tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

20/12/2012 : BLANCMANGE - Review of the concert at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 15 December 2012

BLANCMANGE

Review of the concert at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 15 December 2012

Concert
Synth Pop / Electro Pop

[85/100]   
20/12/2012, Philippe BLACKMARQUIS

A "blanc-manger" is a sweet dessert commonly made with milk or cream and sugar thickened with gelatin, cornstarch or Irish moss, and often flavored with almonds... Blancmange is an English synthpop band who came to prominence with a string of (sweet) hits in the early to mid-1980s. It is composed of Neil Arthur, singer and Stephen Luscombe, on keyboards. Following a gap of a quarter of a century, Blancmange released their fourth studio album, Blanc Burn, in March 2011.

At the BIM Fest, the band was performing their 3rd gig in 14 months on Belgian soil (following Rewind & SinnersDay in October 2011)! They had the honor of playing at the top of the bill, just before the headliner Peter Hook. They opened their set with "Game Above My Head", which was played one half-tone higher and a little faster than the original version. This song was the ideal start of a little trip in nostalgialand. The setlist was a nice mixture of classics such as "I Can’t Explain", "Blind Vision", "Living On The Ceiling" and "Feel Me", etc..and some newer tracks from "Blanc Burn", like "Starfucker", "Drive Me", "Radio Therapy" and "WDYF".

The singer Neil Arthur was the perfect host and proved again that he is a good live performer. It was really a shame that they had to shorten their show. So we had to miss out on a few beauties such as "Waves" and "Don’t Tell Me". They closed their set with their famous cover of the Abba song "The Day Before You Came". 

Watch them perform "Game Above My Head" below:

Setlist: Game Above My Head, I Can't Explain, WDYF, Drive Me, Radio Therapy, The Western, Living on the Ceiling, Don't Let These Days, Blind Vision, Starfucker, Feel Me, The Day Before You Came

Written by Jürgen Van Vlasselaer and Phil Blackmarquis

Check the pictures of the concert by Xavier Marquis here.

http://www.blancmange.co.uk

 


 

Philippe BLACKMARQUIS
20/12/2012


Music reviews

26
11
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
The Dread Files
25
11
FIRST
Restless
18
11
AD:KEY
Resonanz
17
11
SWANS
Children Of GodFeel Good Now
16
11
ERASURE
THE NEON
14
11
ASSEMBLAGE 23
Mourn

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
11
Today it's exactly 40 years since Siouxsie and the Banshees, released their Christmas single 'Israel'!
27
11
39 years of Don't You Want Me by The Human League
27
11
Non-Stop Erotic Cabaret | Untainted With Time - Released 39 years ago!
26
11
38 years of Melting with Siouxsie and the Banshees!
26
11
29 years ‘Fear (of the Unknown)’... by Siouxsie and the Banshees!
25
11
Nocturnal Rapture | Nocturne Is 37 Years Old Today

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break
21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

30
11
DIVE
Black Star (Official Music Video)
30
11
POPTONE
Slice Of Life
29
11
CUELEBRE
Fodder for the raven
28
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I M B E C I L E, My Idiot Lover
27
11
LYAPIS TRUBETSKOY
Lights
26
11
PIG
Rock n Roll Refugee
25
11
TRISOMIE 21
The Last Song