOVE • (R)age Electric (EP)
KONER • Die Babbie
ALEK DRIVE • Frontière
JUNO REACTOR • The Golden Sun… Remixed
NON-HUMAN PERSONS • Original Fascination #2
ETHAN FAWKES • ALL YOUR LIES
FUNKER VOGT • Survivors Collector's Edition
ZONE TRIPPER • Horizon

 

Same genre: TRIP HOP
1LUM3 • Antinomia
IOKOI • Liquefy
SHIELD PATTERNS • Mirror Breathing
LAMB • 5
SUBHEIM • Foray
MASSIVE ATTACK • Blue Lines
THE GIRL WHO CRIED WOLF • Ruins
THIS SIDE OF JORDAN • Set The Record Straight
SOPHIE LILLIENNE • The Fragile Idea
A/T/O/S AND TRICKY • AB Brussels 27th January 2015

Music reviews

12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water
20
04
HYDROM LINE
Hydrom Line Edition 2021
19
04
HOCICO
HyperViolent
15
04
DIRK DA DAVO
The Unreal

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
48 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
36 years of 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
22
05
41 years Spellbound!
19
05
44 of The Man-Machine!
15
05
On this day, 32 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape

Concert reviews

24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
05
CONFLICT
Dont Panik Esssen
21
05
PUSSY RIOT
Depot Leuven
21
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Depot Leuven
21
05
HETZE
Depot Leuven
16
05
THE MULTICOLOURED SHADES
Backyard Club Recklinghausen,Germany
15
05
RED ZEBRA
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
This is not a dark fest. Lessines

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
05
LOVELESSLUST
Fashion - David Bowie tribute
25
05
CORPO-MENTE
Arsalein
24
05
ATARI TEENAGE RIOT
Adrenaline
23
05
MODEL DEPOSE
Nightwatch
22
05
MARBLE SOUNDS
Tout et Partout
21
05
MARISSA NADLER
All the Colors of the Dark
20
05
SYNDROME
Forever And A Day