tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

16/09/2014 : GRAUSAME TOCHTER - Glaube Liebe Hoffnung

GRAUSAME TOCHTER

Glaube Liebe Hoffnung

MusicCD
Dark ElectroDark WaveElectropunkIndustrial

[84/100]   

Dark Dimensions
16/09/2014, Benny CALUWE

I first heard of this notorious all-female band when some friends returned from Summer Darkness 2013 in Utrecht. They were impressed by the BDSM-show, especially by Aranea Peel's performance. They told me I definitely had to check out Grausame Töchter (=cruel daughter), so I did. On YouTube I found some entertaining official videos with erotic, lesbian and fetish images. Mostly uptempo danceable songs (such as Freundin, TABU, Tanz Für Dich...), but also with dramatic tracks like Rosen Für Dich and Beleidigte Engel they show what they are capable of.

Glaube Liebe Hoffnung is a versatile album. The title track starts with angry cellos. Lust und Tod is built on an electronic sequence that reminds me of a slow D.A.F.-song. Other tracks start with a piano. On top of that we always get some industrial noise. The album offers some upbeat tracks, mid-tempo songs and bombastic ones. 

Verlassen stands out because of the angelic backing vocals. Solipsismus (Latin for the philosophical idea that only one's own mind is sure to exist) is delightful bombastic with repeating Ich Kann Nicht Lieben, Ich Kann Nichts Fühlen as a mantra. Other superb tracks are Blutwalzer, Sex in Latex (with some hard hitting percussion) and Wie Eine Hyäne (with its nice beats). But my personal favourites are Quid Pro Quo (with the menacing bass tones on piano and the dissonant guitar parts) and Paradies. When I hear that little piano part in Paradies reinforced by the laughter, I see images from an evil carousel on a Halloween-fair. Combined with the restrained, beautiful strings and Areana's whispering, fragile voice we get an excellent track.

Aranea Peel is a front woman with impressive vocals. Sounding alternately furious, vulnerable, insane, dramatic, rabid, menacing, commanding and tempting. 

Grausame Töchter describes their music as dark electro punk. Because of the frequent use of classical instruments I would categorise it more as an industrialised Das Ich or a harsher Untoten meets Pzycho Bitch.

Glaube Liebe Hoffnung is a great album with lots of variation. It's released with a bonus-CD (limited to 1000 copies). On that one we get instrumental versions of their more popular songs. A similar concept as Death In June did on Peaceful Snow, resulting in a calm, sad, mysterious and poetic atmosphere.

The cruel daughter will play on Black Easter in Antwerp. The story goes that some people got so electrified during a Grausame Töchter-show, that they had intercourse between the crowd in front of the stage. Stories like that only make us more curious than we already are. Don't miss that opportunity. 

Benny CALUWE
16/09/2014


 

Next reviews
MARK REEDER • Colloborator
LEOS CARAX • Mauvais Sang
THE MOON AND THE NIGHTSPIRIT • Holdrejtek
RICHARD LINKLATER • Bernie
ELLIOT GOLDNER • FILM: The Borderlands
DEN ARKAISKA RÖSTEN • ◯▲
ZODIAC • Sonic Child
LUC BESSON • CINEMA: Lucy
LISA GERRARD • Twilight Kingdom
MICHAEL APTED • The World Is Not Enough

 

Other reviews from GRAUSAME TOCHTER
GRAUSAME TOCHTER • Vagina Dentata
GRAUSAME TOCHTER • Mein Eigentliches Element

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
REACTOR7X • Are You My Bitch
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • Harbringer
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne
ENZO KREFT • Control
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
HOCICO • Artificial Extinction
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
REALITY'S DESPAIR • Human Transitions
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
MIREXXX • Vault

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Pink Obsession
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
DARK DOOR • Inferno
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Hologram Moon
SILENT RUNNERS • The Directory
MANNEQUIN • Singles/Faction
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact

 

Same genre: ELECTROPUNK
HATCHLING • Alpha
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
DEF NEON • Def Neon
GRAUSAME TOCHTER • Vagina Dentata
LAST AVENUE • Integration Protocol
SSLEEPING DESIRESS • Ssleeping Desiress
HOCICO • In The Name Of Violence
CONTINENTAL+LIAISON • Series Of Events
APHEX TWIN • Syro
ETHAN FAWKES • ALL YOUR LIES

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
XTORT • Nothing is real
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION
DIVE • Live Maschinenfest 2017
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Eye On You (Feat. Robert Görl)
KLANGWELT • The Incident
KAISER IMAGO • The Whisper Of Darkness
KNK • Dead Body Music III

Music reviews

17
10
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA
Mesmeranto
17
10
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK
Far From The Apple Tree
16
10
CABARET VOLTAIRE
Chance Versus Causality
16
10
MASSIVE ATTACK
Massive Attack vs Mad Professor Part II | Mezzanine Remix Tapes
15
10
DAVID J HASKINS
Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
15
10
ARMSTRONG
Under Blue Skies

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
10
29 years ago Nine Inch Nails released 'Sin'
09
10
The Arch releases new album 'XII'
08
10
Eclectic Artist Addie Brik Releases New Single
07
10
YOVA - Debut Single 'Moondog' (featuring members of PJ Harvey / Grumbling Fur / Cameron Craig)
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'
12
10
NEON INSECT
A Conversation With Neon Insect
11
10
ENZO KREFT
Many tracks from 'Control' are about the relationship between humans and technology and the dangerous consequences of this in the near future.
10
10
AMY STUDT
'It’ll be alright in the end and if it isn’t alright, it isn’t yet the end.'
09
10
STALINGRAD VALKYRIE
The old world will be collapsing pretty soon!

PHOTOS

06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
04
10
SLAVE SEPERATION VS KNK
Fetish Café Antwerpen
04
10
LEAETHER STRIP
Fetish Café Antwerpen
22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

17
10
AZAR SWAN
Over
16
10
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
15
10
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO
Merry Christmas Mr Lawrence
14
10
DELERIUM
Keep on Dreaming (featuring Jaël)
13
10
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
Queen Ephemeria / live in Hamburg
12
10
THE FROZEN AUTUMN
Static Cold
11
10
BALTIMORE
Sunglasses