tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

18/11/2020 : AD:KEY - Resonanz

AD:KEY

Resonanz

MusicCD
EBMElectro

[74/100]   

Alfa-Matrix
18/11/2020, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

The Berlin duo AD: KEY hits us with the sixth full studio album Resonanz. The basis remains a festive celebration of Electronic Body Music with explosive bass lines, hammering beats, catchy synth melodies and powerful combinations of male and female vocals in both German and English.

They continue building on and exploring on the characteristic sound that they have developed in recent years. Release after release, the duo Andrea and Rene Nowotny secured their place in the electro scene. Their musical spectrum contains also ingredients of minimal (analog) synth melodies that regularly receive hi-energy sequences as an extra. Still they remain true to their individuality, with the alternating male and female vocals.

The first edition of this album is available as a limited double CD deluxe Digi-pack containing a disc with 12 bonus tracks including alternate versions created by AD: KEY itself, plus also impressive and unexpected energetic collaborations with Schramm, Steril, Armageddon Dildos and Rossi BM.

In any case, it is varied. From songs with a more minimalistic slant such as ‘This Is Not The Time’ or ‘Schlachtfeld Der Liebe’, to rock solid old school EBM stompers of the highest level, such as ‘Herz Lass Los’ or ‘Ich Will Dass Du Jetzt Gehst’.

‘Du Und Ich’ is again a more poppy sounding synth-pop song with lots of potential. Also ’Alles Was Ich Will’ fits this style, even if the pace slows down a bit here. ‘I Can’t Feel You’ throws one back to the synthy sounds of the 1980s.

The duo clearly shows that they have this electronic genre in their blood and fully support it. The album is varied in terms of styles, technically very nicely put together, but compared to the previous one I do miss the more solid, straightforward feeling. Despite the fact that it sounds musically wider, I feel it doesn’t stick as much as their previous work.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
18/11/2020


NL

Het Berlijnse duo AD:KEY slaat ons om de oren met hun zesde volledige studioalbum Resonanz. De basis blijft een feestelijke viering van de Electronic Body Music met explosieve baslijnen, hamerende beats, pakkende synthmelodieën en krachtige combinaties van mannelijke en vrouwelijke vocalen zowel in het Duits als in het Engels.

Ze bouwen verder op de karakteristieke sound die de afgelopen jaren, release na release, het duo Andrea en Rene Nowotny hun plaats in de electro-scène liet veroveren. De rest van het muzikale spectrum wordt ingenomen door minimale analoge synthmelodieën met regelmatig hi-energy sequences als extraatje. Ze blijven trouw aan hun eigenheid, met de afwisselende mannelijke en vrouwelijke vocalen.

De eerste editie van dit album is verkrijgbaar als een gelimiteerde dubbel-CD deluxe digipak met 12 bonustracks: alternatieve versies gemaakt door AD:KEY zelf, plus indrukwekkende en onverwacht energieke samenwerkingen met Schramm, Steril, Armageddon Dildos en Rossi BM.

Gevarieerd is het in alle geval. Van songs met een eerder minimalistische inslag zoals This Is Not The Time of Schlachtfeld Der Liebe, tot oerdegelijke old school EBM-stompers van het hoogste niveau zoals Herz Lass Los of Ich Will Dass Du Jetzt Gehst.

Du Und Ich is dan weer een meer poppy klinkende synthpop-song met wel heel veel potentieel. Alles Was Ich Will sluit daar qua stijl naadloos bij aan, al gaat het tempo even een versnellinge lager. I Can’t Feel You dompelt je onder in de synthsounds van de jaren ’80 van het vorige millennium.

Het duo laat duidelijk merken dat ze het electronische genre in het bloed hebben en een warm hart toedragen. Het is gevarieerd qua stijlen, technisch zit het heel mooi in elkaar, maar in vergelijking met voorgaande albums mis ik het meer stevige, rechttoe rechtaan gevoel. Het is niet zo beklijvens, ook al is het muzikaal breder.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
18/11/2020


18/11/2020 : AD:KEY - Resonanz 18/11/2020 : AD:KEY - Resonanz

Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
02
Today it's exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released March Of The Pigs!
25
02
Mirror Man | Mourning The Sad Passing Of Talk Talk’s Mark Hollis - 2 ago.
23
02
Today, it’s 43 years ago that renowned BBC DJ John Peel broadcast the second John Peel session by Siouxsie & The Banshees
20
02
This Charming Band | 37 Years Ago, The Smiths Release Their Debut Album
19
02
Gothic Industrial Band BATAVIA Unveils Remix Album, Batavia And Their Friends
18
02
Dissonance's New Single, 'Damage: First Assault' Ft. Melodywhore out NOW

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
02
ANTIPOLE
Part Deux
26
02
WILDNORTHE
Swamp
25
02
NEW ORDER
Regret
24
02
MANDIVULA
GHSTNG
23
02
CABARET VOLTAIRE
Nag Nag Nag
22
02
BEBORN BETON
Last Day On Earth
21
02
SCHWEFELGELB
Zu Zweit