tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

18/11/2020 : AD:KEY - Resonanz

AD:KEY

Resonanz

MusicCD
EBMElectro

[74/100]   

Alfa-Matrix
18/11/2020, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

The Berlin duo AD: KEY hits us with the sixth full studio album Resonanz. The basis remains a festive celebration of Electronic Body Music with explosive bass lines, hammering beats, catchy synth melodies and powerful combinations of male and female vocals in both German and English.

They continue building on and exploring on the characteristic sound that they have developed in recent years. Release after release, the duo Andrea and Rene Nowotny secured their place in the electro scene. Their musical spectrum contains also ingredients of minimal (analog) synth melodies that regularly receive hi-energy sequences as an extra. Still they remain true to their individuality, with the alternating male and female vocals.

The first edition of this album is available as a limited double CD deluxe Digi-pack containing a disc with 12 bonus tracks including alternate versions created by AD: KEY itself, plus also impressive and unexpected energetic collaborations with Schramm, Steril, Armageddon Dildos and Rossi BM.

In any case, it is varied. From songs with a more minimalistic slant such as ‘This Is Not The Time’ or ‘Schlachtfeld Der Liebe’, to rock solid old school EBM stompers of the highest level, such as ‘Herz Lass Los’ or ‘Ich Will Dass Du Jetzt Gehst’.

‘Du Und Ich’ is again a more poppy sounding synth-pop song with lots of potential. Also ’Alles Was Ich Will’ fits this style, even if the pace slows down a bit here. ‘I Can’t Feel You’ throws one back to the synthy sounds of the 1980s.

The duo clearly shows that they have this electronic genre in their blood and fully support it. The album is varied in terms of styles, technically very nicely put together, but compared to the previous one I do miss the more solid, straightforward feeling. Despite the fact that it sounds musically wider, I feel it doesn’t stick as much as their previous work.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
18/11/2020


NL

Het Berlijnse duo AD:KEY slaat ons om de oren met hun zesde volledige studioalbum Resonanz. De basis blijft een feestelijke viering van de Electronic Body Music met explosieve baslijnen, hamerende beats, pakkende synthmelodieën en krachtige combinaties van mannelijke en vrouwelijke vocalen zowel in het Duits als in het Engels.

Ze bouwen verder op de karakteristieke sound die de afgelopen jaren, release na release, het duo Andrea en Rene Nowotny hun plaats in de electro-scène liet veroveren. De rest van het muzikale spectrum wordt ingenomen door minimale analoge synthmelodieën met regelmatig hi-energy sequences als extraatje. Ze blijven trouw aan hun eigenheid, met de afwisselende mannelijke en vrouwelijke vocalen.

De eerste editie van dit album is verkrijgbaar als een gelimiteerde dubbel-CD deluxe digipak met 12 bonustracks: alternatieve versies gemaakt door AD:KEY zelf, plus indrukwekkende en onverwacht energieke samenwerkingen met Schramm, Steril, Armageddon Dildos en Rossi BM.

Gevarieerd is het in alle geval. Van songs met een eerder minimalistische inslag zoals This Is Not The Time of Schlachtfeld Der Liebe, tot oerdegelijke old school EBM-stompers van het hoogste niveau zoals Herz Lass Los of Ich Will Dass Du Jetzt Gehst.

Du Und Ich is dan weer een meer poppy klinkende synthpop-song met wel heel veel potentieel. Alles Was Ich Will sluit daar qua stijl naadloos bij aan, al gaat het tempo even een versnellinge lager. I Can’t Feel You dompelt je onder in de synthsounds van de jaren ’80 van het vorige millennium.

Het duo laat duidelijk merken dat ze het electronische genre in het bloed hebben en een warm hart toedragen. Het is gevarieerd qua stijlen, technisch zit het heel mooi in elkaar, maar in vergelijking met voorgaande albums mis ik het meer stevige, rechttoe rechtaan gevoel. Het is niet zo beklijvens, ook al is het muzikaal breder.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
18/11/2020


18/11/2020 : AD:KEY - Resonanz 18/11/2020 : AD:KEY - Resonanz

 

Next reviews
SWANS • Children Of GodFeel Good Now
ERASURE • THE NEON
ASSEMBLAGE 23 • Mourn
DREADFOOL • Atoms for peace
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF • All Thoughts Fly Sweden
FATAL CASUALTIES • Lullaby for Helsinki
JESU • When I Was Small
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP1
THE DEMON RIND • Lonely This Evening

 

Other reviews from AD:KEY
AD:KEY • I can't feel you

 

Same combination of genres: EBM + ELECTRO
TRAGIC IMPULSE • Distant Worlds
STAATSEINDE • Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
SAMHAIN • Experiment
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Desctruction
RHYS FULBER • Brutal Nature
HERRNIA • Takkewereld
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II
MILDREDA • I was never really there
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!

 

Same genre: EBM
WULF7 • I don't want (Anymore)
ORANGE SECTOR • Alles wird Gold
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE • Classic Chevrolet
PESCH • Melba
IN ABSENTIA • Charnel House Chatterbox (Remastered 2021)
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
AD:KEY • I can't feel you
WULF7 • Dark Hate
FRONTMASCHINE • Wrong fate EP

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
ADULT. • Becoming Undone
J:DEAD • Tearing me apart
JIHAD • Retrospekt
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
POTOCHKINE • Sortilèges
BLUTENGEL • Fountain of Destiny
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electrostorm vol. 9

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!
05
08
Industrial artist, Nuda addresses past trauma & mental illness with 'Trigger'
05
08
Darkwave Duo Sever The Servants Drop Apocalyptic Debut LP

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
ROME
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)
02
08
DIE KRUPPS
Goldfinger
01
08
ZARDONIC
Revelation