tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd single review

22/11/2015 : KONER - Die Babbie

KONER

Die Babbie

MusicCD single
Electro PopElectronicsTechnoTrance/Rave

[76/100]   

Luminous Dash
22/11/2015, Didier BECU

EN

A few months ago we wrote positive things about Koner, the Belgian duo that consists of Peter Bellaert aka Brian Koner and Els Mortelmans. These two musicians were involved in dance projects such as Atlantis 6 and Minimalistix, but with Koner they start again from zero.

We then wrote that Koner was influenced by the sound of the 80s, and you hear that again on this new single. Die Babbie (eight different versions on this single) can be played easily at every disco for a young audience, but older people will probably have Los Niños Del Parque by Liaisons Dangereuses in mind when they hear this tune.

The track sounds like it, but it is not a decoction. Die Babbie is packed with rhythm (it even sounds a bit like EBM), it has a trance feel, it's melodic (a bit 808 State) and after eight spins (well, that is the case when you play this single from the first to the last second) you notice that a small classic has been written! Perhaps eight versions of the same tune is too much, but we really look forward to hear the forthcoming debut of Koner.

Didier BECU
22/11/2015


NL

Een paar maanden geleden hadden we het al eens over Koner, het Belgische duo dat uit Peter Bellaert aka Brian Koner en Els Mortelmans bestaat. Deze twee muzikanten waren eerder al bij dansprojecten zoals Atlantis 6 en Minimalistix betrokken, maar met Koner beginnen ze opnieuw vanaf nul.

We schreven toen met volle overtuiging dat Koner was beïnvloedt door het geluid van de jaren 80, en dat hoor je op deze nieuwe single opnieuw. Die Babbie (dat je trouwens in acht verschillende versies op deze single vindt) is met gemak in iedere discotheek draaibaar voor een jong publiek, maar mensen die al wat langer op deze planeet rondlopen zullen ongetwijfeld aan Los Niños Del Parque van Liaisons Dangereuses denken.

Het nummer lijkt er wat op, zonder dat het een afkooksel is. Die Babbie zit boordevol ritme (het klinkt zelfs wat EBM-achtig), het voelt wat tranceachtig aan, het is melodisch (een beetje 808 State) en na acht beluisteringen (tja, dat is nu eenmaal zo als je deze single van de eerste tot de laatste seconde speelt) merk je zelfs dat hier een kleine klassieker in verborgen zit! Wij kijken alvast reikhalzend uit naar het binnenkort te verschijnen debuut van Koner.

Didier BECU
22/11/2015


 

Next reviews
WATCH THEM FADE • Welcome To My Void
SOUL EMBRACE • Good Morning To Myself
JAMES WARREN • Honest Man (EP)
EL VY • Return To The Moon
HURRICANE #1 • Find What You Love and Let It Kill You
SWERVEDRIVER • Antwerp, Trix (17/11/2015)
MEN IN THE SKY • If I Go
AMORPHOUS • Behaviourism
KIRLIAN CAMERA • It Doesn't Matter Now
MODEL VILLAGE • Healing Centre

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
HER OWN WORLD • A Different Kind Of Reality
BOYTRONIC • The Robot Treatment
6TH CROWD • Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
UMMAGMA • Compass (Leonard Skully Records)
MASSIVE EGO • Church For The Malfunctioned
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
UMMAGMA • Caravan -Backed With Ty i Ya
LADYTRON • Ladytron
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
HATCHLING • Alpha

 

Same genre: TECHNO
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
PLEASURE TIME • Years About Us
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
XOSAR • Xymeria
PRESENCE I OF I MIND • Pure
MIRLAND • Greyscale Controller (charity-EP)
FACTORY FLOOR • 25 25
GRANDCHAOS • Memories
CLOCK DVA • Neoteric MiniMax

 

Same genre: TRANCE/RAVE
THE HERESY GENE • La Luz Del Padre
CRISIS ACTOR • Superstar
GLENN LOVE • (R)age Electric (EP)
ALEK DRIVE • Frontière
JUNO REACTOR • The Golden Sun… Remixed
NON-HUMAN PERSONS • Original Fascination #2
ETHAN FAWKES • ALL YOUR LIES
FUNKER VOGT • Survivors Collector's Edition
ZONE TRIPPER • Horizon
XP8 • Nigredo EP

Music reviews

03
09
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM
Phoenix
02
09
CAWATANA
In The Silver Light (7')
01
09
MIKE SOPKO, BILL LASWELL, TYSHAWN SOREY
On Common Ground
31
08
TUKT
Tukt
26
08
EMERGENCY SEQUENCE
Sharpening The Axe
21
08
STRUGGLER
Wilma (Determinated Protector)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly XXXYEARSXX years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 28 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
08
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO release a complete 'Dein herz, meine gier' lyric video for the release of the limited club single CD 'Dein herz, meine gier / Bunkerb!tc!
04
09
39 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
28
08
43 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
12
08
kaRIN FROM COLLIDE AND SHIKHEE FROM ANDROID LUST RELEASE NEW SINGLE ''ARE YOU LISTENING?''

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
09
MORTAR DEVOTIONS
Dystopia Is Just Around The Corner And Orwell Warned Us Already In 1948
16
09
MAT OSMAN (SUEDE)
'I’m always writing short stories...'
15
09
ERASURE
'Music certainly gives us hope' - Erasure talk about their new album 'The Neon'
14
09
WATA (BORIS)
'I will always feel like a rookie...'
12
09
DAWN OF ASHES
‘Covid-19 Is A Gateway To Show Us The True Colors Of The Human Race

PHOTOS

20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
09
PSY'AVIAH
Aftermath
24
09
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO
Merry Christmas, Mr Lawrence
23
09
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
The Mysterious Vanishing of Electra
22
09
BLACK LINE
Snap
21
09
ALPHAMAY
Silence Emotion
20
09
FREISPIELEREI
Fish Muss Schwimmen, Gell
19
09
TRUE ZEBRA
Connection is addiction