tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this digital review

18/11/2015 : JOHNATHAN|CHRISTIAN - The Nothing I Feel

JOHNATHAN|CHRISTIAN

The Nothing I Feel

MusicDigital
Dark WaveGothic RockNew wave

[80/100]   
18/11/2015, Ron SCHOONWATER

EN

The band describes its music as dark wave rock'n'roll doom and although it is not very smart to use the same words when you’re a reviewer, it is a good description.

The Swedish post punk musician Christian Granquist and New Creatures keyboardist Johnathan Moody made with The Nothing I Feel a powerful album. Although there are many 80s influences (think The Sisters Of Mercy, Bauhaus, Joy Division and The Mission) the band has enough personal input to sound different within the permitted framework.

Sometimes it refers to the industrial rock of Mortiis, especially in the vocals. The strongest point of this album is that the songs are intelligent with a beginning and an end, but also plenty of surprises. The production sounds a bit raw, but it fits perfectly with the music and leaves enough space for detaisl, so that for example the classical arrangements in the opening and title track are perfectly audible. The Nothing I Feel sounds consistently good. There is the accessible Goodbye Horses (cover of Q Lazarus), the attractive and danceable semi-ballad Forgotten and danceable, the very Mortiis oriented The Pink & The Blackhearts or Face To Face (a cover of Siouxsie And The Banshees). The other songs have the same quality,The Nothing I Feel is just a good record.

Ron SCHOONWATER
18/11/2015


NL

De band omschrijft z'n muziek als darkwave-rock ‘n roll-doom en hoewel het niet netjes is om dit dan te gebruiken in recensentenland is het wel een goede omschrijving.

De Zweedse postpunker Christian Granquist en New Creatures keyboard speler Johnathan Moody hebben met The Nothing I Feel een sfeervol en sterk album in handen. Hoewel invloeden vanuit de jaren tachtig (denk The Sisters Of Mercy, Bauhaus, Joy Division en The Mission) voelbaar zijn, heeft de band voldoende eigen input om, binnen de toegestane krijtlijnen, anders te klinken. Soms refereert het materiaal zelfs aan de industrial rock van Mortiis, vooral door de vocalen. De sterkste kant van dit album is dat de composities goed doordacht zijn met een begin en een einde, maar ook voldoende verrassingen.

De productie klinkt ietwat rauw, maar dat past juist prima bij de muziek en laat voldoende ruimte voor detail, waardoor bijv. de klassieke arrangementen bij het openings- en tevens titelnummer perfect te horen zijn. Hoewel The Nothing I Feel consequent goed klinkt, geven de volgende songs een goed beeld van Johnatan|Christian. Het langzaam opgebouwde en toegankelijke Goodbye Horses (een cover van Q Lazarus), de sfeervolle semi-ballade Forgotten en het dansbare, bijna Mortiis georiënteerde The Pink & The Black of Face To Face (cover van Siouxsie And The Banshees). De overige nummers hebben dezelfde kwaliteit,waardoor The Nothing I Feel gewoon een goede plaat is.

Ron SCHOONWATER
18/11/2015


 

Next reviews
CROOKED WEATHER • Long Garden (12”)
PSEUDO CODE • Remains to be Heard Volume 1&2
DER NOIR • A Certain Idea Of Love
SIMPLE MINDS • Antwerp, Lotto Arena (15/11/2015)
MONICA RICHARDS • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
URN • Epiphany
TYSKE LUDDER • Evolution
THE BLOWOUTS • A Veteran of Sorts
RIPPER • A.D.
SHOPPING • Why Choose

 

Same combination of genres: DARK WAVE + GOTHIC ROCK + NEW WAVE
THE SECOND WAVE • Various Artists
ALIEN HAND SYNDROME • Slumber

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
OCTOLAB • Mystery Park
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Pink Obsession
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
DARK DOOR • Inferno
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Hologram Moon

 

Same genre: GOTHIC ROCK
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • DIAMONDS
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
MONO INC. • The Book Of Fire
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
WISBORG • From the Cradle to the Coffin
WISBORG • From the Cradle to the Coffin
PALE BLUE MOON • Supernatural
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
DAGEIST • Sexy
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju

Music reviews

19
10
DREADFOOL
Atoms for peace
18
10
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
All Thoughts Fly Sweden
17
10
FATAL CASUALTIES
Lullaby for Helsinki
16
10
JESU
When I Was Small
12
10
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Mindstrip Redux
09
10
PORTION CONTROL
SEED EP1

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

17
10
Electronic/Alternative Artist CARVR Unleashes Debut Single & Visualizer, 'Erase Me'
16
10
SAMMI DOLL Releases Official Music Video for 'AN OM IE'
09
10
Baby Turns Blue and 38 today!
08
10
'Deathgaze' Band VAZUM Unleashes Halloween-Themed Album, 'Rated V'
07
10
20 years of Mindstrip by Suicide Commando!
06
10
New MOTOR!K album MOTOR!K - 2 - Out Now!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
10
LISA GERRARD(DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form
17
10
DREADFOOL
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... DREADFOOL!
16
10
AKALOTZ
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... AKALOTZ!
26
09
THIS ETERNAL DECAY
In The Early Days We Spent More Time Drinking And Partying Rather Than Playing

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
10
SALLY DIGE
Holding On
18
10
A DARKER COLOR BRIGHT
Fluorescent
17
10
EYE STEAL
Burn Alive
16
10
PIETER VERMEYEN
Deep Into The Woods
15
10
PLASTIC NOISE EXPERIENCE
Gold (Live at WGT 2014)
14
10
FRONT 242
Headhunter (Live @ AB, Brussels 01.12.2017)
13
10
VIRGIN IN VEIL
Of Tears and Poisons