tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd single review

22/11/2015 : KONER - Die Babbie

KONER

Die Babbie

MusicCD single
Electro PopElectronicsTechnoTrance/Rave

[76/100]   

Luminous Dash
22/11/2015, Didier BECU

EN

A few months ago we wrote positive things about Koner, the Belgian duo that consists of Peter Bellaert aka Brian Koner and Els Mortelmans. These two musicians were involved in dance projects such as Atlantis 6 and Minimalistix, but with Koner they start again from zero.

We then wrote that Koner was influenced by the sound of the 80s, and you hear that again on this new single. Die Babbie (eight different versions on this single) can be played easily at every disco for a young audience, but older people will probably have Los Niños Del Parque by Liaisons Dangereuses in mind when they hear this tune.

The track sounds like it, but it is not a decoction. Die Babbie is packed with rhythm (it even sounds a bit like EBM), it has a trance feel, it's melodic (a bit 808 State) and after eight spins (well, that is the case when you play this single from the first to the last second) you notice that a small classic has been written! Perhaps eight versions of the same tune is too much, but we really look forward to hear the forthcoming debut of Koner.

Didier BECU
22/11/2015


NL

Een paar maanden geleden hadden we het al eens over Koner, het Belgische duo dat uit Peter Bellaert aka Brian Koner en Els Mortelmans bestaat. Deze twee muzikanten waren eerder al bij dansprojecten zoals Atlantis 6 en Minimalistix betrokken, maar met Koner beginnen ze opnieuw vanaf nul.

We schreven toen met volle overtuiging dat Koner was beïnvloedt door het geluid van de jaren 80, en dat hoor je op deze nieuwe single opnieuw. Die Babbie (dat je trouwens in acht verschillende versies op deze single vindt) is met gemak in iedere discotheek draaibaar voor een jong publiek, maar mensen die al wat langer op deze planeet rondlopen zullen ongetwijfeld aan Los Niños Del Parque van Liaisons Dangereuses denken.

Het nummer lijkt er wat op, zonder dat het een afkooksel is. Die Babbie zit boordevol ritme (het klinkt zelfs wat EBM-achtig), het voelt wat tranceachtig aan, het is melodisch (een beetje 808 State) en na acht beluisteringen (tja, dat is nu eenmaal zo als je deze single van de eerste tot de laatste seconde speelt) merk je zelfs dat hier een kleine klassieker in verborgen zit! Wij kijken alvast reikhalzend uit naar het binnenkort te verschijnen debuut van Koner.

Didier BECU
22/11/2015


 

Next reviews
WATCH THEM FADE • Welcome To My Void
SOUL EMBRACE • Good Morning To Myself
JAMES WARREN • Honest Man (EP)
EL VY • Return To The Moon
HURRICANE #1 • Find What You Love and Let It Kill You
SWERVEDRIVER • Antwerp, Trix (17/11/2015)
MEN IN THE SKY • If I Go
AMORPHOUS • Behaviourism
KIRLIAN CAMERA • It Doesn't Matter Now
MODEL VILLAGE • Healing Centre

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
BROKEN EGO • Getting Higher
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
DIRK DA DAVO / JEAN -MARIE AERTS • DDDJMX (EP)
THE BIPOLAR • Tomorrow everything will get better
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
BLUTENGEL • Leitbild
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
BEBORN BETON • She Cried
SCHEUBER • The Me I See

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
HATCHLING • Alpha
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
FERAL BODY • Chain Ritual
ORNAMENTI D'ORO • Mater Tenebrarum
VIKTOR KALIMA • Club Muscle
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
THE ART OF NOISE • In Visible Silence
KRAFTWERK • 3-D Catalogue
DER PLAN • Unkapitulierbar

 

Same genre: TECHNO
PLEASURE TIME • Years About Us
XOSAR • Xymeria
PRESENCE I OF I MIND • Pure
MIRLAND • Greyscale Controller (charity-EP)
FACTORY FLOOR • 25 25
GRANDCHAOS • Memories
CLOCK DVA • Neoteric MiniMax
AUTOGEN • Antigen
AXIOME • L’avenir est un cerf teint
WIELORYB • Semantik

 

Same genre: TRANCE/RAVE
CRISIS ACTOR • Superstar
GLENN LOVE • (R)age Electric (EP)
ALEK DRIVE • Frontière
JUNO REACTOR • The Golden Sun… Remixed
NON-HUMAN PERSONS • Original Fascination #2
ETHAN FAWKES • ALL YOUR LIES
FUNKER VOGT • Survivors Collector's Edition
ZONE TRIPPER • Horizon
XP8 • Nigredo EP
MOBTHROW • Unfolded

Music reviews

13
11
BROKEN EGO
Getting Higher
12
11
BEAUTY IN CHAOS
Finding Beauty In Chaos
11
11
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES
Juju
10
11
YOU, VICIOUS!
You, Vicious!
09
11
VIRGIN PRUNES
Hérésie
08
11
HATCHLING
Alpha

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

13
11
Today, 37 years ago, New Order released its debut album Movement!
13
11
Today, 40 years ago, Siouxsie & The Banshees released their debut album Scream!
12
11
Ethereal alt-rock outfit Evi Vine presents 'Sabbath', a sweet and heavy preview of their long-awaited long-play 'Black Light White Dark'!
10
11
Today it's 32 years since Kraftwerk release Electric Café!
09
11
Today, 37 years ago, Men At Work released their debut album Business As Usual!
08
11
This month its 31 years since Canadian industrial band Front Line Assembly released their first official album, The Initial Command!

Concert reviews

06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

13
11
HIDDEN FIGURES
Interview with the US newcomers 'Hidden Figures'
11
11
CAUSTIC
The Way America Is At The Moment I Realized I Needed To Say Some Things
09
11
MICHAEL CIRAVOLO ( BEAUTY IN CHAOS )
'Recording this album is vastly different than producing a new band. '
08
11
THE HEARTBREAKERS, THE WALDOS
'Being in a band is a way of life!'
07
11
BRIX AND THE EXTRICATED
Interview with Brix Smith-Start

PHOTOS

10
11
SIGLO XX
Breaking Barriers, Depot Leuven
02
11
LENE LOVICH BAND
B52 Eernegem
02
11
MORGAN KING
B52 Eernegem
02
11
KIRSTEN MORRISON
B52 Eernegem
23
10
VNV NATION + HOLYGRAM
De Casino - St. Niklaas
16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

14
11
FRONT 242
Controversy Between
13
11
AROMA DI AMORE
De Nacht en Zijn Kwaad
12
11
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)
12
11
PALAIS IDEAL
Context Collapse (official video)
11
11
DUSK
EPOKA 3000 (extended version)
10
11
PARADOX OBSCUR
Afterlife Effect (Official Video)
09
11
MEANDER
This is Meander.