tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

12/11/2015 : VARIOUS ARISTS - Liasons Dangereuses

VARIOUS ARISTS

Liasons Dangereuses

MusicCD
Analogue SynthElectro PopNew wave

[98/100]   

Universal Music
12/11/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Call it nostalgia, but the 80s were gorgeous! There was no internet and you did not have a millions clips (that at the end of the day no one watches), but you had your radio! Do you remember that old thing? No, we are not talking about that piece of furniture that produces the voice of a hysterical DJ who plays 24 hours the same songs per day or freaks you out with stupid games. In the 80s the radio had a discovery function. Everyone was listening with a tape recorder to record the tunes that were played by John Peel. On the Belgian national radio, Gust De Coster and Luc Janssen were the best, but the pirate stations also had great names.

In Antwerp, there was the dance radio SIS and its programme Liaisons Dangereuses was very influential and presented by the (now very popular) Sven van Hees and Paul Ward. The style was so progressive, that some say it was the forerunner of the new beat genre. Sven and Paul love those days and the two compiled an excellent double CD that features 38 songs.

Another new wave compilation with hackneyed tunes? Absolutely not, even though there are on this compilation some well-known classics that were doing well in the dark clubs (Peter Godwin, Carlos Peron, Fad Gadget, Killing Joke or Section 25), this trip to the past is also a great discovery that features lots of tracks that most music fans don’t know.

The tracks are almost pure dance, but they all have an extremely high melancholy level, and we bet that you’ll sigh by every song and think: “why could they compose such great tracks thirty years ago?”

Tracklist:
Side A:
Wally Badarou - Endless Race
Pete Shelley - Witness The Change
Psyche - The Saint Became A Lush
Chris & Cosey - Walking Through Heaven
Ministry - The Angel
Carlos Peron - Breakin' In
Dark Day - Nudes In The Forest
Vicious Pink - The Spaceship Is Over There
Severed Heads - Dead Eyes Opened
He Said - Pump
Savage Republic - Jamahiriya
Fad Gadget - State Of The Nation
O Yuki Conjugate - Ba Makala
Bill Nelson - When Your Dream Of Perfect Beauty Comes True
Cultural Vibe - Ma Foom Bey
Informatics - Proximity Switch (Accidents In Paradise)
Section 25 - Looking From A Hilltop
Killing Joke - Turn To Red
Los Aragon - Cumbia De Los Pajaritos

Side B:
Severed Heads - We Have Come To Bless This House
Klaus Schulze - Weird Caravan
The Unknown Cases - Masimba Bele
Newcleus - Automan
T.A.G.C. - Big Sex
Kissing The Pink - Big Man Restless
Logic System - Clash
Nyc Peech Boys - On A Journey
Mac Attack - The Art Of Drums
Peter Godwin - French Emotions
All Systems Go - Crash Bang Wallop
Johnny Harris - Odyssey
Ganzheit - Harmony
Carlos Peron -Dropouts
Portion Control - Divided
Jah Wobble's Invaders Of The Heart - Invaders Of The Heart
Roberto De Simone - La Gatta Cenerentola II° Coro Delle Lavandaie
Liquid Liquid - Optimo
Grauzone - Film 2

Didier BECU
12/11/2015


NL

Noem het nostalgie, maar de jaren 80 waren prachtig! Er was nog geen internet of je had geen miljoenen clipjes (waar uiteindelijk geen kat naar kijkt), wel was er de radio! Herinner je je nog die radio? Neen, we hebben het niet over dat meubelstuk en een hysterische DJ die 24 uur dezelfde plaatjes draait en je hoofd liet tollen met debiele spelletjes. In de jaren 80 had de radio nog een ontdekkingsfunctie. Iedereen zat met een taperecorder klaar om de songs op te nemen die John Peel draaide, en ook in ons land hadden we heel wat radiomakers die baanbrekend werk verrichtten. Op de Belgische radio zijn Gust de Coster en Luc Janssen zonder twijfel de grote voorbeelden, maar ook de vrije radio’s hadden geweldige namen.

In Antwerpen was er de dansradio SIS en daarop was Liaisons Dangereuses een zeer invloedrijk programma van de (nu razend populaire) Sven Van Hees en Paul Ward. De stijl was zo vooruitstrevend, dat men het wel eens de voorloper van de new beat noemt. Sven en Paul kijken met liefde terug op deze hoogdagen en de twee brachten een excellente dubbel-cd uit met daarop 38 nummers.

Alweer zo’n new waveplaat met afgezaagde deuntjes? Nou net niet, ook al staan er op deze compilatie een paar overbekende klassiekers die het in de donkere clubs goed deden (Peter Godwin, Carlos Peron, Fad Gadget, Killing Joke of Section 25), is deze trip naar het verleden vooral een ontdekkingstocht naar tracks die de meeste (zeker de jongste) muziekfans niet kennen.

Het gaat om louter dancetracks, maar ze hebben één voor één een uiterst hoog melancholiegehalte, en wedden dat je bij ieder nummer zucht: waarom konden ze dertig jaar geleden wel nog zo’n goede nummers componeren?

De tracklist:
Side A:
Wally Badarou - Endless Race
Pete Shelley - Witness The Change
Psyche - The Saint Became A Lush
Chris & Cosey - Walking Through Heaven
Ministry - The Angel
Carlos Peron - Breakin' In
Dark Day - Nudes In The Forest
Vicious Pink - The Spaceship Is Over There
Severed Heads - Dead Eyes Opened
He Said - Pump
Savage Republic - Jamahiriya
Fad Gadget - State Of The Nation
O Yuki Conjugate - Ba Makala
Bill Nelson - When Your Dream Of Perfect Beauty Comes True
Cultural Vibe - Ma Foom Bey
Informatics - Proximity Switch (Accidents In Paradise)
Section 25 - Looking From A Hilltop
Killing Joke - Turn To Red
Los Aragon - Cumbia De Los Pajaritos

Side B:
Severed Heads - We Have Come To Bless This House
Klaus Schulze - Weird Caravan
The Unknown Cases - Masimba Bele
Newcleus - Automan
T.A.G.C. - Big Sex
Kissing The Pink - Big Man Restless
Logic System - Clash
Nyc Peech Boys - On A Journey
Mac Attack - The Art Of Drums
Peter Godwin - French Emotions
All Systems Go - Crash Bang Wallop
Johnny Harris - Odyssey
Ganzheit - Harmony
Carlos Peron -Dropouts
Portion Control - Divided
Jah Wobble's Invaders Of The Heart - Invaders Of The Heart
Roberto De Simone - La Gatta Cenerentola II° Coro Delle Lavandaie
Liquid Liquid - Optimo
Grauzone - Film 2

Didier BECU
12/11/2015


 

Next reviews
ORANJ SON • Psycho Disco Face
MAIA VIDAL • Brussels, Botanique
JO QUAIL & CASPIAN • Ghent, Minard Theatre, 9.11.2015
KISSING THE PINK • Naked
ELECTRIC FLOOR • My Bloody G.
SERAPHIM SYSTEM • This Is Invasion
YOUNG RIVAL • Interior Light
VERTICAL SLUMP • Ruined Value (EP)
MASQUERADE • Blood is the New Black
CRIMSON SCARLET • Collection: 2011-2014

 

Other reviews from VARIOUS ARISTS
VARIOUS ARISTS • Change The Beat - Celluloid Records Story
VARIOUS ARISTS • Quattroannidiversi
VARIOUS ARISTS • Abby - The Compilation Part 4.2
VARIOUS ARISTS • Abby - The Compilation Part 4.1
VARIOUS ARISTS • Pagan Love Songs Vol.3
VARIOUS ARISTS • A Strange Play – An Alfa Matrix Tribute To The Cure
VARIOUS ARISTS • Beat:Cancer V2
VARIOUS ARISTS • Cultural Differences Vol 1

 

Same genre: ANALOGUE SYNTH
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
SINE SILEX • Schachmatt
EL GUERRILLERO ROJO • Manifiesto LP 1983-1984
SCHONWALD • Between Parallel Lights
METAL DISCO • Unearthly Vices
CLAUS FOVEA • Cyanide/King Ludd
NÖVÖ • Zeitgeist
ALLES • Post
VOID VISION • Sub Rosa
NON-HUMAN PERSONS • No Fear

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
BROKEN EGO • Getting Higher
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
DIRK DA DAVO / JEAN -MARIE AERTS • DDDJMX (EP)
THE BIPOLAR • Tomorrow everything will get better
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
BLUTENGEL • Leitbild
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
BEBORN BETON • She Cried
SCHEUBER • The Me I See

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
THE NAMES • German Nights
SPREADING POINT • MOMENTUM - PART II
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish
XTC • Skylarking
KILLING JOKE • Live at Muziek-o-Droom - Hasselt - Belgium 05.12.2016

Music reviews

20
01
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray for us
19
01
DIVE
Live Maschinenfest 2017
16
01
EVI VINE
Black Light White Dark
08
01
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
PSYCHOSTASIA
28
12
MISS CHAMBERTALE
Berries and Tales
22
12
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING
Winter In London

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
01
CANADIAN DUO FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY TO RELEASE NEW ALBUM 'WAKE UP THE COMA'
18
01
Israeli Dark Synthpop Artist LIYA Announces The Release Of LISTEN
17
01
MY LIFE WITH THE THRILL KILL KULT Reveal New Single, 'The Chains of Fame' Off Upcoming LP
16
01
The Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 Release
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - One Year Anniversary
14
01
Zwaremachine are heading over to Europe for 3 dates in January!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
01
WULFBAND
If you feel that guitars would destroy whatever you think Wulfband is about, stay at home
17
01
ANY SECOND
The Eighth Sin Is The Human Himself
31
12
SIMI NAH
Balancing between the 'normal' world and the 'artistic' world was frustrating, but perhaps led us to make our best record ever!
27
12
ALIEN SEX FIEND
Alien Sex Fiend Is A State Of Mind And Not A Choreographed Or Rehearsed Thing
24
12
SIEBEN
The European Union are kinder overlords than the ones we may well inherit, out on our own, pretending we are not part of the world.

PHOTOS

20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
GERTRUD STEIN
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
NZ
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
STAHLR
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AMNISTIA
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
01
THE CURE
Pictures Of You, Live in Antwerp, 2016
20
01
SOPHIA (S)
Herbstwerk
19
01
OY
A New Planet Is Born
18
01
HEIMATAERDE
Hoch hinaus
17
01
CENT ANS DE SOLITUDE
The unacceptable face of beauty
16
01
PLANETDAMAGE
Hi Rez Lo Life
15
01
SCHULTZ
I hate You