tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

21/01/2017 : BLACK SPIDER CLAN - Metamorphosis

BLACK SPIDER CLAN

Metamorphosis

MusicCD
ElectroElectro WaveMinimal

[80/100]   

Daft Records
21/01/2017, Fred GADGET

EN

Metamorphosis is the first and only album release of German electro collective Black Spider Clan, a project created by musicians Beta Evers (aka Brigitte Enzler) and Dystronic (aka Thomas Robert). The album was first released on vinyl and is now also being released on CD.

This digital version of Metamorphosis however contains in total 14 tracks, 3 more songs than the vinyl version. 14 excellent minimal electro songs with stonking fat analog basslines, supported by equally analog sounding and programmed drumcomputers. Most tracks are complimented by melancholic vocals by Beta Evers and equally melancholic sounding synthesizers and melodies.

The album starts with the appropriately called 'Keiner kommt hier lebend raus'. And that is how it feels after listening to this album for a while: song after song pulls the listener deeper into the darkest of dark places of this earth and of the soul. Make no mistake: not 14 boring lamentations but songs that are varied enough to turn listening to this album into a highly entertaining experience.

The music of Black Spider Clan sounds almost as dark and melancholy as only the late Joy Division ever managed to sound on record. All in all not an album recommended for weak souls that love to wallow in self-pity during these cold and dark days. That might end bad, I fear.

Fred GADGET
21/01/2017


NL

Metamorphosis is de eerste en enige album release van het Duitse electro collectief Black Spider Clan, een project dat in het leven werd geroepen door muzikanten Beta Evers (aka Brigitte Enzler) & Dystronic (aka Thomas Robert). Het album verscheen eerst op vinyl maar werd nu ook op CD uitgebracht.

Op deze digitale versie van Metamorphosis staan echter in totaal veertien tracks: drie meer dan op de vinyl versie. Het zijn veertien knappe minimalistische electro songs met super vet klinkende analoge baslijnen, ondersteund door al even analoog klinkende en geprogrammeerde drumcomputers. De meeste tracks zijn hier en daar en al dan niet afwisselend overgoten door de melancholische zanglijnen van Beta Evers en de al even melancholische klinkende synthesizerklanken en melodieën.

Het album opent toepasselijk met ‘Keiner kommt hier lebend raus’. En zo voelt ook het beluisteren van dit album na een tijdje haast aan: nummer na nummer wordt de luisteraar meer en meer in de donkerste gedrochten van deze aarde en en van de eigen ziel getrokken. Vergis u niet, het zijn geen viertien saaie klaagzang stukken, maar nummers die genoeg van elkaar verschillen om van het beluisteren van het volledige album toch een boeiende evenaring te maken.

De muziek van de Black Spider Clan klinkt bijna even donker en zwartgallig als alleen wijlen Joy Division het ooit op plaat wist te registreren. Kortom, geen muziek die ik zou aanraden aan labiele zieltjes die zich al eens graag in zelfmedelijden wentelen in deze donker koude dagen. Dat zou verkeerd kunnen aflopen, vrees ik.

Fred GADGET
21/01/2017


Music reviews

02
12
DIVE
Where do we go from here
01
12
THE MARS MODEL
Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
26
11
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
The Dread Files
25
11
FIRST
Restless
18
11
AD:KEY
Resonanz
17
11
SWANS
Children Of GodFeel Good Now

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

02
12
This month it’s 36 years ago Canadian industrial act Skinny Puppy released their very first EP Remission.
01
12
50 years of Ruckzuck with Kraftwerk!
28
11
Today it's exactly 40 years since Siouxsie and the Banshees, released their Christmas single 'Israel'!
27
11
39 years of Don't You Want Me by The Human League
27
11
Non-Stop Erotic Cabaret | Untainted With Time - Released 39 years ago!
26
11
38 years of Melting with Siouxsie and the Banshees!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break
21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

02
12
GROUND NERO
Plethora
01
12
EXIT STRATEGY
Dead Zone
30
11
DIVE
Black Star (Official Music Video)
30
11
POPTONE
Slice Of Life
29
11
CUELEBRE
Fodder for the raven
28
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I M B E C I L E, My Idiot Lover
27
11
LYAPIS TRUBETSKOY
Lights