tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

16/09/2014 : GRAUSAME TOCHTER - Glaube Liebe Hoffnung

GRAUSAME TOCHTER

Glaube Liebe Hoffnung

MusicCD
Dark ElectroDark WaveElectropunkIndustrial

[84/100]   

Dark Dimensions
16/09/2014, Benny CALUWE

I first heard of this notorious all-female band when some friends returned from Summer Darkness 2013 in Utrecht. They were impressed by the BDSM-show, especially by Aranea Peel's performance. They told me I definitely had to check out Grausame Töchter (=cruel daughter), so I did. On YouTube I found some entertaining official videos with erotic, lesbian and fetish images. Mostly uptempo danceable songs (such as Freundin, TABU, Tanz Für Dich...), but also with dramatic tracks like Rosen Für Dich and Beleidigte Engel they show what they are capable of.

Glaube Liebe Hoffnung is a versatile album. The title track starts with angry cellos. Lust und Tod is built on an electronic sequence that reminds me of a slow D.A.F.-song. Other tracks start with a piano. On top of that we always get some industrial noise. The album offers some upbeat tracks, mid-tempo songs and bombastic ones. 

Verlassen stands out because of the angelic backing vocals. Solipsismus (Latin for the philosophical idea that only one's own mind is sure to exist) is delightful bombastic with repeating Ich Kann Nicht Lieben, Ich Kann Nichts Fühlen as a mantra. Other superb tracks are Blutwalzer, Sex in Latex (with some hard hitting percussion) and Wie Eine Hyäne (with its nice beats). But my personal favourites are Quid Pro Quo (with the menacing bass tones on piano and the dissonant guitar parts) and Paradies. When I hear that little piano part in Paradies reinforced by the laughter, I see images from an evil carousel on a Halloween-fair. Combined with the restrained, beautiful strings and Areana's whispering, fragile voice we get an excellent track.

Aranea Peel is a front woman with impressive vocals. Sounding alternately furious, vulnerable, insane, dramatic, rabid, menacing, commanding and tempting. 

Grausame Töchter describes their music as dark electro punk. Because of the frequent use of classical instruments I would categorise it more as an industrialised Das Ich or a harsher Untoten meets Pzycho Bitch.

Glaube Liebe Hoffnung is a great album with lots of variation. It's released with a bonus-CD (limited to 1000 copies). On that one we get instrumental versions of their more popular songs. A similar concept as Death In June did on Peaceful Snow, resulting in a calm, sad, mysterious and poetic atmosphere.

The cruel daughter will play on Black Easter in Antwerp. The story goes that some people got so electrified during a Grausame Töchter-show, that they had intercourse between the crowd in front of the stage. Stories like that only make us more curious than we already are. Don't miss that opportunity. 

Benny CALUWE
16/09/2014


 

Next reviews
MARK REEDER • Colloborator
LEOS CARAX • Mauvais Sang
THE MOON AND THE NIGHTSPIRIT • Holdrejtek
RICHARD LINKLATER • Bernie
ELLIOT GOLDNER • FILM: The Borderlands
DEN ARKAISKA RÖSTEN • ◯▲
ZODIAC • Sonic Child
LUC BESSON • CINEMA: Lucy
LISA GERRARD • Twilight Kingdom
MICHAEL APTED • The World Is Not Enough

 

Other reviews from GRAUSAME TOCHTER
GRAUSAME TOCHTER • Vagina Dentata
GRAUSAME TOCHTER • Mein Eigentliches Element

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
REACTOR7X • Are You My Bitch
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • Harbringer
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne
ENZO KREFT • Control
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
HOCICO • Artificial Extinction
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
REALITY'S DESPAIR • Human Transitions
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
MIREXXX • Vault

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Pink Obsession
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
DARK DOOR • Inferno
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Hologram Moon
SILENT RUNNERS • The Directory
MANNEQUIN • Singles/Faction
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact

 

Same genre: ELECTROPUNK
HATCHLING • Alpha
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
DEF NEON • Def Neon
GRAUSAME TOCHTER • Vagina Dentata
LAST AVENUE • Integration Protocol
SSLEEPING DESIRESS • Ssleeping Desiress
HOCICO • In The Name Of Violence
CONTINENTAL+LIAISON • Series Of Events
APHEX TWIN • Syro
ETHAN FAWKES • ALL YOUR LIES

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
BLAC KOLOR • Nephi
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
XTORT • Nothing is real
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION
DIVE • Live Maschinenfest 2017
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Eye On You (Feat. Robert Görl)
KLANGWELT • The Incident
KAISER IMAGO • The Whisper Of Darkness

Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
01
THE LEGENDARY PINK DOTS 40th ANNIVERSARY EUROPEAN TOUR
20
01
Peek-a-Boo Magazine # 36 - Out Now!
19
01
On this day, 29 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!
18
01
On this day, 40 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!
17
01
Today, 35 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
25 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.
14
01
IC 434
find it amazing to live in a highly developed society and at the same time having to realize what a mentally mess it really is.

PHOTOS

19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
ERYX LONDON
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
KEZDOWN
DARK WINTER FESTIVAL LIEGE
26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

20
01
THROBBING GRISTLE
Six Six Sixties (Fan made video)
19
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Blackout
18
01
SDH (SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS)
No Miracles (Official Video)
17
01
CAPITAL X
Majesty
17
01
GARBAGE
No Horses
16
01
SEVERED HEADS
All Saints Day
15
01
EURYTHMICS
Sweet Dreams