tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

20/12/2012 : BLANCMANGE - Review of the concert at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 15 December 2012

BLANCMANGE

Review of the concert at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 15 December 2012

Concert
Synth Pop / Electro Pop

[85/100]   
20/12/2012, Philippe BLACKMARQUIS

A "blanc-manger" is a sweet dessert commonly made with milk or cream and sugar thickened with gelatin, cornstarch or Irish moss, and often flavored with almonds... Blancmange is an English synthpop band who came to prominence with a string of (sweet) hits in the early to mid-1980s. It is composed of Neil Arthur, singer and Stephen Luscombe, on keyboards. Following a gap of a quarter of a century, Blancmange released their fourth studio album, Blanc Burn, in March 2011.

At the BIM Fest, the band was performing their 3rd gig in 14 months on Belgian soil (following Rewind & SinnersDay in October 2011)! They had the honor of playing at the top of the bill, just before the headliner Peter Hook. They opened their set with "Game Above My Head", which was played one half-tone higher and a little faster than the original version. This song was the ideal start of a little trip in nostalgialand. The setlist was a nice mixture of classics such as "I Can’t Explain", "Blind Vision", "Living On The Ceiling" and "Feel Me", etc..and some newer tracks from "Blanc Burn", like "Starfucker", "Drive Me", "Radio Therapy" and "WDYF".

The singer Neil Arthur was the perfect host and proved again that he is a good live performer. It was really a shame that they had to shorten their show. So we had to miss out on a few beauties such as "Waves" and "Don’t Tell Me". They closed their set with their famous cover of the Abba song "The Day Before You Came". 

Watch them perform "Game Above My Head" below:

Setlist: Game Above My Head, I Can't Explain, WDYF, Drive Me, Radio Therapy, The Western, Living on the Ceiling, Don't Let These Days, Blind Vision, Starfucker, Feel Me, The Day Before You Came

Written by Jürgen Van Vlasselaer and Phil Blackmarquis

Check the pictures of the concert by Xavier Marquis here.

http://www.blancmange.co.uk

 


 

Philippe BLACKMARQUIS
20/12/2012


Music reviews

16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS
06
01
KMFDM
Paradise

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

17
01
Today, 35 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
25 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - 2 Year Anniversary
15
01
This month 48 years ago KRAFTWERK released their second studio album KRAFTWERK 2
11
01
On this day 35 years ago, Nina Hagen performed in front of 1,5 million people on the first edition of world’s biggest festivals Rock in Rio (Brazil).
10
01
Lair Of The Dark Prince | Lou Reed's New York At 31

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.
14
01
IC434
find it amazing to live in a highly developed society and at the same time having to realize what a mentally mess it really is.
13
01
SYRENOMELIA
The drunk rural constable at the local pub.
11
01
CHRIS HASKETT (ROLLINS BAND)
'Musicians are more like radios that occasionally pick up and reproduce things from the cosmos.'

PHOTOS

26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest
26
12
REIN
Bimfest
26
12
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
bimfest
26
12
STURM CAFE
bimfest
26
12
RADERKRAFT
bimfest
26
12
ZWEITE JUGEND
Bimfest
26
12
ENZO KREFT
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

17
01
CAPITAL X
Majesty
17
01
GARBAGE
No Horses
16
01
SEVERED HEADS
All Saints Day
15
01
EURYTHMICS
Sweet Dreams
14
01
JANE'S ADDICTION
Been Caught Stealing
13
01
VOK
Waterfall
12
01
KLANGSTABIL
You may start