tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

18/12/2012 : NOTHING BUT NOISE - Review of the concert and interview at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 14 December 2012

NOTHING BUT NOISE

Review of the concert and interview at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 14 December 2012

Concert
Analogue SynthDark AmbientElectronics

[85/100]   
18/12/2012, Philippe BLACKMARQUIS

Following Job Karma, the 3rd band to take the stage at the BIM Fest was another ambient-electronic act, Nothing But Noise. This trio is led by Front 242 mastermind Daniel Bressanutti, who decided to reunite with another original Front 242 member, Dirk Bergen, after ca 30 years, to make music together again. They added a third man, Erwin Jadot, and together, they are going back to the roots of analog electronic music, with krautrock, Tangerine Dream, Kraftwerk, etc. Their idea is "to wonder what those musicians would play today". Their acclaimed debut album, "Not Bleeding Red", was released on UK independent Future Noise Music.

At the BIM Fest, the band played a set exclusively made of new tracks, with the exception of "Mooglish". The new tracks show a clear evolution of the sound toward a more edgy, rhythmic approach. The first song was a big surprise as it was a cover of Joy Division's "Love Will Tear Us Apart". In the interview of Daniel B. (see video below), we learned that it was done on purpose, "to throw the public off track". Standing behind a table full of equipment, the three members of the band were clearly in the background, leaving only the music in the spotlight, supported by magnificient video's. There were three laser machines on the tables, which were automated directly from the main sequencer. Check a video excerpt of the performance below ("Organz Of Existence"):

The band is clearly evolving very fast musically and sets no limits to its evolution. Some aspects of the new tracks are more noise-oriented, experimental. According to Daniel B., the new album is nearly ready and should be released pretty soon. When asked about the future of Front 242, Daniel B. said: "If we do something new, it will be reworks or live projects, but no new tracks. We did try, but we were not happy with the result."

Check the complete interview made after the set:

Setlist: Love (will tear us apart), Brush, Muddle, Mooglish, Organz Of Existence.

Have a look at the pictures of the concert by Xavier Marquis here.

Check the live video of "Mooglish", published by the band, here.

http://www.nothingbutnoise.be/
http://www.front242.com


 

Philippe BLACKMARQUIS
18/12/2012


 

Next reviews
• Stash House
JOB KARMA • Review of the concert at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 14 December 2012
TRUE ZEBRA • Review of the concert and interview at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 14 December 2012
KURSED • Miaow
• Holy Motors
THE BLOW MONKEYS • Limping For A New Generation
SALINE GRACE • Fog mountain
2012 REVIEW • Check our website stats for 2012!
• Sex, Drugs & Rock & Roll
THE NIGHTCHILD • The world unseen, the world unknown

 

Same genre: ANALOGUE SYNTH
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
SINE SILEX • Schachmatt
VARIOUS ARISTS • Liasons Dangereuses
EL GUERRILLERO ROJO • Manifiesto LP 1983-1984
SCHONWALD • Between Parallel Lights
METAL DISCO • Unearthly Vices
CLAUS FOVEA • Cyanide/King Ludd
NÖVÖ • Zeitgeist
ALLES • Post
VOID VISION • Sub Rosa

 

Same genre: DARK AMBIENT
ANNINA MELISSA • Exhibition of Death
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
NADJA • The Stone is Not Hit By The Sun, Nor Carved With A Knife
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Skeleton Tree
DARKHER • Realms
DEUTSCH NEPAL • Dystopian Partycollection II
GRIMBERGEN • The Passing Of Time
MORBUS M. • Fight Or Die
FORMS OF HANDS 16 • Hands Label Sampler

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
HATCHLING • Alpha
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
FERAL BODY • Chain Ritual
ORNAMENTI D'ORO • Mater Tenebrarum
VIKTOR KALIMA • Club Muscle
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat

Music reviews

17
02
NEON ELECTRONICS
Mondriaan
15
02
QUAL
Cyber Care
14
02
0KONTROL
3RDEYE2NDHAND
12
02
LIEBKNECHT
ICE over Erfurt
11
02
THE SPECIALS
Encore
02
02
PRINCIPE VALIENTE
Choirs of Blessed Youth

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
02
Damned, Damned, Damned - At 42, 42, 42!
18
02
Today, exactly 16 years ago, American Industrial Metal band Ministry released Animositisomina!
17
02
Mechanical Man | Remembering Bob Casale - The Devo Legend
15
02
This month it’s been 23 years since Ministry released their cover version of Bob Dylan’s ‘Lay Lady Lay’!
15
02
This February, it's 32 years since Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
One year ago Peek-a-Boo and Black Easter founder Ward De Prins passed away...

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
02
ADRIANO CANZIAN
Almost Everything That Is Produced Today Makes Me Sick
16
02
THE ARCH
Living healthy can be pretty stressful
16
02
EVI VINE
'..I am a human being taking one step forward-two steps back like everyone else'
15
02
MORTAJA
It Always Has Been My Dream And I'm Enjoying It A Lot
13
02
MONICA RICHARDS
I always felt out of step with the Modern world, ever since I was a child, I do even more so now.

PHOTOS

17
02
KAELAN MIKLA
Magasin 4
17
02
SOME EMBER
Magasin 4
17
02
TURQUOISE
Magasin 4
10
02
LORDS OF ACID
YAP Leopoldsburg
20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
02
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
18
02
WARHAUS
The Good Lie
17
02
HYBRYDS
I hear you calling
16
02
WULFBAND
Gewalt!
15
02
UNDERVIEWER
Nobody But You (Redux)
14
02
CLAN OF XYMOX
Obsession
13
02
CROONA
Bleed For Me (Official Video Mix)