tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

18/11/2020 : AD:KEY - Resonanz

AD:KEY

Resonanz

MusicCD
EBMElectro

[74/100]   

Alfa-Matrix
18/11/2020, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

The Berlin duo AD: KEY hits us with the sixth full studio album Resonanz. The basis remains a festive celebration of Electronic Body Music with explosive bass lines, hammering beats, catchy synth melodies and powerful combinations of male and female vocals in both German and English.

They continue building on and exploring on the characteristic sound that they have developed in recent years. Release after release, the duo Andrea and Rene Nowotny secured their place in the electro scene. Their musical spectrum contains also ingredients of minimal (analog) synth melodies that regularly receive hi-energy sequences as an extra. Still they remain true to their individuality, with the alternating male and female vocals.

The first edition of this album is available as a limited double CD deluxe Digi-pack containing a disc with 12 bonus tracks including alternate versions created by AD: KEY itself, plus also impressive and unexpected energetic collaborations with Schramm, Steril, Armageddon Dildos and Rossi BM.

In any case, it is varied. From songs with a more minimalistic slant such as ‘This Is Not The Time’ or ‘Schlachtfeld Der Liebe’, to rock solid old school EBM stompers of the highest level, such as ‘Herz Lass Los’ or ‘Ich Will Dass Du Jetzt Gehst’.

‘Du Und Ich’ is again a more poppy sounding synth-pop song with lots of potential. Also ’Alles Was Ich Will’ fits this style, even if the pace slows down a bit here. ‘I Can’t Feel You’ throws one back to the synthy sounds of the 1980s.

The duo clearly shows that they have this electronic genre in their blood and fully support it. The album is varied in terms of styles, technically very nicely put together, but compared to the previous one I do miss the more solid, straightforward feeling. Despite the fact that it sounds musically wider, I feel it doesn’t stick as much as their previous work.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
18/11/2020


NL

Het Berlijnse duo AD:KEY slaat ons om de oren met hun zesde volledige studioalbum Resonanz. De basis blijft een feestelijke viering van de Electronic Body Music met explosieve baslijnen, hamerende beats, pakkende synthmelodieën en krachtige combinaties van mannelijke en vrouwelijke vocalen zowel in het Duits als in het Engels.

Ze bouwen verder op de karakteristieke sound die de afgelopen jaren, release na release, het duo Andrea en Rene Nowotny hun plaats in de electro-scène liet veroveren. De rest van het muzikale spectrum wordt ingenomen door minimale analoge synthmelodieën met regelmatig hi-energy sequences als extraatje. Ze blijven trouw aan hun eigenheid, met de afwisselende mannelijke en vrouwelijke vocalen.

De eerste editie van dit album is verkrijgbaar als een gelimiteerde dubbel-CD deluxe digipak met 12 bonustracks: alternatieve versies gemaakt door AD:KEY zelf, plus indrukwekkende en onverwacht energieke samenwerkingen met Schramm, Steril, Armageddon Dildos en Rossi BM.

Gevarieerd is het in alle geval. Van songs met een eerder minimalistische inslag zoals This Is Not The Time of Schlachtfeld Der Liebe, tot oerdegelijke old school EBM-stompers van het hoogste niveau zoals Herz Lass Los of Ich Will Dass Du Jetzt Gehst.

Du Und Ich is dan weer een meer poppy klinkende synthpop-song met wel heel veel potentieel. Alles Was Ich Will sluit daar qua stijl naadloos bij aan, al gaat het tempo even een versnellinge lager. I Can’t Feel You dompelt je onder in de synthsounds van de jaren ’80 van het vorige millennium.

Het duo laat duidelijk merken dat ze het electronische genre in het bloed hebben en een warm hart toedragen. Het is gevarieerd qua stijlen, technisch zit het heel mooi in elkaar, maar in vergelijking met voorgaande albums mis ik het meer stevige, rechttoe rechtaan gevoel. Het is niet zo beklijvens, ook al is het muzikaal breder.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
18/11/2020


18/11/2020 : AD:KEY - Resonanz 18/11/2020 : AD:KEY - Resonanz

Music reviews

19
01
THE PULSEBEATS
LOOKIN’ OUT
18
01
ANALFABETISM
Rotvälta
17
01
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Desctruction
23
12
SYGO CRIES
Talking about walls
22
12
DIRK DA DAVO
King Of Fools
21
12
RHYS FULBER
Brutal Nature

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
01
The Jesus and Mary Chain have signed to London-based independent label Fuzz Club Records.
21
01
Today, exactly 29 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
20
01
'Giving Ground”…and Gaining It: The First Sisterhood Single, 36 ago, 20 January 1986
19
01
Electronic Band LUSCIOUS APPARATUS Addresses Domestic Violence With New Single, 'Infiltrate'
19
01
On this day, 31 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!
18
01
Horror Punk Band CUT LIKE THIS Personifies Insomnia With Latest Single, 'The Boogeyman' Featuring ANGELSPIT

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
01
25 YEARS OF AHRAYEPH
Everything I do, right or wrong, is being determined by my autism
17
12
SOPHIA LUCIA
Blurring Boundaries
11
12
JAH WOBBLE
'Bass was considered being among dying instruments for years. Dub pushed it to the front...'
05
12
MOVMENT
Finding Truth Through Dakness
26
11
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW
I’m not a conservative songwriter and I’m not interested in the status quo; I’m interested in progress.

PHOTOS

07
11
GARY NUMAN
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
COVENANT
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
AND ALSO THE TREES
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
A SPLIT - SECOND
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
LEAETHER STRIP
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
KORINTHIANS
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
01
DAVID BOWIE
Fashion
20
01
FAUNLET
Anatomy
19
01
PSY'AVIAH FT MARIEKE LIGHTBAND
The Great Disconnect
18
01
WULFBAND
Gewalt!
17
01
MATT HART
Decimate
16
01
THE YOUNG GODS
Figure sans nom
15
01
FATAL CASUALTIES
No Heaven