tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cassette review

18/11/2015 : CHARNIER - Charnier

CHARNIER

Charnier

MusicCassette
New wave

[76/100]   

Wool-E Tapes
18/11/2015, Ruben SAEY

EN

No one can deny it any longer: new wave is back! It was never gone, as those who started the quest eventually found some gems, it was just a bit hidden in the background. Of course there are many new young bands that are trying to find their way with a personal sound, Charnier from Brussels for instance.

I saw them play as support for She Past Away in Brussels and I was surprised by their mix of new wave, some cold wave and some industrial influences. Elements that were also used in the heyday of The Neon Judgement, Siglo XX and even The Cure.

The mini album Charnier is released on cassette by Wool-E-Tapes from Ghent, for the occasion of Cassette Store Day on 17th October 2015. You read that right, this is a cassette, so with the real spirit of the early days of the new wave. The album contains six songs, each with its own character, ranging from post-punk in which the guitars rule, like in the opening song Bodies Flap Out, to doomy cold wave as in Can’t You Remember, with typical synth sounds, and the very danceable new wave track Another Floor. This tape offers you a nice opportunity to hear what you can expect from Charnier. A must for those who love contemporary Belgian new wave.

Ruben SAEY
18/11/2015


NL

Dat new wave weer aan een opmars bezig is, wordt steeds vaker merkbaar. Het is voor wie het wist te vinden nooit echt weg geweest, gewoon wat naar de achtergrond verdwenen. Gelukkig zijn er steeds nieuwe jonge bands die hun weg zoeken met het daarbij horende eigen geluid, zo ook Charnier uit Brussel.

Ik zag ze aan het werk in het voorprogramma van She Past Away in Brussel en was aangenaam verrast door hun mix van new wave, wat cold wave, en hier en daar wat industrial invloeden. Elementen die je ook in de hoogdagen van The Neon Judgement, Siglo XX en zelfs The Cure kon terugvinden.

Het mini-album Charnier is op cassette uitgebracht door het Gentse label Wool-E-Tapes voor de Cassette Store Day op 17 oktober 2015. Je leest het goed, dit is een cassette, dus helemaal naar de geest van de begindagen van de new wave. Het album bevat 6 nummers, elk met hun eigen karakter, gaande van lichte postpunk waarin de gitaren de bovenhand krijgen zoals in het openingsnummer Bodies Flap Out, tot de doomy coldwave van Can’t You Remember met typische synthgeluiden, of gewoon heel dansbare new wave zoals in Another Floor. Een mooie staalkaart van wat je van Charnier mag verwachten, dus. Een aanrader voor wie van eigentijdse Belgische new wave houdt.

Ruben SAEY
18/11/2015


Music reviews

19
01
THE PULSEBEATS
LOOKIN’ OUT
18
01
ANALFABETISM
Rotvälta
17
01
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Desctruction
23
12
SYGO CRIES
Talking about walls
22
12
DIRK DA DAVO
King Of Fools
21
12
RHYS FULBER
Brutal Nature

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
01
On this day, 12 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
The Jesus and Mary Chain have signed to London-based independent label Fuzz Club Records.
21
01
Today, exactly 29 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
20
01
'Giving Ground”…and Gaining It: The First Sisterhood Single, 36 ago, 20 January 1986
19
01
Electronic Band LUSCIOUS APPARATUS Addresses Domestic Violence With New Single, 'Infiltrate'
19
01
On this day, 31 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
01
25 YEARS OF AHRAYEPH
Everything I do, right or wrong, is being determined by my autism
17
12
SOPHIA LUCIA
Blurring Boundaries
11
12
JAH WOBBLE
'Bass was considered being among dying instruments for years. Dub pushed it to the front...'
05
12
MOVMENT
Finding Truth Through Dakness
26
11
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW
I’m not a conservative songwriter and I’m not interested in the status quo; I’m interested in progress.

PHOTOS

07
11
GARY NUMAN
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
COVENANT
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
AND ALSO THE TREES
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
A SPLIT - SECOND
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
LEAETHER STRIP
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
KORINTHIANS
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
01
DAVID BOWIE
Fashion
20
01
FAUNLET
Anatomy
19
01
PSY'AVIAH FT MARIEKE LIGHTBAND
The Great Disconnect
18
01
WULFBAND
Gewalt!
17
01
MATT HART
Decimate
16
01
THE YOUNG GODS
Figure sans nom
15
01
FATAL CASUALTIES
No Heaven