tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

19/11/2015 : AMORPHOUS - Behaviourism

AMORPHOUS

Behaviourism

MusicCD
EBMElectroIndustrial

[88/100]   

Semantics Productions
19/11/2015, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Gil Os is the ex-frontman of the Brazilian industrial act Morgue Mechanism, and Amorphous is his new solo project. The label Semantics Productions releases Behavourism via the digital way and on red CD’s (of course in a limited edition).

Behavourism contains some fascinating stuff, it is a collection of danceable songs that can be labelled as EBM with an industrial touch. The drum machines with tight beats and melodies that come from many synthesizers, are topped with a distorted voice.

The opening track Lucid Dreams has a superb old school EBM drumbeat. The electronic sounds and the many bleeps are just a foreplay, soon after you’ll hear very danceable songs in the most diverse styles.

Less Is More is a feat of sounds and beats, you get the illusion that they are involved in a fight with each other. It is not the best song on the CD, but unique because of its structure.

Due to the EBM beat Wolf & Lamb sounds irresistible, with a melody that could fit the better dance hit, but again with a dark sound.

Four Paths is again another style. It sounds a bit mimimal because of the 80's synths.

Akasha is more drum 'n' bass inspired. It's trance and dreamy. In Immortality the tough dark beats return!

The remixes are done by befriended bands: 2nd Face, Homicidal Feelings, Cybernetic Faces of Aesthetic. Lucid Dreams and Less Is More are reworked in other electro styles, mostly with aggressive beats and aggrotech and industrial sounds. Nevertheless, the songs remain recognizable and they are also good.

Behaviourism is ideal for lovers of EBM, hard electro and industrial.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
19/11/2015


NL

Vanuit de UK laat bezieler Gil Os (ex-frontman van de Braziliaanse industrial act Morgue Mechanism) ons genieten van zijn nieuw solo-project Amorphous. Het label Semantics Productions brengt het zowel uit via digitale weg, als op rode cd’s (en natuurlijk in een beperkte oplage).

Behavourism bevat boeiend werk, een collectie dansbare songs die als EBM met een industrial tintje kan worden gecatalogiseerd. De drumcomputers met strakke beats en de melodieën, gemaakt met veel synthesizers, worden overgoten met een stemgeluid dat een karrevracht distortie bevat.

Het openingsnummer Lucid Dreams heeft een oldschool EBM-drumbeat om u tegen te zeggen. Het elektronische geluid en de vele bliepjes die je hoort zijn een voorbode van wat volgen zal: heel dansbare nummers in de meest diverse stijlen.

Less Is More is een huzarenstukje van klanken en beats, je hebt de illusie dat ze met elkaar in een gevecht zijn verwikkeld. Na een dikke minuut vloeit dit naadloos over in een alweer donker dansbaar nummer. Niet het beste nummer op de cd, maar wegens zijn opbouw heel uniek.

Wolf & Lamb is een nummer dat alweer aanstekelijk werkt door de EBM-beat, met hier en daar wat flarden melodie uit de betere danshit, maar ook hier klinkt het donker.

In het nummer Four Paths wordt weer uit een ander electrovat getapt. Het klinkt iets meer mimimal door de synthklanken die rechtstreeks uit de 80s komen.

Akasha draagt dan weer een drum 'n' bass-achtig jasje. Het is een iets meer trance, zweverig en dromerig. In Immortality worden dan weer de snoeiharde darkbeats door de boxen gejaagd.

De remixes die volgen zijn afkomstig van bevriende bands: 2nd Face, Homicidal Feelings, Cybernetic Faces of Aesthetische. De nummers Lucid Dreams en Less Is More worden door nog andere electromolens gehaald en zijn leuk om te horen. De meeste krijgen een agressiever tintje door de beats, alsook meer aggrotech- en industrialgeluiden. Desalniettemin blijven de songs herkenbaar en zijn ze bovendien nog goed ook.

Voor de liefhebbers van EBM, hardere electro en industrial is Behaviourism een absolute aanrader.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
19/11/2015


 

Next reviews
KIRLIAN CAMERA • It Doesn't Matter Now
MODEL VILLAGE • Healing Centre
DES AMES LIBRES • Thick EP
EVEREST MAGMA • Modern/Antique
CHARNIER • Charnier
SIMPLE MINDS • Brussels, Vorst Nationaal (14/11/2015)
MARCEL VANTHILT • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • Shattered Illusion
JOHNATHAN|CHRISTIAN • The Nothing I Feel
CROOKED WEATHER • Long Garden (12”)

 

Other reviews from AMORPHOUS
AMORPHOUS • Shapeshifting

 

Same combination of genres: EBM + ELECTRO + INDUSTRIAL
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
DIVE • Where do we go from here
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux
PORTION CONTROL • Head Buried
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
DIVE • Live Maschinenfest 2017
DIVE • Underneath
NOSTROMO 7 • Existence / Rewired & Reborn
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Dependence 2015 (next level electronics)
THE GOTHSICLES • Icarius

 

Same genre: EBM
WULF7 • I don't want (Anymore)
TRAGIC IMPULSE • Distant Worlds
STAATSEINDE • Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
SAMHAIN • Experiment
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Desctruction
RHYS FULBER • Brutal Nature
ORANGE SECTOR • Alles wird Gold
HERRNIA • Takkewereld
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
ADULT. • Becoming Undone
J:DEAD • Tearing me apart
JIHAD • Retrospekt
MILDREDA • I was never really there
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
POTOCHKINE • Sortilèges
BLUTENGEL • Fountain of Destiny
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN • 40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
HOCICO • HyperViolent
MATT HART • Decimate
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
MATT HART • TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
IMPERATIVE REACTION • Mirror
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
JESU • When I Was Small

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!
05
08
Industrial artist, Nuda addresses past trauma & mental illness with 'Trigger'
05
08
Darkwave Duo Sever The Servants Drop Apocalyptic Debut LP

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
ROME
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)
02
08
DIE KRUPPS
Goldfinger
01
08
ZARDONIC
Revelation