tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

16/09/2014 : GRAUSAME TOCHTER - Glaube Liebe Hoffnung

GRAUSAME TOCHTER

Glaube Liebe Hoffnung

MusicCD
Dark ElectroDark WaveElectropunkIndustrial

[84/100]   

Dark Dimensions
16/09/2014, Benny CALUWE

I first heard of this notorious all-female band when some friends returned from Summer Darkness 2013 in Utrecht. They were impressed by the BDSM-show, especially by Aranea Peel's performance. They told me I definitely had to check out Grausame Töchter (=cruel daughter), so I did. On YouTube I found some entertaining official videos with erotic, lesbian and fetish images. Mostly uptempo danceable songs (such as Freundin, TABU, Tanz Für Dich...), but also with dramatic tracks like Rosen Für Dich and Beleidigte Engel they show what they are capable of.

Glaube Liebe Hoffnung is a versatile album. The title track starts with angry cellos. Lust und Tod is built on an electronic sequence that reminds me of a slow D.A.F.-song. Other tracks start with a piano. On top of that we always get some industrial noise. The album offers some upbeat tracks, mid-tempo songs and bombastic ones. 

Verlassen stands out because of the angelic backing vocals. Solipsismus (Latin for the philosophical idea that only one's own mind is sure to exist) is delightful bombastic with repeating Ich Kann Nicht Lieben, Ich Kann Nichts Fühlen as a mantra. Other superb tracks are Blutwalzer, Sex in Latex (with some hard hitting percussion) and Wie Eine Hyäne (with its nice beats). But my personal favourites are Quid Pro Quo (with the menacing bass tones on piano and the dissonant guitar parts) and Paradies. When I hear that little piano part in Paradies reinforced by the laughter, I see images from an evil carousel on a Halloween-fair. Combined with the restrained, beautiful strings and Areana's whispering, fragile voice we get an excellent track.

Aranea Peel is a front woman with impressive vocals. Sounding alternately furious, vulnerable, insane, dramatic, rabid, menacing, commanding and tempting. 

Grausame Töchter describes their music as dark electro punk. Because of the frequent use of classical instruments I would categorise it more as an industrialised Das Ich or a harsher Untoten meets Pzycho Bitch.

Glaube Liebe Hoffnung is a great album with lots of variation. It's released with a bonus-CD (limited to 1000 copies). On that one we get instrumental versions of their more popular songs. A similar concept as Death In June did on Peaceful Snow, resulting in a calm, sad, mysterious and poetic atmosphere.

The cruel daughter will play on Black Easter in Antwerp. The story goes that some people got so electrified during a Grausame Töchter-show, that they had intercourse between the crowd in front of the stage. Stories like that only make us more curious than we already are. Don't miss that opportunity. 

Benny CALUWE
16/09/2014


 

Next reviews
MARK REEDER • Colloborator
LEOS CARAX • Mauvais Sang
THE MOON AND THE NIGHTSPIRIT • Holdrejtek
RICHARD LINKLATER • Bernie
ELLIOT GOLDNER • FILM: The Borderlands
DEN ARKAISKA RÖSTEN • ◯▲
ZODIAC • Sonic Child
LUC BESSON • CINEMA: Lucy
LISA GERRARD • Twilight Kingdom
MICHAEL APTED • The World Is Not Enough

 

Other reviews from GRAUSAME TOCHTER
GRAUSAME TOCHTER • Vagina Dentata
GRAUSAME TOCHTER • Mein Eigentliches Element

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
ALVAR • I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds
DICEPEOPLE • One From Many
ANDERS MANGA • Perfectly Stranger
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
LEDERMAN / DE MEYER • A Tribe Of My Own
MISERIA ULTIMA • Phospor
METAL DISCO • Devil Explicit
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE • XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
MORTAL VOID • Of shadows and mirrors
THE INVINCIBLE SPIRIT • NEIN! (Single)

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
DARK DOOR • Inferno
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Hologram Moon
SILENT RUNNERS • The Directory
MANNEQUIN • Singles/Faction
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact
DRAB MAJESTY • The Demonstration
THE INSIGHT • The Other Side
THE AGNES CIRCLE • Some Vague Design
THE BEAUTY OF GEMINA • Minor Sun

 

Same genre: ELECTROPUNK
DEF NEON • Def Neon
GRAUSAME TOCHTER • Vagina Dentata
LAST AVENUE • Integration Protocol
SSLEEPING DESIRESS • Ssleeping Desiress
HOCICO • In The Name Of Violence
CONTINENTAL+LIAISON • Series Of Events
APHEX TWIN • Syro
ETHAN FAWKES • ALL YOUR LIES
DEVIL-M • Revenge of the Antichrist
COCKSURE • KKEP

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
KAISER IMAGO • The Whisper Of Darkness
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
STIN SCATZOR • Industranquilizer
MIRLAND/LARSEN • Disturbia
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter
STACIAN • Person L
HEXHEART • Midnight on a Moonless Night
3TEETH • Shutdown.exe
DIVE • Underneath
LUXVID • Trench

Music reviews

19
10
CHRIS WATSON
Locations Processed
18
10
COLE VARGAS
Cole Vargas
16
10
DAVID BOWIE
Low, Heroes, Lodger
15
10
ALVAR
I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds
15
10
BAUHAUS
Bela Lugosi’s Dead
14
10
VLIMMER
Angststand

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
10
Dive re-releases his fourth studio album 'Snakedressed' on double vinyl
18
10
'Write When You Get Work' screening at Philadelphia Film Festival this weekend - watch the trailer here!
17
10
Belgian post-punk outfit Whispering Sons has announced their long-awaited debut album 'Image'!
16
10
KOLLAPS ANNOUNCES EUROPEAN TOUR 2018
16
10
'A Midsummer Night's Dream' - a modern adaption of Shakespeare's comedy play - out on iTunes today!
15
10
PEEK-A-BOO MAGAZINE N° 31 - OUT NOW!

Concert reviews

24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
10
MERZBOW
Interview with Masami Akita (Merzbow)
17
10
ALVAR
The trend of 2018 has been 303´s - we sold ours!
03
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Right before their performance at W-Fest A Slice Of Life released their debut album Restless which turns out to be an excellent post-punk record. Dark Entries was curious about the band’s history and the album, and had
06
09
STRONG PRODUCT, 0KONTROL
What RUSSIAN EBM and ATOMWAVE are all about
04
09
SOPHYA
Luckily The Human Being Is Bored Easily And Vinyl Saved The Day

PHOTOS

16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik
09
10
NEON ELECTRONICS
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
09
10
APPARAAT
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
10
DEATH KOOLAID
Kids
18
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
17
10
VNV NATION
When is the Future?
17
10
WARDRUNA
Raido
16
10
DUSK
The Next Me
16
10
DOOMSQUAD
Pyramids On Mars
15
10
NITZER EBB
Let Your Body Learn