tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

29/01/2017 : RAZORLINE - Razorline

RAZORLINE

Razorline

MusicCD
Cold WaveGothic RockPost Punk

[83/100]   

Manic Depression
29/01/2017, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Italy seems to be a good breeding ground for post punk - and goth rock - strength. Razorline is a solo project from 'Nico', which started in 2015. The man has a history in electronic music but is returning to his first love: the guitar. Razorline is a journey through nostalgic feelings and sounds from his past but written with a modern touch.

We get a completely instrumental and almost mourning song sounding opening song. It starts off very intimate only to burst open halfway through the song with nice guitars, albeit cautiously and very obedient. A warm-up for the guitars that really get overheated in Overtime and they are not alone: a heavily tackled bass rumbles along. A nice gothrock song. Apparently the instrument got too overheated because in Occhi they can rest a bit more. Another more subdued, instrumental song with calmer guitar work. Only the bass rumbles on unapproachable.
We go into fifth gear with Skinsex, another instrumental song, but witty, varied, and full of typical guitar riffs. After the starter comes the main course with The Box. Solid drumming and great guitars knit with a shoegaze melody throughout the song. Afterwards you feel the chill pour over you with Winter Night. We get gothrock, where the synths sing along with the guitars. The last song on Razorline is Screamers. The same style as the previous song with a very deep voice.

What becomes very clear in this seven-song debut Razorline is the sincere love for the guitar. The man mastered this (but also other instruments) perfectly. We get a nice cocktail of shoegaze, gothrock and more epic sounding instrumental songs. For lovers of guitar work this is a great album. Just lean back in a rocking chair with a glass of wine. Enjoy, just enjoy....

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
29/01/2017


NL

Italië lijkt een goede voedingsbodem te zijn voor postpunk- en gothrock-geweld. Razorline is een solo-project van 'Nico', gestart in 2015. De man heeft een verleden in elektronische muziek, maar keerde terug naar zijn eerste grote liefde: de gitaar. Het album is een verhaal doorheen een stuk nostalgie, maar dan in een modern jasje.

We krijgen een als volledig instrumentale en als treurlied klinkende openingssong. Die vangt heel intiem en innemend aan, om dan halfweg een eerste maal omarmd te worden door gitaren. Zij het omzichtig en heel braaf. Een warming-up voor de gitaren die onder stoom staan bij Overtime. En ze staan niet alleen, een zwaar aangepakte basgitaar dendert mee. Een mooie gothrocksong. Blijkbaar geraakte het instrument oververhit, want het wordt rust gegund in Occhi. Weer een meer ingetogen, instrumentale song, met zuinig gitaarwerk. Enkel de bas dendert ongenaakbaar verder.

We gaan weer naar vijfde versnelling met Skinsex. Opnieuw instrumentaal, maar snedig, gevarieerd, typisch gitaarwerk en leuke riffs. En na het voorgerecht volgt het hoofdgerecht met The Box. Stevig drumwerk, zalige gitaren die een shoegaze-melodie doorheen het nummer breien. Naderhand voel je de kilte over je uitstorten met Winter Night. We krijgen weer zalige gothrock, waar een synth-melodie een samenzang met de gitaren uitvoert. Het laatste nummer van dit album is Screamers. Eenzelfde stijl als het vorige nummer, met een heel diep gaande stem.

uit dit zeven nummers tellende debuut Razorline spreekt de oprechte (voor)liefde voor de gitaar. De man beheerst dit (maar ook de andere instrumenten) perfect. We krijgen een mooie cocktail van shoegaze, gothrock en meer episch klinkende instrumentale songs. Voor de liefhebbers van ingetogen gitaarwerk een aanrader, voor de oprechte muziekliefhebber ééntje om zeker eens te beluisteren, achteroverleunend in een schommelstoel met een glaasje wijn. Genieten, zonder meer.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
29/01/2017


 

Next reviews
PETER HOOK & THE LIGHT • Playing Substance by New Order / Playing Substance by Joy Division @ Het Depot - Leuven - B - 27.01.2017
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
THE INSIGHT • The Other Side
THE FORCE DIMENSION • Machine Sex
BLACK SPIDER CLAN • Metamorphosis
AMBASSADOR21 • Human Rage
14 ICED BEARS • 14 Iced Bears / Wonder
XTC • Skylarking
THE HUMAN LEAGUE • A Very British Synthesizer Group
GOLDEN APES • Malus

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
SYGO CRIES • End Of A Century
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS • Anxious
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
MANNEQUIN • From a distance
RINGFINGER • Pressure
DAGEIST • Sexy
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:

 

Same genre: GOTHIC ROCK
LA SCALTRA • Cabaret
PINK TURNS BLUE • There Must Be So Much More
PIG • Pain Is God
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • DIAMONDS
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
MONO INC. • The Book Of Fire
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
WISBORG • From the Cradle to the Coffin

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
SJOBLOM • Tape
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Love Was Lies
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album
01
09
The Utimate Dreamers reveals new kinky synthwave/ebm video
28
08
44 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
28
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Sinner's Day Special Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
09
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Black August
16
09
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
15
09
DILK
Deprecated (Official Video)
15
09
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
14
09
AH CAMA-SOTZ
Hotel Odessa
13
09
DIVINE SHADE
Something Bad (In The Dust | Part 1)
12
09
SPANKRAGHT
N16