tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

30/09/2015 : SCHONWALD - Between Parallel Lights

SCHONWALD

Between Parallel Lights

MusicCD
Analogue SynthDark Electro

[79/100]   

anywave
30/09/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Alessandra Gismondi (vocals, bass) and Luca Bandini (guitar, synthesizers and drum machine) are coming from Ravenna, but nowhere in their sound do you hear the sunny atmosphere of the Adriatic coast. At contrary, this is very dark! The duo already toured for a while in various European clubs and with their previous records (Amplified Nature and Dream For the Fall) they became one of the groups from the minimal synth scene.

Their third album Between Parallel Lights, which contains ten songs, is a collaboration between the French labels Anywave and Manic Depression Records. And that is not an accidental thing, because their sound is both futuristic retro (the synth sounds from the early 80s) as dark (the muttering voice by Alessandro sounds very Nico-like).

The duo likes some experiment too. But do not worry, the songs might have a Dadaist character (Cabaret Voltaire is never far away), the repetitive beats will keep you awake.

The ten tracks on this record are all searching a way into your soul, which often results in superb dark electro pop that is similar to early Kirlian Camera. Sometimes it’s glamorous, sometimes just frightening, but always very original.

Schonwald makes pop, but not the kind of pop you are used to. Fascinating and beautiful!

Didier BECU
30/09/2015


NL

Alessandra Gismondi (zang, bass) en Luca Bandini (gitaar, synthesizers en drummachine) zijn wel afkomstig uit Ravenna, maar nergens hoor je in hun geluid ook maar een spatje van de Adriatische kust. Het duo toert al een tijdje in allerlei Europese clubs en met hun voorgaande platen (Amplified Nature en Dream For the Fall) zijn zij één van de te volgen groepen uit de minimal synth-scène.

Hun derde plaat Between Parallel Lights, dat tien songs bevat, is een samenwerking tussen de Franse labels Anywave en Manic Depression Records. En dat is verre van toevallig, want hun geluid klinkt zowel futuristisch retro (synthklanken uit het begin van de jaren 80) als gitzwart (de prevelende stem van Alessandra heeft een zeer hoog Nico-gehalte).

Ook haalt het duo niet zijn neus op voor wat experiment. Maar geen nood, de nummers hebben wel een dadaïstisch karakter (Cabaret Voltaire is nooit ver weg), gelukkig zorgen de repetitieve beats ervoor dat je steeds wakker blijft.

De tien nummers op deze plaat zoeken stuk voor stuk een weg in je ziel, wat vaak resulteert in bedwelmende donkere electropop die wel wat weg geeft van het vroegere Kirlian Camera-werk. Soms betoverend, dan weer beangstigend, maar vooral altijd origineel.

Schonwald maakt pop, alleen is het niet de pop die je gewoon bent. Fascinerend mooi!

Didier BECU
30/09/2015


30/09/2015 : SCHONWALD - Between Parallel Lights 30/09/2015 : SCHONWALD - Between Parallel Lights 30/09/2015 : SCHONWALD - Between Parallel Lights 30/09/2015 : SCHONWALD - Between Parallel Lights

Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

01
03
SEX GANG CHILDREN PREMIERE NEW SINGLE - DEATH MASK MUSSOLINI
28
02
35 years ago Siouxsie and The Banshees released the single Candyman!
25
02
Today it's exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released March Of The Pigs!
25
02
Mirror Man | Mourning The Sad Passing Of Talk Talk’s Mark Hollis - 2 ago.
23
02
Today, it’s 43 years ago that renowned BBC DJ John Peel broadcast the second John Peel session by Siouxsie & The Banshees
20
02
This Charming Band | 37 Years Ago, The Smiths Release Their Debut Album

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

01
03
THE BREATH OF LIFE
CRIME PASSIONNEL
28
02
LCN (LE CHOCOLAT NOIR)
N'Écoutez Pas Tous Les Conseils De Vos Amis (Official Music Video)
27
02
ANTIPOLE
Part Deux
26
02
WILDNORTHE
Swamp
25
02
NEW ORDER
Regret
24
02
MANDIVULA
GHSTNG
23
02
CABARET VOLTAIRE
Nag Nag Nag