tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL

12/11/2015 : VARIOUS ARISTS - Liasons Dangereuses

VARIOUS ARISTS

Liasons Dangereuses

MusicCD
Analogue SynthElectro PopNew wave

[98/100]   

Universal Music
12/11/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Call it nostalgia, but the 80s were gorgeous! There was no internet and you did not have a millions clips (that at the end of the day no one watches), but you had your radio! Do you remember that old thing? No, we are not talking about that piece of furniture that produces the voice of a hysterical DJ who plays 24 hours the same songs per day or freaks you out with stupid games. In the 80s the radio had a discovery function. Everyone was listening with a tape recorder to record the tunes that were played by John Peel. On the Belgian national radio, Gust De Coster and Luc Janssen were the best, but the pirate stations also had great names.

In Antwerp, there was the dance radio SIS and its programme Liaisons Dangereuses was very influential and presented by the (now very popular) Sven van Hees and Paul Ward. The style was so progressive, that some say it was the forerunner of the new beat genre. Sven and Paul love those days and the two compiled an excellent double CD that features 38 songs.

Another new wave compilation with hackneyed tunes? Absolutely not, even though there are on this compilation some well-known classics that were doing well in the dark clubs (Peter Godwin, Carlos Peron, Fad Gadget, Killing Joke or Section 25), this trip to the past is also a great discovery that features lots of tracks that most music fans don’t know.

The tracks are almost pure dance, but they all have an extremely high melancholy level, and we bet that you’ll sigh by every song and think: “why could they compose such great tracks thirty years ago?”

Tracklist:
Side A:
Wally Badarou - Endless Race
Pete Shelley - Witness The Change
Psyche - The Saint Became A Lush
Chris & Cosey - Walking Through Heaven
Ministry - The Angel
Carlos Peron - Breakin' In
Dark Day - Nudes In The Forest
Vicious Pink - The Spaceship Is Over There
Severed Heads - Dead Eyes Opened
He Said - Pump
Savage Republic - Jamahiriya
Fad Gadget - State Of The Nation
O Yuki Conjugate - Ba Makala
Bill Nelson - When Your Dream Of Perfect Beauty Comes True
Cultural Vibe - Ma Foom Bey
Informatics - Proximity Switch (Accidents In Paradise)
Section 25 - Looking From A Hilltop
Killing Joke - Turn To Red
Los Aragon - Cumbia De Los Pajaritos

Side B:
Severed Heads - We Have Come To Bless This House
Klaus Schulze - Weird Caravan
The Unknown Cases - Masimba Bele
Newcleus - Automan
T.A.G.C. - Big Sex
Kissing The Pink - Big Man Restless
Logic System - Clash
Nyc Peech Boys - On A Journey
Mac Attack - The Art Of Drums
Peter Godwin - French Emotions
All Systems Go - Crash Bang Wallop
Johnny Harris - Odyssey
Ganzheit - Harmony
Carlos Peron -Dropouts
Portion Control - Divided
Jah Wobble's Invaders Of The Heart - Invaders Of The Heart
Roberto De Simone - La Gatta Cenerentola II° Coro Delle Lavandaie
Liquid Liquid - Optimo
Grauzone - Film 2

Didier BECU
12/11/2015


NL

Noem het nostalgie, maar de jaren 80 waren prachtig! Er was nog geen internet of je had geen miljoenen clipjes (waar uiteindelijk geen kat naar kijkt), wel was er de radio! Herinner je je nog die radio? Neen, we hebben het niet over dat meubelstuk en een hysterische DJ die 24 uur dezelfde plaatjes draait en je hoofd liet tollen met debiele spelletjes. In de jaren 80 had de radio nog een ontdekkingsfunctie. Iedereen zat met een taperecorder klaar om de songs op te nemen die John Peel draaide, en ook in ons land hadden we heel wat radiomakers die baanbrekend werk verrichtten. Op de Belgische radio zijn Gust de Coster en Luc Janssen zonder twijfel de grote voorbeelden, maar ook de vrije radio’s hadden geweldige namen.

In Antwerpen was er de dansradio SIS en daarop was Liaisons Dangereuses een zeer invloedrijk programma van de (nu razend populaire) Sven Van Hees en Paul Ward. De stijl was zo vooruitstrevend, dat men het wel eens de voorloper van de new beat noemt. Sven en Paul kijken met liefde terug op deze hoogdagen en de twee brachten een excellente dubbel-cd uit met daarop 38 nummers.

Alweer zo’n new waveplaat met afgezaagde deuntjes? Nou net niet, ook al staan er op deze compilatie een paar overbekende klassiekers die het in de donkere clubs goed deden (Peter Godwin, Carlos Peron, Fad Gadget, Killing Joke of Section 25), is deze trip naar het verleden vooral een ontdekkingstocht naar tracks die de meeste (zeker de jongste) muziekfans niet kennen.

Het gaat om louter dancetracks, maar ze hebben één voor één een uiterst hoog melancholiegehalte, en wedden dat je bij ieder nummer zucht: waarom konden ze dertig jaar geleden wel nog zo’n goede nummers componeren?

De tracklist:
Side A:
Wally Badarou - Endless Race
Pete Shelley - Witness The Change
Psyche - The Saint Became A Lush
Chris & Cosey - Walking Through Heaven
Ministry - The Angel
Carlos Peron - Breakin' In
Dark Day - Nudes In The Forest
Vicious Pink - The Spaceship Is Over There
Severed Heads - Dead Eyes Opened
He Said - Pump
Savage Republic - Jamahiriya
Fad Gadget - State Of The Nation
O Yuki Conjugate - Ba Makala
Bill Nelson - When Your Dream Of Perfect Beauty Comes True
Cultural Vibe - Ma Foom Bey
Informatics - Proximity Switch (Accidents In Paradise)
Section 25 - Looking From A Hilltop
Killing Joke - Turn To Red
Los Aragon - Cumbia De Los Pajaritos

Side B:
Severed Heads - We Have Come To Bless This House
Klaus Schulze - Weird Caravan
The Unknown Cases - Masimba Bele
Newcleus - Automan
T.A.G.C. - Big Sex
Kissing The Pink - Big Man Restless
Logic System - Clash
Nyc Peech Boys - On A Journey
Mac Attack - The Art Of Drums
Peter Godwin - French Emotions
All Systems Go - Crash Bang Wallop
Johnny Harris - Odyssey
Ganzheit - Harmony
Carlos Peron -Dropouts
Portion Control - Divided
Jah Wobble's Invaders Of The Heart - Invaders Of The Heart
Roberto De Simone - La Gatta Cenerentola II° Coro Delle Lavandaie
Liquid Liquid - Optimo
Grauzone - Film 2

Didier BECU
12/11/2015


 

Next reviews
ORANJ SON • Psycho Disco Face
MAIA VIDAL • Brussels, Botanique
JO QUAIL & CASPIAN • Ghent, Minard Theatre, 9.11.2015
KISSING THE PINK • Naked
ELECTRIC FLOOR • My Bloody G.
SERAPHIM SYSTEM • This Is Invasion
YOUNG RIVAL • Interior Light
VERTICAL SLUMP • Ruined Value (EP)
MASQUERADE • Blood is the New Black
CRIMSON SCARLET • Collection: 2011-2014

 

Other reviews from VARIOUS ARISTS
VARIOUS ARISTS • Change The Beat - Celluloid Records Story
VARIOUS ARISTS • Quattroannidiversi
VARIOUS ARISTS • Abby - The Compilation Part 4.2
VARIOUS ARISTS • Abby - The Compilation Part 4.1
VARIOUS ARISTS • Pagan Love Songs Vol.3
VARIOUS ARISTS • A Strange Play – An Alfa Matrix Tribute To The Cure
VARIOUS ARISTS • Beat:Cancer V2
VARIOUS ARISTS • Cultural Differences Vol 1

 

Same genre: ANALOGUE SYNTH
SINE SILEX • Schachmatt
EL GUERRILLERO ROJO • Manifiesto LP 1983-1984
SCHONWALD • Between Parallel Lights
METAL DISCO • Unearthly Vices
CLAUS FOVEA • Cyanide/King Ludd
NÖVÖ • Zeitgeist
ALLES • Post
VOID VISION • Sub Rosa
NON-HUMAN PERSONS • No Fear
PARADE GROUND • Strange World

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
BLUTENGEL • Leitbild
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
BEBORN BETON • She Cried
SCHEUBER • The Me I See
DEF NEON • Def Neon
CHROM • Peak And Decay
WE THE NORTH • Endemic
JOHN FOXX • 21st Century, A Man, A Woman and a City
CHIRON • We Own The Night
THYX • Headless

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish
XTC • Skylarking
KILLING JOKE • Live at Muziek-o-Droom - Hasselt - Belgium 05.12.2016
KILLING JOKE • London, Brixton O2 Academy (04/11/2016)
NEW MODEL ARMY • Live at the Muziekgieterij, Maastricht, NL - 30.09.2016 - Photo Hub Dautzenberg
PAUL HAIG • Metamorphosis
PETE SHELLEY • Cinema Music and Wallpaper Sounds:
ULTRAVOX • The Island Years
THE SECOND WAVE • Various Artists
HIDDEN PLACE • Nero Schwarz (Collezione)

Music reviews

20
06
LEIF VOLLEBEKK
Twin Solitude
13
06
PRINCIPE VALIENTE
Oceans
12
06
XOSAR
Xymeria
11
06
RULE OF THUMB
Rule Of Thumb
10
06
BLUTENGEL
Leitbild
09
06
IKON
Everyone, Everything, Everywhere Ends

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

23
06
Swedish acts ELM and ALVAR complete BIMFEST 2017 line-up!
22
06
Laibach receive the lifetime achievement Golden Whistle award
21
06
NEW SIGNING AND NEW SINGLE/VIDEO - THEN COMES SILENCE - THE DEAD CRY FOR NO ONE
20
06
NATIONAL CRIME HISTORY - A Belgian Industrial Music compilation
20
06
New EP / video and US tour by PIG
17
06
Dark Demons Night 2017 -Tonight!

Concert reviews

26
06
THE AGNES CIRCLE, QUAL, RROYCE, TOO DEAD TO DIE, TECHNIQUE, AUTODAFEH
Zaterdag 3 juni
26
06
NEUSTROHM, UNTERSCHICHT, HAUJOBB, FABRIK C, STOPPENBERG, CENTHRON
Non Tox - vrijdag 2 juni
26
06
ZWEITE JUGEND, HIGH-FUNCTIONING FLESH, SCHWEFELGELB, A SPLIT SECOND
WGT EBM warm-up - Felsenkeller
26
06
KRYONIX, SYNTHATTACK, BLEIB MODERN, WHISPERING SONS, THE VISION BLEAK
Zondag 4 juni
09
06
SUFFOCATING MINDS
SFMD (Suffocating Minds) + Shakes release party
05
05
26TH WAVE UND GOTIK TREFFEN - 2ND-5TH JUNE
Some Electro-/EBM-/industrial-/synthpop bands to check at WGT 2017 !!!

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
06
SINE SILEX
‘A ROMANTIC YET DYNAMIC APPROACH TO ELECTRONIC MUSIC’
15
06
CLAN OF XYMOX
‘THE SONGS DICTATE ME INSTEAD OF ME DICTATING THE SONGS’
15
06
REVOLTING COCKS
Big Sexy Land revisited!
14
06
BESTIAL MOUTHS
‘BESTIAL MOUTHS HAS NEVER SOUGHT OUT TO RECREATE A CERTAIN GENRE’
13
06
2ND FACE
‘A FEELING WHICH IS HARD TO PUT INTO WORDS’

PHOTOS

24
06
ELM
Dark Demons Night, Het Oude Badhuis, Antwerp, Belgium
24
06
VUDUVOX
Dark Demons Night, Het Oude Badhuis, Antwerp, Belgium
24
06
X MOUTH SYNDROME
Dark Demons Night, Het Oude Badhuis, Antwerp, Belgium
24
06
LLUMEN
Dark Demons Night, Het Oude Badhuis, Antwerp, Belgium
24
06
ARSENIC OF JABIR
Dark Demons Night, Het Oude Badhuis, Antwerp, Belgium
24
06
ALVAR
Dark Demons Night, Het Oude Badhuis, Antwerp, Belgium
21
06
HYBRYDS WITH SOPHIE DRAKENVLEUGELS
Trouwfe(e)st, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

11
12
The World of Hante
11
12
ORGANIC
Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
11
12
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
TCHELESKOV IVANOVITCH (SIGNAL AOUT 42, GRANDCHAOS)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
PEER LEBRECHT (GOLDEN APES)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life

VIDEO CLIPS

25
06
GOLDFRAPP
Systemagic
24
06
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Happy House
22
06
MASSIVE EGO
Let Go
21
06
AN PIERLE
The Golden Dawn
08
06
LEBANON HANOVER
Gallowdance
07
06
ALISON MOYET
Reassuring Pinches
06
06
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Blackout