tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

18/12/2012 : NOTHING BUT NOISE - Review of the concert and interview at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 14 December 2012

NOTHING BUT NOISE

Review of the concert and interview at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 14 December 2012

Concert
Analogue SynthDark AmbientElectronics

[85/100]   
18/12/2012, Philippe BLACKMARQUIS

Following Job Karma, the 3rd band to take the stage at the BIM Fest was another ambient-electronic act, Nothing But Noise. This trio is led by Front 242 mastermind Daniel Bressanutti, who decided to reunite with another original Front 242 member, Dirk Bergen, after ca 30 years, to make music together again. They added a third man, Erwin Jadot, and together, they are going back to the roots of analog electronic music, with krautrock, Tangerine Dream, Kraftwerk, etc. Their idea is "to wonder what those musicians would play today". Their acclaimed debut album, "Not Bleeding Red", was released on UK independent Future Noise Music.

At the BIM Fest, the band played a set exclusively made of new tracks, with the exception of "Mooglish". The new tracks show a clear evolution of the sound toward a more edgy, rhythmic approach. The first song was a big surprise as it was a cover of Joy Division's "Love Will Tear Us Apart". In the interview of Daniel B. (see video below), we learned that it was done on purpose, "to throw the public off track". Standing behind a table full of equipment, the three members of the band were clearly in the background, leaving only the music in the spotlight, supported by magnificient video's. There were three laser machines on the tables, which were automated directly from the main sequencer. Check a video excerpt of the performance below ("Organz Of Existence"):

The band is clearly evolving very fast musically and sets no limits to its evolution. Some aspects of the new tracks are more noise-oriented, experimental. According to Daniel B., the new album is nearly ready and should be released pretty soon. When asked about the future of Front 242, Daniel B. said: "If we do something new, it will be reworks or live projects, but no new tracks. We did try, but we were not happy with the result."

Check the complete interview made after the set:

Setlist: Love (will tear us apart), Brush, Muddle, Mooglish, Organz Of Existence.

Have a look at the pictures of the concert by Xavier Marquis here.

Check the live video of "Mooglish", published by the band, here.

http://www.nothingbutnoise.be/
http://www.front242.com


 

Philippe BLACKMARQUIS
18/12/2012


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

13
08
BLUTENGEL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LORD OF THE LOST ENSEMBLE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
TYSKKE LUDER
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
OSTFRONT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
NOISUF-X
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain