tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

09/03/2017 : ELM - Kampftrinker

ELM

Kampftrinker

MusicCD (EP)
EBM

[92/100]   

Alfa-Matrix
09/03/2017, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

It's almost a year since Swedish loner ELM started the old-school EBM revolution with his 'Edge' EP. Today sees the release of Kampftrinker, the second single from the album Hardline, a gem in the Electronic Body Music genre in 2016. In terms of sound, old-school, beats and angular straight EBM ELM can without a doubt be added to the list of bands like Nitzer Ebb, Pouppee Fabrikk and consorts.

Kampftrinker is an EBM classic that will make the black hords dance till their feet are on fire. In-your-face bass lines, stomping beats in cheerfull (duh!) sounding German. Peter Elm recorded three versions of the song: the Slacht-mix, a more groovy sounding rework with the Steiner-Parker-mix and a Hard Club Mix.

That last one is even fatter, more tight, more agressive and more danceable than all previous ones. The sound penetrates space, monotone and like a drill. Cool!

As an encore we receive an analoge version of Fighter: straight EBM without looking back and without any pity. Tight without mercy. With Blackout ELM treats us with a great last song. No damage-control can cope with this.

We already knew that ELM is good. This is a delicious EP with good remixes and with Blackout as a great encore. Old-school EBM of the sublime kind.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
09/03/2017


NL

Het is bijna een jaar geleden dat de Zweedse eenling ELM de old-school EBM revolutie inluidde met zijn "Edge" EP. Vandaag komt Kampftrinker uit, de tweede single van het album Hardline dat een pareltje van het Electronic Body Music-genre was in 2016. ELM mag gerust worden toegevoegd aan het lijstje van bands als Nitzer Ebb, Pouppee Fabrikk en consorten. Qua sound, qua old-school, qua beats en hoekige, straight EBM.

Kampftrinker is een EBM-klassieker die het zwarte gepeupel zo aan het dansen krijgt dat de stoom van de hielen komt. In-your-face baslijnen, stampende beats in een vrolijk (duuuh!) klinkend Duits. Peter Elm heeft drie versies opgenomen van de song: de Slacht-mix, een meer groovy klinkende rework met de Steiner – Parker -mix en een Hard Club Mix.

Die laatste is nog vetter, strakker, hoekiger, agressiever en dansbaarder dan alle voorgaande. Monotoon baant de sound zich als een drilboor door de ruimte. Vet!

En we krijgen als "Zugabe" een analoge versie van de song Fighter: rechttoe-rechtaan EBM zonder omzien en zonder enige vorm van medelijden. Genadeloos strak. Als laatste song trakteert ELM ons nog op Blackout. Geen damage-control is hiertegen opgewassen.

ELM is goed, dat wisten we al. Dit is een lekkere EP, met goede remixes en een geweldige toegift met Blackout. Old-school EBM van de sublieme soort.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
09/03/2017


09/03/2017 : ELM - Kampftrinker 09/03/2017 : ELM - Kampftrinker 09/03/2017 : ELM - Kampftrinker 09/03/2017 : ELM - Kampftrinker 09/03/2017 : ELM - Kampftrinker 09/03/2017 : ELM - Kampftrinker

Music reviews

18
11
THE COCKY BITCHES
MERCY
17
11
ALIEN VAMPIRES
Evil Twin Ep
16
11
DAVID J
Crocodile Tears And The Velvet Cosh (Reissue)
15
11
KLANGWELT
The Incident
14
11
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE
Resin EP
13
11
BROKEN EGO
Getting Higher

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
11
New album by BORGHESIA - Proti kapitulaciji (Against Capitulation) - Out now!
17
11
Rise Of The Robots | Autobahn Reaches 44-Years
16
11
Varsovie present brand new video clip, Killing Anna!
13
11
Today, 37 years ago, New Order released its debut album Movement!
13
11
Today, 40 years ago, Siouxsie & The Banshees released their debut album Scream!
12
11
Ethereal alt-rock outfit Evi Vine presents 'Sabbath', a sweet and heavy preview of their long-awaited long-play 'Black Light White Dark'!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
11
DAVE INOX
I Am Never One Hundred Percent Happy With The Result Of My Works
15
11
RUSSIAN DARK COMMUNITY
New groups are always good, it is better to discover something new than to listen to what is already advertised on every site for the hundredth time.
13
11
HIDDEN FIGURES
Interview with the US newcomers 'Hidden Figures'
11
11
CAUSTIC
The Way America Is At The Moment I Realized I Needed To Say Some Things
09
11
MICHAEL CIRAVOLO ( BEAUTY IN CHAOS )
'Recording this album is vastly different than producing a new band. '

PHOTOS

10
11
SIGLO XX
Breaking Barriers, Depot Leuven
02
11
LENE LOVICH BAND
B52 Eernegem
02
11
MORGAN KING
B52 Eernegem
02
11
KIRSTEN MORRISON
B52 Eernegem
23
10
VNV NATION + HOLYGRAM
De Casino - St. Niklaas
16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
11
DARKHER
Ghost Tears
18
11
BLEIB MODERN
Paper Skin
17
11
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA)
To Replace My Sadness (preview 2016)
16
11
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna
15
11
SRSQ
Permission
14
11
FRONT 242
Controversy Between
13
11
AROMA DI AMORE
De Nacht en Zijn Kwaad