tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

16/09/2014 : GRAUSAME TOCHTER - Glaube Liebe Hoffnung

GRAUSAME TOCHTER

Glaube Liebe Hoffnung

MusicCD
Dark ElectroDark WaveElectropunkIndustrial

[84/100]   

Dark Dimensions
16/09/2014, Benny CALUWE

I first heard of this notorious all-female band when some friends returned from Summer Darkness 2013 in Utrecht. They were impressed by the BDSM-show, especially by Aranea Peel's performance. They told me I definitely had to check out Grausame Töchter (=cruel daughter), so I did. On YouTube I found some entertaining official videos with erotic, lesbian and fetish images. Mostly uptempo danceable songs (such as Freundin, TABU, Tanz Für Dich...), but also with dramatic tracks like Rosen Für Dich and Beleidigte Engel they show what they are capable of.

Glaube Liebe Hoffnung is a versatile album. The title track starts with angry cellos. Lust und Tod is built on an electronic sequence that reminds me of a slow D.A.F.-song. Other tracks start with a piano. On top of that we always get some industrial noise. The album offers some upbeat tracks, mid-tempo songs and bombastic ones. 

Verlassen stands out because of the angelic backing vocals. Solipsismus (Latin for the philosophical idea that only one's own mind is sure to exist) is delightful bombastic with repeating Ich Kann Nicht Lieben, Ich Kann Nichts Fühlen as a mantra. Other superb tracks are Blutwalzer, Sex in Latex (with some hard hitting percussion) and Wie Eine Hyäne (with its nice beats). But my personal favourites are Quid Pro Quo (with the menacing bass tones on piano and the dissonant guitar parts) and Paradies. When I hear that little piano part in Paradies reinforced by the laughter, I see images from an evil carousel on a Halloween-fair. Combined with the restrained, beautiful strings and Areana's whispering, fragile voice we get an excellent track.

Aranea Peel is a front woman with impressive vocals. Sounding alternately furious, vulnerable, insane, dramatic, rabid, menacing, commanding and tempting. 

Grausame Töchter describes their music as dark electro punk. Because of the frequent use of classical instruments I would categorise it more as an industrialised Das Ich or a harsher Untoten meets Pzycho Bitch.

Glaube Liebe Hoffnung is a great album with lots of variation. It's released with a bonus-CD (limited to 1000 copies). On that one we get instrumental versions of their more popular songs. A similar concept as Death In June did on Peaceful Snow, resulting in a calm, sad, mysterious and poetic atmosphere.

The cruel daughter will play on Black Easter in Antwerp. The story goes that some people got so electrified during a Grausame Töchter-show, that they had intercourse between the crowd in front of the stage. Stories like that only make us more curious than we already are. Don't miss that opportunity. 

Benny CALUWE
16/09/2014


 

Next reviews
MARK REEDER • Colloborator
LEOS CARAX • Mauvais Sang
THE MOON AND THE NIGHTSPIRIT • Holdrejtek
RICHARD LINKLATER • Bernie
ELLIOT GOLDNER • FILM: The Borderlands
DEN ARKAISKA RÖSTEN • ◯▲
ZODIAC • Sonic Child
LUC BESSON • CINEMA: Lucy
LISA GERRARD • Twilight Kingdom
MICHAEL APTED • The World Is Not Enough

 

Other reviews from GRAUSAME TOCHTER
GRAUSAME TOCHTER • Vagina Dentata
GRAUSAME TOCHTER • Mein Eigentliches Element

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
ANDERS MANGA • Perfectly Stranger
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
LEDERMAN / DE MEYER • A Tribe Of My Own
MISERIA ULTIMA • Phospor
METAL DISCO • Devil Explicit
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE • XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
MORTAL VOID • Of shadows and mirrors
THE INVINCIBLE SPIRIT • NEIN! (Single)
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
BOY HARSHER • Country Girl

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
DARK DOOR • Inferno
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Hologram Moon
SILENT RUNNERS • The Directory
MANNEQUIN • Singles/Faction
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact
DRAB MAJESTY • The Demonstration
THE INSIGHT • The Other Side
THE AGNES CIRCLE • Some Vague Design
THE BEAUTY OF GEMINA • Minor Sun
THE SECOND WAVE • Various Artists

 

Same genre: ELECTROPUNK
DEF NEON • Def Neon
GRAUSAME TOCHTER • Vagina Dentata
LAST AVENUE • Integration Protocol
SSLEEPING DESIRESS • Ssleeping Desiress
HOCICO • In The Name Of Violence
CONTINENTAL+LIAISON • Series Of Events
APHEX TWIN • Syro
ETHAN FAWKES • ALL YOUR LIES
DEVIL-M • Revenge of the Antichrist
COCKSURE • KKEP

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
STIN SCATZOR • Industranquilizer
MIRLAND/LARSEN • Disturbia
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter
STACIAN • Person L
HEXHEART • Midnight on a Moonless Night
3TEETH • Shutdown.exe
DIVE • Underneath
LUXVID • Trench
BESTIAL MOUTHS • (Still) Heartless

Music reviews

09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.
09
08
REACTOR7X
And Chaos Bacame The New Order
01
08
ANNINA MELISSA
Exhibition of Death
31
07
CRIMEN
Silent Animals
26
07
VIOLENCE
Le Flux de la Nature
22
07
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS
Semiotics Department of Heteronyms

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
08
Today, it’s exactly 31 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
08
08
James Ray (The voice from The Sisterhood) returns with brand new album, band and musical style change!
02
08
This month, 35 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
30
07
'Anything' movie: UK digital release on August, 6th!
25
07
Spacelab revisited! ISS calls Kraftwerk from outer Space!
25
07
'Locating Silver Lake' screening at Breckenridge Film Festival in September!

Concert reviews

14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'
03
08
LIZARD SMILE
'I still see it as the expression of appreciation par excellence to buy a physical album. It still remains more ‘real’ … one way or another.'
29
07
SN-A
I Also Love Telling Stories Without Words
27
07
STIN SCATZOR
I never could have thought Stin Scatzor would ever release an album on DAFT Records!

PHOTOS

16
08
16
08
BAUHAUS
W-Fest Amougies
12
08
12
08
GARY NUMAN
Lokerse Feesten
01
08
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Amphi
01
08
PERSEPHONE
Amphi
01
08
MAD SIN
Amphi

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
08
THE SISTERS OF MERCY
Lucretia, My Reflection
18
08
MARY OCHER
The Android Sea
17
08
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
16
08
DE/VISION
Brotherhood Of Man
15
08
SOLAR FAKE
Under Control
15
08
NEW ORDER
Restless
15
08
JO QUAIL
Gold (live)