tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

RANK

PLAN YOUR DOWNFALL

MusicVinyl
New wavePost Punk

[85/100]   
09/11/2015, Ruben SAEY

EN

After Rank and the live album Rank Sonic Live, the trio from Lyon is back with its third release Plan Your Downfall. The album contains nine solid post-punk songs that lift you back to the heydays of the late 70s and early 80s.

On this album Rank offers us a mixture of new wave, cold wave, post-punk, just as in the opening track Tonight in which we recognize the influence of The Cure in their early days. Bands like The Sound, The Stranglers and The Godfathers are never far away, either. All this, without copying them.

Wax is a very strong, pure post-punk song. In Hunger the tempo is lowered and we hear a more cold wave sound. The song begins quietly, while towards the end of the track the guitar sound wells, with a beautiful outro. The deep bass drums in Over It is also a characteristic feature of this musical era.

And thus the styles change song by song, and so we get a quite varied album. Listening to this album is like a beautiful walk through the musical landscape of the late 70s and early 80s. Rank manages to refresh the old school sound rather than coming up with something corny. You do not have to live in nostalgia, you can look forward on this album with a clear conscience.

Ruben SAEY
09/11/2015


NL

Na Rank en het live album Rank Sonic Live, is het trio uit Lyon met Plan Your Downfall aan z'n derde release toe. Het album bevat negen degelijke postpunksongs die je meteen naar de hoogdagen van het einde van de jaren zeventig, begin jaren tachtig terugbrengen.

Rank levert met dit album een mix af van new wave, coldwave, en postpunk, zoals in het openingsnummer Tonight, waarin we op muzikaal vlak zeker de invloed van The Cure in zijn begindagen herkennen. Ook bands als The Sound, The Stranglers en The Godfathers zijn nooit ver weg. Dit alles zonder ze te willen kopiëren. 

Wax is een heel sterke, pure postpunksong. In Hunger wordt dan weer het tempo naar beneden gehaald en gaan we de coldwavetoer op. Het nummer begint heel rustig en de zang wordt wat langer uitgesponnen. Tegen het einde van het nummer zwelt het gitaargeluid aan, waarna we een lange, maar mooie outro horen. De diepe basdrums in het nummer Over It is tevens een typisch kenmerk uit dit muzikale tijdperk.

En zo wisselen de stijlen song per song af en krijgen we een aangenaam gevarieerd album. Het beluisteren van dit album is een mooie wandeling door het muzikale landschap van de late 70s en het begin van de 80s. Rank slaagt erin om het oldschoolgeluid zo te brengen dat het eerder verfrissend in plaats van oubollig klinkt. Je hoeft niet met heimwee achterom te kijken, je kan op dit album met een gerust geweten vooruitkijken.

Ruben SAEY
09/11/2015


 

Next reviews
NEW ORDER • Brussels, AB (06/11/2015)
SKIP & DIE • Cosmic Serpents
DESSIN BIZARRE • Open Your Eyes (EP)
MATT ROCK • Get Blank
IAMX • Brussels, AB (07/11/2015)
ALEK DRIVE • Frontière
IAMX • Metanoia
CYNICAL EXISTENCE • Echoes
CHICK QUEST • Vs Galore
GARCONS COIFFEURS • The Early Years 2005-2010

 

Same combination of genres: NEW WAVE + POST PUNK
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish
XTC • Skylarking
ULTRAVOX • The Island Years
NEW MODEL ARMY • Winter
THE ASSOCIATES • Sulk
THE ASSOCIATES • Fourth Drawer Down.
THE ASSOCIATES • The Affectionate Punch
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Transmission Wave-West

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE NAMES • German Nights
SPREADING POINT • MOMENTUM - PART II
KILLING JOKE • Live at Muziek-o-Droom - Hasselt - Belgium 05.12.2016
KILLING JOKE • London, Brixton O2 Academy (04/11/2016)
NEW MODEL ARMY • Live at the Muziekgieterij, Maastricht, NL - 30.09.2016 - Photo Hub Dautzenberg
PAUL HAIG • Metamorphosis
PETE SHELLEY • Cinema Music and Wallpaper Sounds:
THE SECOND WAVE • Various Artists
HIDDEN PLACE • Nero Schwarz (Collezione)

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
FACTICE FACTORY • Lines & Parallels
SILENT RUNNERS • The Directory
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary
STRUGGLER • The Gap
A.D. MANA • A.D. Mana
SUPERNOVA 1006 • Unique World
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Oceans
DISCO INFERNO • In Debt 91/92
DRAB MAJESTY • The Demonstration

Music reviews

25
04
RITUAL VEIL
Wolf In The Night
20
04
ABYSS X
Pleasures Of The Bull
19
04
APSURDE
See Me Coming
18
04
ANDERS MANGA
Perfectly Stranger
17
04
DARKNESS ON DEMAND
Back To Psychoburbia
16
04
VIKTOR KALIMA
Club Muscle

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

26
04
Dive releases Let Me In 12' vinyl on Out Of Line
25
04
Suicide Commando returns with a hard-hitting club EP release. “Death Will Find You”!
24
04
Rummelsnuff releases double album / best of - “Salzig schmeckt der Wind”
23
04
The Mexican-German band Rabia Sorda has recorded its hardest album to date “The World Ends Today
21
04
Christina Plays Viola teaser for upcoming EP
16
04
Hatchling release their new single 'Holly'

Concert reviews

19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK
10
03
DRAB MAJESTY
Drab Majesty London show review

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
04
SHEDIR
‘I Always Think I’m Gonna Die Tomorrow’
20
04
ADAM USI
You know, art, music and visuals are the package, they are one big thing, they belong to each other. I try to find the jigsaw pieces to paint a all in all picture.
17
04
BYSENSES
We are Just 'People', Not A Superrace
26
03
MANINKARI
‘Sound Has Also A Place In A Process Of Spiritual Healing’
23
03
IRKLIS
‘INDUSTRIAL MUSIC WAS NEVER MADE TO PLEASE ANYBODY’

PHOTOS

16
04
SPARK!
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
LESCURE 13
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
ELM
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
DOGANOV
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
08
04
EVANESCENCE
Paleis 12 Brussel
08
04
TRUE ZEBRA
Nachtvlindersfestival Oostmalle
08
04
DARK POEM
Nachtvlindersfestival Oostmalle

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
04
LADYTRON
Destroy Everything You Touch
26
04
GUNMAKER
Trust Me Or Lie
26
04
VIOLENCE
Illusions Vives
25
04
DIVE
Bloodmoney
24
04
ECHO AND THE BUNNYMEN
Lips Like Sugar
23
04
HOW TO DESTROY ANGELS
The Space In Between
22
04
NINE INCH NAILS
Only