tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/11/2015 : YOUNG RIVAL - Interior Light

YOUNG RIVAL

Interior Light

MusicCD
Indie Rock

[75/100]   

62TV Records
11/11/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Young Rival is a trio from Canada that began as a quartet in 2000 under the name The Ride Theory. Interior Light is their third album and in 2012 they had a modest success with the single Two Reasons in the alternative Canadian charts. They describe their music as a croon psych. Well, it sounds at least as indie rock that draws its inspiration from the 60s.


Where's it all Going opens the album and shows both the 60s- and psychedelic influences. Throughout the album we hear a nice voice that reminds me of John Lennon or Arctic Monkeys, just listen to Carry The Weight. It's a lovely song that floats on a warm bass and lovely vocals. On tracks like Throw it in the River of Living Like You Should we hear fine guitars, and again you start thinking of the 60s. It even sounds a bit like The Raveonettes, at least without the distortion. The title track Interior Light could convince me too. Elevator and Scruples contain some more power, and so Young Rival never sounds too mellifluous. A very nice discovery, this record!

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/11/2015


NL

Young Rival is een trio uit Canada dat als een kwartet rond 2000 onder de naam The Ride Theory begon. Met Interior Light zijn ze reeds aan hun derde album toe en in 2012 hadden ze een bescheiden succesje in de alternatieve Canadese hitlijsten met de single Two Reasons. Zelf omschrijven ze hun muziek als croon psych. Het klinkt in ieder geval als indierock die zijn inspiratie uit de 60s haalt.

Where’s it all Going opent het album en toont zowel zijn 60s- als psychedelische invloeden. Doorheen het album horen we een aangename zang die wat doet denken aan John Lennon of Arctic Monkeys, luister bijv. naar Carry The Weight. Het is een heerlijk nummer dat op een warme bas en dito zang drijft. Op andere tracks zoals Throw it in the River of Living Like You Should horen we fijn gitaarspel en een 60's zang. Het klinkt zelfs bij momenten als The Raveonettes, ten minste zonder de distortion. Ook het titelnummer Interior Light kan mij overtuigen. Op Elevator en Scrupules schakelen ze een versnelling hoger wat ervoor zorgt dat ze niet te zoetgevooisd klinken.

Een degelijk en aangenaam plaatje om naar te luisteren.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/11/2015


Music reviews

03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires
18
06
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Seed of Evil

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline