tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL

11/12/2016 : THE SECOND WAVE - Various Artists

THE SECOND WAVE

Various Artists

MusicCassette
Dark WaveGothic RockNew wave

[85/100]   

Aufnahme + Wiedergabe
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

This amazing compilation is strictly limited to 200 copies on tape and also available as download. The compiler is none other than Thomas Thyssen of Pagan Love Songs. He focused mainly on the German bands that arose when the scene was still very underground. Most releases come from tapes, CDs and sometimes vinyl. Because of the new influences in British wave, the result was called The Second Wave, which is represented here by gems of different recording quality, beautifully re-mastered to form a consistent whole.

What sort of treasures do we find? Shadow Reich by Catastrophe Ballet for example, from the first EP (1991), in which you hear what has inspired a band like Whispers in the Shadow, Hey Friend by Fallen Apart, Summer Rain by Decay and the spirited VAle of Ice by Pictures of Agony. There are also some less relevant tracks like Two Different Dreams by The Caves (reviving the young The Cure). But on a total of 23 tracks that isn't bad. And we hear demos or live versions of better known bands such as The House of Usher, Love Like Blood and Morbid Poetry. The lesser known bands, like Elephant vs. Bromley, remain upright with respect to the major bands in terms of quality

The Second Wave is an interesting, balanced and impressive compilation that give us a good picture of wave music during the 90s. It tells us that the scene was far from dead and often underestimated. When you love wave, dark wave or goth rock music, you should check this out.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Deze geweldige en strikt tot 200 exemplaren gelimiteerde compilatie verschijnt op tape en download en is samengesteld door niemand minder dan Thomas Thyssen van Pagan Love Songs. Hij focuste zich vooral op de Duitse bands die ontstonden toen de scene nog erg underground was. De meeste releases komen van tape, cd en soms vinyl. Door de nieuwe invloeden in de Britse wave ontstond de The Second Wave. Die tweede golf bevat pareltjes van verschillende opnamekwaliteit, die prachtig geremasterd zijn tot een mooi geheel.

Wat biedt deze schatkamer? Shadow Reich van Catastrophe Ballet uit de eerste ep (1991), waarop je hoort waar bands zoals Whispers in the Shadow de mosterd hebben gehaald. Of Fallen Apart met Hey Friend, Decay met Summerrain of het begeesterende Vale of Ice van Pictures of Agony. Er staan ook enkele minder relevante tracks op zoals de band The Caves die met Two Different Dreams de jonge The Cure doet herleven. Maar op een totaal van 23 tracks valt dit reuze mee. Er staan ook demo's en liveversies op deze release van bekendere namen zoals The House of Usher, Love Like Blood en Morbid Poetry. De minder bekende bands zoals Elephant vs Bromley moeten trouwens kwalitatief niet onderdoen voor hun grotere broers.

The Second Wave is een interessante, evenwichtige en indrukwekkende compilatie die een goed beeld geeft van de wave in de jaren 90 en die aantoont dat de scene verre van dood was en soms onderschat werd. Wie van cold wave, dark wave, gothrock houdt moet dit zeker eens checken.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


11/12/2016 : THE SECOND WAVE - Various Artists 11/12/2016 : THE SECOND WAVE - Various Artists

 

Next reviews
LAURENT DOUMONT QUARTET • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (23/09/2016)
LOTUS THIEF • Gramarye
THE AGONIST • Five
SWAN DEATH • Dendermonde, Mina's Irish Pub (24/09/2016)
BRUNO BAVOTA • Out Of The Blue
HIDDEN PLACE • Nero Schwarz (Collezione)
WOLVERINE • Machina Viva
WINTER DUST • Thresholds
OBITUARY • Then Thousand Ways To Die
SCHEUBER • The Me I See

 

Same combination of genres: DARK WAVE + GOTHIC ROCK + NEW WAVE
JOHNATHAN|CHRISTIAN • The Nothing I Feel
ALIEN HAND SYNDROME • Slumber

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
DRAB MAJESTY • The Demonstration
THE INSIGHT • The Other Side
THE AGNES CIRCLE • Some Vague Design
THE BEAUTY OF GEMINA • Minor Sun
DARKHER • Realms
BLACK TAPE FOR A BLUE GIRL • Bike Shop
1476 • Wildwood/The Nightside
DOUBLE ECHO • Ancient Youth
RAMMSIER • Blackflowers EP
EUROPEAN GHOST • Pale And Sick

 

Same genre: GOTHIC ROCK
ASTARI NITE • Dreams Of Majesty
SUBTERFUGE • Blind To Reason
IKON • Everyone, Everything, Everywhere Ends
LYNCELIA • Forsaken Innocence
RAZORLINE • Razorline
GOLDEN APES • Malus
KILLING JOKE • Live at Muziek-o-Droom - Hasselt - Belgium 05.12.2016
OPENED PARADISE • Buried in Rain
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW / CHRISTIAN DEATH • Music Club B52, 22.10.2016
SWAN DEATH • Dendermonde, Mina's Irish Pub (24/09/2016)

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
THE NAMES • German Nights
SPREADING POINT • MOMENTUM - PART II
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish
XTC • Skylarking
KILLING JOKE • London, Brixton O2 Academy (04/11/2016)
NEW MODEL ARMY • Live at the Muziekgieterij, Maastricht, NL - 30.09.2016 - Photo Hub Dautzenberg
PAUL HAIG • Metamorphosis
PETE SHELLEY • Cinema Music and Wallpaper Sounds:
ULTRAVOX • The Island Years
HIDDEN PLACE • Nero Schwarz (Collezione)

Music reviews

16
10
AMORPHOUS
Shapeshifting
12
10
HELIOPHILE
Permeate
10
10
TEARFUL MOON
Evocation
08
10
SPECIAL LOVE
Unloveable
07
10
ASTARI NITE
Dreams Of Majesty
06
10
SUBTERFUGE
Blind To Reason

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

17
10
Amnesty International Belgium invites hundreds of artists
10
10
New Simi-Nah video 'Chacun Pour Soi' on YouTube!
02
10
New Wave cult & club classic band Crash Course In Science is back with a new (bomb) album!
01
10
New IMPLANT EP / Video - The Phone Call - Out now!
30
09
First two names for the International EBM Day (De Casino, St-Niklaas, B) announced!
29
09
VIII. E-TROPOLIS FESTIVAL 2018 -NEWSLETTER- OF MASTERS, SERVANTS AND BIG MOMENTS!

Concert reviews

27
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017
27
08
THE JESUS AND MARY CHAIN
Live at Brussels Summer Fest - 13.08.2017
28
06
ARCANA OBSCURA, SKALUNA, JOHNNY DEATHSHADOW, EISFABRIK, PSYCLON NINE, DORSETSHIRE
maandag 5 juni
26
06
THE AGNES CIRCLE, QUAL, RROYCE, TOO DEAD TO DIE, TECHNIQUE, AUTODAFEH
Zaterdag 3 juni
26
06
NEUSTROHM, UNTERSCHICHT, HAUJOBB, FABRIK C, STOPPENBERG, CENTHRON
Non Tox - vrijdag 2 juni
26
06
ZWEITE JUGEND, HIGH-FUNCTIONING FLESH, SCHWEFELGELB, A SPLIT SECOND
WGT EBM warm-up - Felsenkeller

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
10
BLANCMANGE
'We were making experimental music for a while, really just for ourselves, not thinking anyone would want to listen.'
13
10
KOL BELOV
I make strange animations, that look like music videos and strange music videos, that look like animation.
11
10
THE HORRORIST
'Sometimes I cringe when I hear some of my songs about sex or pain but at the same time it’s my diary.'
09
10
A SPLIT-SECOND
Marc Ickx talks about A Split-Second
03
10
PARADE GROUND
'We play with our figure as acrobats. We see the audience as instruments and love to play with them.'

PHOTOS

14
10
ATTRITION
Charles Bradlaugh, Northampton, UK
14
10
VUDUVOX
Charles Bradlaugh, Northampton, UK
14
10
CURXES
229 The Venue, London, UK
08
10
BLANCMANGE
229 The Venue, London, UK
27
09
THE SISTERS OF MERCY
Rockhal Luxemburg
25
09
LLUMEN
Electrowerkz, London, UK
25
09
ASH CODE
Electrowerkz, London, UK

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

11
12
The World of Hante
11
12
ORGANIC
Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
11
12
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
TCHELESKOV IVANOVITCH (SIGNAL AOUT 42, GRANDCHAOS)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
PEER LEBRECHT (GOLDEN APES)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life

VIDEO CLIPS

17
10
AND ALSO THE TREES
Your Guess
16
10
!DISTAIN
Conversation Overkill
15
10
TEHI TEARDO & BLIXA BARGELD
The Beast
15
10
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)
15
10
CLAN OF XYMOX
A Day
14
10
RED ZEBRA
The Art Of Conversation
12
10
JOZEF VAN WISSEM
Ruins