tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd single review

22/11/2015 : KONER - Die Babbie

KONER

Die Babbie

MusicCD single
Electro PopElectronicsTechnoTrance/Rave

[76/100]   

Luminous Dash
22/11/2015, Didier BECU

EN

A few months ago we wrote positive things about Koner, the Belgian duo that consists of Peter Bellaert aka Brian Koner and Els Mortelmans. These two musicians were involved in dance projects such as Atlantis 6 and Minimalistix, but with Koner they start again from zero.

We then wrote that Koner was influenced by the sound of the 80s, and you hear that again on this new single. Die Babbie (eight different versions on this single) can be played easily at every disco for a young audience, but older people will probably have Los Niños Del Parque by Liaisons Dangereuses in mind when they hear this tune.

The track sounds like it, but it is not a decoction. Die Babbie is packed with rhythm (it even sounds a bit like EBM), it has a trance feel, it's melodic (a bit 808 State) and after eight spins (well, that is the case when you play this single from the first to the last second) you notice that a small classic has been written! Perhaps eight versions of the same tune is too much, but we really look forward to hear the forthcoming debut of Koner.

Didier BECU
22/11/2015


NL

Een paar maanden geleden hadden we het al eens over Koner, het Belgische duo dat uit Peter Bellaert aka Brian Koner en Els Mortelmans bestaat. Deze twee muzikanten waren eerder al bij dansprojecten zoals Atlantis 6 en Minimalistix betrokken, maar met Koner beginnen ze opnieuw vanaf nul.

We schreven toen met volle overtuiging dat Koner was beïnvloedt door het geluid van de jaren 80, en dat hoor je op deze nieuwe single opnieuw. Die Babbie (dat je trouwens in acht verschillende versies op deze single vindt) is met gemak in iedere discotheek draaibaar voor een jong publiek, maar mensen die al wat langer op deze planeet rondlopen zullen ongetwijfeld aan Los Niños Del Parque van Liaisons Dangereuses denken.

Het nummer lijkt er wat op, zonder dat het een afkooksel is. Die Babbie zit boordevol ritme (het klinkt zelfs wat EBM-achtig), het voelt wat tranceachtig aan, het is melodisch (een beetje 808 State) en na acht beluisteringen (tja, dat is nu eenmaal zo als je deze single van de eerste tot de laatste seconde speelt) merk je zelfs dat hier een kleine klassieker in verborgen zit! Wij kijken alvast reikhalzend uit naar het binnenkort te verschijnen debuut van Koner.

Didier BECU
22/11/2015


 

Next reviews
WATCH THEM FADE • Welcome To My Void
SOUL EMBRACE • Good Morning To Myself
JAMES WARREN • Honest Man (EP)
EL VY • Return To The Moon
HURRICANE #1 • Find What You Love and Let It Kill You
SWERVEDRIVER • Antwerp, Trix (17/11/2015)
MEN IN THE SKY • If I Go
AMORPHOUS • Behaviourism
KIRLIAN CAMERA • It Doesn't Matter Now
MODEL VILLAGE • Healing Centre

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
J:DEAD • A Complicated Genocide
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
J:DEAD • Feeding on me
TORTURETEKK • Nightfall
ERASURE • THE NEON
TRUE ZEBRA • Idiorhythmic
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
HER OWN WORLD • A Different Kind Of Reality

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
WULF7 • Dark Hate
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
FIRST • Restless
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One

 

Same genre: TECHNO
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
PLEASURE TIME • Years About Us
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
XOSAR • Xymeria
PRESENCE I OF I MIND • Pure
MIRLAND • Greyscale Controller (charity-EP)
FACTORY FLOOR • 25 25
GRANDCHAOS • Memories
CLOCK DVA • Neoteric MiniMax

 

Same genre: TRANCE/RAVE
THE HERESY GENE • La Luz Del Padre
CRISIS ACTOR • Superstar
GLENN LOVE • (R)age Electric (EP)
ALEK DRIVE • Frontière
JUNO REACTOR • The Golden Sun… Remixed
NON-HUMAN PERSONS • Original Fascination #2
ETHAN FAWKES • ALL YOUR LIES
FUNKER VOGT • Survivors Collector's Edition
ZONE TRIPPER • Horizon
XP8 • Nigredo EP

Music reviews

05
04
VARIOUS ARTISTS
Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
23
03
300 000VK
Peter Paradox
10
03
PYRROLINE
Struggling
23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene(° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...
04
04
15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 19 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
SYNAPTIC DEFECT sends teaser into the world

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

14
04
MESH
It scares me
13
04
MONOTONE EXPRESSION
Out Of Tune With Life
12
04
LAID BACK
White Horse
11
04
VOK
Waterfall
10
04
SVEN VATH VS. ANTHONY ROTHER
Komm
09
04
THIS CAN HURT
IF YOU GO
08
04
THE SISTERS OF MERCY
Lucretia, My Reflection