tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

29/01/2017 : RAZORLINE - Razorline

RAZORLINE

Razorline

MusicCD
Cold WaveGothic RockPost Punk

[83/100]   

Manic Depression
29/01/2017, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Italy seems to be a good breeding ground for post punk - and goth rock - strength. Razorline is a solo project from 'Nico', which started in 2015. The man has a history in electronic music but is returning to his first love: the guitar. Razorline is a journey through nostalgic feelings and sounds from his past but written with a modern touch.

We get a completely instrumental and almost mourning song sounding opening song. It starts off very intimate only to burst open halfway through the song with nice guitars, albeit cautiously and very obedient. A warm-up for the guitars that really get overheated in Overtime and they are not alone: a heavily tackled bass rumbles along. A nice gothrock song. Apparently the instrument got too overheated because in Occhi they can rest a bit more. Another more subdued, instrumental song with calmer guitar work. Only the bass rumbles on unapproachable.
We go into fifth gear with Skinsex, another instrumental song, but witty, varied, and full of typical guitar riffs. After the starter comes the main course with The Box. Solid drumming and great guitars knit with a shoegaze melody throughout the song. Afterwards you feel the chill pour over you with Winter Night. We get gothrock, where the synths sing along with the guitars. The last song on Razorline is Screamers. The same style as the previous song with a very deep voice.

What becomes very clear in this seven-song debut Razorline is the sincere love for the guitar. The man mastered this (but also other instruments) perfectly. We get a nice cocktail of shoegaze, gothrock and more epic sounding instrumental songs. For lovers of guitar work this is a great album. Just lean back in a rocking chair with a glass of wine. Enjoy, just enjoy....

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
29/01/2017


NL

Italië lijkt een goede voedingsbodem te zijn voor postpunk- en gothrock-geweld. Razorline is een solo-project van 'Nico', gestart in 2015. De man heeft een verleden in elektronische muziek, maar keerde terug naar zijn eerste grote liefde: de gitaar. Het album is een verhaal doorheen een stuk nostalgie, maar dan in een modern jasje.

We krijgen een als volledig instrumentale en als treurlied klinkende openingssong. Die vangt heel intiem en innemend aan, om dan halfweg een eerste maal omarmd te worden door gitaren. Zij het omzichtig en heel braaf. Een warming-up voor de gitaren die onder stoom staan bij Overtime. En ze staan niet alleen, een zwaar aangepakte basgitaar dendert mee. Een mooie gothrocksong. Blijkbaar geraakte het instrument oververhit, want het wordt rust gegund in Occhi. Weer een meer ingetogen, instrumentale song, met zuinig gitaarwerk. Enkel de bas dendert ongenaakbaar verder.

We gaan weer naar vijfde versnelling met Skinsex. Opnieuw instrumentaal, maar snedig, gevarieerd, typisch gitaarwerk en leuke riffs. En na het voorgerecht volgt het hoofdgerecht met The Box. Stevig drumwerk, zalige gitaren die een shoegaze-melodie doorheen het nummer breien. Naderhand voel je de kilte over je uitstorten met Winter Night. We krijgen weer zalige gothrock, waar een synth-melodie een samenzang met de gitaren uitvoert. Het laatste nummer van dit album is Screamers. Eenzelfde stijl als het vorige nummer, met een heel diep gaande stem.

uit dit zeven nummers tellende debuut Razorline spreekt de oprechte (voor)liefde voor de gitaar. De man beheerst dit (maar ook de andere instrumenten) perfect. We krijgen een mooie cocktail van shoegaze, gothrock en meer episch klinkende instrumentale songs. Voor de liefhebbers van ingetogen gitaarwerk een aanrader, voor de oprechte muziekliefhebber ééntje om zeker eens te beluisteren, achteroverleunend in een schommelstoel met een glaasje wijn. Genieten, zonder meer.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
29/01/2017


Music reviews

09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.
09
08
REACTOR7X
And Chaos Bacame The New Order
01
08
ANNINA MELISSA
Exhibition of Death
31
07
CRIMEN
Silent Animals
26
07
VIOLENCE
Le Flux de la Nature
22
07
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS
Semiotics Department of Heteronyms

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
08
Today, it’s exactly 31 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
08
08
James Ray (The voice from The Sisterhood) returns with brand new album, band and musical style change!
02
08
This month, 35 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
30
07
'Anything' movie: UK digital release on August, 6th!
25
07
Spacelab revisited! ISS calls Kraftwerk from outer Space!
25
07
'Locating Silver Lake' screening at Breckenridge Film Festival in September!

Concert reviews

14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'
03
08
LIZARD SMILE
'I still see it as the expression of appreciation par excellence to buy a physical album. It still remains more ‘real’ … one way or another.'
29
07
SN-A
I Also Love Telling Stories Without Words
27
07
STIN SCATZOR
I never could have thought Stin Scatzor would ever release an album on DAFT Records!

PHOTOS

16
08
16
08
BAUHAUS
W-Fest Amougies
12
08
12
08
GARY NUMAN
Lokerse Feesten
01
08
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Amphi
01
08
PERSEPHONE
Amphi
01
08
MAD SIN
Amphi

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
08
SOLAR FAKE
Under Control
15
08
NEW ORDER
Restless
15
08
JO QUAIL
Gold (live)
15
08
SIXTH JUNE
Drowning
14
08
ASHRAM
Maria and the violin's string
13
08
DAVEY SUICIDE
Rise Above
12
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Sanri