tempobet yeni adresi
like this vinyl review

17/09/2014 : VOID VISION - Sub Rosa

VOID VISION

Sub Rosa

MusicVinyl
Analogue SynthDark ElectroElectroSynth WaveSynthpop

[94/100]   

Mannequin
17/09/2014, Pascal VERLOOVE

A good album press release should be short and make you want to listen to it without further delay. This is exactly what happened to me when reading the presentation of Sub Rosa, Void Vision’s first full-length album. Descriptions such as “vintage dance elements”, “haunting melancholy” and “referencing a cross-section of the last 30 years of electronic music” definitely thrilled me, and I felt that sense of urgency that makes you want to dive into the music immediately.

That said, before playing Sub Rosa, I wondered if this young Philadelphian could really summarize in ten tracks, thirty years of electronic music … but it didn’t take long to realize the press release was absolutely right and she has done exactly that.

Even though Void Vision started out as a duo, it’s now the solo project of Shari Vari, but you would hardly believe that she is alone behind the machines.

Sub Rosa is dense, catchy, fresh, and yes, in the end, in a way shows a broad panorama of what electronic music has offered in the last decades.

As soon as the eighties vintage synth sounds and rhythms of One, opening the album, start you are won over. The vocals quickly add strength to the tune that stays in your head long after it has ended. That mix of catchy electronics and haunting voices becomes even more captivating on the next track, Everything is fine, and when Shari sings “Tell me everything is fine” could you do anything else than echo “this is more than fine, this is just brilliant" ?

With Hidden Hand, Void Vision offers a more repetitive and hypnotic sound, and again, the sensual vocals bring the warmth on top of the synthetic layers. Hidden Hand reminded me of Soft Metals or Feathers – I guess references to those excellent bands are nothing to be ashamed of !

Sour shows a more pop side of Void Vision (this pop aspect being even more apparent on the Vanzetti & Sacco Remix, available on Sour EP), but don’t see “pop” as something bad, just think of it as the synthpop of The Human League period Dare!

The album offers two beautiful dark ballads as well (To the Sea, Queen of Hearts), a beautifully crafted instrumental (or nearly, with just a hint of haunting voices) Slow Dawn that introduces the speedy hypnotic Vulgar Displays that indicates it’s time to run to the dance floor.

When the album finishes it is striking that although the genre (synthwave, call it what you will) has once again returned very popular in recent years, only a few releases show such a degree of maturity, especially for a debut album. The sense of melody, the crafting of the sounds and how the vocals are posed on each track make this a little jewel to enjoy, and definitely a band to follow.

Sub Rosa will soon be released by the Berliner label Mannequin and will be available in vinyl in 500 copies only, so make sure you get yours quickly, the Sour EP is sold out already ! A CD release will follow next year, hopefully allowing Void Vision to reach the audience she deserves. And a European tour is also planned for 2015, another reason to rejoice !

Pascal VERLOOVE
17/09/2014


 

Next reviews
RAYA MARTIN • Independencia
LONE • Reality Testing
NUCLEUS TORN • Street Lights Fail
MERCIFUL NUNS • Meteora
ZHANGKE JIA • A Touch Of Sin
SKEPTICAL MINDS • Run for your live 2014
JOHN FOXX • The Virgin Years 1981-1985 Box set
GRAUSAME TOCHTER • Glaube Liebe Hoffnung
MARK REEDER • Colloborator
LEOS CARAX • Mauvais Sang

 

Other reviews from VOID VISION
VOID VISION • Sub Rosa

 

Same genre: ANALOGUE SYNTH
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
SINE SILEX • Schachmatt
VARIOUS ARISTS • Liasons Dangereuses
EL GUERRILLERO ROJO • Manifiesto LP 1983-1984
SCHONWALD • Between Parallel Lights
METAL DISCO • Unearthly Vices
CLAUS FOVEA • Cyanide/King Ludd
NÖVÖ • Zeitgeist
ALLES • Post
NON-HUMAN PERSONS • No Fear

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
TRAGIC IMPULSE • Distant Worlds
SAMHAIN • Experiment
DIRK DA DAVO • The Unreal
HOCICO • HyperViolent
MATT HART • Decimate
COMBICHRIST • Compliance
MILDREDA • I was never really there
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
PYRROLINE • Struggling

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
STAATSEINDE • Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
ADULT. • Becoming Undone
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Desctruction
RHYS FULBER • Brutal Nature
J:DEAD • Tearing me apart
HERRNIA • Takkewereld
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II
JIHAD • Retrospekt
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn

 

Same genre: SYNTH WAVE
MAGNETIC RUST • Multicolor
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
NUOVO TESTAMENTO • New Earth
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • A New Dawn
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER • Lost Feelings
CAUSENATION • Promises of hope and fear
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
VIOLENT VICKIE • Blame
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • Melancholic Maniac
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil

 

Same genre: SYNTHPOP
FRAGRANCE • Salt Water
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
IMPERATIVE REACTION • Mirror
ERASURE • THE NEON
ASSEMBLAGE 23 • Mourn
TUKT • Tukt
COLD IN MAY • Isolation songs
DARK-O-MATIC • A cage with the door wide open
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • DIAMONDS
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!
05
08
Industrial artist, Nuda addresses past trauma & mental illness with 'Trigger'
05
08
Darkwave Duo Sever The Servants Drop Apocalyptic Debut LP

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
ROME
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)
02
08
DIE KRUPPS
Goldfinger
01
08
ZARDONIC
Revelation