tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this digital review

18/11/2015 : JOHNATHAN|CHRISTIAN - The Nothing I Feel

JOHNATHAN|CHRISTIAN

The Nothing I Feel

MusicDigital
Dark WaveGothic RockNew wave

[80/100]   
18/11/2015, Ron SCHOONWATER

EN

The band describes its music as dark wave rock'n'roll doom and although it is not very smart to use the same words when you’re a reviewer, it is a good description.

The Swedish post punk musician Christian Granquist and New Creatures keyboardist Johnathan Moody made with The Nothing I Feel a powerful album. Although there are many 80s influences (think The Sisters Of Mercy, Bauhaus, Joy Division and The Mission) the band has enough personal input to sound different within the permitted framework.

Sometimes it refers to the industrial rock of Mortiis, especially in the vocals. The strongest point of this album is that the songs are intelligent with a beginning and an end, but also plenty of surprises. The production sounds a bit raw, but it fits perfectly with the music and leaves enough space for detaisl, so that for example the classical arrangements in the opening and title track are perfectly audible. The Nothing I Feel sounds consistently good. There is the accessible Goodbye Horses (cover of Q Lazarus), the attractive and danceable semi-ballad Forgotten and danceable, the very Mortiis oriented The Pink & The Blackhearts or Face To Face (a cover of Siouxsie And The Banshees). The other songs have the same quality,The Nothing I Feel is just a good record.

Ron SCHOONWATER
18/11/2015


NL

De band omschrijft z'n muziek als darkwave-rock ‘n roll-doom en hoewel het niet netjes is om dit dan te gebruiken in recensentenland is het wel een goede omschrijving.

De Zweedse postpunker Christian Granquist en New Creatures keyboard speler Johnathan Moody hebben met The Nothing I Feel een sfeervol en sterk album in handen. Hoewel invloeden vanuit de jaren tachtig (denk The Sisters Of Mercy, Bauhaus, Joy Division en The Mission) voelbaar zijn, heeft de band voldoende eigen input om, binnen de toegestane krijtlijnen, anders te klinken. Soms refereert het materiaal zelfs aan de industrial rock van Mortiis, vooral door de vocalen. De sterkste kant van dit album is dat de composities goed doordacht zijn met een begin en een einde, maar ook voldoende verrassingen.

De productie klinkt ietwat rauw, maar dat past juist prima bij de muziek en laat voldoende ruimte voor detail, waardoor bijv. de klassieke arrangementen bij het openings- en tevens titelnummer perfect te horen zijn. Hoewel The Nothing I Feel consequent goed klinkt, geven de volgende songs een goed beeld van Johnatan|Christian. Het langzaam opgebouwde en toegankelijke Goodbye Horses (een cover van Q Lazarus), de sfeervolle semi-ballade Forgotten en het dansbare, bijna Mortiis georiënteerde The Pink & The Black of Face To Face (cover van Siouxsie And The Banshees). De overige nummers hebben dezelfde kwaliteit,waardoor The Nothing I Feel gewoon een goede plaat is.

Ron SCHOONWATER
18/11/2015


 

Next reviews
CROOKED WEATHER • Long Garden (12”)
PSEUDO CODE • Remains to be Heard Volume 1&2
DER NOIR • A Certain Idea Of Love
SIMPLE MINDS • Antwerp, Lotto Arena (15/11/2015)
MONICA RICHARDS • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
URN • Epiphany
TYSKE LUDDER • Evolution
THE BLOWOUTS • A Veteran of Sorts
RIPPER • A.D.
SHOPPING • Why Choose

 

Same combination of genres: DARK WAVE + GOTHIC ROCK + NEW WAVE
THE SECOND WAVE • Various Artists
ALIEN HAND SYNDROME • Slumber

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
OCTOLAB • Mystery Park
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Pink Obsession
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
DARK DOOR • Inferno

 

Same genre: GOTHIC ROCK
PIG • Pain Is God
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • DIAMONDS
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
MONO INC. • The Book Of Fire
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
WISBORG • From the Cradle to the Coffin
WISBORG • From the Cradle to the Coffin
PALE BLUE MOON • Supernatural

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
DAGEIST • Sexy
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju

Music reviews

16
04
AD:KEY
I can't feel you
16
04
PORTION CONTROL
SEED EP3
15
04
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL
A New Dawn
15
04
IN ABSENTIA
Charnel House Chatterbox (Remastered 2021)
14
04
THE BURYING KIND
The Burying Kind ( EP )
05
04
VARIOUS ARTISTS
Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
04
36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed No Time To Cry on German TV!
16
04
On this day, 36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed ‘No Time to Cry’ on German TV
15
04
On this day, 20 years ago, FAD GADGET performed his first legendary come-back show!
14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene (° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
04
COCTEAU TWINS
Carolyn's Fingers
15
04
FAITH AND THE MUSE
Battle Hymn
14
04
MESH
It scares me
13
04
MONOTONE EXPRESSION
Out Of Tune With Life
12
04
LAID BACK
White Horse
11
04
VOK
Waterfall
10
04
SVEN VATH VS. ANTHONY ROTHER
Komm