tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

20/12/2012 : BLANCMANGE - Review of the concert at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 15 December 2012

BLANCMANGE

Review of the concert at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 15 December 2012

Concert
Synth Pop / Electro Pop

[85/100]   
20/12/2012, Philippe BLACKMARQUIS

A "blanc-manger" is a sweet dessert commonly made with milk or cream and sugar thickened with gelatin, cornstarch or Irish moss, and often flavored with almonds... Blancmange is an English synthpop band who came to prominence with a string of (sweet) hits in the early to mid-1980s. It is composed of Neil Arthur, singer and Stephen Luscombe, on keyboards. Following a gap of a quarter of a century, Blancmange released their fourth studio album, Blanc Burn, in March 2011.

At the BIM Fest, the band was performing their 3rd gig in 14 months on Belgian soil (following Rewind & SinnersDay in October 2011)! They had the honor of playing at the top of the bill, just before the headliner Peter Hook. They opened their set with "Game Above My Head", which was played one half-tone higher and a little faster than the original version. This song was the ideal start of a little trip in nostalgialand. The setlist was a nice mixture of classics such as "I Can’t Explain", "Blind Vision", "Living On The Ceiling" and "Feel Me", etc..and some newer tracks from "Blanc Burn", like "Starfucker", "Drive Me", "Radio Therapy" and "WDYF".

The singer Neil Arthur was the perfect host and proved again that he is a good live performer. It was really a shame that they had to shorten their show. So we had to miss out on a few beauties such as "Waves" and "Don’t Tell Me". They closed their set with their famous cover of the Abba song "The Day Before You Came". 

Watch them perform "Game Above My Head" below:

Setlist: Game Above My Head, I Can't Explain, WDYF, Drive Me, Radio Therapy, The Western, Living on the Ceiling, Don't Let These Days, Blind Vision, Starfucker, Feel Me, The Day Before You Came

Written by Jürgen Van Vlasselaer and Phil Blackmarquis

Check the pictures of the concert by Xavier Marquis here.

http://www.blancmange.co.uk

 


 

Philippe BLACKMARQUIS
20/12/2012


Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'
28
04
KILL SHELTER
There Is An Inherent Darkness And Sadness In The Music I Create
27
04
VANGUARD
We Had The Concept Of Doing Something That Ties Man And Machine Together

PHOTOS

21
05
IN2THESOUND
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
21
05
THEN COMES SILENCE
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
20
05
THE ARCH
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
16
05
ABDOMEN
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
BOJACKS
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
THE OTHER
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
CLAN OF XYMOX
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis
19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl
18
05
GROUND NERO
Dark Descent
17
05
JAN SWERTS
Meer Is Er Niet
16
05
IAN MCCULLOCH
Lover Lover Lover
15
05
DELEYAMAN
Secret Treasures