tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/11/2015 : YOUNG RIVAL - Interior Light

YOUNG RIVAL

Interior Light

MusicCD
Indie Rock

[75/100]   

62TV Records
11/11/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Young Rival is a trio from Canada that began as a quartet in 2000 under the name The Ride Theory. Interior Light is their third album and in 2012 they had a modest success with the single Two Reasons in the alternative Canadian charts. They describe their music as a croon psych. Well, it sounds at least as indie rock that draws its inspiration from the 60s.


Where's it all Going opens the album and shows both the 60s- and psychedelic influences. Throughout the album we hear a nice voice that reminds me of John Lennon or Arctic Monkeys, just listen to Carry The Weight. It's a lovely song that floats on a warm bass and lovely vocals. On tracks like Throw it in the River of Living Like You Should we hear fine guitars, and again you start thinking of the 60s. It even sounds a bit like The Raveonettes, at least without the distortion. The title track Interior Light could convince me too. Elevator and Scruples contain some more power, and so Young Rival never sounds too mellifluous. A very nice discovery, this record!

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/11/2015


NL

Young Rival is een trio uit Canada dat als een kwartet rond 2000 onder de naam The Ride Theory begon. Met Interior Light zijn ze reeds aan hun derde album toe en in 2012 hadden ze een bescheiden succesje in de alternatieve Canadese hitlijsten met de single Two Reasons. Zelf omschrijven ze hun muziek als croon psych. Het klinkt in ieder geval als indierock die zijn inspiratie uit de 60s haalt.

Where’s it all Going opent het album en toont zowel zijn 60s- als psychedelische invloeden. Doorheen het album horen we een aangename zang die wat doet denken aan John Lennon of Arctic Monkeys, luister bijv. naar Carry The Weight. Het is een heerlijk nummer dat op een warme bas en dito zang drijft. Op andere tracks zoals Throw it in the River of Living Like You Should horen we fijn gitaarspel en een 60's zang. Het klinkt zelfs bij momenten als The Raveonettes, ten minste zonder de distortion. Ook het titelnummer Interior Light kan mij overtuigen. Op Elevator en Scrupules schakelen ze een versnelling hoger wat ervoor zorgt dat ze niet te zoetgevooisd klinken.

Een degelijk en aangenaam plaatje om naar te luisteren.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/11/2015


Music reviews

16
04
AD:KEY
I can't feel you
16
04
PORTION CONTROL
SEED EP3
15
04
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL
A New Dawn
15
04
IN ABSENTIA
Charnel House Chatterbox (Remastered 2021)
14
04
THE BURYING KIND
The Burying Kind ( EP )
05
04
VARIOUS ARTISTS
Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
04
36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed No Time To Cry on German TV!
16
04
On this day, 36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed ‘No Time to Cry’ on German TV
15
04
On this day, 20 years ago, FAD GADGET performed his first legendary come-back show!
14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene (° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
04
TROUBLE FAIT'
Beads of Emerald
17
04
LYNCELIA
Self-Mystery Girl
16
04
COCTEAU TWINS
Carolyn's Fingers
15
04
FAITH AND THE MUSE
Battle Hymn
14
04
MESH
It scares me
13
04
MONOTONE EXPRESSION
Out Of Tune With Life
12
04
LAID BACK
White Horse