tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cassette review

18/11/2015 : CHARNIER - Charnier

CHARNIER

Charnier

MusicCassette
New wave

[76/100]   

Wool-E Tapes
18/11/2015, Ruben SAEY

EN

No one can deny it any longer: new wave is back! It was never gone, as those who started the quest eventually found some gems, it was just a bit hidden in the background. Of course there are many new young bands that are trying to find their way with a personal sound, Charnier from Brussels for instance.

I saw them play as support for She Past Away in Brussels and I was surprised by their mix of new wave, some cold wave and some industrial influences. Elements that were also used in the heyday of The Neon Judgement, Siglo XX and even The Cure.

The mini album Charnier is released on cassette by Wool-E-Tapes from Ghent, for the occasion of Cassette Store Day on 17th October 2015. You read that right, this is a cassette, so with the real spirit of the early days of the new wave. The album contains six songs, each with its own character, ranging from post-punk in which the guitars rule, like in the opening song Bodies Flap Out, to doomy cold wave as in Can’t You Remember, with typical synth sounds, and the very danceable new wave track Another Floor. This tape offers you a nice opportunity to hear what you can expect from Charnier. A must for those who love contemporary Belgian new wave.

Ruben SAEY
18/11/2015


NL

Dat new wave weer aan een opmars bezig is, wordt steeds vaker merkbaar. Het is voor wie het wist te vinden nooit echt weg geweest, gewoon wat naar de achtergrond verdwenen. Gelukkig zijn er steeds nieuwe jonge bands die hun weg zoeken met het daarbij horende eigen geluid, zo ook Charnier uit Brussel.

Ik zag ze aan het werk in het voorprogramma van She Past Away in Brussel en was aangenaam verrast door hun mix van new wave, wat cold wave, en hier en daar wat industrial invloeden. Elementen die je ook in de hoogdagen van The Neon Judgement, Siglo XX en zelfs The Cure kon terugvinden.

Het mini-album Charnier is op cassette uitgebracht door het Gentse label Wool-E-Tapes voor de Cassette Store Day op 17 oktober 2015. Je leest het goed, dit is een cassette, dus helemaal naar de geest van de begindagen van de new wave. Het album bevat 6 nummers, elk met hun eigen karakter, gaande van lichte postpunk waarin de gitaren de bovenhand krijgen zoals in het openingsnummer Bodies Flap Out, tot de doomy coldwave van Can’t You Remember met typische synthgeluiden, of gewoon heel dansbare new wave zoals in Another Floor. Een mooie staalkaart van wat je van Charnier mag verwachten, dus. Een aanrader voor wie van eigentijdse Belgische new wave houdt.

Ruben SAEY
18/11/2015


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

17
08
SISTERS OF MERCY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
17
08
THE MISSION
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
08
CASPIAN
Arcs of Command
17
08
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel