tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

RANK

PLAN YOUR DOWNFALL

MusicVinyl
New wavePost Punk

[85/100]   
09/11/2015, Ruben SAEY

EN

After Rank and the live album Rank Sonic Live, the trio from Lyon is back with its third release Plan Your Downfall. The album contains nine solid post-punk songs that lift you back to the heydays of the late 70s and early 80s.

On this album Rank offers us a mixture of new wave, cold wave, post-punk, just as in the opening track Tonight in which we recognize the influence of The Cure in their early days. Bands like The Sound, The Stranglers and The Godfathers are never far away, either. All this, without copying them.

Wax is a very strong, pure post-punk song. In Hunger the tempo is lowered and we hear a more cold wave sound. The song begins quietly, while towards the end of the track the guitar sound wells, with a beautiful outro. The deep bass drums in Over It is also a characteristic feature of this musical era.

And thus the styles change song by song, and so we get a quite varied album. Listening to this album is like a beautiful walk through the musical landscape of the late 70s and early 80s. Rank manages to refresh the old school sound rather than coming up with something corny. You do not have to live in nostalgia, you can look forward on this album with a clear conscience.

Ruben SAEY
09/11/2015


NL

Na Rank en het live album Rank Sonic Live, is het trio uit Lyon met Plan Your Downfall aan z'n derde release toe. Het album bevat negen degelijke postpunksongs die je meteen naar de hoogdagen van het einde van de jaren zeventig, begin jaren tachtig terugbrengen.

Rank levert met dit album een mix af van new wave, coldwave, en postpunk, zoals in het openingsnummer Tonight, waarin we op muzikaal vlak zeker de invloed van The Cure in zijn begindagen herkennen. Ook bands als The Sound, The Stranglers en The Godfathers zijn nooit ver weg. Dit alles zonder ze te willen kopiëren. 

Wax is een heel sterke, pure postpunksong. In Hunger wordt dan weer het tempo naar beneden gehaald en gaan we de coldwavetoer op. Het nummer begint heel rustig en de zang wordt wat langer uitgesponnen. Tegen het einde van het nummer zwelt het gitaargeluid aan, waarna we een lange, maar mooie outro horen. De diepe basdrums in het nummer Over It is tevens een typisch kenmerk uit dit muzikale tijdperk.

En zo wisselen de stijlen song per song af en krijgen we een aangenaam gevarieerd album. Het beluisteren van dit album is een mooie wandeling door het muzikale landschap van de late 70s en het begin van de 80s. Rank slaagt erin om het oldschoolgeluid zo te brengen dat het eerder verfrissend in plaats van oubollig klinkt. Je hoeft niet met heimwee achterom te kijken, je kan op dit album met een gerust geweten vooruitkijken.

Ruben SAEY
09/11/2015


 

Next reviews
NEW ORDER • Brussels, AB (06/11/2015)
SKIP & DIE • Cosmic Serpents
DESSIN BIZARRE • Open Your Eyes (EP)
MATT ROCK • Get Blank
IAMX • Brussels, AB (07/11/2015)
ALEK DRIVE • Frontière
IAMX • Metanoia
CYNICAL EXISTENCE • Echoes
CHICK QUEST • Vs Galore
GARCONS COIFFEURS • The Early Years 2005-2010

 

Same combination of genres: NEW WAVE + POST PUNK
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish
XTC • Skylarking
ULTRAVOX • The Island Years
NEW MODEL ARMY • Winter
THE ASSOCIATES • Sulk
THE ASSOCIATES • Fourth Drawer Down.
THE ASSOCIATES • The Affectionate Punch
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Transmission Wave-West

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE NAMES • German Nights
SPREADING POINT • MOMENTUM - PART II
KILLING JOKE • Live at Muziek-o-Droom - Hasselt - Belgium 05.12.2016
KILLING JOKE • London, Brixton O2 Academy (04/11/2016)
NEW MODEL ARMY • Live at the Muziekgieterij, Maastricht, NL - 30.09.2016 - Photo Hub Dautzenberg
PAUL HAIG • Metamorphosis
PETE SHELLEY • Cinema Music and Wallpaper Sounds:
THE SECOND WAVE • Various Artists

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
THE EXPLODING BOY • Alarms!
A SLICE OF LIFE • Restless
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
NAUT • Raise The Lights
FACTICE FACTORY • Lines & Parallels
SILENT RUNNERS • The Directory
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary
STRUGGLER • The Gap

Music reviews

19
10
CHRIS WATSON
Locations Processed
18
10
COLE VARGAS
Cole Vargas
16
10
DAVID BOWIE
Low, Heroes, Lodger
15
10
ALVAR
I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds
15
10
BAUHAUS
Bela Lugosi’s Dead
14
10
VLIMMER
Angststand

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
10
Ancient Greek folk ensemble DAEMONIA NYMPHE have announced the re-release of acclaimed album Psychostasia!
18
10
Dive re-releases his fourth studio album 'Snakedressed' on double vinyl
18
10
'Write When You Get Work' screening at Philadelphia Film Festival this weekend - watch the trailer here!
17
10
Belgian post-punk outfit Whispering Sons has announced their long-awaited debut album 'Image'!
16
10
KOLLAPS ANNOUNCES EUROPEAN TOUR 2018
16
10
'A Midsummer Night's Dream' - a modern adaption of Shakespeare's comedy play - out on iTunes today!

Concert reviews

24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
10
SONOLOGYST
A ‘Vertical’ Approach To Music
18
10
MERZBOW
Interview with Masami Akita (Merzbow)
17
10
ALVAR
The trend of 2018 has been 303´s - we sold ours!
03
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Right before their performance at W-Fest A Slice Of Life released their debut album Restless which turns out to be an excellent post-punk record. Dark Entries was curious about the band’s history and the album, and had
06
09
STRONG PRODUCT, 0KONTROL
What RUSSIAN EBM and ATOMWAVE are all about

PHOTOS

16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik
09
10
NEON ELECTRONICS
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
09
10
APPARAAT
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
10
DEATH KOOLAID
Kids
18
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
17
10
VNV NATION
When is the Future?
17
10
WARDRUNA
Raido
16
10
DUSK
The Next Me
16
10
DOOMSQUAD
Pyramids On Mars
15
10
NITZER EBB
Let Your Body Learn