tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

29/01/2017 : RAZORLINE - Razorline

RAZORLINE

Razorline

MusicCD
Cold WaveGothic RockPost Punk

[83/100]   

Manic Depression
29/01/2017, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Italy seems to be a good breeding ground for post punk - and goth rock - strength. Razorline is a solo project from 'Nico', which started in 2015. The man has a history in electronic music but is returning to his first love: the guitar. Razorline is a journey through nostalgic feelings and sounds from his past but written with a modern touch.

We get a completely instrumental and almost mourning song sounding opening song. It starts off very intimate only to burst open halfway through the song with nice guitars, albeit cautiously and very obedient. A warm-up for the guitars that really get overheated in Overtime and they are not alone: a heavily tackled bass rumbles along. A nice gothrock song. Apparently the instrument got too overheated because in Occhi they can rest a bit more. Another more subdued, instrumental song with calmer guitar work. Only the bass rumbles on unapproachable.
We go into fifth gear with Skinsex, another instrumental song, but witty, varied, and full of typical guitar riffs. After the starter comes the main course with The Box. Solid drumming and great guitars knit with a shoegaze melody throughout the song. Afterwards you feel the chill pour over you with Winter Night. We get gothrock, where the synths sing along with the guitars. The last song on Razorline is Screamers. The same style as the previous song with a very deep voice.

What becomes very clear in this seven-song debut Razorline is the sincere love for the guitar. The man mastered this (but also other instruments) perfectly. We get a nice cocktail of shoegaze, gothrock and more epic sounding instrumental songs. For lovers of guitar work this is a great album. Just lean back in a rocking chair with a glass of wine. Enjoy, just enjoy....

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
29/01/2017


NL

Italië lijkt een goede voedingsbodem te zijn voor postpunk- en gothrock-geweld. Razorline is een solo-project van 'Nico', gestart in 2015. De man heeft een verleden in elektronische muziek, maar keerde terug naar zijn eerste grote liefde: de gitaar. Het album is een verhaal doorheen een stuk nostalgie, maar dan in een modern jasje.

We krijgen een als volledig instrumentale en als treurlied klinkende openingssong. Die vangt heel intiem en innemend aan, om dan halfweg een eerste maal omarmd te worden door gitaren. Zij het omzichtig en heel braaf. Een warming-up voor de gitaren die onder stoom staan bij Overtime. En ze staan niet alleen, een zwaar aangepakte basgitaar dendert mee. Een mooie gothrocksong. Blijkbaar geraakte het instrument oververhit, want het wordt rust gegund in Occhi. Weer een meer ingetogen, instrumentale song, met zuinig gitaarwerk. Enkel de bas dendert ongenaakbaar verder.

We gaan weer naar vijfde versnelling met Skinsex. Opnieuw instrumentaal, maar snedig, gevarieerd, typisch gitaarwerk en leuke riffs. En na het voorgerecht volgt het hoofdgerecht met The Box. Stevig drumwerk, zalige gitaren die een shoegaze-melodie doorheen het nummer breien. Naderhand voel je de kilte over je uitstorten met Winter Night. We krijgen weer zalige gothrock, waar een synth-melodie een samenzang met de gitaren uitvoert. Het laatste nummer van dit album is Screamers. Eenzelfde stijl als het vorige nummer, met een heel diep gaande stem.

uit dit zeven nummers tellende debuut Razorline spreekt de oprechte (voor)liefde voor de gitaar. De man beheerst dit (maar ook de andere instrumenten) perfect. We krijgen een mooie cocktail van shoegaze, gothrock en meer episch klinkende instrumentale songs. Voor de liefhebbers van ingetogen gitaarwerk een aanrader, voor de oprechte muziekliefhebber ééntje om zeker eens te beluisteren, achteroverleunend in een schommelstoel met een glaasje wijn. Genieten, zonder meer.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
29/01/2017


Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
12
On this day, 39 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!
09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas
08
12
Today, 40 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
Celebration Of The Lizard | Today Is Jim Morrison’s 75th-Birthday
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
06
12
BodyBeats announces complete and 100% Swedish line-up for International EBM day!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
12
THE BLADES
Too Late To Stop Now! | The Return Of The Blades - An Interview With Paul Cleary
05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

12
12
E-SOCIETY
E-Society
11
12
FUNKER VOGT
Feel the Pain
10
12
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart
07
12
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls