tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

12/11/2015 : VARIOUS ARISTS - Liasons Dangereuses

VARIOUS ARISTS

Liasons Dangereuses

MusicCD
Analogue SynthElectro PopNew wave

[98/100]   

Universal Music
12/11/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Call it nostalgia, but the 80s were gorgeous! There was no internet and you did not have a millions clips (that at the end of the day no one watches), but you had your radio! Do you remember that old thing? No, we are not talking about that piece of furniture that produces the voice of a hysterical DJ who plays 24 hours the same songs per day or freaks you out with stupid games. In the 80s the radio had a discovery function. Everyone was listening with a tape recorder to record the tunes that were played by John Peel. On the Belgian national radio, Gust De Coster and Luc Janssen were the best, but the pirate stations also had great names.

In Antwerp, there was the dance radio SIS and its programme Liaisons Dangereuses was very influential and presented by the (now very popular) Sven van Hees and Paul Ward. The style was so progressive, that some say it was the forerunner of the new beat genre. Sven and Paul love those days and the two compiled an excellent double CD that features 38 songs.

Another new wave compilation with hackneyed tunes? Absolutely not, even though there are on this compilation some well-known classics that were doing well in the dark clubs (Peter Godwin, Carlos Peron, Fad Gadget, Killing Joke or Section 25), this trip to the past is also a great discovery that features lots of tracks that most music fans don’t know.

The tracks are almost pure dance, but they all have an extremely high melancholy level, and we bet that you’ll sigh by every song and think: “why could they compose such great tracks thirty years ago?”

Tracklist:
Side A:
Wally Badarou - Endless Race
Pete Shelley - Witness The Change
Psyche - The Saint Became A Lush
Chris & Cosey - Walking Through Heaven
Ministry - The Angel
Carlos Peron - Breakin' In
Dark Day - Nudes In The Forest
Vicious Pink - The Spaceship Is Over There
Severed Heads - Dead Eyes Opened
He Said - Pump
Savage Republic - Jamahiriya
Fad Gadget - State Of The Nation
O Yuki Conjugate - Ba Makala
Bill Nelson - When Your Dream Of Perfect Beauty Comes True
Cultural Vibe - Ma Foom Bey
Informatics - Proximity Switch (Accidents In Paradise)
Section 25 - Looking From A Hilltop
Killing Joke - Turn To Red
Los Aragon - Cumbia De Los Pajaritos

Side B:
Severed Heads - We Have Come To Bless This House
Klaus Schulze - Weird Caravan
The Unknown Cases - Masimba Bele
Newcleus - Automan
T.A.G.C. - Big Sex
Kissing The Pink - Big Man Restless
Logic System - Clash
Nyc Peech Boys - On A Journey
Mac Attack - The Art Of Drums
Peter Godwin - French Emotions
All Systems Go - Crash Bang Wallop
Johnny Harris - Odyssey
Ganzheit - Harmony
Carlos Peron -Dropouts
Portion Control - Divided
Jah Wobble's Invaders Of The Heart - Invaders Of The Heart
Roberto De Simone - La Gatta Cenerentola II° Coro Delle Lavandaie
Liquid Liquid - Optimo
Grauzone - Film 2

Didier BECU
12/11/2015


NL

Noem het nostalgie, maar de jaren 80 waren prachtig! Er was nog geen internet of je had geen miljoenen clipjes (waar uiteindelijk geen kat naar kijkt), wel was er de radio! Herinner je je nog die radio? Neen, we hebben het niet over dat meubelstuk en een hysterische DJ die 24 uur dezelfde plaatjes draait en je hoofd liet tollen met debiele spelletjes. In de jaren 80 had de radio nog een ontdekkingsfunctie. Iedereen zat met een taperecorder klaar om de songs op te nemen die John Peel draaide, en ook in ons land hadden we heel wat radiomakers die baanbrekend werk verrichtten. Op de Belgische radio zijn Gust de Coster en Luc Janssen zonder twijfel de grote voorbeelden, maar ook de vrije radio’s hadden geweldige namen.

In Antwerpen was er de dansradio SIS en daarop was Liaisons Dangereuses een zeer invloedrijk programma van de (nu razend populaire) Sven Van Hees en Paul Ward. De stijl was zo vooruitstrevend, dat men het wel eens de voorloper van de new beat noemt. Sven en Paul kijken met liefde terug op deze hoogdagen en de twee brachten een excellente dubbel-cd uit met daarop 38 nummers.

Alweer zo’n new waveplaat met afgezaagde deuntjes? Nou net niet, ook al staan er op deze compilatie een paar overbekende klassiekers die het in de donkere clubs goed deden (Peter Godwin, Carlos Peron, Fad Gadget, Killing Joke of Section 25), is deze trip naar het verleden vooral een ontdekkingstocht naar tracks die de meeste (zeker de jongste) muziekfans niet kennen.

Het gaat om louter dancetracks, maar ze hebben één voor één een uiterst hoog melancholiegehalte, en wedden dat je bij ieder nummer zucht: waarom konden ze dertig jaar geleden wel nog zo’n goede nummers componeren?

De tracklist:
Side A:
Wally Badarou - Endless Race
Pete Shelley - Witness The Change
Psyche - The Saint Became A Lush
Chris & Cosey - Walking Through Heaven
Ministry - The Angel
Carlos Peron - Breakin' In
Dark Day - Nudes In The Forest
Vicious Pink - The Spaceship Is Over There
Severed Heads - Dead Eyes Opened
He Said - Pump
Savage Republic - Jamahiriya
Fad Gadget - State Of The Nation
O Yuki Conjugate - Ba Makala
Bill Nelson - When Your Dream Of Perfect Beauty Comes True
Cultural Vibe - Ma Foom Bey
Informatics - Proximity Switch (Accidents In Paradise)
Section 25 - Looking From A Hilltop
Killing Joke - Turn To Red
Los Aragon - Cumbia De Los Pajaritos

Side B:
Severed Heads - We Have Come To Bless This House
Klaus Schulze - Weird Caravan
The Unknown Cases - Masimba Bele
Newcleus - Automan
T.A.G.C. - Big Sex
Kissing The Pink - Big Man Restless
Logic System - Clash
Nyc Peech Boys - On A Journey
Mac Attack - The Art Of Drums
Peter Godwin - French Emotions
All Systems Go - Crash Bang Wallop
Johnny Harris - Odyssey
Ganzheit - Harmony
Carlos Peron -Dropouts
Portion Control - Divided
Jah Wobble's Invaders Of The Heart - Invaders Of The Heart
Roberto De Simone - La Gatta Cenerentola II° Coro Delle Lavandaie
Liquid Liquid - Optimo
Grauzone - Film 2

Didier BECU
12/11/2015


 

Next reviews
ORANJ SON • Psycho Disco Face
MAIA VIDAL • Brussels, Botanique
JO QUAIL & CASPIAN • Ghent, Minard Theatre, 9.11.2015
KISSING THE PINK • Naked
ELECTRIC FLOOR • My Bloody G.
SERAPHIM SYSTEM • This Is Invasion
YOUNG RIVAL • Interior Light
VERTICAL SLUMP • Ruined Value (EP)
MASQUERADE • Blood is the New Black
CRIMSON SCARLET • Collection: 2011-2014

 

Other reviews from VARIOUS ARISTS
VARIOUS ARISTS • Change The Beat - Celluloid Records Story
VARIOUS ARISTS • Quattroannidiversi
VARIOUS ARISTS • Abby - The Compilation Part 4.2
VARIOUS ARISTS • Abby - The Compilation Part 4.1
VARIOUS ARISTS • Pagan Love Songs Vol.3
VARIOUS ARISTS • A Strange Play – An Alfa Matrix Tribute To The Cure
VARIOUS ARISTS • Beat:Cancer V2
VARIOUS ARISTS • Cultural Differences Vol 1

 

Same genre: ANALOGUE SYNTH
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
SINE SILEX • Schachmatt
EL GUERRILLERO ROJO • Manifiesto LP 1983-1984
SCHONWALD • Between Parallel Lights
METAL DISCO • Unearthly Vices
CLAUS FOVEA • Cyanide/King Ludd
NÖVÖ • Zeitgeist
ALLES • Post
VOID VISION • Sub Rosa
NON-HUMAN PERSONS • No Fear

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
SJOBLOM • Tape
NUOVO TESTAMENTO • New Earth
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
THE BURYING KIND • The Burying Kind ( EP )
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
J:DEAD • A Complicated Genocide
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
J:DEAD • Feeding on me
TORTURETEKK • Nightfall
ERASURE • THE NEON

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
DAGEIST • Sexy
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?

Music reviews

13
10
COMBICHRIST
Compliance
05
10
SONNY VINCENT
Shake Pit Therapy
04
10
MERCYFUL HEAVENS
For Now
08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
10
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | 44 years ago, Radiators From Space released their debut album 'TV Tube Heart'
09
10
Baby Turns Blue and 39 today!
06
10
Electro-Pop Artist EVA X Drops New Video 'Machine'
30
09
Amy Koppelman's novel adaption 'A Mouthful Of Air' coming to theaters October 29th!
29
09
Canadian Industrial Act DI AUGER Takes Raw Anger To Government Tyranny with 'Piss & Vinegar'
25
09
Today, exactly 34 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
10
HANTE
I broke away from the pressure you have as an artist to appeal to a certain type of audience, to create dance floor hits.
30
09
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Dimitri from Wool-E Discs had learned that I was part of a band in the 80s and asked me to listen.
29
09
UNITCODE:MACHINE
An Interview With unitcode:machine
07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.

PHOTOS

03
10
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Cali Club Drogenbos
03
10
PARTIKUL
Cali Club Drogenbos
27
09
SCHILLER
Strandkorb Openair Bochum Kemnader See
25
09
LEBANON HANOVER
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
SELOFAN
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
ISOLATED YOUTH
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
PORNO KARAOKE
Porta Nigra

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
10
SCHULTZ
I hate You
20
10
HAPAX
Hands (Official Video)
19
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
18
10
LIGHT ASYLUM
Skull Fucked
17
10
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi
16
10
MIND & FLESH
Krigserklæring
15
10
CLAN OF XYMOX
Obsession