tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

25/03/2017 : CYGNOSIC - Siren

CYGNOSIC

Siren

MusicCD
Dark Electro

[84/100]   

Digital World Audio
25/03/2017, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

The first beats of Greek dark electro formation Cygnosic were sent into this world in 2006. In fact a one man band, formed by Georg Psaroudakis. The first EP, an in-house production, was released in 2007. LP A diety in Pain followed in 2009, at that time hailed for its firm tone and harsh electro. It was followed by many remixes, performances, a double LP and now, in spring 2017, Cygnosic gives us Siren.

Titelsong Siren opens the album and seems to deceive the listener. It is lyrical, almost childish, provokingly slow and flirts with future pop and the softer sides of electro. Until Georg opens the vocal registers. Musically still 'goody-goody' electro but also a prelude to what (hopefully) will follow. And Cygnosic more than lives up to the expectations. The Swarm is not necesseraly firing but it still has a well-dosed agression. And it is very danceable. Typical for about 90 percent of the songs on this longplayer. Musically not really high pace but o so dark. Aftermath, Again, I Am The Reason are true gems. Survive starts off a bit quieter and uses firm breakbeats. Deadly Affairs has a very innocent melody but Georg's voice is hacking away at it to produce some nice dark electro. Oceans Of Time closes off the CD and is more EBM-minded. And if you follow the feeling of the melody it is close to synthpop/futurepop.

Cygnosic's Siren delivers 12 very danceable, black, dark electrosongs to the electro-loving mob. Varied and staying away from the classic harsh drones and beats, but with well dosed hardness and above all, according to me, addictive. This will cause frenzied scenes on many dancefloors. And although we have to protect our eardrums for future use I have to stress: if you play it, play it loud!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
25/03/2017


NL

Cygnosic is een Griekse dark electroformatie die de eerste beats de wereld instuurde in 2006. In feite een one man band. Bezieler ervan is Georg Psaroudakis. In 2007 verscheen een eerste, in eigen beheer uitgegeven EP. In 2009 volgde een eerste langspeler A diety In Pain. Toen bejubeld omwille van de stevige toon en hardere electro. Er volgden heel wat remixes, vele optredens, een dubbelaar en nu in het voorjaar van 2017 laat Cygnosic ons Siren beleven.

Titelsong Siren opent de plaat en lijkt de luisteraar op het verkeerde been te zetten: het is lyrisch, bijna kinderlijk, tergend traag en dweept op de lijn van future pop en de zachtere kanten van de electro. Tot Georg de vocale registers opentrekt. Muzikaal blijft het nog 'brave' electro, maar toch een voorbode wat (hopelijk) nog volgt. En Cygnosic lost de verwachtingen méér dan in. The Swarm is alweer op zich niet echt snoeihard, maar er zit toch een gedoseerde agressie in, en vooral dansbaar. Typerend voor 90 procent van de songs op deze langspeler. Op zich is de muzikale inkleding qua tempo niet echt hoog, maar toch zo donker. Aftermath, Again, I Am The reason zijn pareltjes. Survive start dan wat rustiger en bedient zch van stevige breakbeats. Deadly Affairs klinkt qua melodie weer zo onschuldig, maar Georg's stemgeluid hakt er weer flink op in, waardoor we heel mooie dark electro krijgen.
Oceans Of Time sluit de CD af en heeft meer EBM in het bloed. En als je in het gevoel van de melodie meegaat zit het eerder bij synthpop/futurepop.

Cygnosic levert het electrominnend gepeupel met deze Siren 12 heel dansbare, zwarte, donkere electrosongs. Gevarieerd en zich niet steeds bedienend van de klassieke snoeiharde dreunen en beats, maar gedoseerd hard en vooral, wat mij betreft: verslavend. Dit zal op menige dansvloer voor uitzinnige taferelen zorgen. En hoewel we onze trommelvliezen moeten ontzien om nog jaren van muziek te kunnen genieten, moét ik het toch stellen: if you play it, play it loud !

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
25/03/2017


Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
02
35 years ago Siouxsie and The Banshees released the single Candyman!
25
02
Today it's exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released March Of The Pigs!
25
02
Mirror Man | Mourning The Sad Passing Of Talk Talk’s Mark Hollis - 2 ago.
23
02
Today, it’s 43 years ago that renowned BBC DJ John Peel broadcast the second John Peel session by Siouxsie & The Banshees
20
02
This Charming Band | 37 Years Ago, The Smiths Release Their Debut Album
19
02
Gothic Industrial Band BATAVIA Unveils Remix Album, Batavia And Their Friends

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
02
LCN (LE CHOCOLAT NOIR)
N'Écoutez Pas Tous Les Conseils De Vos Amis (Official Music Video)
27
02
ANTIPOLE
Part Deux
26
02
WILDNORTHE
Swamp
25
02
NEW ORDER
Regret
24
02
MANDIVULA
GHSTNG
23
02
CABARET VOLTAIRE
Nag Nag Nag
22
02
BEBORN BETON
Last Day On Earth