tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this article review

18/11/2015 : MARCEL VANTHILT - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

MARCEL VANTHILT

Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Article
18/11/2015

EN

The new formidable and innovative album by the Belgian new wave pioneers Arbeid Adelt! is out since a few weeks. Admittedly Marcel Vanthilt was very busy, but he took the time to dive in his archive with us to find the ten albums that turned his life upside down!

1. MILES DAVIS - Birth Of Cool (1957)
Miles Davis, I think I have 200 or 300 songs on cassette, CD, LP and mp3 by him. And strange but true, not one song is bad. The title of this album is also excellent!

2. The Crickets - The "Chirping Crickets" (1957)
Perfect pop songs in 2015 are rare. In the 50s that was totally different! This LP has plenty of them, thanks to the miracle who died too early, Buddy Holly. Along with The Everly Brothers and The Beach Boys, Holly is one of my favourite pop hit machines.

3.THE 13th Floor Elevators - The Psychedelic Sounds Of The 13th Floor Elevators (1966)
Psychedelic music from the late sixties remains wonderful. The unabashed mixing of rock guitars with harpsichords, hunting horns, space sounds and frenzied echo chambers, I love it! Many of the bands from that era had great names too, like these Thirteenth Floor Elevators!

4. T.REX - Electric Warrior (1971)
Glam rock still enchants me: Lou Reed, Roxy Music, David Bowie... But most of all, Marc Bolan and T.Rex. How he transformed weekday blues into something mysterious and made smashing hits of it is unbelievable. If I hear tracks like Metal Guru, Children Of The Revolution or Telegram Sam 40 years after the release date, they immediately make my day. Rock on, Bolan!

5. DAVID BOWIE - Hunky Dory (1971)
For me David Bowie never did something wrong in his career. Musically, he was always innovative, always looking for the unexpected, and lyrically always fascinating. Hunky Dory remains a raw pearl, it is like a demo, quickly absorbed, it's just like you’re sitting next to Bowie while he innocently plays some tunes. And above all: what tunes they are!

6. RAMONES - Ramones (1976)
The album of the albums! Or how four ordinary guys from New York started a whole new generation of music. When someone is searching for the ultimate (and first) punk record: this is the one. Hey ho, let's go!

7. TELEVISION - Marquee Moon (1977)
Also from New York, where rock and poetry meet each other. Just like Horses by Patti Smith. Angular guitar riffs, despite the fact that they’re unconventional, they’re catchy as hell. Performed with a nasal voice, almost nagging them, but very fascinating. In the list of Bob Dylan and Neil Young, but a lot less boring.

8. KRAFTWERK - The Man-Machine (1978)
Kraftwerk was founded in 1970, and electronic music still had to be invented. So they did it themselves. The godfathers of the beeps and boops or the boom and the tsjaks. It is also striking that the 70's albums of Kraftwerk today still sound innovative.

9. Dr. ALIMENTADO - Best Dressed Chicken In Town (1978)
Unlike today, reggae was around in the late 70s during the punk and new wave time. Augustus Pablo, Prince Buster, the Greensleeves label, the ska revival: Jamaican music was everywhere! One of the best albums from this period is Best Dressed Chicken In Town. Play this album loud and your ass will follow!

10. BRIAN ENO & DAVID BYRNE - My Life In The Bush Of Ghosts (1981)
These two gentlemen are, just like Bowie, innovators pur sang. Especially on this album on which they stick African voices and bizarre radio preachers to hypnotic music, never done before! Especially when you know that this album was created manually: no samples or computer tricks. And above all: it swings as hell!


18/11/2015


NL

De nieuwe formidabele en (tja) vernieuwende Arbeid Adelt! ligt ondertussen al weer een paar weken in de winkelrekken te glunderen. Marcel Vanthilt had het weliswaar ontzettend druk, maar nam wel de tijd om met ons in zijn archief der grote platen te grasduinen! Hier zijn de tien platen die Marcels leven ondersteboven haalden!

1. MILES DAVIS - Birth Of Cool (1957)
Van Miles Davis heb ik, denk ik, 200 of 300 nummers, op cassette, cd, lp en mp3. En onwaarschijnlijk maar waar, ik vind er geen enkel slecht. Van dit album is bovendien ook de titel voortreffelijk!

2. THE CRICKETS - The "Chirping Crickets" (1957)
Perfecte popsongs worden in 2015 nog maar zelden gemaakt. In de jaren 50 was dat anders hoor! Deze lp staat er vol van, dankzij het veel te vroeg gestorven songwonder Buddy Holly. Samen met The Everly Brothers en The Beach Boys is Holly één van mijn favoriete pophitmachines.

3. THE 13TH FLOOR ELEVATORS - The Psychedelic Sounds Of The 13th Floor Elevators (1966)
Psychedelische muziek van het eind van de sixties blijft wonderlijk. Het ongegeneerd mengen van rockgitaren met clavecimbels, jachthoorns, spacegeluiden en dolgedraaide echokamers, I love it! Veel van de bands uit die tijd hadden heerlijk van-de-pot-gerukte namen, zoals ook deze 'Dertiende Verdieping Liften'.

4. T.REX - Electric Warrior (1971)
De glamrock weet mij nog steeds te bekoren: Lou Reed, Roxy Music, David Bowie... Maar vooral toch Marc Bolan en zijn T.Rex. Hoe die doordeweekse bluesrock tot iets mysterieus hip omtoverde en er kanjers van hits mee scoorde, het blijft straf. Als ik vandaag, dik 40 jaar na hun release, Metal Guru, Children Of The Revolution of Telegram Sam hoor, is mijn dag meteen goed. Rock on, Bolan!

5. DAVID BOWIE - Hunky Dory (1971)
David Bowie heeft wat mij betreft nooit één faux-pas gedaan in zijn carrière. Qua muziek altijd innovatief, altijd zoekend en qua teksten steeds boeiend en onverwacht. Hunky Dory blijft een ruwe parel, het lijkt alsof de opname een demo is, snel opgenomen, het lijkt of je naast Bowie zit terwijl hij argeloos wat deuntjes tokkelt. En vooral: wat een deuntjes!

6. RAMONES - Ramones (1976)
Dè plaat der platen! Of hoe vier slungels uit New York een hele nieuwe muziekgeneratie in gang trapte. Als iemand zoekt naar de ultieme (en allereerste) punkplaat: dit is ze. Hey ho, let's go!

7. TELEVISION - Marquee Moon (1977)
Ook uit New York, waar rock en poëzie goed samen gedijen, zie ook: Patti Smith (Horses). Hoekige gitaarriffs, ondanks het onconventionele ervan, toch catchy as hell. Met 'n nasale stem die, ondanks het zeurende ervan, toch erg boeit. In het rijtje van Bob Dylan en Neil Young, maar veel minder saai.

8. KRAFTWERK - The Man-Machine (1978)
Niet te schatten dat Kraftwerk al in 1970 werd opgericht, elektronische muziek moest in feite nog uitgevonden worden. Dus deden ze het zelf. De peetvaders van de bliep en bloep en van de boem en de tsjak. Sterk is ook dat die jarenzeventigalbums van Kraftwerk vandaag nog steeds fris, helder en vernieuwend klinken.

9. Dr. ALIMENTADO - Best Dressed Chicken In Town (1978)
In tegenstelling tot vandaag was reggae aan het eind van de jaren 70, in de punk- en newwavetijd, zéér aanwezig, het hoorde erbij. Augustus Pablo, Prince Buster, het Greensleeves-label, de ska-revival: Jamaïcaanse muziek in overvloed. Eén van de beste (en leukste) albums uit die tijd is Best Dressed Chicken In Town. Speel dit album lekker luid en je gat schudt vanzelf!

10. BRIAN ENO & DAVID BYRNE - My Life In The Bush Of Ghosts (1981)
Deze twee heren zijn, net als Bowie, vernieuwers pur-sang. Vooral op dit album waar ze Afrikaanse stemmen en bizarre radiopredikers op hypnotiserende muziek plakken, totaal ongezien. Vooral als je weet dat dit album handmatig gemaakt werd: zonder samples of computertrucs à la cut and paste. En bovenal swingt het als de neten!


18/11/2015


18/11/2015 : MARCEL VANTHILT - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 18/11/2015 : MARCEL VANTHILT - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 18/11/2015 : MARCEL VANTHILT - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 18/11/2015 : MARCEL VANTHILT - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 18/11/2015 : MARCEL VANTHILT - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 18/11/2015 : MARCEL VANTHILT - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 18/11/2015 : MARCEL VANTHILT - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 18/11/2015 : MARCEL VANTHILT - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 18/11/2015 : MARCEL VANTHILT - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 18/11/2015 : MARCEL VANTHILT - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 18/11/2015 : MARCEL VANTHILT - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Music reviews

13
10
COMBICHRIST
Compliance
05
10
SONNY VINCENT
Shake Pit Therapy
04
10
MERCYFUL HEAVENS
For Now
08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
10
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | 44 years ago, Radiators From Space released their debut album 'TV Tube Heart'
09
10
Baby Turns Blue and 39 today!
06
10
Electro-Pop Artist EVA X Drops New Video 'Machine'
30
09
Amy Koppelman's novel adaption 'A Mouthful Of Air' coming to theaters October 29th!
29
09
Canadian Industrial Act DI AUGER Takes Raw Anger To Government Tyranny with 'Piss & Vinegar'
25
09
Today, exactly 34 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
10
HANTE
I broke away from the pressure you have as an artist to appeal to a certain type of audience, to create dance floor hits.
30
09
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Dimitri from Wool-E Discs had learned that I was part of a band in the 80s and asked me to listen.
29
09
UNITCODE:MACHINE
An Interview With unitcode:machine
07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.

PHOTOS

03
10
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Cali Club Drogenbos
03
10
PARTIKUL
Cali Club Drogenbos
27
09
SCHILLER
Strandkorb Openair Bochum Kemnader See
25
09
LEBANON HANOVER
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
SELOFAN
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
ISOLATED YOUTH
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
PORNO KARAOKE
Porta Nigra

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
10
SCHULTZ
I hate You
20
10
HAPAX
Hands (Official Video)
19
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
18
10
LIGHT ASYLUM
Skull Fucked
17
10
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi
16
10
MIND & FLESH
Krigserklæring
15
10
CLAN OF XYMOX
Obsession