tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cassette review

11/12/2016 : THE SECOND WAVE - Various Artists

THE SECOND WAVE

Various Artists

MusicCassette
Dark WaveGothic RockNew wave

[85/100]   

Aufnahme + Wiedergabe
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

This amazing compilation is strictly limited to 200 copies on tape and also available as download. The compiler is none other than Thomas Thyssen of Pagan Love Songs. He focused mainly on the German bands that arose when the scene was still very underground. Most releases come from tapes, CDs and sometimes vinyl. Because of the new influences in British wave, the result was called The Second Wave, which is represented here by gems of different recording quality, beautifully re-mastered to form a consistent whole.

What sort of treasures do we find? Shadow Reich by Catastrophe Ballet for example, from the first EP (1991), in which you hear what has inspired a band like Whispers in the Shadow, Hey Friend by Fallen Apart, Summer Rain by Decay and the spirited VAle of Ice by Pictures of Agony. There are also some less relevant tracks like Two Different Dreams by The Caves (reviving the young The Cure). But on a total of 23 tracks that isn't bad. And we hear demos or live versions of better known bands such as The House of Usher, Love Like Blood and Morbid Poetry. The lesser known bands, like Elephant vs. Bromley, remain upright with respect to the major bands in terms of quality

The Second Wave is an interesting, balanced and impressive compilation that give us a good picture of wave music during the 90s. It tells us that the scene was far from dead and often underestimated. When you love wave, dark wave or goth rock music, you should check this out.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Deze geweldige en strikt tot 200 exemplaren gelimiteerde compilatie verschijnt op tape en download en is samengesteld door niemand minder dan Thomas Thyssen van Pagan Love Songs. Hij focuste zich vooral op de Duitse bands die ontstonden toen de scene nog erg underground was. De meeste releases komen van tape, cd en soms vinyl. Door de nieuwe invloeden in de Britse wave ontstond de The Second Wave. Die tweede golf bevat pareltjes van verschillende opnamekwaliteit, die prachtig geremasterd zijn tot een mooi geheel.

Wat biedt deze schatkamer? Shadow Reich van Catastrophe Ballet uit de eerste ep (1991), waarop je hoort waar bands zoals Whispers in the Shadow de mosterd hebben gehaald. Of Fallen Apart met Hey Friend, Decay met Summerrain of het begeesterende Vale of Ice van Pictures of Agony. Er staan ook enkele minder relevante tracks op zoals de band The Caves die met Two Different Dreams de jonge The Cure doet herleven. Maar op een totaal van 23 tracks valt dit reuze mee. Er staan ook demo's en liveversies op deze release van bekendere namen zoals The House of Usher, Love Like Blood en Morbid Poetry. De minder bekende bands zoals Elephant vs Bromley moeten trouwens kwalitatief niet onderdoen voor hun grotere broers.

The Second Wave is een interessante, evenwichtige en indrukwekkende compilatie die een goed beeld geeft van de wave in de jaren 90 en die aantoont dat de scene verre van dood was en soms onderschat werd. Wie van cold wave, dark wave, gothrock houdt moet dit zeker eens checken.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


11/12/2016 : THE SECOND WAVE - Various Artists 11/12/2016 : THE SECOND WAVE - Various Artists 11/12/2016 : THE SECOND WAVE - Various Artists

 

Next reviews
LAURENT DOUMONT QUARTET • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (23/09/2016)
LOTUS THIEF • Gramarye
THE AGONIST • Five
SWAN DEATH • Dendermonde, Mina's Irish Pub (24/09/2016)
BRUNO BAVOTA • Out Of The Blue
HIDDEN PLACE • Nero Schwarz (Collezione)
WOLVERINE • Machina Viva
WINTER DUST • Thresholds
OBITUARY • Then Thousand Ways To Die
SCHEUBER • The Me I See

 

Same combination of genres: DARK WAVE + GOTHIC ROCK + NEW WAVE
JOHNATHAN|CHRISTIAN • The Nothing I Feel
ALIEN HAND SYNDROME • Slumber

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
OCTOLAB • Mystery Park
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Pink Obsession
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
DARK DOOR • Inferno

 

Same genre: GOTHIC ROCK
LA SCALTRA • Cabaret
PINK TURNS BLUE • There Must Be So Much More
PIG • Pain Is God
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • DIAMONDS
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
MONO INC. • The Book Of Fire
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
WISBORG • From the Cradle to the Coffin

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
DAGEIST • Sexy
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju

Music reviews

13
10
COMBICHRIST
Compliance
05
10
SONNY VINCENT
Shake Pit Therapy
04
10
MERCYFUL HEAVENS
For Now
08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

23
10
41 of Subhuman and Adrenalin!
21
10
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | 44 years ago, Radiators From Space released their debut album 'TV Tube Heart'
09
10
Baby Turns Blue and 39 today!
06
10
Electro-Pop Artist EVA X Drops New Video 'Machine'
30
09
Amy Koppelman's novel adaption 'A Mouthful Of Air' coming to theaters October 29th!
29
09
Canadian Industrial Act DI AUGER Takes Raw Anger To Government Tyranny with 'Piss & Vinegar'

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
10
HANTE
I broke away from the pressure you have as an artist to appeal to a certain type of audience, to create dance floor hits.
30
09
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Dimitri from Wool-E Discs had learned that I was part of a band in the 80s and asked me to listen.
29
09
UNITCODE:MACHINE
An Interview With unitcode:machine
07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.

PHOTOS

23
10
FRONT 242
Depot Leuven
23
10
RADICAL G
Depot Leuven
03
10
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Cali Club Drogenbos
03
10
PARTIKUL
Cali Club Drogenbos
27
09
SCHILLER
Strandkorb Openair Bochum Kemnader See
25
09
LEBANON HANOVER
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
SELOFAN
Les Nuits Botanique

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
10
ZANIAS
Follow the Body
22
10
AFTER ABSENCE
Collide
21
10
SCHULTZ
I hate You
20
10
HAPAX
Hands (Official Video)
19
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
18
10
LIGHT ASYLUM
Skull Fucked
17
10
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi