tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/11/2015 : MATT ROCK - Get Blank

MATT ROCK

Get Blank

MusicCD
GlamrockIndieLo-fiPopRock

[85/100]   

Self-released
09/11/2015, William LIÉNARD

EN

For three years, Matt Rock locked himself in his home in South London to find out where he wanted to go with his life and his career, and the sabbatical paid off since his debut Get Blank is a sincere and strong album with appealing melodies and meaningful lyrics, which may be diverse in terms of musical selection and production, but interesting from beginning to end as well. The single Gimme a Sign is a smooth rocker with a thumping beat that sounds like clapping, and a lot of guitars as support. It is a lighthearted upbeat electronic indie track, but the lyrics are dark and laden and they cover topics such as depression and addiction, self-esteem, self-control, uncertainty and the need to adapt. In Need a Victory, the artist addresses depression and addiction: I need a drug to take away the sting of life, Matt Rock sings, and his voice sounds wonderful, rough and sometimes silky, while the guitars provide a solid background, the percussion provides explicit support and noise occasionally fills the holes. Just Like Me floats on a firm, but warm and melodious guitar sound over which Matt Rock drapes his vocals: a simple, yet catchy rock ballad, again with lively percussion and dark guitars for the instrumental interlude.

Outta Control begins with dark drones and high-pitched synths, followed by waterfall-like vocals, doubled voices and then striking guitars for support, again with bell-like synths and playful guitar strumming: a catchy track that invites you to dance. Nowhere Else to Go sounds psychedelic at the start, with guitars that sound like a sitar, followed by staccato synths, a voice that wraps around the melody like ivy, and beautiful harmonies in the chorus. I've been running all my life, it sounds in The Realisation, not exactly the most pleasant prospect, but it does result in a beautiful dance-like ballad with a simple accompaniment of synths and dual vocals. Eventually, guitars and other noise are added, but that doesn’t spoil the fun at all. Everybody is Acting continues at the same level, but it has a very cynical and funny lyrics about not being part of and pretending, while Paralysed & Resigned again gives priority to the guitars: a well-oiled pop song that reveals influences from the sixties.
Spontaneously we think of the multi-layered vocals and light-hearted approach of the Beach Boys.

To Dream gets organ-like synths and a slow pace, and turns into an atmospheric and semi-religious track, which is also influenced by music from the sixties. The voice sounds wonderful, the harmonies cause goose bumps. A favorite. And the organ is also present on My Future, although it sounds more like a Hammond organ, nervous and pushy, rather Bach than Sweelinck, and Matt Rocks again on top with a beautiful and slightly rough, yet velvety voice. Later, percussion and other instruments are added and they blow away the vocals. We can’t resist: a favorite. The reverberating Life's Insane has psychedelic influences and sounds like an indie song from the 90s, a boy band-like composition with heavy guitars, buzzing synths, and percussion over multilayered vocals. Well... very beautiful. Music, Sex & Wine connects almost seamlessly with emphatic percussion and whining guitars, and closes the album in a nice manner.

Get Blank by Matt Rock contains 12 attractive compositions between pop and rock music, with influences from punk, electronics, sixties and nineties, psychedelics, and is flavored with classical music ingredients. Not exactly an experimental album, but a very personal story of a young musician in search of himself.

Tracklisting:
1 Gimme a Sign
2 I Need a Victory
3 Just Like Me
4 Outtacontrol
5 Nowhere Else to Go
6 The Realisation
7 Everybody is Acting
8 Paralysed & Resigned
9 To Dream
0 My Future
1 Life’s Insane
2 Music, Sex & Wine

https://soundcloud.com/mattrockrulesok/gimme-a-sign-1/s-J9rn5
https://www.facebook.com/mattrockrulesok

William LIÉNARD
09/11/2015


NL

Drie jaar sloot Matt Rock zich op in z’n huis in Zuid-Londen om erachter te komen waar hij met z’n leven en z’n carrière naartoe wilde, en die lange sabbatical levert op, want z’n debuutalbum Get Blank is een doorleefd en sterk album met aantrekkelijke melodieën en zinvolle teksten, dat qua muzikale omlijsting en productie misschien van verschillende walletjes eet, maar net daardoor 12 tracks lang interessant blijft. De single Gimme a Sign is een vlotte rocker met een dreunde beat die klinkt als handgeklap en met flink wat gitaren ter ondersteuning. Een luchthartige upbeat elektronische indietrack, zo lijkt het wel, maar wie naar de teksten luistert, die merkt dat ze vaak donker en beladen zijn en thema’s behandelen zoals depressie en verslaving, eigenwaarde, zelfbeheersing, onzekerheid en de noodzaak om zich aan te passen. In Need a Victory zijn depressie en verslaving aan de orde. I need a drug to take away the sting of life, zingt Matt Rock en z’n stem klinkt wondermooi, ruw en dan weer zijdeachtig, terwijl de gitaren voor een stevige achtergrond zorgen, de percussie nadrukkelijke ondersteuning biedt en noise af en toe de gaatjes opvult. Just Like Me drijft op stevig, maar warm en welluidend gitaargeluid waarover Matt Rock z’n vocalen drapeert: een eenvoudige en toch catchy rockballade, opnieuw met levendig slagwerk en een donkere gitaarsolo voor het instrumentale tussenspel.

Outta control begint met donkere drones en high-pitched synths, gevolgd door watervalachtige vocalen, dubbele stemmen en dan opvallende gitaren ter ondersteuning, opnieuw huppelende en belachtige synths en speels gitaargetokkel: een aanstekelijke track die uitnodigt tot een dansje. Nowhere Else to Go klinkt aanvankelijk psychedelischer, met gitaren die klinken als een sitar, gevolgd door staccato synths, een stem die zich als klimop om de melodie wikkelt en prachtige harmonieën in het refrein. I’ve been running all my life, klinkt het in The Realisation, niet meteen het prettigste vooruitzicht, maar het resulteert wel in een mooie dance-achtige ballade met een eenvoudige begeleiding van synths en dubbele vocalen. Uiteindelijk komt er ook nog wat gitaar- en andere noise aan te pas, maar die kunnen de pret niet meer bederven. Everybody is Acting gaat op datzelfde niveau door en heeft wel een zeer cynische en tegelijk grappige tekst over er niet bij kunnen horen en doen alsof, terwijl Paralysed & Resigned weer voorrang geeft aan de gitaren voor een gesmeerd lopende popsong die invloeden verraadt uit de jaren zestig. We denken spontaan aan de meerlaagse vocalen en de lichtvoetige aanpak van de Beach Boys.

To Dream krijgt orgelachtige synths en een traag tempo, en ontpopt zich tot een atmosferische en semireligieuze track die eveneens beïnvloed is door muziek uit de jaren zestig. De stem klinkt prachtig, de harmonieën veroorzaken kippenvel. Een favoriet. En het orgel heeft het ook voor het zeggen in My Future, zij het dat het meer als een hammondorgel klinkt, nerveus en opdringerig, eerder Bach dan Sweelinck, met opnieuw Matt Rocks prachtige en ietsjes ruwe en toch fluwelen stem bovenop. Later worden slagwerk en andere instrumenten toegevoegd en verwaaien de koortjes. We kunnen het niet laten: een favoriet. Het galmende Life’s Insane bevat psychedelische invloeden en klinkt als een indietrack uit de jaren 90, een boysbandachtige compositie met stevige gitaren, zoemende synths, ruim slagwerk en meerlaagse vocalen. Tja…, heel mooi. Music, Sex & Wine sluit bijna naadloos aan met nadrukkelijkere percussie en jengelende gitaren en sluit het album op een mooie manier af.

Get Blank van Matt Rock bevat 12 aantrekkelijke composities tussen pop- en rockmuziek, met invloeden uit punk, elektronica, de jaren zestig en negentig, psychedelica en is op smaak gebracht met klassiekemuziekingrediënten. Niet meteen een experimenteel album, maar een zeer persoonlijk relaas van een jonge muzikant op zoek naar zichzelf. 

William LIÉNARD
09/11/2015


09/11/2015 : MATT ROCK - Get Blank 09/11/2015 : MATT ROCK - Get Blank

 

Next reviews
IAMX • Brussels, AB (07/11/2015)
ALEK DRIVE • Frontière
IAMX • Metanoia
CYNICAL EXISTENCE • Echoes
CHICK QUEST • Vs Galore
GARCONS COIFFEURS • The Early Years 2005-2010
MISE EN ABYME • Crimini d’Odio
TALVEKOIDIK • Spitzbergen
THE GLEANERS • Amateur Best
AMARANTHE • Breaking Point - B-Sides 2011-2015

 

Same genre: GLAMROCK
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
SCORPIONS • Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
GHOST • Popestar
DAVID BOWIE • Pin Ups
GIRLSCHOOL • Take A Bite
ALICE COOPER • Brussel, Koninklijk Circus/ Cirque Royal (21/06/2016)
WILDHEART • WILDHEART
DAVID BOWIE • Five Years 1969 - 1973
KISSING PARTY • Looking Back it was Romantic but at the Time I was Suffocating
JACK • The Jazz Age

 

Same genre: INDIE
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP
WE ARE TEMPORARY • Embers
KASPER HATE • Why Live When You Can Rule
SPARE SNARE • Unicorn
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
TOMY LOBO • Golden Birds
TOMMIGUN • Wooden Son
SKINNY GIRL DIET • Heavyflow
KING CHAMPION SOUNDS • To Awake In That Heaven Of Freedom

 

Same genre: LO-FI
STACIAN • Person L
XOSAR • Xymeria
LUXVID • Trench
SUBHEIM • Foray
LOREN NERELL AND MARK SEELIG • Tree Of Life
THE MEN • New Moon
MONGOLITO • Acedia
DER BLUTHARSCH • Concert at Magasin4 in Brussels on 15th March 2012
GERARD HERMAN • Fêta Justice
ENABLERS • Blown realms and stalled explosions

 

Same genre: POP
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
PARRALOX • Subculture
NINE MILLION WITCHES • The Rapture
AGNES OBEL • Citizen Of Glass
NOSOUND • Scintilla
GRACE JONES • Warm Leatherette
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)
A LINN THING • Mechelen, Maanrock (27/08/2016)
LALALOVER • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
BLACK TAPE FOR A BLUE GIRL • Bike Shop

 

Same genre: ROCK
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Choirs of Blessed Youth
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
THE PRETENDERS • Alone
WAREHOUSE • Super Low
NEW MODEL ARMY • Winter
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här
DAVID GILMOUR • Tienen, Grote Markt (27/07/2016)
ROXY MUSIC • Manifesto

Music reviews

17
02
NEON ELECTRONICS
Mondriaan
15
02
QUAL
Cyber Care
14
02
0KONTROL
3RDEYE2NDHAND
12
02
LIEBKNECHT
ICE over Erfurt
11
02
THE SPECIALS
Encore
02
02
PRINCIPE VALIENTE
Choirs of Blessed Youth

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
02
Damned, Damned, Damned - At 42, 42, 42!
18
02
Today, exactly 16 years ago, American Industrial Metal band Ministry released Animositisomina!
17
02
Mechanical Man | Remembering Bob Casale - The Devo Legend
15
02
This month it’s been 23 years since Ministry released their cover version of Bob Dylan’s ‘Lay Lady Lay’!
15
02
This February, it's 32 years since Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
One year ago Peek-a-Boo and Black Easter founder Ward De Prins passed away...

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
02
THE ARCH
Living healthy can be pretty stressful
16
02
EVI VINE
'..I am a human being taking one step forward-two steps back like everyone else'
15
02
MORTAJA
It Always Has Been My Dream And I'm Enjoying It A Lot
13
02
MONICA RICHARDS
I always felt out of step with the Modern world, ever since I was a child, I do even more so now.
09
02
SIMON SCOTT (SLOWDIVE)
'We've always wanted to have a say in our production.'

PHOTOS

17
02
KAELAN MIKLA
Magasin 4
17
02
SOME EMBER
Magasin 4
17
02
TURQUOISE
Magasin 4
10
02
LORDS OF ACID
YAP Leopoldsburg
20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
02
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
18
02
WARHAUS
The Good Lie
17
02
HYBRYDS
I hear you calling
16
02
WULFBAND
Gewalt!
15
02
UNDERVIEWER
Nobody But You (Redux)
14
02
CLAN OF XYMOX
Obsession
13
02
CROONA
Bleed For Me (Official Video Mix)