tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

27/12/2012 : PORTION CONTROL - Review of the concert at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 14 December 2012

PORTION CONTROL

Review of the concert at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 14 December 2012

Concert
EBM

[90/100]   
27/12/2012, Philippe BLACKMARQUIS

Portion Control is a regular guest in Antwerp: in 2010, they played at the Pre-BIM Fest and this time, they are headlining the first day of the BIM Fest together with Test Dept. Founded in London in 1980, Portion Control is probably one of the most underrated acts of the electronic scene. Their pioneering works in EBM and industrial music have influenced masters from NIN, Skinny Puppy, etc. but didn't bring them the fame that other fellow bands like Front 242 or Nitzer Ebb received. After an absence of almost 18 years, Portion Control resurrected in 2004 as a duo with Dean Piavani and John Whybrew and released an impressive series of CD's: "Well come", "Filthy White Guy", "Slug", "Crop" and recently "Pure Form".

At the BIM Fest, Portion Control presented a set consisting of their classics and more recent songs, a real treat with stomping beats and excellent video footage. They got the audience moving straight away with their raw punky danceable EBM. Songs like "Waste", "Icon", "Deadstar", "Katsu" or "Sickman" banged through the speakers and gave the audience no time to rest. The songs were long and hypnotic, usually with a very simple, but efficient rhythmic and harmonic structure. Dean Piavani was moving around stage, singing with impressive power and stamina. The band had the best sound on that festival day. Wide, clear and strong.

They ended their set with the fantastic "Amnesia", the perfect icing on the cake. In the public, everybody was dancing and you could see an enthusiastic Dirk Ivens (Dive, Absolute Body Control, The Klinik) having the time of his life... Too bad he wasn't invited to join Paviani on stage for "Brain Scraper Death Dive", it would have been a special moment! It was by far the killer concert on that first festival day!

Watch the band performing "Amnesia" below:

Check the pictures of the concert here.

Written by Jürgen Van Vlasselaer and Phil Blackmarquis

Philippe BLACKMARQUIS
27/12/2012


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

15
08
FEUERSCHWANZ
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
UNZUCHT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
AEVERIUM
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
HELL BOULEVARD
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
COVENANT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
NITZER EBB
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire