tempobet yeni adresi
like this cassette review

04/04/2017 : LUXVID - Trench

LUXVID

Trench

MusicCassette
IndustrialLo-fiSynthpop

[90/100]   

Berkana Records
04/04/2017, Gustavo A. ROSELINSKY

They say that one of the old mottos used by Cabaret Voltaire in their early days was No Sound Shalt Go Untreated, as a commitment to always re-imagine every part of their sound through the use of effects and gadgets. That could also be a good way to describe the sound of Luxvid, this duo from Milwaukee (USA) formed by Stacian and Pagan Woman, that released its first album Trench on the French label Berkana Records (though the album had been originally self-released in 2015 with a slightly different track list). This is industrial in the old sense of the word. Not because it sounds similar to the first wave of industrial music, but because they fit that idea of industrial music as being 'music made mostly with heavily treated synths and drum machines'.

For example, in the amazing track Ici Unit, Luxvid builds the song with a rather simple drum pattern, synth arpeggio and melody, plus the vocals but each one of these elements is modified to make it sound slightly off-centre and unconfortable, which is especially interesting in the case of the synth arpeggios. So even though the vocal melody and structure of the song could be described almost as pop, the whole thing feels extremely alien, and yet familiar.

The same effect is achieved in tracks like Eyes Don't Meet, X, or the astonishing album opener Slow Burn. All these tracks manage to sound really murky and at the same time they're extremely catchy. The band has a talent for melody and song structure, as well as the creation of sound textures and rhythm (again, you should listen to Slow Burn to understand this).

And this is just the first album, so let's hope there's more from these guys in the not too distant future. Especially recommended for fans of Chris & Cosey, Vulgar Fashion, Boy Harsher, or early Geneva Jacuzzi.

Gustavo A. ROSELINSKY
04/04/2017


04/04/2017 : LUXVID - Trench 04/04/2017 : LUXVID - Trench

 

Next reviews
HOCICO, SHAARGHOT • Magasin 4 - 29 maart 2017
SET BEFORE US • Enigmas
DRAB MAJESTY • The Demonstration
STRUCKTURA • Satues Also Die
PHALLUS DEI • Black Dawn
26 TH WAVE UND GOTIK TREFFEN - JUNE 2TH - 5 TH 2017 • Some minimal bands to check out !
CYGNOSIC • Siren
BESTIAL MOUTHS • (Still) Heartless
PEINE PERDUE • Histoire d'une Âme
SANGRE DE MUERDAGO • Os Segredos da Raposa Vermella

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
DIVE • Live Maschinenfest 2017
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Eye On You (Feat. Robert Görl)
KLANGWELT • The Incident
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
KAISER IMAGO • The Whisper Of Darkness
KNK • Dead Body Music III
ALVAR • I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
STIN SCATZOR • Industranquilizer
MIRLAND/LARSEN • Disturbia

 

Same genre: LO-FI
STACIAN • Person L
XOSAR • Xymeria
SUBHEIM • Foray
MATT ROCK • Get Blank
LOREN NERELL AND MARK SEELIG • Tree Of Life
THE MEN • New Moon
MONGOLITO • Acedia
DER BLUTHARSCH • Concert at Magasin4 in Brussels on 15th March 2012
GERARD HERMAN • Fêta Justice
ENABLERS • Blown realms and stalled explosions

 

Same genre: SYNTHPOP
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
APSURDE • See Me Coming
STORY OFF • Facing Forward
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE • XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
MORTAL VOID • Of shadows and mirrors
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter
SALLY DIGE • Holding On
MALA HERBA • Demo
PLEASURE TIME • Years About Us

Music reviews

15
02
QUAL
Cyber Care
14
02
0KONTROL
3RDEYE2NDHAND
12
02
LIEBKNECHT
ICE over Erfurt
11
02
THE SPECIALS
Encore
02
02
PRINCIPE VALIENTE
Choirs of Blessed Youth
20
01
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray for us

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
02
This month it’s been 23 years since Ministry released their cover version of Bob Dylan’s ‘Lay Lady Lay’!
15
02
This February, it's 32 years since Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
One year ago Peek-a-Boo and Black Easter founder Ward De Prins passed away...
14
02
Today, exactly 40 years ago, John Peel broadcast the first Peel Sessions, performed by Joy Division
13
02
In The Light | Happy Birthday Peter Hook!
12
02
Producer/composer Phil Western (Download/PlatEAU/...) passed way on Saturday 9 February.

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
02
THE ARCH
Living healthy can be pretty stressful
16
02
EVI VINE
'..I am a human being taking one step forward-two steps back like everyone else'
15
02
MORTAJA
It Always Has Been My Dream And I'm Enjoying It A Lot
13
02
MONICA RICHARDS
I always felt out of step with the Modern world, ever since I was a child, I do even more so now.
09
02
SIMON SCOTT (SLOWDIVE)
'We've always wanted to have a say in our production.'

PHOTOS

10
02
LORDS OF ACID
YAP Leopoldsburg
20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
GERTRUD STEIN
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
NZ
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
STAHLR
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
02
WULFBAND
Gewalt!
15
02
UNDERVIEWER
Nobody But You (Redux)
14
02
CLAN OF XYMOX
Obsession
13
02
CROONA
Bleed For Me (Official Video Mix)
12
02
COMBICHRIST
My Life My Rules
11
02
SLOVENSKA TELEVIZA
Muskiz
11
02
ALVAR
The Fluid