tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

20/12/2012 : BLANCMANGE - Review of the concert at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 15 December 2012

BLANCMANGE

Review of the concert at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 15 December 2012

Concert
Synth Pop / Electro Pop

[85/100]   
20/12/2012, Philippe BLACKMARQUIS

A "blanc-manger" is a sweet dessert commonly made with milk or cream and sugar thickened with gelatin, cornstarch or Irish moss, and often flavored with almonds... Blancmange is an English synthpop band who came to prominence with a string of (sweet) hits in the early to mid-1980s. It is composed of Neil Arthur, singer and Stephen Luscombe, on keyboards. Following a gap of a quarter of a century, Blancmange released their fourth studio album, Blanc Burn, in March 2011.

At the BIM Fest, the band was performing their 3rd gig in 14 months on Belgian soil (following Rewind & SinnersDay in October 2011)! They had the honor of playing at the top of the bill, just before the headliner Peter Hook. They opened their set with "Game Above My Head", which was played one half-tone higher and a little faster than the original version. This song was the ideal start of a little trip in nostalgialand. The setlist was a nice mixture of classics such as "I Can’t Explain", "Blind Vision", "Living On The Ceiling" and "Feel Me", etc..and some newer tracks from "Blanc Burn", like "Starfucker", "Drive Me", "Radio Therapy" and "WDYF".

The singer Neil Arthur was the perfect host and proved again that he is a good live performer. It was really a shame that they had to shorten their show. So we had to miss out on a few beauties such as "Waves" and "Don’t Tell Me". They closed their set with their famous cover of the Abba song "The Day Before You Came". 

Watch them perform "Game Above My Head" below:

Setlist: Game Above My Head, I Can't Explain, WDYF, Drive Me, Radio Therapy, The Western, Living on the Ceiling, Don't Let These Days, Blind Vision, Starfucker, Feel Me, The Day Before You Came

Written by Jürgen Van Vlasselaer and Phil Blackmarquis

Check the pictures of the concert by Xavier Marquis here.

http://www.blancmange.co.uk

 


 

Philippe BLACKMARQUIS
20/12/2012


Music reviews

29
03
CHRISTIAN WOLZ
La Fore
28
03
JIMMY SWEENEY
Without You
27
03
FEU FOLLET
Le champ des morts
18
03
MANNEQUIN
From a distance
16
03
OCTOLAB
Mystery Park
14
03
REALITY'S DESPAIR
Melancholic Disposition

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

29
03
UK Electro-Industrial band BIOMECHANIMAL announces the release of 'Waves': split single with MECHANICAL VEIN
29
03
On this day, 40 years ago, Kraftwerk performed Das Model on German TV.
28
03
On this day, 15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released 'The Hands That Feeds' single
27
03
Electro-Industrial Artist I YA TOYAH Reveals Latest Video: 'Motion (SKOLD Remix)'
22
03
Today, exactly 31 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released their second single Head Like a Hole!
21
03
No-One Driving since 1980! John Foxx released his second 7' 40 years ago!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

30
03
JOE BOYD
Producer of Pink Floyd, Nick Drake, Nico, R.E.M, talks about the years of experience and his coming book.
29
03
AMBER TEASER
We Also Like Putting Some Strange Elements In Pop Music
19
03
DYLAN WITTROCK
'Sometimes I just write characters’ thoughts, like journal entries.'
17
03
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
‘I Love The Belgian Scene’
14
03
COMMON EIDER, KING EIDER
‘The Dreams Of Capitalism Are Being Revealed As Smoke And Mirrors...

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

31
03
DIVE
Underneath
30
03
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
INTERSTELLAR
29
03
MAYFLOWER MADAME
Vultures (official video)
28
03
EROTIC ELK
Watching You (featuring Karin My)
28
03
DES AMES LIBRES
Enemy
27
03
THE RITUALISTS
I'm With The Painted People (Official Music Video)
26
03
SEGBROEK
Hungry Eyes