tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

25/03/2017 : CYGNOSIC - Siren

CYGNOSIC

Siren

MusicCD
Dark Electro

[84/100]   

Digital World Audio
25/03/2017, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

The first beats of Greek dark electro formation Cygnosic were sent into this world in 2006. In fact a one man band, formed by Georg Psaroudakis. The first EP, an in-house production, was released in 2007. LP A diety in Pain followed in 2009, at that time hailed for its firm tone and harsh electro. It was followed by many remixes, performances, a double LP and now, in spring 2017, Cygnosic gives us Siren.

Titelsong Siren opens the album and seems to deceive the listener. It is lyrical, almost childish, provokingly slow and flirts with future pop and the softer sides of electro. Until Georg opens the vocal registers. Musically still 'goody-goody' electro but also a prelude to what (hopefully) will follow. And Cygnosic more than lives up to the expectations. The Swarm is not necesseraly firing but it still has a well-dosed agression. And it is very danceable. Typical for about 90 percent of the songs on this longplayer. Musically not really high pace but o so dark. Aftermath, Again, I Am The Reason are true gems. Survive starts off a bit quieter and uses firm breakbeats. Deadly Affairs has a very innocent melody but Georg's voice is hacking away at it to produce some nice dark electro. Oceans Of Time closes off the CD and is more EBM-minded. And if you follow the feeling of the melody it is close to synthpop/futurepop.

Cygnosic's Siren delivers 12 very danceable, black, dark electrosongs to the electro-loving mob. Varied and staying away from the classic harsh drones and beats, but with well dosed hardness and above all, according to me, addictive. This will cause frenzied scenes on many dancefloors. And although we have to protect our eardrums for future use I have to stress: if you play it, play it loud!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
25/03/2017


NL

Cygnosic is een Griekse dark electroformatie die de eerste beats de wereld instuurde in 2006. In feite een one man band. Bezieler ervan is Georg Psaroudakis. In 2007 verscheen een eerste, in eigen beheer uitgegeven EP. In 2009 volgde een eerste langspeler A diety In Pain. Toen bejubeld omwille van de stevige toon en hardere electro. Er volgden heel wat remixes, vele optredens, een dubbelaar en nu in het voorjaar van 2017 laat Cygnosic ons Siren beleven.

Titelsong Siren opent de plaat en lijkt de luisteraar op het verkeerde been te zetten: het is lyrisch, bijna kinderlijk, tergend traag en dweept op de lijn van future pop en de zachtere kanten van de electro. Tot Georg de vocale registers opentrekt. Muzikaal blijft het nog 'brave' electro, maar toch een voorbode wat (hopelijk) nog volgt. En Cygnosic lost de verwachtingen méér dan in. The Swarm is alweer op zich niet echt snoeihard, maar er zit toch een gedoseerde agressie in, en vooral dansbaar. Typerend voor 90 procent van de songs op deze langspeler. Op zich is de muzikale inkleding qua tempo niet echt hoog, maar toch zo donker. Aftermath, Again, I Am The reason zijn pareltjes. Survive start dan wat rustiger en bedient zch van stevige breakbeats. Deadly Affairs klinkt qua melodie weer zo onschuldig, maar Georg's stemgeluid hakt er weer flink op in, waardoor we heel mooie dark electro krijgen.
Oceans Of Time sluit de CD af en heeft meer EBM in het bloed. En als je in het gevoel van de melodie meegaat zit het eerder bij synthpop/futurepop.

Cygnosic levert het electrominnend gepeupel met deze Siren 12 heel dansbare, zwarte, donkere electrosongs. Gevarieerd en zich niet steeds bedienend van de klassieke snoeiharde dreunen en beats, maar gedoseerd hard en vooral, wat mij betreft: verslavend. Dit zal op menige dansvloer voor uitzinnige taferelen zorgen. En hoewel we onze trommelvliezen moeten ontzien om nog jaren van muziek te kunnen genieten, moét ik het toch stellen: if you play it, play it loud !

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
25/03/2017


Music reviews

13
11
BROKEN EGO
Getting Higher
12
11
BEAUTY IN CHAOS
Finding Beauty In Chaos
11
11
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES
Juju
10
11
YOU, VICIOUS!
You, Vicious!
09
11
VIRGIN PRUNES
Hérésie
08
11
HATCHLING
Alpha

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

13
11
Today, 37 years ago, New Order released its debut album Movement!
13
11
Today, 40 years ago, Siouxsie & The Banshees released their debut album Scream!
12
11
Ethereal alt-rock outfit Evi Vine presents 'Sabbath', a sweet and heavy preview of their long-awaited long-play 'Black Light White Dark'!
10
11
Today it's 32 years since Kraftwerk release Electric Café!
09
11
Today, 37 years ago, Men At Work released their debut album Business As Usual!
08
11
This month its 31 years since Canadian industrial band Front Line Assembly released their first official album, The Initial Command!

Concert reviews

06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

13
11
HIDDEN FIGURES
Interview with the US newcomers 'Hidden Figures'
11
11
CAUSTIC
The Way America Is At The Moment I Realized I Needed To Say Some Things
09
11
MICHAEL CIRAVOLO ( BEAUTY IN CHAOS )
'Recording this album is vastly different than producing a new band. '
08
11
THE HEARTBREAKERS, THE WALDOS
'Being in a band is a way of life!'
07
11
BRIX AND THE EXTRICATED
Interview with Brix Smith-Start

PHOTOS

10
11
SIGLO XX
Breaking Barriers, Depot Leuven
02
11
LENE LOVICH BAND
B52 Eernegem
02
11
MORGAN KING
B52 Eernegem
02
11
KIRSTEN MORRISON
B52 Eernegem
23
10
VNV NATION + HOLYGRAM
De Casino - St. Niklaas
16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

14
11
FRONT 242
Controversy Between
13
11
AROMA DI AMORE
De Nacht en Zijn Kwaad
12
11
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)
12
11
PALAIS IDEAL
Context Collapse (official video)
11
11
DUSK
EPOKA 3000 (extended version)
10
11
PARADOX OBSCUR
Afterlife Effect (Official Video)
09
11
MEANDER
This is Meander.