tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

RANK

PLAN YOUR DOWNFALL

MusicVinyl
New wavePost Punk

[85/100]   
09/11/2015, Ruben SAEY

EN

After Rank and the live album Rank Sonic Live, the trio from Lyon is back with its third release Plan Your Downfall. The album contains nine solid post-punk songs that lift you back to the heydays of the late 70s and early 80s.

On this album Rank offers us a mixture of new wave, cold wave, post-punk, just as in the opening track Tonight in which we recognize the influence of The Cure in their early days. Bands like The Sound, The Stranglers and The Godfathers are never far away, either. All this, without copying them.

Wax is a very strong, pure post-punk song. In Hunger the tempo is lowered and we hear a more cold wave sound. The song begins quietly, while towards the end of the track the guitar sound wells, with a beautiful outro. The deep bass drums in Over It is also a characteristic feature of this musical era.

And thus the styles change song by song, and so we get a quite varied album. Listening to this album is like a beautiful walk through the musical landscape of the late 70s and early 80s. Rank manages to refresh the old school sound rather than coming up with something corny. You do not have to live in nostalgia, you can look forward on this album with a clear conscience.

Ruben SAEY
09/11/2015


NL

Na Rank en het live album Rank Sonic Live, is het trio uit Lyon met Plan Your Downfall aan z'n derde release toe. Het album bevat negen degelijke postpunksongs die je meteen naar de hoogdagen van het einde van de jaren zeventig, begin jaren tachtig terugbrengen.

Rank levert met dit album een mix af van new wave, coldwave, en postpunk, zoals in het openingsnummer Tonight, waarin we op muzikaal vlak zeker de invloed van The Cure in zijn begindagen herkennen. Ook bands als The Sound, The Stranglers en The Godfathers zijn nooit ver weg. Dit alles zonder ze te willen kopiëren. 

Wax is een heel sterke, pure postpunksong. In Hunger wordt dan weer het tempo naar beneden gehaald en gaan we de coldwavetoer op. Het nummer begint heel rustig en de zang wordt wat langer uitgesponnen. Tegen het einde van het nummer zwelt het gitaargeluid aan, waarna we een lange, maar mooie outro horen. De diepe basdrums in het nummer Over It is tevens een typisch kenmerk uit dit muzikale tijdperk.

En zo wisselen de stijlen song per song af en krijgen we een aangenaam gevarieerd album. Het beluisteren van dit album is een mooie wandeling door het muzikale landschap van de late 70s en het begin van de 80s. Rank slaagt erin om het oldschoolgeluid zo te brengen dat het eerder verfrissend in plaats van oubollig klinkt. Je hoeft niet met heimwee achterom te kijken, je kan op dit album met een gerust geweten vooruitkijken.

Ruben SAEY
09/11/2015


Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
01
On this day, 10 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
“A Rose Shattered”, the debut EP by Brussels-based Syrenomelia!
21
01
Today, exactly 27 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
20
01
THE LEGENDARY PINK DOTS 40th ANNIVERSARY EUROPEAN TOUR
20
01
Peek-a-Boo Magazine # 36 - Out Now!
19
01
On this day, 29 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.
14
01
IC 434
find it amazing to live in a highly developed society and at the same time having to realize what a mentally mess it really is.

PHOTOS

19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
ERYX LONDON
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
KEZDOWN
DARK WINTER FESTIVAL LIEGE
26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

23
01
GOLDFRAPP
Systemagic
22
01
JOSIE PACE & SAMMI DOLL
Perfect Replacement (Official Music Video)
21
01
JAH WOBBLE
How Much Are They?
20
01
THROBBING GRISTLE
Six Six Sixties (Fan made video)
19
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Blackout
18
01
SDH (SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS)
No Miracles (Official Video)
17
01
CAPITAL X
Majesty