tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

30/09/2015 : SCHONWALD - Between Parallel Lights

SCHONWALD

Between Parallel Lights

MusicCD
Analogue SynthDark Electro

[79/100]   

anywave
30/09/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Alessandra Gismondi (vocals, bass) and Luca Bandini (guitar, synthesizers and drum machine) are coming from Ravenna, but nowhere in their sound do you hear the sunny atmosphere of the Adriatic coast. At contrary, this is very dark! The duo already toured for a while in various European clubs and with their previous records (Amplified Nature and Dream For the Fall) they became one of the groups from the minimal synth scene.

Their third album Between Parallel Lights, which contains ten songs, is a collaboration between the French labels Anywave and Manic Depression Records. And that is not an accidental thing, because their sound is both futuristic retro (the synth sounds from the early 80s) as dark (the muttering voice by Alessandro sounds very Nico-like).

The duo likes some experiment too. But do not worry, the songs might have a Dadaist character (Cabaret Voltaire is never far away), the repetitive beats will keep you awake.

The ten tracks on this record are all searching a way into your soul, which often results in superb dark electro pop that is similar to early Kirlian Camera. Sometimes it’s glamorous, sometimes just frightening, but always very original.

Schonwald makes pop, but not the kind of pop you are used to. Fascinating and beautiful!

Didier BECU
30/09/2015


NL

Alessandra Gismondi (zang, bass) en Luca Bandini (gitaar, synthesizers en drummachine) zijn wel afkomstig uit Ravenna, maar nergens hoor je in hun geluid ook maar een spatje van de Adriatische kust. Het duo toert al een tijdje in allerlei Europese clubs en met hun voorgaande platen (Amplified Nature en Dream For the Fall) zijn zij één van de te volgen groepen uit de minimal synth-scène.

Hun derde plaat Between Parallel Lights, dat tien songs bevat, is een samenwerking tussen de Franse labels Anywave en Manic Depression Records. En dat is verre van toevallig, want hun geluid klinkt zowel futuristisch retro (synthklanken uit het begin van de jaren 80) als gitzwart (de prevelende stem van Alessandra heeft een zeer hoog Nico-gehalte).

Ook haalt het duo niet zijn neus op voor wat experiment. Maar geen nood, de nummers hebben wel een dadaïstisch karakter (Cabaret Voltaire is nooit ver weg), gelukkig zorgen de repetitieve beats ervoor dat je steeds wakker blijft.

De tien nummers op deze plaat zoeken stuk voor stuk een weg in je ziel, wat vaak resulteert in bedwelmende donkere electropop die wel wat weg geeft van het vroegere Kirlian Camera-werk. Soms betoverend, dan weer beangstigend, maar vooral altijd origineel.

Schonwald maakt pop, alleen is het niet de pop die je gewoon bent. Fascinerend mooi!

Didier BECU
30/09/2015


30/09/2015 : SCHONWALD - Between Parallel Lights 30/09/2015 : SCHONWALD - Between Parallel Lights 30/09/2015 : SCHONWALD - Between Parallel Lights 30/09/2015 : SCHONWALD - Between Parallel Lights

Music reviews

01
12
THE MARS MODEL
Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
26
11
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
The Dread Files
25
11
FIRST
Restless
18
11
AD:KEY
Resonanz
17
11
SWANS
Children Of GodFeel Good Now
16
11
ERASURE
THE NEON

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

01
12
50 years of Ruckzuck with Kraftwerk!
28
11
Today it's exactly 40 years since Siouxsie and the Banshees, released their Christmas single 'Israel'!
27
11
39 years of Don't You Want Me by The Human League
27
11
Non-Stop Erotic Cabaret | Untainted With Time - Released 39 years ago!
26
11
38 years of Melting with Siouxsie and the Banshees!
26
11
29 years ‘Fear (of the Unknown)’... by Siouxsie and the Banshees!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break
21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

01
12
EXIT STRATEGY
Dead Zone
30
11
DIVE
Black Star (Official Music Video)
30
11
POPTONE
Slice Of Life
29
11
CUELEBRE
Fodder for the raven
28
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I M B E C I L E, My Idiot Lover
27
11
LYAPIS TRUBETSKOY
Lights
26
11
PIG
Rock n Roll Refugee