tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

09/03/2017 : ELM - Kampftrinker

ELM

Kampftrinker

MusicCD (EP)
EBM

[92/100]   

Alfa-Matrix
09/03/2017, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

It's almost a year since Swedish loner ELM started the old-school EBM revolution with his 'Edge' EP. Today sees the release of Kampftrinker, the second single from the album Hardline, a gem in the Electronic Body Music genre in 2016. In terms of sound, old-school, beats and angular straight EBM ELM can without a doubt be added to the list of bands like Nitzer Ebb, Pouppee Fabrikk and consorts.

Kampftrinker is an EBM classic that will make the black hords dance till their feet are on fire. In-your-face bass lines, stomping beats in cheerfull (duh!) sounding German. Peter Elm recorded three versions of the song: the Slacht-mix, a more groovy sounding rework with the Steiner-Parker-mix and a Hard Club Mix.

That last one is even fatter, more tight, more agressive and more danceable than all previous ones. The sound penetrates space, monotone and like a drill. Cool!

As an encore we receive an analoge version of Fighter: straight EBM without looking back and without any pity. Tight without mercy. With Blackout ELM treats us with a great last song. No damage-control can cope with this.

We already knew that ELM is good. This is a delicious EP with good remixes and with Blackout as a great encore. Old-school EBM of the sublime kind.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
09/03/2017


NL

Het is bijna een jaar geleden dat de Zweedse eenling ELM de old-school EBM revolutie inluidde met zijn "Edge" EP. Vandaag komt Kampftrinker uit, de tweede single van het album Hardline dat een pareltje van het Electronic Body Music-genre was in 2016. ELM mag gerust worden toegevoegd aan het lijstje van bands als Nitzer Ebb, Pouppee Fabrikk en consorten. Qua sound, qua old-school, qua beats en hoekige, straight EBM.

Kampftrinker is een EBM-klassieker die het zwarte gepeupel zo aan het dansen krijgt dat de stoom van de hielen komt. In-your-face baslijnen, stampende beats in een vrolijk (duuuh!) klinkend Duits. Peter Elm heeft drie versies opgenomen van de song: de Slacht-mix, een meer groovy klinkende rework met de Steiner – Parker -mix en een Hard Club Mix.

Die laatste is nog vetter, strakker, hoekiger, agressiever en dansbaarder dan alle voorgaande. Monotoon baant de sound zich als een drilboor door de ruimte. Vet!

En we krijgen als "Zugabe" een analoge versie van de song Fighter: rechttoe-rechtaan EBM zonder omzien en zonder enige vorm van medelijden. Genadeloos strak. Als laatste song trakteert ELM ons nog op Blackout. Geen damage-control is hiertegen opgewassen.

ELM is goed, dat wisten we al. Dit is een lekkere EP, met goede remixes en een geweldige toegift met Blackout. Old-school EBM van de sublieme soort.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
09/03/2017


09/03/2017 : ELM - Kampftrinker 09/03/2017 : ELM - Kampftrinker 09/03/2017 : ELM - Kampftrinker 09/03/2017 : ELM - Kampftrinker 09/03/2017 : ELM - Kampftrinker 09/03/2017 : ELM - Kampftrinker

Music reviews

18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain
15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE
10
01
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Lost Feelings
09
01
CAUSENATION
Promises of hope and fear

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
On this day, 30 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!
18
01
On this day, 41 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!
17
01
Today, 36 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
26 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!
15
01
Brand new Front Line Assembly album 'Mechanical Soul' out today!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
01
ROB ZOMBIE
The Triumph of King Freak (A Crypt of Preservation and Superstition)
20
01
NEW ORDER
True Faith
19
01
CORDE OBLIQUE
Suono su tela
18
01
KAI SCHUMACHER
The Hug (Rework by Illuminine)
17
01
ELSJE HELEWAUT & RUDOLF HECKE
Let's Not Give A Damn
16
01
PSY'AVIAH
Not What I Expected
15
01
LEATHER STRIP
Strap me down