tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

30/09/2015 : SCHONWALD - Between Parallel Lights

SCHONWALD

Between Parallel Lights

MusicCD
Analogue SynthDark Electro

[79/100]   

anywave
30/09/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Alessandra Gismondi (vocals, bass) and Luca Bandini (guitar, synthesizers and drum machine) are coming from Ravenna, but nowhere in their sound do you hear the sunny atmosphere of the Adriatic coast. At contrary, this is very dark! The duo already toured for a while in various European clubs and with their previous records (Amplified Nature and Dream For the Fall) they became one of the groups from the minimal synth scene.

Their third album Between Parallel Lights, which contains ten songs, is a collaboration between the French labels Anywave and Manic Depression Records. And that is not an accidental thing, because their sound is both futuristic retro (the synth sounds from the early 80s) as dark (the muttering voice by Alessandro sounds very Nico-like).

The duo likes some experiment too. But do not worry, the songs might have a Dadaist character (Cabaret Voltaire is never far away), the repetitive beats will keep you awake.

The ten tracks on this record are all searching a way into your soul, which often results in superb dark electro pop that is similar to early Kirlian Camera. Sometimes it’s glamorous, sometimes just frightening, but always very original.

Schonwald makes pop, but not the kind of pop you are used to. Fascinating and beautiful!

Didier BECU
30/09/2015


NL

Alessandra Gismondi (zang, bass) en Luca Bandini (gitaar, synthesizers en drummachine) zijn wel afkomstig uit Ravenna, maar nergens hoor je in hun geluid ook maar een spatje van de Adriatische kust. Het duo toert al een tijdje in allerlei Europese clubs en met hun voorgaande platen (Amplified Nature en Dream For the Fall) zijn zij één van de te volgen groepen uit de minimal synth-scène.

Hun derde plaat Between Parallel Lights, dat tien songs bevat, is een samenwerking tussen de Franse labels Anywave en Manic Depression Records. En dat is verre van toevallig, want hun geluid klinkt zowel futuristisch retro (synthklanken uit het begin van de jaren 80) als gitzwart (de prevelende stem van Alessandra heeft een zeer hoog Nico-gehalte).

Ook haalt het duo niet zijn neus op voor wat experiment. Maar geen nood, de nummers hebben wel een dadaïstisch karakter (Cabaret Voltaire is nooit ver weg), gelukkig zorgen de repetitieve beats ervoor dat je steeds wakker blijft.

De tien nummers op deze plaat zoeken stuk voor stuk een weg in je ziel, wat vaak resulteert in bedwelmende donkere electropop die wel wat weg geeft van het vroegere Kirlian Camera-werk. Soms betoverend, dan weer beangstigend, maar vooral altijd origineel.

Schonwald maakt pop, alleen is het niet de pop die je gewoon bent. Fascinerend mooi!

Didier BECU
30/09/2015


30/09/2015 : SCHONWALD - Between Parallel Lights 30/09/2015 : SCHONWALD - Between Parallel Lights 30/09/2015 : SCHONWALD - Between Parallel Lights 30/09/2015 : SCHONWALD - Between Parallel Lights

Music reviews

03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires
18
06
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Seed of Evil

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline
28
06
HOCICO
I Abomination