tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

09/03/2017 : ELM - Kampftrinker

ELM

Kampftrinker

MusicCD (EP)
EBM

[92/100]   

Alfa-Matrix
09/03/2017, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

It's almost a year since Swedish loner ELM started the old-school EBM revolution with his 'Edge' EP. Today sees the release of Kampftrinker, the second single from the album Hardline, a gem in the Electronic Body Music genre in 2016. In terms of sound, old-school, beats and angular straight EBM ELM can without a doubt be added to the list of bands like Nitzer Ebb, Pouppee Fabrikk and consorts.

Kampftrinker is an EBM classic that will make the black hords dance till their feet are on fire. In-your-face bass lines, stomping beats in cheerfull (duh!) sounding German. Peter Elm recorded three versions of the song: the Slacht-mix, a more groovy sounding rework with the Steiner-Parker-mix and a Hard Club Mix.

That last one is even fatter, more tight, more agressive and more danceable than all previous ones. The sound penetrates space, monotone and like a drill. Cool!

As an encore we receive an analoge version of Fighter: straight EBM without looking back and without any pity. Tight without mercy. With Blackout ELM treats us with a great last song. No damage-control can cope with this.

We already knew that ELM is good. This is a delicious EP with good remixes and with Blackout as a great encore. Old-school EBM of the sublime kind.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
09/03/2017


NL

Het is bijna een jaar geleden dat de Zweedse eenling ELM de old-school EBM revolutie inluidde met zijn "Edge" EP. Vandaag komt Kampftrinker uit, de tweede single van het album Hardline dat een pareltje van het Electronic Body Music-genre was in 2016. ELM mag gerust worden toegevoegd aan het lijstje van bands als Nitzer Ebb, Pouppee Fabrikk en consorten. Qua sound, qua old-school, qua beats en hoekige, straight EBM.

Kampftrinker is een EBM-klassieker die het zwarte gepeupel zo aan het dansen krijgt dat de stoom van de hielen komt. In-your-face baslijnen, stampende beats in een vrolijk (duuuh!) klinkend Duits. Peter Elm heeft drie versies opgenomen van de song: de Slacht-mix, een meer groovy klinkende rework met de Steiner – Parker -mix en een Hard Club Mix.

Die laatste is nog vetter, strakker, hoekiger, agressiever en dansbaarder dan alle voorgaande. Monotoon baant de sound zich als een drilboor door de ruimte. Vet!

En we krijgen als "Zugabe" een analoge versie van de song Fighter: rechttoe-rechtaan EBM zonder omzien en zonder enige vorm van medelijden. Genadeloos strak. Als laatste song trakteert ELM ons nog op Blackout. Geen damage-control is hiertegen opgewassen.

ELM is goed, dat wisten we al. Dit is een lekkere EP, met goede remixes en een geweldige toegift met Blackout. Old-school EBM van de sublieme soort.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
09/03/2017


09/03/2017 : ELM - Kampftrinker 09/03/2017 : ELM - Kampftrinker 09/03/2017 : ELM - Kampftrinker 09/03/2017 : ELM - Kampftrinker 09/03/2017 : ELM - Kampftrinker 09/03/2017 : ELM - Kampftrinker

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 29 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album
01
09
The Utimate Dreamers reveals new kinky synthwave/ebm video

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

21
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Hafensommer 21 Am Speicher 2 Osnabrück
12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
09
THE KLINIK
Go Back
21
09
ADAM AND THE ANTS
Stand And Deliver
20
09
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna
19
09
RASTABAN
Hore Dolom
18
09
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)
17
09
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Black August
16
09
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown