tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd / digital review

03/07/2020 : PORTION CONTROL - Head Buried

PORTION CONTROL

Head Buried

MusicCD / Digital
EBMElectroIndustrial

[90/100]   
03/07/2020, Fred GADGET

EN

After eight long years of waiting, the new Portion Control is finally out! Indeed, their previous album, Pure Form, dates back to 2012! Portion Control themselves haven't named this new album as such but describes Head Buried more like a collection of gathered tracks that were composed by this British duo during the post Pure Form era. Anyway, after listening only once we dare to say this is indeed a worthy full-fledged album in their known qualitative traditions. John Whybrew's lingering yet pounding rhythms, doused in a mix of electronic and industrial sounds, enforced by Dean Piavianni's unmistakably aggressive vocal lines. The fact Portion Control does not attempt to compose feel-good pop music but rather fill their song with doom and critical references in society is again clearly presented on this release. The album immediately opens strong with title track 'Head Buried'… “I tried to tell them, tried to get the message across,… I tried to warn them… Head buried… Deep in the sand… What's the use in Trying” Head on we say! Now, the mood has been set and it will stay with us for twelve songs long, or “47:00 of pure electronics” as is written largely on the front cover. Gems such as the melancholy rippling ‘Claw and Scrape’, the up-tempo instrumental stomping ‘Regime’ fly by. And what to think of the amazing, almost apocalyptic predictive ,’Degrade’ … "One day there will be nothing left" Dean chants that convincingly one expects to see a mushroom cloud appearing in the sky any time now. It’s followed by ‘Regulation One’, an EBM stomper you cant’ resist. This LP also contains some short and less short instrumental “drops”, but they do not at all affect the overall quality of this release, on the contrary… Further tracks like 'Rise Up' and 'Ninth Child' should need no further description, Portion Control in its… erm.. pure form :-). The last track, ‘Cock’ is again an instrumental stunner, that squeaks, creaks and pounds hard... At maximum volume, a blissful track to shake your head empty again!

Fred GADGET
03/07/2020


NL

Na acht lange jaren wachten is eindelijk de nieuwe Portion Control uit! Hun vorige album, Pure Form, dateert al van 2012!

Portion Control zelf noemt deze release, Head Buried, niet een echt nieuw album, maar eerder een verzameling bijeengesprokkelde tracks die in het post Pure Form tijdperk door dit Britse duo gecomponeerd werden. Maar goed, al na de eerste beluistering durven wij gerust te stellen dat dit wel degelijk een volwaardig album is in de de gekende kwalitatieve tradities.

John Whybrew’s slepende maar beukende rhythms, overgoten met een allegaartje van elektronische en industriëlee klanken, en kracht bijgezet door de onmiskenbare agressieve zanglijnen van Dean Piavianni. Dat Portion Control geen good-feel popmuziek probeert te maken maar liever hun songs vol maatschappijkritische verwijzingen steken, is ook op deze release weer duidelijk.

Het album opent meteen frontaal met titeltrack ‘Head Buried’ … “I tried to tell them, tried to get the message across, … I tried to warn them …Head buried … Deep in the sand … What’s the use in Trying” Boenk erop! De toon is gezet en wordt gestaag volgehouden gedurende 12 nummers, of 47 minuten pure electronics zoals in het groot op de frontcover staat. Pareltjes zoals het melancholische kabbelende ’Claw and Scrape’, het up-tempo instrumentale en stompende ‘Regime’ vliegen voorbij. En wat te denken van het geweldige, bijna apocalyptisch voorspellende ’Degrade’.. “One day there will be nothing left” scandeert Dean hier zo overtuigend dat je verwacht elk moment een paddenstoelvormige wolk aan de hemel te zien verschijnen. ‘Regulation One’ is dan weer een EBM stomper van formaat.

Op deze langspeler staan ook enkele korte en minder korte instrumentale “drops” die geen afbreuk doen aan de globale kwaliteit van deze release, integendeel … Verdere tracks zoals ’Rise Up’ en ‘Ninth Child’ behoeven geen verdere omschrijving, Portion Control in … euh.. pure form :-). Als laatste track, ‘Cock, een instrumentale knaller, het piept, knarst en beukt lang alle kanten … Op maximum volume, eentje om zalig het hoofd weer mee leeg te schudden!

Fred GADGET
03/07/2020


 

Next reviews
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE • Music for certain rituals
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
COLD IN MAY • Isolation songs
UNITCODE:MACHINE • Paper empires
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Seed of Evil
DEATH IN JUNE • THE CORN YEARS
AUGER • Insurgence
COLD IN MAY • Koma:Redux
DARK-O-MATIC • A cage with the door wide open
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP

 

Other reviews from PORTION CONTROL
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP1
PORTION CONTROL • Unrest in the Grime
PORTION CONTROL • Review of the concert at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 14 December 2012

 

Same combination of genres: EBM + ELECTRO + INDUSTRIAL
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
DIVE • Where do we go from here
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
DIVE • Live Maschinenfest 2017
DIVE • Underneath
NOSTROMO 7 • Existence / Rewired & Reborn
AMORPHOUS • Behaviourism
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Dependence 2015 (next level electronics)
THE GOTHSICLES • Icarius

 

Same genre: EBM
STAATSEINDE • Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
SAMHAIN • Experiment
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Desctruction
RHYS FULBER • Brutal Nature
ORANGE SECTOR • Alles wird Gold
HERRNIA • Takkewereld
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II
MILDREDA • I was never really there
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
ADULT. • Becoming Undone
J:DEAD • Tearing me apart
JIHAD • Retrospekt
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
POTOCHKINE • Sortilèges
BLUTENGEL • Fountain of Destiny
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electrostorm vol. 9

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
HOCICO • HyperViolent
MATT HART • Decimate
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
MATT HART • TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
IMPERATIVE REACTION • Mirror
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
JESU • When I Was Small
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP1

Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
06
Ayria releases new single Irreplaceable on Artoffact Records
28
06
The Number H Explores Loss & Regret With New EP, 'The Conditioning'
16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

28
06
ECHO AND THE BUNNYMEN
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
THE MISSION
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
IAMX
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
W.H. LUNG
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
FORCED TO MODE
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
TORUL
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
ATMOSPHERE
Sinner's Day Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
06
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete