tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

07/03/2017 : LYNCELIA - Forsaken Innocence

LYNCELIA

Forsaken Innocence

MusicCD
Cold WaveGothic Rock

[91/100]   

Self-released
07/03/2017, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

It has become evident in the past years that the dark genre in France is rampant. Lyncelia is another new name on the list of French bands. Founded in 2008 the band gets their inspiration and spice from bands like The Cure, Indochine, Clan Of Xymox, Paradise Lost and good old Sisters Of Mercy. So you can imagine the delightful dark sound, a mix of guitars and deep dark grave voices, we could expect. Wondering if that is really true...;

Gothic rock and coldwave of the purest sort, grown in the crypts of a dark humid basement lit by just a few candles. And yes, that is exactly how it sounds. A well looked after plate with fine ingredients that taste mighty nice when eaten in one bite. Blisfully drawn-out guitar sounds, drums that convulsively draw themselves through each song, unremittingly, pained. And a grave voice? No, not a clone nor a copy of the characteristic sound of Eldritch or conspecifics. But full of melancholy and dark. And above all very good.

The 9-track album Forsaken Innocence keeps us well entertained for over an hour. And we indeed recognize the bands that have inspired this album. Opener Blind and songs like Unbound Pleasure could be by Clan Of Xymox, a nice combination of melodic guitar battering and sparingly used synths. Distance is much darker and reminiscent of the early Cure, as is Sapphic Tears. We suspect the band thought that they should use all pedals at the same time to create guitars that sound like rusty metal doors opened one last time. Imagine epic femal vocals with that and a 1.5 minute intro before the song releases its demons...and lasts another 8 minutes: Insight gives us more than 9 minutes of pure pleasure. Psychedelic to the smallest fiber.

Coldwave is brought by Weep A Long Silence. Mean and shrill high guitarnotes and a rattling bass. Lost Anastasia, Answer My Fall and and epic 9 minute closure with female voices guides us to the coast where our boat quietly docks.

Lyncelia does not bring anything new. I don't really hear a unique sound or arrangements that make your head spin. But what does it matter when you can deliver an album like that! Because what it DOES bring is rock-solid gothrock with plenty of variation, animation and zeal. Thanks, Lyncelia!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
07/03/2017


NL

Dat er in Frankrijk één en ander weelderig tiert in het donkere genre, is de afgelopen jaren heel duidelijk geworden. Lyncelia is alweer een naam die in het lijstje Franse bands komt prijken. De band ontstond in 2008 en haalt inspiratie en mosterd bij bands als The Cure, Indochine, Clan Of Xymox, Paradise Lost en good old Sisters Of Mercy. U kan wellicht vermoeden welk zalig donker geluid, in een mix van gitaren en diepdonkere grafstem we zouden kunnen verwachten. Benieuwd of dat ook zo is…;

Gothic rock en coldwave, van de pure soort, ontstaan in de krochten van een wellicht donkere vochtige kelderruimte waar zuinig enkele kaarsen een zweem van licht werpen. En ja zo klinkt het ook. Een verzorgd bordje met fijne ingrediënten die verdomd lekker smaken als je ze in één hap verorbert. Zalig uitgesponnen gitaargeluid, drums die zich krampachtig doorheen elke song slepen, niet aflatend, maar gepijnigd. En de grafstem? Nee, geen kloon, noch kopie van het karakteristieke geluid van Eldritch of gelijksoortigen, maar wel vol melancholie en donker. Maar vooral: goed.

Het 9 nummers tellende album Forsaken Innocence entertaint ons ruim een uur. En we herkennen inderdaad de bands die mee zorgden voor inspiratie. Opener Blind en songs als Unbound Pleasure zou van Clan Of Xymox kunnen zijn, een fijne combinatie van melodieus gitaargeram en synths die af en toe om de hoek komen loeren en eigenlijk zuinig meedoen. Distance is een stuk donkerder en dweept eerder met de vroegere Cure, evenals Sapphic Tears. Dan een donkerbruin vermoeden dat de band dacht: laat ons eens een resem pedalen tegelijk indrukken en gitaren laten klinken als verroeste metalen deuren die een laatste keer worden geopend. Denk daar epische vrouwelijke vocalen bij, in een intro van een dikke anderhalve minuut, vooraleer het nummer zijn demonen loslaat… en dat dat zo nog 8 minuten duurt: Insight is dik 9 minuten génieten. Psychedelisch klinkend tot in de kleinste vezel.

Coldwave krijgen we met Weep A Long Silence. Schriele, snerpende hoge gitaartonen en een ratelende bass.Lost Anastasia, Answer my Fall en een met female voices getinte epische afsluiter van nog eens dik 9 minuten voeren ons richting kust, waar ons bootje rustig aanmeert.

Lyncelia doet niet iets nieuw. Een echt eigen sound ontwaar ik niet. Arrangementen waar je van achterover valt ook niet. Maar wat maakt het uit, als je zo’n plaat aflevert! Want wat het wél is: steengoede gothrock, voldoende gevarieerd, bezield en doorleefd. Dankjewel Lyncelia !

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
07/03/2017


Music reviews

09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.
09
08
REACTOR7X
And Chaos Bacame The New Order
01
08
ANNINA MELISSA
Exhibition of Death
31
07
CRIMEN
Silent Animals
26
07
VIOLENCE
Le Flux de la Nature
22
07
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS
Semiotics Department of Heteronyms

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
08
Today, it’s exactly 31 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
08
08
James Ray (The voice from The Sisterhood) returns with brand new album, band and musical style change!
02
08
This month, 35 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
30
07
'Anything' movie: UK digital release on August, 6th!
25
07
Spacelab revisited! ISS calls Kraftwerk from outer Space!
25
07
'Locating Silver Lake' screening at Breckenridge Film Festival in September!

Concert reviews

14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'
03
08
LIZARD SMILE
'I still see it as the expression of appreciation par excellence to buy a physical album. It still remains more ‘real’ … one way or another.'
29
07
SN-A
I Also Love Telling Stories Without Words
27
07
STIN SCATZOR
I never could have thought Stin Scatzor would ever release an album on DAFT Records!

PHOTOS

16
08
16
08
BAUHAUS
W-Fest Amougies
12
08
12
08
GARY NUMAN
Lokerse Feesten
01
08
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Amphi
01
08
PERSEPHONE
Amphi
01
08
MAD SIN
Amphi

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
08
SOLAR FAKE
Under Control
15
08
NEW ORDER
Restless
15
08
JO QUAIL
Gold (live)
15
08
SIXTH JUNE
Drowning
14
08
ASHRAM
Maria and the violin's string
13
08
DAVEY SUICIDE
Rise Above
12
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Sanri