tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

09/03/2017 : ELM - Kampftrinker

ELM

Kampftrinker

MusicCD (EP)
EBM

[92/100]   

Alfa-Matrix
09/03/2017, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

It's almost a year since Swedish loner ELM started the old-school EBM revolution with his 'Edge' EP. Today sees the release of Kampftrinker, the second single from the album Hardline, a gem in the Electronic Body Music genre in 2016. In terms of sound, old-school, beats and angular straight EBM ELM can without a doubt be added to the list of bands like Nitzer Ebb, Pouppee Fabrikk and consorts.

Kampftrinker is an EBM classic that will make the black hords dance till their feet are on fire. In-your-face bass lines, stomping beats in cheerfull (duh!) sounding German. Peter Elm recorded three versions of the song: the Slacht-mix, a more groovy sounding rework with the Steiner-Parker-mix and a Hard Club Mix.

That last one is even fatter, more tight, more agressive and more danceable than all previous ones. The sound penetrates space, monotone and like a drill. Cool!

As an encore we receive an analoge version of Fighter: straight EBM without looking back and without any pity. Tight without mercy. With Blackout ELM treats us with a great last song. No damage-control can cope with this.

We already knew that ELM is good. This is a delicious EP with good remixes and with Blackout as a great encore. Old-school EBM of the sublime kind.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
09/03/2017


NL

Het is bijna een jaar geleden dat de Zweedse eenling ELM de old-school EBM revolutie inluidde met zijn "Edge" EP. Vandaag komt Kampftrinker uit, de tweede single van het album Hardline dat een pareltje van het Electronic Body Music-genre was in 2016. ELM mag gerust worden toegevoegd aan het lijstje van bands als Nitzer Ebb, Pouppee Fabrikk en consorten. Qua sound, qua old-school, qua beats en hoekige, straight EBM.

Kampftrinker is een EBM-klassieker die het zwarte gepeupel zo aan het dansen krijgt dat de stoom van de hielen komt. In-your-face baslijnen, stampende beats in een vrolijk (duuuh!) klinkend Duits. Peter Elm heeft drie versies opgenomen van de song: de Slacht-mix, een meer groovy klinkende rework met de Steiner – Parker -mix en een Hard Club Mix.

Die laatste is nog vetter, strakker, hoekiger, agressiever en dansbaarder dan alle voorgaande. Monotoon baant de sound zich als een drilboor door de ruimte. Vet!

En we krijgen als "Zugabe" een analoge versie van de song Fighter: rechttoe-rechtaan EBM zonder omzien en zonder enige vorm van medelijden. Genadeloos strak. Als laatste song trakteert ELM ons nog op Blackout. Geen damage-control is hiertegen opgewassen.

ELM is goed, dat wisten we al. Dit is een lekkere EP, met goede remixes en een geweldige toegift met Blackout. Old-school EBM van de sublieme soort.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
09/03/2017


09/03/2017 : ELM - Kampftrinker 09/03/2017 : ELM - Kampftrinker 09/03/2017 : ELM - Kampftrinker 09/03/2017 : ELM - Kampftrinker 09/03/2017 : ELM - Kampftrinker 09/03/2017 : ELM - Kampftrinker

Music reviews

17
02
NEON ELECTRONICS
Mondriaan
15
02
QUAL
Cyber Care
14
02
0KONTROL
3RDEYE2NDHAND
12
02
LIEBKNECHT
ICE over Erfurt
11
02
THE SPECIALS
Encore
02
02
PRINCIPE VALIENTE
Choirs of Blessed Youth

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
02
Damned, Damned, Damned - At 42, 42, 42!
18
02
Today, exactly 16 years ago, American Industrial Metal band Ministry released Animositisomina!
17
02
Mechanical Man | Remembering Bob Casale - The Devo Legend
15
02
This month it’s been 23 years since Ministry released their cover version of Bob Dylan’s ‘Lay Lady Lay’!
15
02
This February, it's 32 years since Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
One year ago Peek-a-Boo and Black Easter founder Ward De Prins passed away...

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
02
THE ARCH
Living healthy can be pretty stressful
16
02
EVI VINE
'..I am a human being taking one step forward-two steps back like everyone else'
15
02
MORTAJA
It Always Has Been My Dream And I'm Enjoying It A Lot
13
02
MONICA RICHARDS
I always felt out of step with the Modern world, ever since I was a child, I do even more so now.
09
02
SIMON SCOTT (SLOWDIVE)
'We've always wanted to have a say in our production.'

PHOTOS

17
02
KAELAN MIKLA
Magasin 4
17
02
SOME EMBER
Magasin 4
17
02
TURQUOISE
Magasin 4
10
02
LORDS OF ACID
YAP Leopoldsburg
20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
02
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
18
02
WARHAUS
The Good Lie
17
02
HYBRYDS
I hear you calling
16
02
WULFBAND
Gewalt!
15
02
UNDERVIEWER
Nobody But You (Redux)
14
02
CLAN OF XYMOX
Obsession
13
02
CROONA
Bleed For Me (Official Video Mix)