tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

29/01/2017 : RAZORLINE - Razorline

RAZORLINE

Razorline

MusicCD
Cold WaveGothic RockPost Punk

[83/100]   

Manic Depression
29/01/2017, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Italy seems to be a good breeding ground for post punk - and goth rock - strength. Razorline is a solo project from 'Nico', which started in 2015. The man has a history in electronic music but is returning to his first love: the guitar. Razorline is a journey through nostalgic feelings and sounds from his past but written with a modern touch.

We get a completely instrumental and almost mourning song sounding opening song. It starts off very intimate only to burst open halfway through the song with nice guitars, albeit cautiously and very obedient. A warm-up for the guitars that really get overheated in Overtime and they are not alone: a heavily tackled bass rumbles along. A nice gothrock song. Apparently the instrument got too overheated because in Occhi they can rest a bit more. Another more subdued, instrumental song with calmer guitar work. Only the bass rumbles on unapproachable.
We go into fifth gear with Skinsex, another instrumental song, but witty, varied, and full of typical guitar riffs. After the starter comes the main course with The Box. Solid drumming and great guitars knit with a shoegaze melody throughout the song. Afterwards you feel the chill pour over you with Winter Night. We get gothrock, where the synths sing along with the guitars. The last song on Razorline is Screamers. The same style as the previous song with a very deep voice.

What becomes very clear in this seven-song debut Razorline is the sincere love for the guitar. The man mastered this (but also other instruments) perfectly. We get a nice cocktail of shoegaze, gothrock and more epic sounding instrumental songs. For lovers of guitar work this is a great album. Just lean back in a rocking chair with a glass of wine. Enjoy, just enjoy....

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
29/01/2017


NL

Italië lijkt een goede voedingsbodem te zijn voor postpunk- en gothrock-geweld. Razorline is een solo-project van 'Nico', gestart in 2015. De man heeft een verleden in elektronische muziek, maar keerde terug naar zijn eerste grote liefde: de gitaar. Het album is een verhaal doorheen een stuk nostalgie, maar dan in een modern jasje.

We krijgen een als volledig instrumentale en als treurlied klinkende openingssong. Die vangt heel intiem en innemend aan, om dan halfweg een eerste maal omarmd te worden door gitaren. Zij het omzichtig en heel braaf. Een warming-up voor de gitaren die onder stoom staan bij Overtime. En ze staan niet alleen, een zwaar aangepakte basgitaar dendert mee. Een mooie gothrocksong. Blijkbaar geraakte het instrument oververhit, want het wordt rust gegund in Occhi. Weer een meer ingetogen, instrumentale song, met zuinig gitaarwerk. Enkel de bas dendert ongenaakbaar verder.

We gaan weer naar vijfde versnelling met Skinsex. Opnieuw instrumentaal, maar snedig, gevarieerd, typisch gitaarwerk en leuke riffs. En na het voorgerecht volgt het hoofdgerecht met The Box. Stevig drumwerk, zalige gitaren die een shoegaze-melodie doorheen het nummer breien. Naderhand voel je de kilte over je uitstorten met Winter Night. We krijgen weer zalige gothrock, waar een synth-melodie een samenzang met de gitaren uitvoert. Het laatste nummer van dit album is Screamers. Eenzelfde stijl als het vorige nummer, met een heel diep gaande stem.

uit dit zeven nummers tellende debuut Razorline spreekt de oprechte (voor)liefde voor de gitaar. De man beheerst dit (maar ook de andere instrumenten) perfect. We krijgen een mooie cocktail van shoegaze, gothrock en meer episch klinkende instrumentale songs. Voor de liefhebbers van ingetogen gitaarwerk een aanrader, voor de oprechte muziekliefhebber ééntje om zeker eens te beluisteren, achteroverleunend in een schommelstoel met een glaasje wijn. Genieten, zonder meer.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
29/01/2017


 

Next reviews
PETER HOOK & THE LIGHT • Playing Substance by New Order / Playing Substance by Joy Division @ Het Depot - Leuven - B - 27.01.2017
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
THE INSIGHT • The Other Side
THE FORCE DIMENSION • Machine Sex
BLACK SPIDER CLAN • Metamorphosis
AMBASSADOR21 • Human Rage
14 ICED BEARS • 14 Iced Bears / Wonder
XTC • Skylarking
THE HUMAN LEAGUE • A Very British Synthesizer Group
GOLDEN APES • Malus

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS • Anxious
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
MANNEQUIN • From a distance
RINGFINGER • Pressure
DAGEIST • Sexy
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling

 

Same genre: GOTHIC ROCK
PIG • Pain Is God
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • DIAMONDS
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
MONO INC. • The Book Of Fire
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
WISBORG • From the Cradle to the Coffin
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
WISBORG • From the Cradle to the Coffin

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
JESUS LIVES IN VEGAS • Jesus Lives In Vegas

Music reviews

05
04
VARIOUS ARTISTS
Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
23
03
300 000VK
Peter Paradox
10
03
PYRROLINE
Struggling
23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...
04
04
15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 19 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
SYNAPTIC DEFECT sends teaser into the world
02
04
42 years of Replicas, unleashed by Gary Numan's Tubeway Army!
01
04
LMX releases CTRL+S

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

10
04
SVEN VATH VS. ANTHONY ROTHER
Komm
09
04
THIS CAN HURT
IF YOU GO
08
04
THE SISTERS OF MERCY
Lucretia, My Reflection
07
04
CLOCK DVA
Sound Mirror
06
04
ASH CODE
Nite Rite
05
04
GOETHES ERBEN
Lazarus
04
04
ADULT.
Nite Life