tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

25/03/2017 : CYGNOSIC - Siren

CYGNOSIC

Siren

MusicCD
Dark Electro

[84/100]   

Digital World Audio
25/03/2017, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

The first beats of Greek dark electro formation Cygnosic were sent into this world in 2006. In fact a one man band, formed by Georg Psaroudakis. The first EP, an in-house production, was released in 2007. LP A diety in Pain followed in 2009, at that time hailed for its firm tone and harsh electro. It was followed by many remixes, performances, a double LP and now, in spring 2017, Cygnosic gives us Siren.

Titelsong Siren opens the album and seems to deceive the listener. It is lyrical, almost childish, provokingly slow and flirts with future pop and the softer sides of electro. Until Georg opens the vocal registers. Musically still 'goody-goody' electro but also a prelude to what (hopefully) will follow. And Cygnosic more than lives up to the expectations. The Swarm is not necesseraly firing but it still has a well-dosed agression. And it is very danceable. Typical for about 90 percent of the songs on this longplayer. Musically not really high pace but o so dark. Aftermath, Again, I Am The Reason are true gems. Survive starts off a bit quieter and uses firm breakbeats. Deadly Affairs has a very innocent melody but Georg's voice is hacking away at it to produce some nice dark electro. Oceans Of Time closes off the CD and is more EBM-minded. And if you follow the feeling of the melody it is close to synthpop/futurepop.

Cygnosic's Siren delivers 12 very danceable, black, dark electrosongs to the electro-loving mob. Varied and staying away from the classic harsh drones and beats, but with well dosed hardness and above all, according to me, addictive. This will cause frenzied scenes on many dancefloors. And although we have to protect our eardrums for future use I have to stress: if you play it, play it loud!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
25/03/2017


NL

Cygnosic is een Griekse dark electroformatie die de eerste beats de wereld instuurde in 2006. In feite een one man band. Bezieler ervan is Georg Psaroudakis. In 2007 verscheen een eerste, in eigen beheer uitgegeven EP. In 2009 volgde een eerste langspeler A diety In Pain. Toen bejubeld omwille van de stevige toon en hardere electro. Er volgden heel wat remixes, vele optredens, een dubbelaar en nu in het voorjaar van 2017 laat Cygnosic ons Siren beleven.

Titelsong Siren opent de plaat en lijkt de luisteraar op het verkeerde been te zetten: het is lyrisch, bijna kinderlijk, tergend traag en dweept op de lijn van future pop en de zachtere kanten van de electro. Tot Georg de vocale registers opentrekt. Muzikaal blijft het nog 'brave' electro, maar toch een voorbode wat (hopelijk) nog volgt. En Cygnosic lost de verwachtingen méér dan in. The Swarm is alweer op zich niet echt snoeihard, maar er zit toch een gedoseerde agressie in, en vooral dansbaar. Typerend voor 90 procent van de songs op deze langspeler. Op zich is de muzikale inkleding qua tempo niet echt hoog, maar toch zo donker. Aftermath, Again, I Am The reason zijn pareltjes. Survive start dan wat rustiger en bedient zch van stevige breakbeats. Deadly Affairs klinkt qua melodie weer zo onschuldig, maar Georg's stemgeluid hakt er weer flink op in, waardoor we heel mooie dark electro krijgen.
Oceans Of Time sluit de CD af en heeft meer EBM in het bloed. En als je in het gevoel van de melodie meegaat zit het eerder bij synthpop/futurepop.

Cygnosic levert het electrominnend gepeupel met deze Siren 12 heel dansbare, zwarte, donkere electrosongs. Gevarieerd en zich niet steeds bedienend van de klassieke snoeiharde dreunen en beats, maar gedoseerd hard en vooral, wat mij betreft: verslavend. Dit zal op menige dansvloer voor uitzinnige taferelen zorgen. En hoewel we onze trommelvliezen moeten ontzien om nog jaren van muziek te kunnen genieten, moét ik het toch stellen: if you play it, play it loud !

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
25/03/2017


Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'
28
04
KILL SHELTER
There Is An Inherent Darkness And Sadness In The Music I Create
27
04
VANGUARD
We Had The Concept Of Doing Something That Ties Man And Machine Together

PHOTOS

21
05
IN2THESOUND
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
21
05
THEN COMES SILENCE
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
20
05
THE ARCH
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
16
05
ABDOMEN
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
BOJACKS
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
THE OTHER
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
CLAN OF XYMOX
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis
19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl
18
05
GROUND NERO
Dark Descent
17
05
JAN SWERTS
Meer Is Er Niet
16
05
IAN MCCULLOCH
Lover Lover Lover
15
05
DELEYAMAN
Secret Treasures