tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

07/03/2017 : LYNCELIA - Forsaken Innocence

LYNCELIA

Forsaken Innocence

MusicCD
Cold WaveGothic Rock

[91/100]   

Self-released
07/03/2017, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

It has become evident in the past years that the dark genre in France is rampant. Lyncelia is another new name on the list of French bands. Founded in 2008 the band gets their inspiration and spice from bands like The Cure, Indochine, Clan Of Xymox, Paradise Lost and good old Sisters Of Mercy. So you can imagine the delightful dark sound, a mix of guitars and deep dark grave voices, we could expect. Wondering if that is really true...;

Gothic rock and coldwave of the purest sort, grown in the crypts of a dark humid basement lit by just a few candles. And yes, that is exactly how it sounds. A well looked after plate with fine ingredients that taste mighty nice when eaten in one bite. Blisfully drawn-out guitar sounds, drums that convulsively draw themselves through each song, unremittingly, pained. And a grave voice? No, not a clone nor a copy of the characteristic sound of Eldritch or conspecifics. But full of melancholy and dark. And above all very good.

The 9-track album Forsaken Innocence keeps us well entertained for over an hour. And we indeed recognize the bands that have inspired this album. Opener Blind and songs like Unbound Pleasure could be by Clan Of Xymox, a nice combination of melodic guitar battering and sparingly used synths. Distance is much darker and reminiscent of the early Cure, as is Sapphic Tears. We suspect the band thought that they should use all pedals at the same time to create guitars that sound like rusty metal doors opened one last time. Imagine epic femal vocals with that and a 1.5 minute intro before the song releases its demons...and lasts another 8 minutes: Insight gives us more than 9 minutes of pure pleasure. Psychedelic to the smallest fiber.

Coldwave is brought by Weep A Long Silence. Mean and shrill high guitarnotes and a rattling bass. Lost Anastasia, Answer My Fall and and epic 9 minute closure with female voices guides us to the coast where our boat quietly docks.

Lyncelia does not bring anything new. I don't really hear a unique sound or arrangements that make your head spin. But what does it matter when you can deliver an album like that! Because what it DOES bring is rock-solid gothrock with plenty of variation, animation and zeal. Thanks, Lyncelia!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
07/03/2017


NL

Dat er in Frankrijk één en ander weelderig tiert in het donkere genre, is de afgelopen jaren heel duidelijk geworden. Lyncelia is alweer een naam die in het lijstje Franse bands komt prijken. De band ontstond in 2008 en haalt inspiratie en mosterd bij bands als The Cure, Indochine, Clan Of Xymox, Paradise Lost en good old Sisters Of Mercy. U kan wellicht vermoeden welk zalig donker geluid, in een mix van gitaren en diepdonkere grafstem we zouden kunnen verwachten. Benieuwd of dat ook zo is…;

Gothic rock en coldwave, van de pure soort, ontstaan in de krochten van een wellicht donkere vochtige kelderruimte waar zuinig enkele kaarsen een zweem van licht werpen. En ja zo klinkt het ook. Een verzorgd bordje met fijne ingrediënten die verdomd lekker smaken als je ze in één hap verorbert. Zalig uitgesponnen gitaargeluid, drums die zich krampachtig doorheen elke song slepen, niet aflatend, maar gepijnigd. En de grafstem? Nee, geen kloon, noch kopie van het karakteristieke geluid van Eldritch of gelijksoortigen, maar wel vol melancholie en donker. Maar vooral: goed.

Het 9 nummers tellende album Forsaken Innocence entertaint ons ruim een uur. En we herkennen inderdaad de bands die mee zorgden voor inspiratie. Opener Blind en songs als Unbound Pleasure zou van Clan Of Xymox kunnen zijn, een fijne combinatie van melodieus gitaargeram en synths die af en toe om de hoek komen loeren en eigenlijk zuinig meedoen. Distance is een stuk donkerder en dweept eerder met de vroegere Cure, evenals Sapphic Tears. Dan een donkerbruin vermoeden dat de band dacht: laat ons eens een resem pedalen tegelijk indrukken en gitaren laten klinken als verroeste metalen deuren die een laatste keer worden geopend. Denk daar epische vrouwelijke vocalen bij, in een intro van een dikke anderhalve minuut, vooraleer het nummer zijn demonen loslaat… en dat dat zo nog 8 minuten duurt: Insight is dik 9 minuten génieten. Psychedelisch klinkend tot in de kleinste vezel.

Coldwave krijgen we met Weep A Long Silence. Schriele, snerpende hoge gitaartonen en een ratelende bass.Lost Anastasia, Answer my Fall en een met female voices getinte epische afsluiter van nog eens dik 9 minuten voeren ons richting kust, waar ons bootje rustig aanmeert.

Lyncelia doet niet iets nieuw. Een echt eigen sound ontwaar ik niet. Arrangementen waar je van achterover valt ook niet. Maar wat maakt het uit, als je zo’n plaat aflevert! Want wat het wél is: steengoede gothrock, voldoende gevarieerd, bezield en doorleefd. Dankjewel Lyncelia !

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
07/03/2017


Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself
13
06
FACTICE FACTORY
L'Aurore
12
06
SOWULU
Ginnungagap
11
06
SHE PAST AWAY
Katarsis