tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

07/03/2017 : LYNCELIA - Forsaken Innocence

LYNCELIA

Forsaken Innocence

MusicCD
Cold WaveGothic Rock

[91/100]   

Self-released
07/03/2017, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

It has become evident in the past years that the dark genre in France is rampant. Lyncelia is another new name on the list of French bands. Founded in 2008 the band gets their inspiration and spice from bands like The Cure, Indochine, Clan Of Xymox, Paradise Lost and good old Sisters Of Mercy. So you can imagine the delightful dark sound, a mix of guitars and deep dark grave voices, we could expect. Wondering if that is really true...;

Gothic rock and coldwave of the purest sort, grown in the crypts of a dark humid basement lit by just a few candles. And yes, that is exactly how it sounds. A well looked after plate with fine ingredients that taste mighty nice when eaten in one bite. Blisfully drawn-out guitar sounds, drums that convulsively draw themselves through each song, unremittingly, pained. And a grave voice? No, not a clone nor a copy of the characteristic sound of Eldritch or conspecifics. But full of melancholy and dark. And above all very good.

The 9-track album Forsaken Innocence keeps us well entertained for over an hour. And we indeed recognize the bands that have inspired this album. Opener Blind and songs like Unbound Pleasure could be by Clan Of Xymox, a nice combination of melodic guitar battering and sparingly used synths. Distance is much darker and reminiscent of the early Cure, as is Sapphic Tears. We suspect the band thought that they should use all pedals at the same time to create guitars that sound like rusty metal doors opened one last time. Imagine epic femal vocals with that and a 1.5 minute intro before the song releases its demons...and lasts another 8 minutes: Insight gives us more than 9 minutes of pure pleasure. Psychedelic to the smallest fiber.

Coldwave is brought by Weep A Long Silence. Mean and shrill high guitarnotes and a rattling bass. Lost Anastasia, Answer My Fall and and epic 9 minute closure with female voices guides us to the coast where our boat quietly docks.

Lyncelia does not bring anything new. I don't really hear a unique sound or arrangements that make your head spin. But what does it matter when you can deliver an album like that! Because what it DOES bring is rock-solid gothrock with plenty of variation, animation and zeal. Thanks, Lyncelia!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
07/03/2017


NL

Dat er in Frankrijk één en ander weelderig tiert in het donkere genre, is de afgelopen jaren heel duidelijk geworden. Lyncelia is alweer een naam die in het lijstje Franse bands komt prijken. De band ontstond in 2008 en haalt inspiratie en mosterd bij bands als The Cure, Indochine, Clan Of Xymox, Paradise Lost en good old Sisters Of Mercy. U kan wellicht vermoeden welk zalig donker geluid, in een mix van gitaren en diepdonkere grafstem we zouden kunnen verwachten. Benieuwd of dat ook zo is…;

Gothic rock en coldwave, van de pure soort, ontstaan in de krochten van een wellicht donkere vochtige kelderruimte waar zuinig enkele kaarsen een zweem van licht werpen. En ja zo klinkt het ook. Een verzorgd bordje met fijne ingrediënten die verdomd lekker smaken als je ze in één hap verorbert. Zalig uitgesponnen gitaargeluid, drums die zich krampachtig doorheen elke song slepen, niet aflatend, maar gepijnigd. En de grafstem? Nee, geen kloon, noch kopie van het karakteristieke geluid van Eldritch of gelijksoortigen, maar wel vol melancholie en donker. Maar vooral: goed.

Het 9 nummers tellende album Forsaken Innocence entertaint ons ruim een uur. En we herkennen inderdaad de bands die mee zorgden voor inspiratie. Opener Blind en songs als Unbound Pleasure zou van Clan Of Xymox kunnen zijn, een fijne combinatie van melodieus gitaargeram en synths die af en toe om de hoek komen loeren en eigenlijk zuinig meedoen. Distance is een stuk donkerder en dweept eerder met de vroegere Cure, evenals Sapphic Tears. Dan een donkerbruin vermoeden dat de band dacht: laat ons eens een resem pedalen tegelijk indrukken en gitaren laten klinken als verroeste metalen deuren die een laatste keer worden geopend. Denk daar epische vrouwelijke vocalen bij, in een intro van een dikke anderhalve minuut, vooraleer het nummer zijn demonen loslaat… en dat dat zo nog 8 minuten duurt: Insight is dik 9 minuten génieten. Psychedelisch klinkend tot in de kleinste vezel.

Coldwave krijgen we met Weep A Long Silence. Schriele, snerpende hoge gitaartonen en een ratelende bass.Lost Anastasia, Answer my Fall en een met female voices getinte epische afsluiter van nog eens dik 9 minuten voeren ons richting kust, waar ons bootje rustig aanmeert.

Lyncelia doet niet iets nieuw. Een echt eigen sound ontwaar ik niet. Arrangementen waar je van achterover valt ook niet. Maar wat maakt het uit, als je zo’n plaat aflevert! Want wat het wél is: steengoede gothrock, voldoende gevarieerd, bezield en doorleefd. Dankjewel Lyncelia !

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
07/03/2017


Music reviews

03
09
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM
Phoenix
02
09
CAWATANA
In The Silver Light (7')
01
09
MIKE SOPKO, BILL LASWELL, TYSHAWN SOREY
On Common Ground
31
08
TUKT
Tukt
26
08
EMERGENCY SEQUENCE
Sharpening The Axe
21
08
STRUGGLER
Wilma (Determinated Protector)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly XXXYEARSXX years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 28 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
08
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO release a complete 'Dein herz, meine gier' lyric video for the release of the limited club single CD 'Dein herz, meine gier / Bunkerb!tc!
04
09
39 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
28
08
43 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
12
08
kaRIN FROM COLLIDE AND SHIKHEE FROM ANDROID LUST RELEASE NEW SINGLE ''ARE YOU LISTENING?''

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
09
MORTAR DEVOTIONS
Dystopia Is Just Around The Corner And Orwell Warned Us Already In 1948
16
09
MAT OSMAN (SUEDE)
'I’m always writing short stories...'
15
09
ERASURE
'Music certainly gives us hope' - Erasure talk about their new album 'The Neon'
14
09
WATA (BORIS)
'I will always feel like a rookie...'
12
09
DAWN OF ASHES
‘Covid-19 Is A Gateway To Show Us The True Colors Of The Human Race

PHOTOS

20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
09
PSY'AVIAH
Aftermath
24
09
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO
Merry Christmas, Mr Lawrence
23
09
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
The Mysterious Vanishing of Electra
22
09
BLACK LINE
Snap
21
09
ALPHAMAY
Silence Emotion
20
09
FREISPIELEREI
Fish Muss Schwimmen, Gell
19
09
TRUE ZEBRA
Connection is addiction