tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

RANK

PLAN YOUR DOWNFALL

MusicVinyl
New wavePost Punk

[85/100]   
09/11/2015, Ruben SAEY

EN

After Rank and the live album Rank Sonic Live, the trio from Lyon is back with its third release Plan Your Downfall. The album contains nine solid post-punk songs that lift you back to the heydays of the late 70s and early 80s.

On this album Rank offers us a mixture of new wave, cold wave, post-punk, just as in the opening track Tonight in which we recognize the influence of The Cure in their early days. Bands like The Sound, The Stranglers and The Godfathers are never far away, either. All this, without copying them.

Wax is a very strong, pure post-punk song. In Hunger the tempo is lowered and we hear a more cold wave sound. The song begins quietly, while towards the end of the track the guitar sound wells, with a beautiful outro. The deep bass drums in Over It is also a characteristic feature of this musical era.

And thus the styles change song by song, and so we get a quite varied album. Listening to this album is like a beautiful walk through the musical landscape of the late 70s and early 80s. Rank manages to refresh the old school sound rather than coming up with something corny. You do not have to live in nostalgia, you can look forward on this album with a clear conscience.

Ruben SAEY
09/11/2015


NL

Na Rank en het live album Rank Sonic Live, is het trio uit Lyon met Plan Your Downfall aan z'n derde release toe. Het album bevat negen degelijke postpunksongs die je meteen naar de hoogdagen van het einde van de jaren zeventig, begin jaren tachtig terugbrengen.

Rank levert met dit album een mix af van new wave, coldwave, en postpunk, zoals in het openingsnummer Tonight, waarin we op muzikaal vlak zeker de invloed van The Cure in zijn begindagen herkennen. Ook bands als The Sound, The Stranglers en The Godfathers zijn nooit ver weg. Dit alles zonder ze te willen kopiëren. 

Wax is een heel sterke, pure postpunksong. In Hunger wordt dan weer het tempo naar beneden gehaald en gaan we de coldwavetoer op. Het nummer begint heel rustig en de zang wordt wat langer uitgesponnen. Tegen het einde van het nummer zwelt het gitaargeluid aan, waarna we een lange, maar mooie outro horen. De diepe basdrums in het nummer Over It is tevens een typisch kenmerk uit dit muzikale tijdperk.

En zo wisselen de stijlen song per song af en krijgen we een aangenaam gevarieerd album. Het beluisteren van dit album is een mooie wandeling door het muzikale landschap van de late 70s en het begin van de 80s. Rank slaagt erin om het oldschoolgeluid zo te brengen dat het eerder verfrissend in plaats van oubollig klinkt. Je hoeft niet met heimwee achterom te kijken, je kan op dit album met een gerust geweten vooruitkijken.

Ruben SAEY
09/11/2015


 

Next reviews
NEW ORDER • Brussels, AB (06/11/2015)
SKIP & DIE • Cosmic Serpents
DESSIN BIZARRE • Open Your Eyes (EP)
MATT ROCK • Get Blank
IAMX • Brussels, AB (07/11/2015)
ALEK DRIVE • Frontière
IAMX • Metanoia
CYNICAL EXISTENCE • Echoes
CHICK QUEST • Vs Galore
GARCONS COIFFEURS • The Early Years 2005-2010

 

Same combination of genres: NEW WAVE + POST PUNK
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish
XTC • Skylarking
ULTRAVOX • The Island Years
NEW MODEL ARMY • Winter
THE ASSOCIATES • Sulk
THE ASSOCIATES • Fourth Drawer Down.
THE ASSOCIATES • The Affectionate Punch
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Transmission Wave-West

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE NAMES • German Nights
SPREADING POINT • MOMENTUM - PART II
KILLING JOKE • Live at Muziek-o-Droom - Hasselt - Belgium 05.12.2016
KILLING JOKE • London, Brixton O2 Academy (04/11/2016)
NEW MODEL ARMY • Live at the Muziekgieterij, Maastricht, NL - 30.09.2016 - Photo Hub Dautzenberg
PAUL HAIG • Metamorphosis
PETE SHELLEY • Cinema Music and Wallpaper Sounds:
THE SECOND WAVE • Various Artists

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
NAUT • Raise The Lights
FACTICE FACTORY • Lines & Parallels
SILENT RUNNERS • The Directory
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary
STRUGGLER • The Gap
A.D. MANA • A.D. Mana
SUPERNOVA 1006 • Unique World
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Oceans
DISCO INFERNO • In Debt 91/92

Music reviews

19
07
NAUT
Raise The Lights
13
07
LIZARD SMILE
Wandering in Mirrors
12
07
SIMPLE MINDS
Walk Between Worlds
27
06
JOHN FOXX
METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
18
06
ASTRASONIC
Passengers
15
06
NEGANT
No !

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
07
Today it’s exactly 30 years since Siouxsie & The Banshees released their single Peek-a-Boo.
18
07
Today, exactly 38 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.
16
07
DIRK DA DAVO 'MOODS': CD release July 2018
16
07
'A Midsummer Night's Dream' - a modern adaption of Shakespeare's comedy play celebrates theatrical debut
10
07
Peek-a-Boo Magazine #30 out now with temporary free download of the song 'Peek-a-Boo' by Christian Death!!
10
07
Today it’s exactly 27 years ago Ministry released N.W.O. (New World Order)!

Concert reviews

16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
07
CHRISTIAN DEATH
'I think pacifism will be the rehearsal for the ultimate slaughter'
18
07
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW
'I have no high hopes for humanity anymore...'
23
06
DISTRICT 13
Many have a “life in chains”, each for themselves.[...] Many would like to be free, but they are trapped.
21
06
DANIEL B / PROTHESE
‘I Don’t Want To Be Confined In A Genre That Creates Expectations And Borders’
15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO

PHOTOS

25
06
LACUNA COIL
Graspop, Dessel
25
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel
25
06
MARILYN MANSON
Graspop, Dessel
23
06
IN THIS MOMENT
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
HEILUNG
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
GHOST
Graspop, Dessel
19
06
ONRUST
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
07
SECRETS OF THE MOON
Man Behind The Sun
18
07
DAVEY SUICIDE
Imperfect
17
07
MAIA VIDAL
Jell-O
16
07
DAVID BOWIE
I Can’t Give Everything Away
15
07
JO QUAIL
Laurus
14
07
PIG
The Revelation
13
07
KLAMMER
Spiral Girl