tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this 12 inch review

01/12/2020 : THE MARS MODEL - Sister Glory / Frozen in Time

THE MARS MODEL

Sister Glory / Frozen in Time

Music12 inch
Gothic RockPost Punk

[91/100]   

FX7 Records
01/12/2020, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

After the very much appreciated first album Francobelge, The Mars Model delights us once more with their 12”, Sister Glory / Frozen in Time. This beautiful 12” vynil contains two songs and is released on Fx7 Records. ‘Sister Glory’ was launched with a great video clip by Jeroen Mylle. It’s a song that hints at post-punk, in which Hans Verbeke's vocal qualities are nicely highlighted. The guitar work is mesmerizing and intoxicating. Supported by a solidly jumping bass guitar and synths that subtly form the binding agent of the entire song. Covid still dwells, but I really hope to see The Mars Model live at work soon. A band, only formed in 2019, that already occupies a solid place in the guitar-oriented Belgium gothic rock spectrum.

For the real die-hards, the EP will be released in two editions. One of which will be only limited to 62 copies. So be fast!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
01/12/2020


NL

Na hun heel erg gesmaakte eersteling Francobelge, verblijdt The Mars Model ons met een tweede EP. Deze prachtige 12" vynil bevat twee songs en verscheen op Fx7 Records.

Eén van de twee songs, Sister Glory, werd gelanceerd met een geweldige videoclip van de hand van Jeroen Mylle.
Het is een naar postpunk knipogende song waarbij Hans Verbekes vocale kwaliteiten mooi in de verf komen te staan. Het gitaarwerk is bezwerend en bedwelmend en wordt ondersteund door een stevig in het rond springende basgitaar. De subtiel aanwezige synths vormen het bindmiddel van de gehele song.

Frozen in Time is meer darkwave. Tergend slepend, bijna moedeloos klinkt het. Donker en sferisch tot in de kleinste groef van het doorschijnende vinyl. De vrouwelijke vocalen van Sandra Sena Nowak bepalen mee de sfeer in deze song. En wat voor vocalen! Nu corona heel wat bands in een vorm van winterslaap heeft gesust, nu nieuw materiaal niet live kan worden gespeeld, heeft deze song me, los van temperatuur, enorm veel kippenvel bezorgd. Hans' stem, gecombineerd met die van Sandra én de geweldige synths pakken je compleet in voor een zalige vertoeven in een andere dimensie. De gitaren blijven achterwege en geven het podium aan de synths.

Covid is een spelbreker, maar ik hoop echt The Mars Model snel live aan het werk te mogen zien. Een Belgische band die pas in 2019 gevormd werd, maar nu al een stevige plaats inneemt in het gitaargerichte gothic rock-spectrum. En met deze EP ook laat horen dat ze nog méér in hun mars hebben.

Voor de echte die hards : de EP verschijnt in twee edities, waarvan een limited edition op 63 exemplaren.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
01/12/2020


 

Next reviews
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • The Dread Files
FIRST • Restless
AD:KEY • Resonanz
SWANS • Children Of GodFeel Good Now
ERASURE • THE NEON
ASSEMBLAGE 23 • Mourn
DREADFOOL • Atoms for peace
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF • All Thoughts Fly Sweden
FATAL CASUALTIES • Lullaby for Helsinki
JESU • When I Was Small

 

Other reviews from THE MARS MODEL
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga

 

Same combination of genres: GOTHIC ROCK + POST PUNK
PINK TURNS BLUE • There Must Be So Much More
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
NAUT • Raise The Lights
RAZORLINE • Razorline
BEYOND SOUL • Passion Black Dimension
VICTORIENT • The Old Curiosity Shop
MASQUERADE • Blood is the New Black
CRIMSON SCARLET • Collection: 2011-2014
FADING RAIN • Winter Ballads
BABY FIRE • The Red Robe

 

Same genre: GOTHIC ROCK
PIG • Pain Is God
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • DIAMONDS
MONO INC. • The Book Of Fire
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
WISBORG • From the Cradle to the Coffin
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
WISBORG • From the Cradle to the Coffin
PALE BLUE MOON • Supernatural
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Love Was Lies
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
RINGFINGER • Pressure
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling

Music reviews

22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More
21
04
POTOCHKINE
Sortilèges
20
04
BLUTENGEL
Fountain of Destiny
19
04
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
Witches' Lullaby
18
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Love Was Lies
16
04
AD:KEY
I can't feel you

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
04
Today, 35 years ago, Siouxsie and the Banshees released Tinderbox!
16
04
36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed No Time To Cry on German TV!
16
04
On this day, 36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed ‘No Time to Cry’ on German TV
15
04
On this day, 20 years ago, FAD GADGET performed his first legendary come-back show!
14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene (° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
04
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
Mountains Crave
21
04
SECRETS OF THE MOON
Man Behind The Sun
20
04
VIOLENT VICKIE
Cicle Square
19
04
VUKOVAR
When Rome Falls (Official Video)
19
04
SECRET ZOO
Enslaved
18
04
TROUBLE FAIT'
Beads of Emerald
17
04
LYNCELIA
Self-Mystery Girl