tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

29/01/2017 : RAZORLINE - Razorline

RAZORLINE

Razorline

MusicCD
Cold WaveGothic RockPost Punk

[83/100]   

Manic Depression
29/01/2017, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Italy seems to be a good breeding ground for post punk - and goth rock - strength. Razorline is a solo project from 'Nico', which started in 2015. The man has a history in electronic music but is returning to his first love: the guitar. Razorline is a journey through nostalgic feelings and sounds from his past but written with a modern touch.

We get a completely instrumental and almost mourning song sounding opening song. It starts off very intimate only to burst open halfway through the song with nice guitars, albeit cautiously and very obedient. A warm-up for the guitars that really get overheated in Overtime and they are not alone: a heavily tackled bass rumbles along. A nice gothrock song. Apparently the instrument got too overheated because in Occhi they can rest a bit more. Another more subdued, instrumental song with calmer guitar work. Only the bass rumbles on unapproachable.
We go into fifth gear with Skinsex, another instrumental song, but witty, varied, and full of typical guitar riffs. After the starter comes the main course with The Box. Solid drumming and great guitars knit with a shoegaze melody throughout the song. Afterwards you feel the chill pour over you with Winter Night. We get gothrock, where the synths sing along with the guitars. The last song on Razorline is Screamers. The same style as the previous song with a very deep voice.

What becomes very clear in this seven-song debut Razorline is the sincere love for the guitar. The man mastered this (but also other instruments) perfectly. We get a nice cocktail of shoegaze, gothrock and more epic sounding instrumental songs. For lovers of guitar work this is a great album. Just lean back in a rocking chair with a glass of wine. Enjoy, just enjoy....

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
29/01/2017


NL

Italië lijkt een goede voedingsbodem te zijn voor postpunk- en gothrock-geweld. Razorline is een solo-project van 'Nico', gestart in 2015. De man heeft een verleden in elektronische muziek, maar keerde terug naar zijn eerste grote liefde: de gitaar. Het album is een verhaal doorheen een stuk nostalgie, maar dan in een modern jasje.

We krijgen een als volledig instrumentale en als treurlied klinkende openingssong. Die vangt heel intiem en innemend aan, om dan halfweg een eerste maal omarmd te worden door gitaren. Zij het omzichtig en heel braaf. Een warming-up voor de gitaren die onder stoom staan bij Overtime. En ze staan niet alleen, een zwaar aangepakte basgitaar dendert mee. Een mooie gothrocksong. Blijkbaar geraakte het instrument oververhit, want het wordt rust gegund in Occhi. Weer een meer ingetogen, instrumentale song, met zuinig gitaarwerk. Enkel de bas dendert ongenaakbaar verder.

We gaan weer naar vijfde versnelling met Skinsex. Opnieuw instrumentaal, maar snedig, gevarieerd, typisch gitaarwerk en leuke riffs. En na het voorgerecht volgt het hoofdgerecht met The Box. Stevig drumwerk, zalige gitaren die een shoegaze-melodie doorheen het nummer breien. Naderhand voel je de kilte over je uitstorten met Winter Night. We krijgen weer zalige gothrock, waar een synth-melodie een samenzang met de gitaren uitvoert. Het laatste nummer van dit album is Screamers. Eenzelfde stijl als het vorige nummer, met een heel diep gaande stem.

uit dit zeven nummers tellende debuut Razorline spreekt de oprechte (voor)liefde voor de gitaar. De man beheerst dit (maar ook de andere instrumenten) perfect. We krijgen een mooie cocktail van shoegaze, gothrock en meer episch klinkende instrumentale songs. Voor de liefhebbers van ingetogen gitaarwerk een aanrader, voor de oprechte muziekliefhebber ééntje om zeker eens te beluisteren, achteroverleunend in een schommelstoel met een glaasje wijn. Genieten, zonder meer.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
29/01/2017


 

Next reviews
PETER HOOK & THE LIGHT • Playing Substance by New Order / Playing Substance by Joy Division @ Het Depot - Leuven - B - 27.01.2017
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
THE INSIGHT • The Other Side
THE FORCE DIMENSION • Machine Sex
BLACK SPIDER CLAN • Metamorphosis
AMBASSADOR21 • Human Rage
14 ICED BEARS • 14 Iced Bears / Wonder
XTC • Skylarking
THE HUMAN LEAGUE • A Very British Synthesizer Group
GOLDEN APES • Malus

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
FACTICE FACTORY • Lines & Parallels
MALA HERBA • Demo
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
A.D. MANA • A.D. Mana
LYNCELIA • Forsaken Innocence
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish
O VEUX • O Veux
WINTER SEVERITY INDEX • Human Taxonomy
NORMA LOY • Baphomet
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Transmission Wave-West

 

Same genre: GOTHIC ROCK
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD • Burning for the Ancient Connection
ASTARI NITE • Dreams Of Majesty
SUBTERFUGE • Blind To Reason
IKON • Everyone, Everything, Everywhere Ends
GOLDEN APES • Malus
KILLING JOKE • Live at Muziek-o-Droom - Hasselt - Belgium 05.12.2016
OPENED PARADISE • Buried in Rain
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW / CHRISTIAN DEATH • Music Club B52, 22.10.2016
THE BEAUTY OF GEMINA • Minor Sun
THE SECOND WAVE • Various Artists

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary
STRUGGLER • The Gap
SUPERNOVA 1006 • Unique World
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Oceans
DISCO INFERNO • In Debt 91/92
DRAB MAJESTY • The Demonstration
XTC • Skylarking
KILLING JOKE • London, Brixton O2 Academy (04/11/2016)
WAREHOUSE • Super Low

Music reviews

01
02
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Hologram Moon
31
01
MIRLAND/LARSEN
Disturbia
30
01
KASPER HATE
Why Live When You Can Rule
29
01
GLAARE
To Deaf and Day
28
01
THE INVINCIBLE SPIRIT
NEIN! (Single)
27
01
BLUTENGEL
Black

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
02
Peek-a-Boo founder Ward De Prins has passed away...
18
02
Darkness On Demand (Ex-Dance Or Die) release new video, EP and album!
18
02
Today, exactly 15 years ago, American Industrial Metal band Ministry released Animositisomina!
17
02
Nemuer Unveils Mystical Music Video With Ancient Babylonian Lyrics
16
02
Mignon's new album “Toys Tantrum” is out on 9 February
16
02
3DFLY, featuring Dirk Da Davo (The Neon Judgement/Neon Electronics) releases EP!

Concert reviews

14
12
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE
XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
19
11
ORCHESTRAL MANOEUVRES IN THE DARK
OMD's 2017 tour: Guildford performance at G Live, 11. November 2017
10
11
DIE SELEKTION - STORY OFF
Zondag 17 september - B52 Eernegem
02
11
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT
Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
24
10
GARY NUMAN
Gary Numan’s 'Savage' 2017 Tour: Brighton performance at Brighton Dome, UK
27
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

31
01
KIM LARSEN (: OF THE WAND AND THE MOON:)
Symbols still carry personal meaning to me.
29
01
ELEKTROSTAUB
'I think it will be almost impossible to combine all the artists into one single concept.'
26
01
DIE FORM
I would like to be optimistic and positive, but the world seems to move inexorably/blindly towards a sombre future, towards chaos.
24
01
LIVINGTOTEM
‘INDUSTRIAL INFUSED ROMANTIC TECHNOID MUSIC’
22
01
MESH
Richard Silverthorn Of Mesh On “Gothic Meets Classic” And The “Live at Neues Gewandhaus Leipzig” Album

PHOTOS

19
02
DUNE MESSIAH
Moth Club, London, UK
19
02
DRAB MAJESTY
Moth Club, London, UK
19
02
THE SOFT MOON
Botanique, Brussels, Belgium
19
02
SARIN
Botanique, Brussels, Belgium
18
02
PUNISH YOURSELF
Magasin 4, Brussels, Belgium
18
02
SPANKRAGHT
Magasin 4, Brussels, Belgium
10
02
NIK KERSHAW
New Victoria Theatre, Woking, UK

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
02
HEDERA HELIX
Hedera Helix Promo
21
02
SONJA KRAUSHOFER
Wie Tränen Im Regen
20
02
EVI VINE
My Hands Are Tied
19
02
FEAR FACTORY
Expiration Date
18
02
SHE PAST AWAY
Sanri
17
02
SURGICAL METH MACHINE
I'm Invisible
17
02
FEVER RAY
If I Had A Heart