tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

25/03/2017 : CYGNOSIC - Siren

CYGNOSIC

Siren

MusicCD
Dark Electro

[84/100]   

Digital World Audio
25/03/2017, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

The first beats of Greek dark electro formation Cygnosic were sent into this world in 2006. In fact a one man band, formed by Georg Psaroudakis. The first EP, an in-house production, was released in 2007. LP A diety in Pain followed in 2009, at that time hailed for its firm tone and harsh electro. It was followed by many remixes, performances, a double LP and now, in spring 2017, Cygnosic gives us Siren.

Titelsong Siren opens the album and seems to deceive the listener. It is lyrical, almost childish, provokingly slow and flirts with future pop and the softer sides of electro. Until Georg opens the vocal registers. Musically still 'goody-goody' electro but also a prelude to what (hopefully) will follow. And Cygnosic more than lives up to the expectations. The Swarm is not necesseraly firing but it still has a well-dosed agression. And it is very danceable. Typical for about 90 percent of the songs on this longplayer. Musically not really high pace but o so dark. Aftermath, Again, I Am The Reason are true gems. Survive starts off a bit quieter and uses firm breakbeats. Deadly Affairs has a very innocent melody but Georg's voice is hacking away at it to produce some nice dark electro. Oceans Of Time closes off the CD and is more EBM-minded. And if you follow the feeling of the melody it is close to synthpop/futurepop.

Cygnosic's Siren delivers 12 very danceable, black, dark electrosongs to the electro-loving mob. Varied and staying away from the classic harsh drones and beats, but with well dosed hardness and above all, according to me, addictive. This will cause frenzied scenes on many dancefloors. And although we have to protect our eardrums for future use I have to stress: if you play it, play it loud!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
25/03/2017


NL

Cygnosic is een Griekse dark electroformatie die de eerste beats de wereld instuurde in 2006. In feite een one man band. Bezieler ervan is Georg Psaroudakis. In 2007 verscheen een eerste, in eigen beheer uitgegeven EP. In 2009 volgde een eerste langspeler A diety In Pain. Toen bejubeld omwille van de stevige toon en hardere electro. Er volgden heel wat remixes, vele optredens, een dubbelaar en nu in het voorjaar van 2017 laat Cygnosic ons Siren beleven.

Titelsong Siren opent de plaat en lijkt de luisteraar op het verkeerde been te zetten: het is lyrisch, bijna kinderlijk, tergend traag en dweept op de lijn van future pop en de zachtere kanten van de electro. Tot Georg de vocale registers opentrekt. Muzikaal blijft het nog 'brave' electro, maar toch een voorbode wat (hopelijk) nog volgt. En Cygnosic lost de verwachtingen méér dan in. The Swarm is alweer op zich niet echt snoeihard, maar er zit toch een gedoseerde agressie in, en vooral dansbaar. Typerend voor 90 procent van de songs op deze langspeler. Op zich is de muzikale inkleding qua tempo niet echt hoog, maar toch zo donker. Aftermath, Again, I Am The reason zijn pareltjes. Survive start dan wat rustiger en bedient zch van stevige breakbeats. Deadly Affairs klinkt qua melodie weer zo onschuldig, maar Georg's stemgeluid hakt er weer flink op in, waardoor we heel mooie dark electro krijgen.
Oceans Of Time sluit de CD af en heeft meer EBM in het bloed. En als je in het gevoel van de melodie meegaat zit het eerder bij synthpop/futurepop.

Cygnosic levert het electrominnend gepeupel met deze Siren 12 heel dansbare, zwarte, donkere electrosongs. Gevarieerd en zich niet steeds bedienend van de klassieke snoeiharde dreunen en beats, maar gedoseerd hard en vooral, wat mij betreft: verslavend. Dit zal op menige dansvloer voor uitzinnige taferelen zorgen. En hoewel we onze trommelvliezen moeten ontzien om nog jaren van muziek te kunnen genieten, moét ik het toch stellen: if you play it, play it loud !

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
25/03/2017


Music reviews

31
10
BLAC KOLOR
Nephi
24
10
ROGER C.REALE & RUE MORGUE
The Collection
23
10
KIM GORDON
No Home Record
19
10
THE BLACK WATCH
Magic Johnson
19
10
FUTURE PILOT AKA
Orkestra Digitalis
18
10
NEW MODEL ARMY
From Here

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
11
Exclusive Belgian NITZER EBB clubshow at De Casino - St-Niklaas - B
11
11
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX released GRENADE 2019 REMASTER
10
11
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2020 releases third band wave with Mesh, Zeromancer & many more
09
11
UK Gothic Rock Band HER DESPAIR Release Official Music Video for 'The Exorcism' - New EP, Exorcisms Of Eroticism due November 22nd
08
11
Bauhaus' David J announces 'Missive to an Angel from the Halls of Infamy and Allure' LP and Euro/UK tour!
07
11
Today it’s been exactly 28 years since Industrial/Metal band Ministry released Jesus Built My Hotrod!

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA(SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'
25
10
PAUL Q.KOLDERIE
'There has to be a song that I feel needs to be recorded…'
14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'

PHOTOS

11
11
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
AMBASSADOR 21
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!!
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
05
11
THEN COMES SILENCE
North Shadows Records Festival Auchel
05
11
MODELE MARTIAL
North Shadows Records Festival Auchel
04
11
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
North Shadows Records Festival Auchel
04
11
DATE AT MIDNIGHT
North Shadows Records Festival Auchel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

12
11
STOCKHAUSSEN
Mi siniestro
11
11
FIGURE AND CODE PANDORUM
RedRum
10
11
JESUS AND MARY CHAIN
Happy When It Rains
09
11
3TEETH
Sell Your Face
08
11
MUSCLE AND MARROW
Ritual
07
11
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Electric Dreams
06
11
SOCIETY 1
It's Yours Now