tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

07/03/2017 : LYNCELIA - Forsaken Innocence

LYNCELIA

Forsaken Innocence

MusicCD
Cold WaveGothic Rock

[91/100]   

Self-released
07/03/2017, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

It has become evident in the past years that the dark genre in France is rampant. Lyncelia is another new name on the list of French bands. Founded in 2008 the band gets their inspiration and spice from bands like The Cure, Indochine, Clan Of Xymox, Paradise Lost and good old Sisters Of Mercy. So you can imagine the delightful dark sound, a mix of guitars and deep dark grave voices, we could expect. Wondering if that is really true...;

Gothic rock and coldwave of the purest sort, grown in the crypts of a dark humid basement lit by just a few candles. And yes, that is exactly how it sounds. A well looked after plate with fine ingredients that taste mighty nice when eaten in one bite. Blisfully drawn-out guitar sounds, drums that convulsively draw themselves through each song, unremittingly, pained. And a grave voice? No, not a clone nor a copy of the characteristic sound of Eldritch or conspecifics. But full of melancholy and dark. And above all very good.

The 9-track album Forsaken Innocence keeps us well entertained for over an hour. And we indeed recognize the bands that have inspired this album. Opener Blind and songs like Unbound Pleasure could be by Clan Of Xymox, a nice combination of melodic guitar battering and sparingly used synths. Distance is much darker and reminiscent of the early Cure, as is Sapphic Tears. We suspect the band thought that they should use all pedals at the same time to create guitars that sound like rusty metal doors opened one last time. Imagine epic femal vocals with that and a 1.5 minute intro before the song releases its demons...and lasts another 8 minutes: Insight gives us more than 9 minutes of pure pleasure. Psychedelic to the smallest fiber.

Coldwave is brought by Weep A Long Silence. Mean and shrill high guitarnotes and a rattling bass. Lost Anastasia, Answer My Fall and and epic 9 minute closure with female voices guides us to the coast where our boat quietly docks.

Lyncelia does not bring anything new. I don't really hear a unique sound or arrangements that make your head spin. But what does it matter when you can deliver an album like that! Because what it DOES bring is rock-solid gothrock with plenty of variation, animation and zeal. Thanks, Lyncelia!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
07/03/2017


NL

Dat er in Frankrijk één en ander weelderig tiert in het donkere genre, is de afgelopen jaren heel duidelijk geworden. Lyncelia is alweer een naam die in het lijstje Franse bands komt prijken. De band ontstond in 2008 en haalt inspiratie en mosterd bij bands als The Cure, Indochine, Clan Of Xymox, Paradise Lost en good old Sisters Of Mercy. U kan wellicht vermoeden welk zalig donker geluid, in een mix van gitaren en diepdonkere grafstem we zouden kunnen verwachten. Benieuwd of dat ook zo is…;

Gothic rock en coldwave, van de pure soort, ontstaan in de krochten van een wellicht donkere vochtige kelderruimte waar zuinig enkele kaarsen een zweem van licht werpen. En ja zo klinkt het ook. Een verzorgd bordje met fijne ingrediënten die verdomd lekker smaken als je ze in één hap verorbert. Zalig uitgesponnen gitaargeluid, drums die zich krampachtig doorheen elke song slepen, niet aflatend, maar gepijnigd. En de grafstem? Nee, geen kloon, noch kopie van het karakteristieke geluid van Eldritch of gelijksoortigen, maar wel vol melancholie en donker. Maar vooral: goed.

Het 9 nummers tellende album Forsaken Innocence entertaint ons ruim een uur. En we herkennen inderdaad de bands die mee zorgden voor inspiratie. Opener Blind en songs als Unbound Pleasure zou van Clan Of Xymox kunnen zijn, een fijne combinatie van melodieus gitaargeram en synths die af en toe om de hoek komen loeren en eigenlijk zuinig meedoen. Distance is een stuk donkerder en dweept eerder met de vroegere Cure, evenals Sapphic Tears. Dan een donkerbruin vermoeden dat de band dacht: laat ons eens een resem pedalen tegelijk indrukken en gitaren laten klinken als verroeste metalen deuren die een laatste keer worden geopend. Denk daar epische vrouwelijke vocalen bij, in een intro van een dikke anderhalve minuut, vooraleer het nummer zijn demonen loslaat… en dat dat zo nog 8 minuten duurt: Insight is dik 9 minuten génieten. Psychedelisch klinkend tot in de kleinste vezel.

Coldwave krijgen we met Weep A Long Silence. Schriele, snerpende hoge gitaartonen en een ratelende bass.Lost Anastasia, Answer my Fall en een met female voices getinte epische afsluiter van nog eens dik 9 minuten voeren ons richting kust, waar ons bootje rustig aanmeert.

Lyncelia doet niet iets nieuw. Een echt eigen sound ontwaar ik niet. Arrangementen waar je van achterover valt ook niet. Maar wat maakt het uit, als je zo’n plaat aflevert! Want wat het wél is: steengoede gothrock, voldoende gevarieerd, bezield en doorleefd. Dankjewel Lyncelia !

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
07/03/2017


Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
12
On this day, 39 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!
09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas
08
12
Today, 40 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
Celebration Of The Lizard | Today Is Jim Morrison’s 75th-Birthday
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
06
12
BodyBeats announces complete and 100% Swedish line-up for International EBM day!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
12
THE BLADES
Too Late To Stop Now! | The Return Of The Blades - An Interview With Paul Cleary
05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

12
12
E-SOCIETY
E-Society
11
12
FUNKER VOGT
Feel the Pain
10
12
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart
07
12
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls