tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

30/09/2015 : SCHONWALD - Between Parallel Lights

SCHONWALD

Between Parallel Lights

MusicCD
Analogue SynthDark Electro

[79/100]   

anywave
30/09/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Alessandra Gismondi (vocals, bass) and Luca Bandini (guitar, synthesizers and drum machine) are coming from Ravenna, but nowhere in their sound do you hear the sunny atmosphere of the Adriatic coast. At contrary, this is very dark! The duo already toured for a while in various European clubs and with their previous records (Amplified Nature and Dream For the Fall) they became one of the groups from the minimal synth scene.

Their third album Between Parallel Lights, which contains ten songs, is a collaboration between the French labels Anywave and Manic Depression Records. And that is not an accidental thing, because their sound is both futuristic retro (the synth sounds from the early 80s) as dark (the muttering voice by Alessandro sounds very Nico-like).

The duo likes some experiment too. But do not worry, the songs might have a Dadaist character (Cabaret Voltaire is never far away), the repetitive beats will keep you awake.

The ten tracks on this record are all searching a way into your soul, which often results in superb dark electro pop that is similar to early Kirlian Camera. Sometimes it’s glamorous, sometimes just frightening, but always very original.

Schonwald makes pop, but not the kind of pop you are used to. Fascinating and beautiful!

Didier BECU
30/09/2015


NL

Alessandra Gismondi (zang, bass) en Luca Bandini (gitaar, synthesizers en drummachine) zijn wel afkomstig uit Ravenna, maar nergens hoor je in hun geluid ook maar een spatje van de Adriatische kust. Het duo toert al een tijdje in allerlei Europese clubs en met hun voorgaande platen (Amplified Nature en Dream For the Fall) zijn zij één van de te volgen groepen uit de minimal synth-scène.

Hun derde plaat Between Parallel Lights, dat tien songs bevat, is een samenwerking tussen de Franse labels Anywave en Manic Depression Records. En dat is verre van toevallig, want hun geluid klinkt zowel futuristisch retro (synthklanken uit het begin van de jaren 80) als gitzwart (de prevelende stem van Alessandra heeft een zeer hoog Nico-gehalte).

Ook haalt het duo niet zijn neus op voor wat experiment. Maar geen nood, de nummers hebben wel een dadaïstisch karakter (Cabaret Voltaire is nooit ver weg), gelukkig zorgen de repetitieve beats ervoor dat je steeds wakker blijft.

De tien nummers op deze plaat zoeken stuk voor stuk een weg in je ziel, wat vaak resulteert in bedwelmende donkere electropop die wel wat weg geeft van het vroegere Kirlian Camera-werk. Soms betoverend, dan weer beangstigend, maar vooral altijd origineel.

Schonwald maakt pop, alleen is het niet de pop die je gewoon bent. Fascinerend mooi!

Didier BECU
30/09/2015


30/09/2015 : SCHONWALD - Between Parallel Lights 30/09/2015 : SCHONWALD - Between Parallel Lights 30/09/2015 : SCHONWALD - Between Parallel Lights 30/09/2015 : SCHONWALD - Between Parallel Lights

Music reviews

14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?
22
06
DIORAMA
ZSA
21
06
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
20
06
POESIE NOIRE
Déjà Vu