tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

21/01/2017 : BLACK SPIDER CLAN - Metamorphosis

BLACK SPIDER CLAN

Metamorphosis

MusicCD
ElectroElectro WaveMinimal

[80/100]   

Daft Records
21/01/2017, Fred GADGET

EN

Metamorphosis is the first and only album release of German electro collective Black Spider Clan, a project created by musicians Beta Evers (aka Brigitte Enzler) and Dystronic (aka Thomas Robert). The album was first released on vinyl and is now also being released on CD.

This digital version of Metamorphosis however contains in total 14 tracks, 3 more songs than the vinyl version. 14 excellent minimal electro songs with stonking fat analog basslines, supported by equally analog sounding and programmed drumcomputers. Most tracks are complimented by melancholic vocals by Beta Evers and equally melancholic sounding synthesizers and melodies.

The album starts with the appropriately called 'Keiner kommt hier lebend raus'. And that is how it feels after listening to this album for a while: song after song pulls the listener deeper into the darkest of dark places of this earth and of the soul. Make no mistake: not 14 boring lamentations but songs that are varied enough to turn listening to this album into a highly entertaining experience.

The music of Black Spider Clan sounds almost as dark and melancholy as only the late Joy Division ever managed to sound on record. All in all not an album recommended for weak souls that love to wallow in self-pity during these cold and dark days. That might end bad, I fear.

Fred GADGET
21/01/2017


NL

Metamorphosis is de eerste en enige album release van het Duitse electro collectief Black Spider Clan, een project dat in het leven werd geroepen door muzikanten Beta Evers (aka Brigitte Enzler) & Dystronic (aka Thomas Robert). Het album verscheen eerst op vinyl maar werd nu ook op CD uitgebracht.

Op deze digitale versie van Metamorphosis staan echter in totaal veertien tracks: drie meer dan op de vinyl versie. Het zijn veertien knappe minimalistische electro songs met super vet klinkende analoge baslijnen, ondersteund door al even analoog klinkende en geprogrammeerde drumcomputers. De meeste tracks zijn hier en daar en al dan niet afwisselend overgoten door de melancholische zanglijnen van Beta Evers en de al even melancholische klinkende synthesizerklanken en melodieën.

Het album opent toepasselijk met ‘Keiner kommt hier lebend raus’. En zo voelt ook het beluisteren van dit album na een tijdje haast aan: nummer na nummer wordt de luisteraar meer en meer in de donkerste gedrochten van deze aarde en en van de eigen ziel getrokken. Vergis u niet, het zijn geen viertien saaie klaagzang stukken, maar nummers die genoeg van elkaar verschillen om van het beluisteren van het volledige album toch een boeiende evenaring te maken.

De muziek van de Black Spider Clan klinkt bijna even donker en zwartgallig als alleen wijlen Joy Division het ooit op plaat wist te registreren. Kortom, geen muziek die ik zou aanraden aan labiele zieltjes die zich al eens graag in zelfmedelijden wentelen in deze donker koude dagen. Dat zou verkeerd kunnen aflopen, vrees ik.

Fred GADGET
21/01/2017


 

Next reviews
AMBASSADOR21 • Human Rage
14 ICED BEARS • 14 Iced Bears / Wonder
XTC • Skylarking
THE HUMAN LEAGUE • A Very British Synthesizer Group
GOLDEN APES • Malus
FAREWELL • Sequoia
VIRGIN IN VEIL • Deviances
FACTORY FLOOR • 25 25
REACTOR7X • Illusion Of Chaos
THE AGNES CIRCLE • Some Vague Design

 

Same combination of genres: ELECTRO + ELECTRO WAVE + MINIMAL
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
STAATSEINDE • Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
ADULT. • Becoming Undone
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Desctruction
RHYS FULBER • Brutal Nature
J:DEAD • Tearing me apart
HERRNIA • Takkewereld
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II
JIHAD • Retrospekt
MILDREDA • I was never really there

 

Same genre: ELECTRO WAVE
FRAGRANCE • Salt Water
NUOVO TESTAMENTO • New Earth
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • Dangerous Isolation Site
PIG • Pain Is God
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP1
TRUE ZEBRA • Idiorhythmic
MASSIVE ATTACK • Massive Attack vs Mad Professor Part II | Mezzanine Remix Tapes
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • A New Dawn
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
SYNTET • Hjärtats slag
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
STAATSEINDE • Darüber Reden Wir Nicht

Music reviews

12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water
20
04
HYDROM LINE
Hydrom Line Edition 2021
19
04
HOCICO
HyperViolent
15
04
DIRK DA DAVO
The Unreal

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
48 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
36 years of 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
22
05
41 years Spellbound!
19
05
44 of The Man-Machine!
15
05
On this day, 32 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape

Concert reviews

24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
05
CONFLICT
Dont Panik Esssen
21
05
PUSSY RIOT
Depot Leuven
21
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Depot Leuven
21
05
HETZE
Depot Leuven
16
05
THE MULTICOLOURED SHADES
Backyard Club Recklinghausen,Germany
15
05
RED ZEBRA
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
This is not a dark fest. Lessines

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
05
LOVELESSLUST
Fashion - David Bowie tribute
25
05
CORPO-MENTE
Arsalein
24
05
ATARI TEENAGE RIOT
Adrenaline
23
05
MODEL DEPOSE
Nightwatch
22
05
MARBLE SOUNDS
Tout et Partout
21
05
MARISSA NADLER
All the Colors of the Dark
20
05
SYNDROME
Forever And A Day