tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

12/11/2015 : VARIOUS ARISTS - Liasons Dangereuses

VARIOUS ARISTS

Liasons Dangereuses

MusicCD
Analogue SynthElectro PopNew wave

[98/100]   

Universal Music
12/11/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Call it nostalgia, but the 80s were gorgeous! There was no internet and you did not have a millions clips (that at the end of the day no one watches), but you had your radio! Do you remember that old thing? No, we are not talking about that piece of furniture that produces the voice of a hysterical DJ who plays 24 hours the same songs per day or freaks you out with stupid games. In the 80s the radio had a discovery function. Everyone was listening with a tape recorder to record the tunes that were played by John Peel. On the Belgian national radio, Gust De Coster and Luc Janssen were the best, but the pirate stations also had great names.

In Antwerp, there was the dance radio SIS and its programme Liaisons Dangereuses was very influential and presented by the (now very popular) Sven van Hees and Paul Ward. The style was so progressive, that some say it was the forerunner of the new beat genre. Sven and Paul love those days and the two compiled an excellent double CD that features 38 songs.

Another new wave compilation with hackneyed tunes? Absolutely not, even though there are on this compilation some well-known classics that were doing well in the dark clubs (Peter Godwin, Carlos Peron, Fad Gadget, Killing Joke or Section 25), this trip to the past is also a great discovery that features lots of tracks that most music fans don’t know.

The tracks are almost pure dance, but they all have an extremely high melancholy level, and we bet that you’ll sigh by every song and think: “why could they compose such great tracks thirty years ago?”

Tracklist:
Side A:
Wally Badarou - Endless Race
Pete Shelley - Witness The Change
Psyche - The Saint Became A Lush
Chris & Cosey - Walking Through Heaven
Ministry - The Angel
Carlos Peron - Breakin' In
Dark Day - Nudes In The Forest
Vicious Pink - The Spaceship Is Over There
Severed Heads - Dead Eyes Opened
He Said - Pump
Savage Republic - Jamahiriya
Fad Gadget - State Of The Nation
O Yuki Conjugate - Ba Makala
Bill Nelson - When Your Dream Of Perfect Beauty Comes True
Cultural Vibe - Ma Foom Bey
Informatics - Proximity Switch (Accidents In Paradise)
Section 25 - Looking From A Hilltop
Killing Joke - Turn To Red
Los Aragon - Cumbia De Los Pajaritos

Side B:
Severed Heads - We Have Come To Bless This House
Klaus Schulze - Weird Caravan
The Unknown Cases - Masimba Bele
Newcleus - Automan
T.A.G.C. - Big Sex
Kissing The Pink - Big Man Restless
Logic System - Clash
Nyc Peech Boys - On A Journey
Mac Attack - The Art Of Drums
Peter Godwin - French Emotions
All Systems Go - Crash Bang Wallop
Johnny Harris - Odyssey
Ganzheit - Harmony
Carlos Peron -Dropouts
Portion Control - Divided
Jah Wobble's Invaders Of The Heart - Invaders Of The Heart
Roberto De Simone - La Gatta Cenerentola II° Coro Delle Lavandaie
Liquid Liquid - Optimo
Grauzone - Film 2

Didier BECU
12/11/2015


NL

Noem het nostalgie, maar de jaren 80 waren prachtig! Er was nog geen internet of je had geen miljoenen clipjes (waar uiteindelijk geen kat naar kijkt), wel was er de radio! Herinner je je nog die radio? Neen, we hebben het niet over dat meubelstuk en een hysterische DJ die 24 uur dezelfde plaatjes draait en je hoofd liet tollen met debiele spelletjes. In de jaren 80 had de radio nog een ontdekkingsfunctie. Iedereen zat met een taperecorder klaar om de songs op te nemen die John Peel draaide, en ook in ons land hadden we heel wat radiomakers die baanbrekend werk verrichtten. Op de Belgische radio zijn Gust de Coster en Luc Janssen zonder twijfel de grote voorbeelden, maar ook de vrije radio’s hadden geweldige namen.

In Antwerpen was er de dansradio SIS en daarop was Liaisons Dangereuses een zeer invloedrijk programma van de (nu razend populaire) Sven Van Hees en Paul Ward. De stijl was zo vooruitstrevend, dat men het wel eens de voorloper van de new beat noemt. Sven en Paul kijken met liefde terug op deze hoogdagen en de twee brachten een excellente dubbel-cd uit met daarop 38 nummers.

Alweer zo’n new waveplaat met afgezaagde deuntjes? Nou net niet, ook al staan er op deze compilatie een paar overbekende klassiekers die het in de donkere clubs goed deden (Peter Godwin, Carlos Peron, Fad Gadget, Killing Joke of Section 25), is deze trip naar het verleden vooral een ontdekkingstocht naar tracks die de meeste (zeker de jongste) muziekfans niet kennen.

Het gaat om louter dancetracks, maar ze hebben één voor één een uiterst hoog melancholiegehalte, en wedden dat je bij ieder nummer zucht: waarom konden ze dertig jaar geleden wel nog zo’n goede nummers componeren?

De tracklist:
Side A:
Wally Badarou - Endless Race
Pete Shelley - Witness The Change
Psyche - The Saint Became A Lush
Chris & Cosey - Walking Through Heaven
Ministry - The Angel
Carlos Peron - Breakin' In
Dark Day - Nudes In The Forest
Vicious Pink - The Spaceship Is Over There
Severed Heads - Dead Eyes Opened
He Said - Pump
Savage Republic - Jamahiriya
Fad Gadget - State Of The Nation
O Yuki Conjugate - Ba Makala
Bill Nelson - When Your Dream Of Perfect Beauty Comes True
Cultural Vibe - Ma Foom Bey
Informatics - Proximity Switch (Accidents In Paradise)
Section 25 - Looking From A Hilltop
Killing Joke - Turn To Red
Los Aragon - Cumbia De Los Pajaritos

Side B:
Severed Heads - We Have Come To Bless This House
Klaus Schulze - Weird Caravan
The Unknown Cases - Masimba Bele
Newcleus - Automan
T.A.G.C. - Big Sex
Kissing The Pink - Big Man Restless
Logic System - Clash
Nyc Peech Boys - On A Journey
Mac Attack - The Art Of Drums
Peter Godwin - French Emotions
All Systems Go - Crash Bang Wallop
Johnny Harris - Odyssey
Ganzheit - Harmony
Carlos Peron -Dropouts
Portion Control - Divided
Jah Wobble's Invaders Of The Heart - Invaders Of The Heart
Roberto De Simone - La Gatta Cenerentola II° Coro Delle Lavandaie
Liquid Liquid - Optimo
Grauzone - Film 2

Didier BECU
12/11/2015


 

Next reviews
ORANJ SON • Psycho Disco Face
MAIA VIDAL • Brussels, Botanique
JO QUAIL & CASPIAN • Ghent, Minard Theatre, 9.11.2015
KISSING THE PINK • Naked
ELECTRIC FLOOR • My Bloody G.
SERAPHIM SYSTEM • This Is Invasion
YOUNG RIVAL • Interior Light
VERTICAL SLUMP • Ruined Value (EP)
MASQUERADE • Blood is the New Black
CRIMSON SCARLET • Collection: 2011-2014

 

Other reviews from VARIOUS ARISTS
VARIOUS ARISTS • Change The Beat - Celluloid Records Story
VARIOUS ARISTS • Quattroannidiversi
VARIOUS ARISTS • Abby - The Compilation Part 4.2
VARIOUS ARISTS • Abby - The Compilation Part 4.1
VARIOUS ARISTS • Pagan Love Songs Vol.3
VARIOUS ARISTS • A Strange Play – An Alfa Matrix Tribute To The Cure
VARIOUS ARISTS • Beat:Cancer V2
VARIOUS ARISTS • Cultural Differences Vol 1

 

Same genre: ANALOGUE SYNTH
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
SINE SILEX • Schachmatt
EL GUERRILLERO ROJO • Manifiesto LP 1983-1984
SCHONWALD • Between Parallel Lights
METAL DISCO • Unearthly Vices
CLAUS FOVEA • Cyanide/King Ludd
NÖVÖ • Zeitgeist
ALLES • Post
VOID VISION • Sub Rosa
NON-HUMAN PERSONS • No Fear

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
BOYTRONIC • The Robot Treatment
6TH CROWD • Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
UMMAGMA • Compass (Leonard Skully Records)
MASSIVE EGO • Church For The Malfunctioned
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
UMMAGMA • Caravan -Backed With Ty i Ya
LADYTRON • Ladytron
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
BROKEN EGO • Getting Higher
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
DAGEIST • Sexy
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju

Music reviews

03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires
18
06
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Seed of Evil

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline
28
06
HOCICO
I Abomination