tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cassette review

18/11/2015 : CHARNIER - Charnier

CHARNIER

Charnier

MusicCassette
New wave

[76/100]   

Wool-E Tapes
18/11/2015, Ruben SAEY

EN

No one can deny it any longer: new wave is back! It was never gone, as those who started the quest eventually found some gems, it was just a bit hidden in the background. Of course there are many new young bands that are trying to find their way with a personal sound, Charnier from Brussels for instance.

I saw them play as support for She Past Away in Brussels and I was surprised by their mix of new wave, some cold wave and some industrial influences. Elements that were also used in the heyday of The Neon Judgement, Siglo XX and even The Cure.

The mini album Charnier is released on cassette by Wool-E-Tapes from Ghent, for the occasion of Cassette Store Day on 17th October 2015. You read that right, this is a cassette, so with the real spirit of the early days of the new wave. The album contains six songs, each with its own character, ranging from post-punk in which the guitars rule, like in the opening song Bodies Flap Out, to doomy cold wave as in Can’t You Remember, with typical synth sounds, and the very danceable new wave track Another Floor. This tape offers you a nice opportunity to hear what you can expect from Charnier. A must for those who love contemporary Belgian new wave.

Ruben SAEY
18/11/2015


NL

Dat new wave weer aan een opmars bezig is, wordt steeds vaker merkbaar. Het is voor wie het wist te vinden nooit echt weg geweest, gewoon wat naar de achtergrond verdwenen. Gelukkig zijn er steeds nieuwe jonge bands die hun weg zoeken met het daarbij horende eigen geluid, zo ook Charnier uit Brussel.

Ik zag ze aan het werk in het voorprogramma van She Past Away in Brussel en was aangenaam verrast door hun mix van new wave, wat cold wave, en hier en daar wat industrial invloeden. Elementen die je ook in de hoogdagen van The Neon Judgement, Siglo XX en zelfs The Cure kon terugvinden.

Het mini-album Charnier is op cassette uitgebracht door het Gentse label Wool-E-Tapes voor de Cassette Store Day op 17 oktober 2015. Je leest het goed, dit is een cassette, dus helemaal naar de geest van de begindagen van de new wave. Het album bevat 6 nummers, elk met hun eigen karakter, gaande van lichte postpunk waarin de gitaren de bovenhand krijgen zoals in het openingsnummer Bodies Flap Out, tot de doomy coldwave van Can’t You Remember met typische synthgeluiden, of gewoon heel dansbare new wave zoals in Another Floor. Een mooie staalkaart van wat je van Charnier mag verwachten, dus. Een aanrader voor wie van eigentijdse Belgische new wave houdt.

Ruben SAEY
18/11/2015


Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
03
Electro/Industrial Artist I YA TOYAH Unleashes New Single & Video, 'Out Of Order'
04
03
Firestarter | Celebrating The Sound Of The Prodigy And The Impact Of Keith Flint who past away 2 years ago.
03
03
MATHLOVSKY ANNOUNCES NEWEST SINGLE AND LP
02
03
DINOSAUR JR. ANNOUCE NEWEST LP TO BE RELEASED IN APRIL
02
03
Through The Looking Glass | The Siouxsie & The Banshees Masterpiece Released 34 Years Ago Today!
01
03
SEX GANG CHILDREN PREMIERE NEW SINGLE - DEATH MASK MUSSOLINI

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

04
03
MERCIFUL NUNS
Broken Column
03
03
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies
02
03
GAVIN FRIDAY
It's All Ahead Of You
01
03
THE BREATH OF LIFE
CRIME PASSIONNEL
28
02
LCN (LE CHOCOLAT NOIR)
N'Écoutez Pas Tous Les Conseils De Vos Amis (Official Music Video)
27
02
ANTIPOLE
Part Deux
26
02
WILDNORTHE
Swamp