tempobet yeni adresi
like this vinyl review

17/09/2014 : VOID VISION - Sub Rosa

VOID VISION

Sub Rosa

MusicVinyl
Analogue SynthDark ElectroElectroSynth WaveSynthpop

[94/100]   

Mannequin
17/09/2014, Pascal VERLOOVE

A good album press release should be short and make you want to listen to it without further delay. This is exactly what happened to me when reading the presentation of Sub Rosa, Void Vision’s first full-length album. Descriptions such as “vintage dance elements”, “haunting melancholy” and “referencing a cross-section of the last 30 years of electronic music” definitely thrilled me, and I felt that sense of urgency that makes you want to dive into the music immediately.

That said, before playing Sub Rosa, I wondered if this young Philadelphian could really summarize in ten tracks, thirty years of electronic music … but it didn’t take long to realize the press release was absolutely right and she has done exactly that.

Even though Void Vision started out as a duo, it’s now the solo project of Shari Vari, but you would hardly believe that she is alone behind the machines.

Sub Rosa is dense, catchy, fresh, and yes, in the end, in a way shows a broad panorama of what electronic music has offered in the last decades.

As soon as the eighties vintage synth sounds and rhythms of One, opening the album, start you are won over. The vocals quickly add strength to the tune that stays in your head long after it has ended. That mix of catchy electronics and haunting voices becomes even more captivating on the next track, Everything is fine, and when Shari sings “Tell me everything is fine” could you do anything else than echo “this is more than fine, this is just brilliant" ?

With Hidden Hand, Void Vision offers a more repetitive and hypnotic sound, and again, the sensual vocals bring the warmth on top of the synthetic layers. Hidden Hand reminded me of Soft Metals or Feathers – I guess references to those excellent bands are nothing to be ashamed of !

Sour shows a more pop side of Void Vision (this pop aspect being even more apparent on the Vanzetti & Sacco Remix, available on Sour EP), but don’t see “pop” as something bad, just think of it as the synthpop of The Human League period Dare!

The album offers two beautiful dark ballads as well (To the Sea, Queen of Hearts), a beautifully crafted instrumental (or nearly, with just a hint of haunting voices) Slow Dawn that introduces the speedy hypnotic Vulgar Displays that indicates it’s time to run to the dance floor.

When the album finishes it is striking that although the genre (synthwave, call it what you will) has once again returned very popular in recent years, only a few releases show such a degree of maturity, especially for a debut album. The sense of melody, the crafting of the sounds and how the vocals are posed on each track make this a little jewel to enjoy, and definitely a band to follow.

Sub Rosa will soon be released by the Berliner label Mannequin and will be available in vinyl in 500 copies only, so make sure you get yours quickly, the Sour EP is sold out already ! A CD release will follow next year, hopefully allowing Void Vision to reach the audience she deserves. And a European tour is also planned for 2015, another reason to rejoice !

Pascal VERLOOVE
17/09/2014


 

Next reviews
RAYA MARTIN • Independencia
LONE • Reality Testing
NUCLEUS TORN • Street Lights Fail
MERCIFUL NUNS • Meteora
ZHANGKE JIA • A Touch Of Sin
SKEPTICAL MINDS • Run for your live 2014
JOHN FOXX • The Virgin Years 1981-1985 Box set
GRAUSAME TOCHTER • Glaube Liebe Hoffnung
MARK REEDER • Colloborator
LEOS CARAX • Mauvais Sang

 

Other reviews from VOID VISION
VOID VISION • Sub Rosa

 

Same genre: ANALOGUE SYNTH
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
SINE SILEX • Schachmatt
VARIOUS ARISTS • Liasons Dangereuses
EL GUERRILLERO ROJO • Manifiesto LP 1983-1984
SCHONWALD • Between Parallel Lights
METAL DISCO • Unearthly Vices
CLAUS FOVEA • Cyanide/King Ludd
NÖVÖ • Zeitgeist
ALLES • Post
NON-HUMAN PERSONS • No Fear

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
FEU FOLLET • Le champ des morts
OCTOLAB • Mystery Park
REALITY'S DESPAIR • Melancholic Disposition
MISERIA ULTIMA • Graygarden
REACTOR7X • Are You My Bitch
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • Harbringer
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne
ENZO KREFT • Control
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
BOYTRONIC • The Robot Treatment
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Heut Nacht
6TH CROWD • Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
M73 • Tainted
PLASTIKSTROM • Beton Gegen Angst
MASSIVE ATTACK • Massive Attack vs Mad Professor Part II | Mezzanine Remix Tapes
ELM • Death Of The North
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit
CHEMICAL BROTHERS • No Geography

 

Same genre: SYNTH WAVE
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
MORE EPHEMEROL • Obituary Templates
RINGFINGER • Pressure
L'AVENIR • Requiem And Live
RADERKRAFT • Smart Control
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
LADYTRON • Ladytron

 

Same genre: SYNTHPOP
COLD IN MAY • Isolation songs
DARK-O-MATIC • A cage with the door wide open
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • DIAMONDS
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
FRAGRANCE • Now That I'm Real
ART DIKTATOR • Isola
ANGEL METRO • DARK DAYS BRIGHT LIGHTS
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
APSURDE • See Me Coming
STORY OFF • Facing Forward

Music reviews

28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires
18
06
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Seed of Evil
17
06
DEATH IN JUNE
THE CORN YEARS
16
06
AUGER
Insurgence

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!
03
06
Today, 42 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
28
05
Electro/Synthwave act GIANT MONSTERS ON THE HORIZON unleash new studio album - Live From Night City

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us
10
06
THE JUGGERNAUTS
It's striking, in 'mainstream' genres no-one is making a big deal about band's similarities and their possible influences... But oh dear if you dare make EBM!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline
28
06
HOCICO
I Abomination
27
06
BOY HARSHER
Motion
26
06
NICK CAVE & THE BAD SEEDS
The Mercy Seat