tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

25/03/2017 : CYGNOSIC - Siren

CYGNOSIC

Siren

MusicCD
Dark Electro

[84/100]   

Digital World Audio
25/03/2017, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

The first beats of Greek dark electro formation Cygnosic were sent into this world in 2006. In fact a one man band, formed by Georg Psaroudakis. The first EP, an in-house production, was released in 2007. LP A diety in Pain followed in 2009, at that time hailed for its firm tone and harsh electro. It was followed by many remixes, performances, a double LP and now, in spring 2017, Cygnosic gives us Siren.

Titelsong Siren opens the album and seems to deceive the listener. It is lyrical, almost childish, provokingly slow and flirts with future pop and the softer sides of electro. Until Georg opens the vocal registers. Musically still 'goody-goody' electro but also a prelude to what (hopefully) will follow. And Cygnosic more than lives up to the expectations. The Swarm is not necesseraly firing but it still has a well-dosed agression. And it is very danceable. Typical for about 90 percent of the songs on this longplayer. Musically not really high pace but o so dark. Aftermath, Again, I Am The Reason are true gems. Survive starts off a bit quieter and uses firm breakbeats. Deadly Affairs has a very innocent melody but Georg's voice is hacking away at it to produce some nice dark electro. Oceans Of Time closes off the CD and is more EBM-minded. And if you follow the feeling of the melody it is close to synthpop/futurepop.

Cygnosic's Siren delivers 12 very danceable, black, dark electrosongs to the electro-loving mob. Varied and staying away from the classic harsh drones and beats, but with well dosed hardness and above all, according to me, addictive. This will cause frenzied scenes on many dancefloors. And although we have to protect our eardrums for future use I have to stress: if you play it, play it loud!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
25/03/2017


NL

Cygnosic is een Griekse dark electroformatie die de eerste beats de wereld instuurde in 2006. In feite een one man band. Bezieler ervan is Georg Psaroudakis. In 2007 verscheen een eerste, in eigen beheer uitgegeven EP. In 2009 volgde een eerste langspeler A diety In Pain. Toen bejubeld omwille van de stevige toon en hardere electro. Er volgden heel wat remixes, vele optredens, een dubbelaar en nu in het voorjaar van 2017 laat Cygnosic ons Siren beleven.

Titelsong Siren opent de plaat en lijkt de luisteraar op het verkeerde been te zetten: het is lyrisch, bijna kinderlijk, tergend traag en dweept op de lijn van future pop en de zachtere kanten van de electro. Tot Georg de vocale registers opentrekt. Muzikaal blijft het nog 'brave' electro, maar toch een voorbode wat (hopelijk) nog volgt. En Cygnosic lost de verwachtingen méér dan in. The Swarm is alweer op zich niet echt snoeihard, maar er zit toch een gedoseerde agressie in, en vooral dansbaar. Typerend voor 90 procent van de songs op deze langspeler. Op zich is de muzikale inkleding qua tempo niet echt hoog, maar toch zo donker. Aftermath, Again, I Am The reason zijn pareltjes. Survive start dan wat rustiger en bedient zch van stevige breakbeats. Deadly Affairs klinkt qua melodie weer zo onschuldig, maar Georg's stemgeluid hakt er weer flink op in, waardoor we heel mooie dark electro krijgen.
Oceans Of Time sluit de CD af en heeft meer EBM in het bloed. En als je in het gevoel van de melodie meegaat zit het eerder bij synthpop/futurepop.

Cygnosic levert het electrominnend gepeupel met deze Siren 12 heel dansbare, zwarte, donkere electrosongs. Gevarieerd en zich niet steeds bedienend van de klassieke snoeiharde dreunen en beats, maar gedoseerd hard en vooral, wat mij betreft: verslavend. Dit zal op menige dansvloer voor uitzinnige taferelen zorgen. En hoewel we onze trommelvliezen moeten ontzien om nog jaren van muziek te kunnen genieten, moét ik het toch stellen: if you play it, play it loud !

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
25/03/2017


Music reviews

05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling
23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed
05
09
38 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
29
08
42 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!
14
08
Electro-Industrial Band NEON INSECT Announces The Release Of New Moscow Underground

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'
15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!

PHOTOS

17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld
17
09
ASHTON NYTE SALAD DAZE BIELEFED WITH WAYNE HUSSEY
Movie Bielefeld
07
09
THE SPIRITUAL BAT
Le Garage Luik
25
08
BORGHESIA
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
GRAND BLANC
Donkey Rock Festival Selange

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem
16
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
Magic is Real
15
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser [Zardonic Remix]
14
09
TALK TALK
It´s My Life
13
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell
12
09
NINE INCH NAILS
Burning Bright (Field On Fire)